SBF Silverwings Cafe 2008 - JDM/Euro 400/600

anyone knows got new model coming out or not for the SW400 or is there a facelift / cosmetic upgrade coming soon?

I have the same concern as you. I'm interested in a Silverwing and i appreciate honda putting a powerful parallel twin engine in the 400 but then the styling is simply outdated, if i'm not wrong since 2002/3 when the 600 appear sporting this design and subsequently the 400. Look at Majesty/Burgman styling now and u will see the design age gap. Lastly, i'm not putting the SW down, i really love Honda bikes and the SW400 got the best engine and biggest fuel tank in its class but i just can't love the aged design..i will be saving up for the next new SW400, which i hope will appear on 1 to 2 years time :)

DC

• Replies 6.4k

Standard 06 EURO version SW - 4000 km on clock.

1. ... 57km ... constant 70kmph straight level road and cool at night.

2. ... cruising at 120 - 130 kmph when at 41km ...

hi Kris Rider,

this is very helpful information :thumb:

it'll be great if total distance clocked before tank empty is known for both cases... can help estimate FC :cool:

estimating FC using the on-paper reserve level and info above gave pretty bad FC numbers:

. 1. FC ≈ 57km/3.5L ≈ 16.3km/L

. 2. FC ≈ 41km/3.5L ≈ 11.7km/L

my SW4 is 2006 Euro model (

. 1. best FC: mainly expressways at 80+kph, 314km before indicator blinks

. . . FC ≈ 314km/12.5L ≈ 25km/L

full tank 16L ≈ 25x16 ≈ 400km

. 2. normal FC: city & expressway riding, 275km before indicator blinks

. . . FC ≈ 275km/12.5L ≈ 22km/L ... full tank 16L ≈ 22x16 ≈ 352km

average FC ≈ (25+22)/2 ≈ 23.5km/L

threshold with 15L total (1L buffer) ≈ 23.5x15 ≈ 352.5km

threshold with 2.5L reserves (1L buffer) ≈ 23.5x2.5 ≈ 58.75km

seems like pushing 60km after blinker appears is pushing my luck a little :cheeky:

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

I have the same concern as you. I'm interested in a Silverwing and i appreciate honda putting a powerful parallel twin engine in the 400 but then the styling is simply outdated, if i'm not wrong since 2002/3 when the 600 appear sporting this design and subsequently the 400. Look at Majesty/Burgman styling now and u will see the design age gap. Lastly, i'm not putting the SW down, i really love Honda bikes and the SW400 got the best engine and biggest fuel tank in its class but i just can't love the aged design..i will be saving up for the next new SW400, which i hope will appear on 1 to 2 years time :)

DC

Good things must wait.

The totally new design might be out already. Honda not known for fast change over or major facelifts like Suzuki or Kawa or even Yamaha. But their technology is built to last... Look at the blackbird. After so long still the most reliable sports tourer. In terms of comfort and maintainance....... oh well.. later pp say i bias.. hahah

I guess its just like electronics .... if u need to use now.. buy it.. If the mentality is wait wait better stuff will come out.... it will be nvr ending ...... Tio boo_O

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

From Honda Geneve ~ http://www.honda-geneve.com/catalog/FJS_400_Silverwing.shtml

it appears like 2008 shipment has same specs as 2007/06 batches, except that they are newly manufactured

From Honda USA ~ http://powersports.honda.com/scooters/

except the differences listed below, FSC600 2008 & 2007 versions have the same specs:

FI ... 4-hole injectors

08: PGM-FI with automatic enricher circuit, four-hole injectors

07: PGM-FI with automatic enricher circuit

Front Brake... bigger disc

08: Single 276mm disc with Combined Braking System three-piston caliper

07: Single 256mm disc with Combined Braking System three-piston caliper

Curb weight (Includes all standard equipment, required fluids and a full tank of fuel - ready to ride) ... 39 lbs or 17.8 kg heavier

08: 540 lbs or 245.5kg

07: 501 lbs or 227.7kg

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

who la!!

wahahahha

care to sure where do you guys mount the sensor???

my SW still can;t hit 180 le..

wahhahahaha:dozed: :dozed: :dozed: :dozed:

the sensor can be mount anywhere along the main frame. thats the most sensitive place. unless u intend to fix more than 1 sensors.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

hi Kris Rider,

it'll be great if total distance clocked before tank empty is known for both cases... can help estimate FC :cool:

estimating FC using the on-paper reserve level and info above gave pretty bad FC numbers:

seems like pushing 60km after blinker appears is pushing my luck a little :cheeky:

thats wat i thought too. my friend riding a Euro 400 '07 ever clock 80km on his reserve (3-5 liters) and his bike haven't die yet. he was travelling at speed, not lesser than 100km/hr.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

i clock 60.

left about 0.5litre

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

care to sure where do you guys mount the sensor???

my disc lock alarm went off last week becoz i forgot about it while getting ready to set off in the morning. in goes the key, turned it to release the steering lock and wala... alarm goes KPKB after a few seconds:bounce:

maybe anywhere that's connected to the steering could be a pretty sensitive spot to mount the sensor... but that is if the sensor could be mounted there in the first place :goodluck:

~

Trips:

after trying few ways to place the sensor of the alarm, i still prefer to place the sensor on the bike's main frame. so as to when the handle bar is jerked, when someone place his feet on the rider foot rest area, when someone hits either the front or rear wheel or when someone taps the rear of the bike, the alarm will sound.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

after trying few ways to place the sensor of the alarm, i still prefer to place the sensor on the bike's main frame. so as to when the handle bar is jerked, when someone place his feet on the rider foot rest area, when someone hits either the front or rear wheel or when someone taps the rear of the bike, the alarm will sound.

the problem is i dun know where got place..

i need a specific place le..

:cry: :cry:

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

the problem is i dun know where got place..

i need a specific place le..

:cry: :cry:

find a strong point inside your bike's head fairing, near the steering cone. a strong point i mean made of metal, link to the main frame.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

find a strong point inside your bike's head fairing, near the steering cone. a strong point i mean made of metal, link to the main frame.

wow head fairing you mean the headlight ar?

damn compact there le...

ahahah

right nw i mount at the backside!!

lol..

anyone know what is original setting for the riders backrest?

which hole ar?

4th is it? ie left 3hole to the Furthest from the handle bar?

wow head fairing you mean the headlight ar?

damn compact there le...

ahahah

right nw i mount at the backside!!

lol..

huh? inside the silverwing's head fairing got so much space. have u remove the head fairing before?

TEAM RedBull Singapore

huh? inside the silverwing's head fairing got so much space. have u remove the head fairing before?

hi bigcow

is there enough space to fix a electric or air horn inside the head fairing?

very keen to fix either:

Stebel Nautilus (Mustafa selling)... but heard this one is illegal

super loud 139 db

http://www.twistedthrottle.com/ezimagecatalogue/catalogue/variations/8894-350x350.jpg

* Hella Twin Supertone Kit (Mustafa selling)

twin tone 500/300 Hz, 118 db

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/415RM2X53PL._AA280_.jpg

~

Trips:

hi bigcow

very keen to fix either:

super loud 139 db

http://www.twistedthrottle.com/ezimagecatalogue/catalogue/variations/8894-350x350.jpg

This 1 yes.One of the silverwing have fix this inside the head fairing but is illegal.

i got other stuff..

ya there is space but very compact!

hi bigcow

very keen to fix either:

super loud 139 db

* Hella Twin Supertone Kit (Mustafa selling)

twin tone 500/300 Hz, 118 db

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/415RM2X53PL._AA280_.jpg

more than enough. u can even put in 2 sets of this horn + alarm. haha.

my recommendation is, connect this new horn to your stock horns. if your mech know how to link.

stock horns = high pitch

Stebel Nautilus = bassy loud.

put this 2 together, bingo!!! you've both high pitch & bassy loud horns.

not to worry abt the electric consumption, its still the same, just that the power is distributed to the 2 types of horns. i've done this to all my bikes and some of my friends also do it this way.

**but there is a problem, when u going for bike inspection, if the tester is strict, he can penalize u for unapprove horns.

*never the less there is a way out. install a switch to toggle the Stebel Nautilus 'ON' or 'OFF'. when at 'OFF' position, only the stock horns can be use.

when at 'ON' position, the Stebel Nautilus will cut in.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

i got other stuff..

ya there is space but very compact!

your front fork is just normal short scooter forks, thus alot of space inside. unlike the tmax or burgman 650, we're using triple clamp forks. thus super compact inside. but i still found space to mount my horns with the stock ones still intact and the bike alarm. as wat i've said, i did open my friend's bike before. there're plenty of space inside. so much as his 2 big horns and CAR alarm system are all inside. there are even more space to put in another set of horns and other gadgets. its how u find the place and position your stuffs.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

more than enough. u can even put in 2 sets of this horn + alarm. haha.

my recommendation is, connect this new horn to your stock horns. if your mech know how to link.

stock horns = high pitch

Stebel Nautilus = bassy loud.

put this 2 together, bingo!!! you've both high pitch & bassy loud horns.

not to worry abt the electric consumption, its still the same, just that the power is distributed to the 2 types of horns. i've done this to all my bikes and some of my friends also do it this way.

**but there is a problem, when u going for bike inspection, if the tester is strict, he can penalize u for unapprove horns.

*never the less there is a way out. install a switch to toggle the Stebel Nautilus 'ON' or 'OFF'. when at 'OFF' position, only the stock horns can be use.

when at 'ON' position, the Stebel Nautilus will cut in.

good idea... any recommendations to where/mechs to fix the horn? or did you just DIY? i'm electrically incompetent so won't be able to fit it myself, open up cowl also dunno where to connect wires :p

anyone free to help or also wanna fit together? :cheeky:

~

Trips:

good idea... any recommendations to where/mechs to fix the horn? or did you just DIY? i'm electrically incompetent so won't be able to fit it myself, open up cowl also dunno where to connect wires :p

anyone free to help or also wanna fit together? :cheeky:

go to the bike shop u always go to. make sure u know the mech can make it one. u won't wan to short circuit your bike.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

hi Kris Rider,

My Gosh ! Your calculated FC is definitely GOOD . Maybe its my style of riding but i do sort of like to give a few short Hi Speed bursts when i m on a long road but the 16km per liter sounds terrible.

Presently when i fill to the brim on centre stand i zero the trip and can go to 285 km before the gauge blinks. This so far 3 times i recorded for S'pore riding but in mal roads can get nearer 300km.

My Gosh ! Your calculated FC is definitely GOOD . Maybe its my style of riding but i do sort of like to give a few short Hi Speed bursts when i m on a long road but the 16km per liter sounds terrible.

Presently when i fill to the brim on centre stand i zero the trip and can go to 285 km before the gauge blinks. This so far 3 times i recorded for S'pore riding but in mal roads can get nearer 300km.

because he is damn good with NUMBERS!:) :)