here is the reply

sorry for not reply on sms

for the brand of the $5 4T its brand is RED

i changed it at PLANET MOTORCYCLE (2 thumbs ups for ah chong!)

good enough oil for me as i change very frequently ard 1k-1.5k or 1 month whichever comes first

• Replies 638

The RED 4T is it Multi-Viscosity type(20W50) or Monograde(SAE40) type? :confused:

Originally posted by dreamtcs@May 31 2005, 12:43 AM

that i'm not sure at all

the important thing i took note is that its fully synthetic oil

Fully synthetic at the price of $5? Dat Super Cheap i can say. :thumb: lah u.

MERGED THREAD

Topic : what kind of enine oil should we use for our cub?

Description : Semi or Fully?

hi guys mi would like to kknow normally u all use what engine oil for ur cubs?

semi of fully will be better for them?

if u use semi how long u need to change engine oil? (2000km?)

if u use fully how long u need to change engine oil? (4000km?)

u guys normally change away the engine oil or jus top up the engine oil only?

if u have good recommendation pls state the brand and the price here..

thankszxx ....

2007 FEB -YZF R1 2004&WaVe S 125 wiT Audio SyS.---- YZF-R1 Puig Clear Windshield, HEL brake lines, GPR Twin Exhaust with Y-pipe, Bagster Tank Bra, ACumen Gear Indicator, Motivation Sliders-Balancers, Power Boosters, Harris Racing Footrest, Ohlin Damper and Corsa tyres

http://photos-754.friendster.com/e1/photos/45/71/3041754/1_204611127l.jpg

So far I have tried the cheapest engine oil $5 to the most expensive engine oil $16. My opinion towards these kind of engine oil is

Every engine oil got their own specialities.

Monograde Mineral = can last abt 1000km.

Multiviscosity Mineral = abt 1500km.

Multiviscosity Fully-Syn= abt 4000km.

Multiviscosity-Semi-syn I never try b4. Sorry.

Whats Up DaWgZ!!

Hi guyz!...sorry to budge in...I believe i can provide you guyz with some info...

In my opinion...It is better to use fully syn engine oil as it will take longer time to be degraded...as it has better qualities to react with any chemical reaction in your engine...in order to prevent oxidation and keep sediments suspended thus will be let out thru your pipe...

based on the reading..for example " 15 w / 40 "....15 w refer to the vicosity...refer how fluidity of the oil....higher the number...higher the fluidity...vice versa for the lower number...40 refer to the expansion / degradable of the oil...usually...those 8 year old bike closer to ten...it is advisable to use 50 grade...

Theortically...fully syn can last you 5000km or 3 months...whichever comes first...

Taking care your engine..will prolong your bike realibility...hope this info will equipped you better....all engine oil are the same...70% lube oil, 10% addictives and 15% others like colouring, sediments level, etc....the important component is the 10% addicitives...this is the component that helps lube oil to function properly and lubrication....point to take note...if there is white smoke coming out...it means...your engine is burning engine oil...

Take care brothers...hope you will find this info useful...

www.nazrinsalim.wordpress.com

Originally posted by terror@Jun 2 2005, 11:01 PM

How do you know how long can the oil last?? :confused:

The performance of it and the sound of your engine when u travel tells u dat. The movement of your bike will be sluggish and slow. Engine sound also will be noisy when u rev the bike.

how long oil last also depends on the filter and cubs don't have oil filters so it's better that you change the oil more frequently regardless of the oil quality. So if you're changing more frequently you can use cheaper oil because you don't have to worry about it breaking down.

My ride for 2012 - Yamaha WR250X 2008

Previous rides:

ROAD/FUN: Honda Sonic, VTR250, Kawa Z1000 & Kawa KSR110, Suzuki Savage

SPORT: Kawa ZXR400, Suzuki SV650, Honda CBR600F3 & CBR929RR, Aprilia RS125 & RS250,

DIRT: Honda XR200 & XR600L, DRZ-400SM, DRZ-400-S, GasGas EC200, KTM 200 EXC & 250EXC-F, Tricker

Pics @ http://www.bikepics.com/members/axxis/

hummm... i noticed a different thing leh. the longer i don't change the oil (about 3k plus), the smoother i feel. i'm using fully synthetic oil. i got top up to the required level lah.

Hehe... that's because the crap in your old oil is actually "smoothening" out the inside of your engine... just like sandpaper. haha.

Compare the color of your oil if you change it after 1 month with leaving it for longer... or 1k compared to 2-3k km.

Well I guess carbon is considered to have lubricating properties so maybe more carbon in your oil is a good thing. LOL

Previous rides:

SPORT: Kawa ZXR400, Suzuki SV650, Honda CBR600F3 & CBR929RR, Aprilia RS125 & RS250,

DIRT: Honda XR200 & XR600L, DRZ-400SM, DRZ-400-S, GasGas EC200, KTM 200 EXC & 250EXC-F, Tricker

Originally posted by terror@Jun 6 2005, 11:10 PM

hummm... i noticed a different thing leh. the longer i don't change the oil (about 3k plus), the smoother i feel. i'm using fully synthetic oil. i got top up to the required level lah.

Wah fully synthetic oil? Terror la lu. U liv to your nick terror. Hehehe. What brand of fully synthetic u using,bro?

Originally posted by Axxis@Jun 7 2005, 08:57 AM

Hehe... that's because the crap in your old oil is actually "smoothening" out the inside of your engine... just like sandpaper. haha.

Compare the color of your oil if you change it after 1 month with leaving it for longer... or 1k compared to 2-3k km.

Well I guess carbon is considered to have lubricating properties so maybe more carbon in your oil is a good thing. LOL

I don think so it is smoothing out the inside of the engine. For fully synthetics usually can hit quite long mileages if the engine oil is from a reputable company such as MOTUL, CASTROL.

i'm using shell, but i guess all brands are the about the same. humm... it's just my personal opinion, could be due to i'm numb to the roughness, haha, cos get used to it already. I've only changed at 1k intervals when i just got my bike. the colour all look the same to me whether it's 1k or 4-5k. black black, haha.

when i was using minerals oil, change at 1k intervals, don't you guys feel that the engine is very unwilling to rev? and i mean not rev to the red, just normal riding and i feel the engine is like struggling.

RxzDelux> I was joking man! haha

The oil is capable of lasting for a long time, but this depends on filtration (most normal, larger bikes have an oil filter) but cubs don't have filters so you are better off changing the oil more frequently.

Previous rides:

Originally posted by terror@Jun 7 2005, 11:10 PM

i'm using shell, but i guess all brands are the about the same. humm... it's just my personal opinion, could be due to i'm numb to the roughness, haha, cos get used to it already. I've only changed at 1k intervals when i just got my bike. the colour all look the same to me whether it's 1k or 4-5k. black black, haha.

when i was using minerals oil, change at 1k intervals, don't you guys feel that the engine is very unwilling to rev? and i mean not rev to the red, just normal riding and i feel the engine is like struggling.

If u say all brands r the same, my opinion is dat i disagree wif u because i have use a lots if brands and all have different capabilities.

Like u say u r using SHELL now. Then u should try Castrol Actic20W50 and feel the difference. Sure there is a difference. Try it for yourself.....

Originally posted by Axxis@Jun 8 2005, 08:58 AM

The oil is capable of lasting for a long time, but this depends on filtration (most normal, larger bikes have an oil filter) but cubs don't have filters so you are better off changing the oil more frequently.

Well dat is why I can sayfor cubs dat totally max mileage for fully syn is 4000km.

Normally bikes with oil filter can withstand long mileages till 5000 till 6000 for a fully syn.

the most important thing about engine oil is that, always make sure you have enough! bbdc got teach leh! i seldom check lar, but once a while will check my oil level. but i change once a month, or 1000km whichever comes first

Originally posted by Axxis@Jun 8 2005, 08:58 AM

Axxis is right on the mark, without filtration, it is very dangerous to run your oil for extended intervals and in practice will required much more frequent changing. The best oils will not help if tons of particles are in suspension.

'Smoothness' may be a rough estimate of oil quality, but in this case, the suspended particles will hardly impact the smoothness of the oil as the oil quality is still good. The particles on the other hand will be abrasive when forced into tight spaces like the journal bearings, streaking the babbit metal that coats the bearings.

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Jun 8 2005, 01:54 PM

Well dat is why I can sayfor cubs dat totally max mileage for fully syn is 4000km.

Normally bikes with oil filter can withstand long mileages till 5000 till 6000 for a fully syn.

just 4 general knowledge.

my bike manual says oil change interval frequency is 4,000 km n it has an oil filter.

btw, i rode daelim roadwin 125 (not wave or any cub kia).

phantom also got no oil filter n i do know some phantom owner change oil frequently@2000 km.

there is an statement among bikers n it goes like this:

"New oil is better than dirty oil which is not as worst as no oil"

Originally posted by dreamtcs@Jun 8 2005, 04:14 PM

the most important thing about engine oil is that, always make sure you have enough! bbdc got teach leh! i seldom check lar, but once a while will check my oil level. but i change once a month, or 1000km whichever comes first

One month? If i one month can hit 2000km already leh? Meaning if follow your style two weeks once i change engine oil? Wah. :faint: :faint: :faint:

i tell u liao, i use very cheap oil, so can change and change

1 month spend $5 on engine oil

some ppl spend $20 on engine oil change every 5000km

i change $5 engine oil every 1000km fair enough?