I am thinking of buying a KSR from a fellow SBFer... everything was fine till i check out my insurance. Im 21 as of now and recently gotten my 2B license. Been driving on the road for 2 year. Want to start riding, but the insurance knock me off my feet. Ntuc quote me a fortune figure of $888. MSIG qoute me an even better figure of $893. I guess i got to drop the idea of getting the bike. Anyone wif this area of expertise? Anyones how much my insurance would be if i get a Phantom?

• Replies 24

Insurance has been sky high these years.

Its worse if you are a young rider with limited riding experience.

The $888 is 3rd part with fire and theft or?

In any case, you can make a call to NTUC directly to ask them for a quote over the phone, stating your particulars, the insurance coverage and the bike you wish to purchase.

The quote amount will be very close to the actual.

Guest sseba2012

Sorry but your army experience will make no difference whatsoever, you are classed as high risk for a few reasons, your age is against you, your insurance will be huge until you are at least 25 and will only gradually come down if you have claim free years.

The car you want is classed as a high risk performance car, it is very fast, therefore you will be seen as a huge risk as you will be suspected (rightly or wrongly) of probably driving it fast, it will also be very pinchable, therefore a risk.

Your career will be against you, you will be away from home for several months at a time, therefore that will be seen as a risk as the car even if secure will be more pinchable when not driven.

==============

hensley hitch

hidden cameras

Yup. Insurance for P-plate is just a killer no matter your experience. You might want to try AXA as I got a lower quote from AXA than NTUC for my 3rd party.

p-plate is litat

My phantom insurance cost me $600 when i started out 3-4 years ago.

$600-800++ is normal for your situation f.y.i.

Sorry but your army experience will make no difference whatsoever, you are classed as high risk for a few reasons, your age is against you, your insurance will be huge until you are at least 25 and will only gradually come down if you have claim free years.

The car you want is classed as a high risk performance car, it is very fast, therefore you will be seen as a huge risk as you will be suspected (rightly or wrongly) of probably driving it fast, it will also be very pinchable, therefore a risk.

Your career will be against you, you will be away from home for several months at a time, therefore that will be seen as a risk as the car even if secure will be more pinchable when not driven.

i dun understand you... too chim..

I'm under NTUC too ;) and yes its 888 for my 1st yr, subsequently i paid 720 the following yr =)

2010-2011: Gilera ST200

2011-2013: Honda RVF 400RRL

2015 - 2016 : Ducati 848evo

Present: Tmax IronMax

my phantom cost me 620 for insurance. same as you 21 year old new rider.

i heard once we reach 22, the rate will drop, and once past 25, even lower. add to that no claim bonuses. maybe will be much cheaper 2 or 3 years down the road.

ok i tried to find bout bike insurance here and found this thread. i recently got my license and i need help on the steps to buy a bike from a stranger.. what are the things i need to do? male age 20 buying 1984 rxk.. need help here.. thanks. shud i buy the bike and change name first or shud i buy insurance first? im confused..

1. Get a copy of log card from seller and buy insurance for the bike that you will be purchasing.

2. Fix a date with seller to go LTA for transfer. Bring your IC, insurance policy that you have purchased and $$$ (to pay for transfer fee charge by LTA) to level 2, LTA office @ Sin Ming.

3. Basically, it's completed. Then go settle your season parking at HDB office, if you are staying in HDB flat.

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/P1140039.jpghttp://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/P1130008.jpg
1. Get a copy of log card from seller and buy insurance for the bike that you will be purchasing.

2. Fix a date with seller to go LTA for transfer. Bring your IC, insurance policy that you have purchased and $$$ (to pay for transfer fee charge by LTA) to level 2, LTA office @ Sin Ming.

3. Basically, it's completed. Then go settle your season parking at HDB office, if you are staying in HDB flat.

Thanks for the useful info.

Anyone here done a COE renewal before? Say COE expires on 1 Jan 2012, when is the owner expected to apply for COE renewal?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=224954

2B(8/09);2A(10/10);2(12/11)

Derbi "Black Maverick" Terra 125 (8/09-9/12)

Honda "Burly Bison" Varadero XL1000V1 (10/11-12/12)

Ducati "Banded Mustang" Hypermotard 1100 EVO SP (12/12-)

Vespa "Vicki" GT200 (05/14-)

"Brothers, what we do in life echoes in eternity."

my friend 20year old, one yr exp, riding a sp and his TP ONLY insurance $95X INCLUDING my 15% NCD. Seriously chop carrot.

http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/3506/62342128949007155586100.jpg

人在åš, 天在看

I am thinking of buying a KSR from a fellow SBFer... everything was fine till i check out my insurance. Im 21 as of now and recently gotten my 2B license. Been driving on the road for 2 year. Want to start riding, but the insurance knock me off my feet. Ntuc quote me a fortune figure of $888. MSIG qoute me an even better figure of $893. I guess i got to drop the idea of getting the bike. Anyone wif this area of expertise? Anyones how much my insurance would be if i get a Phantom?

Singaporeans are horrible drivers, its worse when there's alot of PRC drivers driving buses and trucks, that's why insurance so expensive khehehehe

Can try China Insurance, Liberty etc

[Pl ignore this post]

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=224954

2B(8/09);2A(10/10);2(12/11)

Derbi "Black Maverick" Terra 125 (8/09-9/12)

Honda "Burly Bison" Varadero XL1000V1 (10/11-12/12)

Ducati "Banded Mustang" Hypermotard 1100 EVO SP (12/12-)

Vespa "Vicki" GT200 (05/14-)

"Brothers, what we do in life echoes in eternity."

I am in the process of getting my first bike in S'pore. I'm 26, and planning on buying a 2B scrambler (most likely a XR2 or WR2). Though i'm a fresh rider in Singapore, I have driving experience overseas for over 8 years.

What kind of premium will I be slapped with for

1- 3rd party

2- fire and theft

3- full premium

I am in the process of getting my first bike in S'pore. I'm 26, and planning on buying a 2B scrambler (most likely a XR2 or WR2). Though i'm a fresh rider in Singapore, I have driving experience overseas for over 8 years.

What kind of premium will I be slapped with for

1- 3rd party

2- fire and theft

3- full premium

call up all e insurance company for quatation