• Replies 406

There isn't much choices for a below $200 FF except MHR and HJC?

get HJC FG-15 lor, more than decent enough... i currently using this model...

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

There isn't much choices for a below $200 FF except MHR and HJC?

make that only hjc. the only mhr ff i could find are 'remnants' if u know wat i mean.

but the hjc CL-ST and FG-15 are definitely great buys for their price tags, as many ppl here have been claiming.

i wish they'd bring in the latest dot/ece mhr models. some of them look quite wicked.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

I was told that wasn't PSB approved?

o.O... another fella who is particular about PSB approval?

what is PSB compared to snell, dot and ece? nothing, absolute thrash.

these are recognized worldwide or region wide, for competiton use like motogp, you need at least an ece certified helmet to race...

PSB? you go france ask the people there, they will go "huh? what talking you?"

you want psb? buy lab or sumo openface helmets lor, very cheap somemore, under $40...

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

I was told that wasn't PSB approved?

the CL-ST does have psb sticker. the FG-15 doesn. so if psb is ur thing, then its the CL-ST for you.

if u are concerned about safety, forget the psb sticker. all hjc helmets are certified to ece which is an even stricter safety standard than psb, and qualifies for use in motogp. wouldn that be safe enough for anyone?

if ur concerned about legality issues, i can say the few time i've been stopped by tp for routine checks or road blocks, not one of them has bothered to check whether any of the ff i've worn had the psb sticker. 8-10 years ago they would have bothered, but i think even today's tp know the stupidity of booking a helmet thats even safer than mere psb open faces.

but if ur still unconvinced, go for the CL-ST.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

the CL-ST does have psb sticker. the FG-15 doesn. so if psb is ur thing, then its the CL-ST for you.

if u are concerned about safety, forget the psb sticker. all hjc helmets are certified to ece which is an even stricter safety standard than psb, and qualifies for use in motogp. wouldn that be safe enough for anyone?

if ur concerned about legality issues, i can say the few time i've been stopped by tp for routine checks or road blocks, not one of them has bothered to check whether any of the ff i've worn had the psb sticker. 8-10 years ago they would have bothered, but i think even today's tp know the stupidity of booking a helmet thats even safer than mere psb open faces.

but if ur still unconvinced, go for the CL-ST.

yeah... cl-st... cheapest psb approved FF helmet i know... weights a tonne though and build quality not that good... then again for a $150 helmet, you cannot expect much...

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

Should have check the forum before heading down to LAB. Just want to share got the Zeus ZS-3000 from him. Cost is 2XX

personally i dont go for flip-ups coz i'm not convinced about the safety of the chin guard in a crash, plus my belief is that the chin guard mechanism unnecessarily adds weight.

but if flip-ups are ur thing, judging from net pics, that helmet looks pretty dam cool and that 'jet' conversion is wicked, altho i'd never wear open face so i'd never use the jet conversion.

and its dot/snell/ece apparently. at 2XX, assuming u wanted a flip-up in the first place, it sounds like a good buy.

by any chance did they have the zeus range of full face non flip-up for 2XX? their range looks nice too.

personally i dont go for flip-ups coz i'm not convinced about the safety of the chin guard in a crash, plus my belief is that the chin guard mechanism unnecessarily adds weight.

but if flip-ups are ur thing, judging from net pics, that helmet looks pretty dam cool and that 'jet' conversion is wicked, altho i'd never wear open face so i'd never use the jet conversion.

and its dot/snell/ece apparently. at 2XX, assuming u wanted a flip-up in the first place, it sounds like a good buy.

by any chance did they have the zeus range of full face non flip-up for 2XX? their range looks nice too.

I would prefer a non-flip up but I wear glasses so not much choice. Made this decision after reviewing it online as well as this clip

http://www.webbikeworld.com/r2/zeus-helmet/zeus-3000/

LAB's helper want 240, manage to get it at 200 even. Cheers.

Apr252011?authkey=Gv1sRgCNKqvfj-59bJuwE#5599549735787625394

Not sure about their full range as I was specifically looking at flip ups. (I wear glasses) Review can be also seen at youtube (webbikeworld Zeus 3000). LAB's helper wanted 240, managed to get it at 200 even. Cheers

Apr252011?authkey=Gv1sRgCNKqvfj-59bJuwE#5599549735787625394

very interesting read, understand more abt FF helmets,

just wanna check is the quick release buckle for some FF helmets LTA friendly?

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a361/lavitared/avatar/P1020874a.jpg
very interesting read, understand more abt FF helmets,

just wanna check is the quick release buckle for some FF helmets LTA friendly?

strictly D-ring only is legal and this one i also dont dare test water. i insist on D-ring for all my helmets.

I never knew there were safety differences between d ring and buckle type.

strictly D-ring only is legal and this one i also dont dare test water. i insist on D-ring for all my helmets.

I insist on DD ring too.

I believed there a way to convert from quick release to 2D ring type.

Anyone got this lobang?

I never knew there were safety differences between d ring and buckle type.

the D-ring is a simple, effective and proven design when used in a helmet's retention system.

'buckles' come in a variety of designs from a variety of manufacturers. some models claim to 'meet or exceed DOT and SNELL standards'. others have the potential to fail in a crash. how do i know which is which? i dont, and thats precisely the problem. i suppose if it comes from a helmet that was SNELL certified with the buckle design as part of the certification, i might trust it. but i've never had probs with the proven D-ring, so generally i stick to D-ring.

so yes there can be safety differences between some buckle systems and traditional D-rings, and at the same time some buckle systems can also be as safe as D-ring.

I insist on DD ring too.

I believed there a way to convert from quick release to 2D ring type.

Anyone got this lobang?

typically i see aftermarket buckles to convert D-ring to quick release, but i've never seen the reverse operation, i.e., from quick release to D-ring.

the aftermarket buckles make use of the existing D-rings and strap to attach to the helmet, but if a helmet came with the quick-release, i may be wrong but i dun see how u can attach D-rings to replace the buckles.

Anyone going helmet shopping this Saturday?

where ?

haf u bouught ur FF ?

tot u last tym sae go c c.

sian..

was thinking hw iam gonna wear ff.coz i wear specs

collected my R-PHA 10 Ben Spies replica from motoworld today... wooooo... solid and great helmet!

love it more and more as i wear it... so light... so comfy, so snug... and makes my ride much more enjoyable...

according the the sales lady, the price has increase to $550 for the Ben Spies replica.

many thumbs up for HJC R-PHA 10! :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

where ?

haf u bouught ur FF ?

tot u last tym sae go c c.

sian..

was thinking hw iam gonna wear ff.coz i wear specs

same as u.... went down but couldnt get the size i wanted....

for us spec user very troublesome to wear spec when wearing ff, sad..

:pray::pray:
same as u.... went down but couldnt get the size i wanted....

for us spec user very troublesome to wear spec when wearing ff, sad..

i also also wear specs...

no problem for me wearing FF helmets...

take out specs --> wear balaclava and helmet --> wear back specs.

no problem!

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

i also also wear specs...

no problem for me wearing FF helmets...

take out specs --> wear balaclava and helmet --> wear back specs.

no problem!

Btw wat frame is ur spec using?

Coz i using those plastic/rubber type frame that can bend abit... i try to wear back my spec after i wear the ff very hard...

:pray::pray:
typically i see aftermarket buckles to convert D-ring to quick release, but i've never seen the reverse operation, i.e., from quick release to D-ring.

the aftermarket buckles make use of the existing D-rings and strap to attach to the helmet, but if a helmet came with the quick-release, i may be wrong but i dun see how u can attach D-rings to replace the buckles.

ya normally is DD change to quick release type. Just asking anyway. Thank 4 the reply

Edited by redlavita