• Replies 117

Bigger wheels better friction

I think you mean large surface area for friction to act on. Which translate to stability and lower pressure of tires against road surface.

I'm a Tutor! Proud to be one!

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y88/lexanez/IMG_0008.jpg

i own a small bike just to cruise through traffic jams office hours work. big bike use like weekend car hours which is great and safer during those hours to get out of dangerous zones fast, because of free flowing traffic.

Both bikes also safe under different conditions, but not vice versa. in fact given our ridiculous 1st class traffic congested bumper to bumper traffic, kups is the only way to travel. ferraris, porsche, cherry all also waste time stuck in traffic watching me cruise by.

all of u ignored the law of physics.

slow n light = light impact, light injury, mostly walk away.

fast n heavy = big heavy impact, mostly result in critical injury hospitalize or death.

Uhm regardless of mass of bike, if you crash at a certain speed, unless you have a death grip on the bike, your mass remains the same. Assuming crash at same speed, hence deceleration being same. Said mass would experience the same force.

Law of physics, only affect impact speed, therefore, if you wanna say big bike faster, then, yea, you can potentially crash at higher speed. Other than that, mass of bike generally ignored.

Unless you're talking about hitting a fixed object with you still attached to bike. Therefore every force, equal and opposite blah blah, hence reaction force on bike+rider would be higher than smaller bike+rider. However, can be argued that reaction force would also act on larger mass of larger bike, in otherwords resultant force on rider is the same as with smallbike+rider impact at given SAME speed.

Additionally, if hit by car, like from behind at traffic light, or at cross junction. Larger mass = more inertia = need more energy to move and accelerate. Large mass takes more to get moving, slower acceleration (means you fly less).

Think of it like, you take baseball bat whack orange vs pomelo, which one you think will fly further, given same strength used.

Some things to think about. Physics.

In otherwords, I'm saying,

slow n small same damage as slow n big. Unless is kena whack by other vehicle, then slow n small flies more.

Basically, is speed of bike which matters, ignore the size. Wanna ride fast, big small, same same.. :angel:

Edited by Tachnicolour

http://i884.photobucket.com/albums/ac46/Tachnicolour/Completed%20works/combination_2.jpg

Convert your backlight COLOURs at : <CMO> Speedo Backlight colour CONVERSION by Tachnicolour

You are talking about Inertia. Newton's First Law of Motion; an object with large mass in motion will be tougher to stop as opposed to an object with a smaller mass, similarly, the object with heavier mass will requires more effort to start as opposed to an object with lower mass.

However, you forgot the Newton's Third Law of Motion; For every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction.

Given the impact of crash as decided by F = M x A, it may be true that Mass affects the amount of force but acceleration will also play an equal role in deciding Force.

Equilibrium determines that Resultant Force = 0N, however there are still forces acting and cancelling out each other in a system. Given that bike were to crash into a wall, the damage is largely dependent on the reaction force against the bike and the rider. However, do remember that how well the force is absorbed by the object is largely determined by its material. That is why when you crash into the wall, the wall suffers little to no damage as compared to you, though the force absorbed by both is the same.

Generally, if a bike have a lower mass as compared to one with higher mass, therefore it is reasonable to assume that the tolerance of the bike with lower mass is lower as compared to one with higher mass. That is why, though F = M x A is affected by Mass, you need to take into consideration of the ability of the bike+rider to absorb impact effectively.

So, whether it is large or small. Mass has little to no relevance in an event of accident. What? You have not seen small bikes getting into accidents with the rider critically injured?

So, in order to reduce the impact on force on your body, it is better to wear protective gears so as to diffuse the impact against your body and bones. Better still, don't speed excessively to reduce the amount of initial impact.

Therefore, you can never walk away from an accident if your ability to absorb damage is only limited to the bike frame and your bones.

i own a small bike just to cruise through traffic jams office hours work. big bike use like weekend car hours which is great and safer during those hours to get out of dangerous zones fast, because of free flowing traffic.

Both bikes also safe under different conditions, but not vice versa. in fact given our ridiculous 1st class traffic congested bumper to bumper traffic, kups is the only way to travel. ferraris, porsche, cherry all also waste time stuck in traffic watching me cruise by.

I like this statement very much

http://simplyzesty.com/wp-content/uploads//2011/06/facebook-like-buton.png

You are talking about Inertia. Newton's First Law of Motion; an object with large mass in motion will be tougher to stop as opposed to an object with a smaller mass, similarly, the object with heavier mass will requires more effort to start as opposed to an object with lower mass.

However, you forgot the Newton's Third Law of Motion; For every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction.

Given the impact of crash as decided by F = M x A, it may be true that Mass affects the amount of force but acceleration will also play an equal role in deciding Force.

Equilibrium determines that Resultant Force = 0N, however there are still forces acting and cancelling out each other in a system. Given that bike were to crash into a wall, the damage is largely dependent on the reaction force against the bike and the rider. However, do remember that how well the force is absorbed by the object is largely determined by its material. That is why when you crash into the wall, the wall suffers little to no damage as compared to you, though the force absorbed by both is the same.

Generally, if a bike have a lower mass as compared to one with higher mass, therefore it is reasonable to assume that the tolerance of the bike with lower mass is lower as compared to one with higher mass. That is why, though F = M x A is affected by Mass, you need to take into consideration of the ability of the bike+rider to absorb impact effectively.

So, whether it is large or small. Mass has little to no relevance in an event of accident. What? You have not seen small bikes getting into accidents with the rider critically injured?

So, in order to reduce the impact on force on your body, it is better to wear protective gears so as to diffuse the impact against your body and bones. Better still, don't speed excessively to reduce the amount of initial impact.

Therefore, you can never walk away from an accident if your ability to absorb damage is only limited to the bike frame and your bones.

Basically what he's saying big or small no diff, you langgar you fly thats why must wear protective gear, the faster you langga, the further you fly, irregardless of bike. Then again, I've never been in an accident where I didn't fly off the bike, if I was dragged by an R1 compared to a kup, different story.

TS.

Guess most bros have already point out the pro of having a bigger bike.

The best is still to experience it yourself.

Actually during 2A pratical, u can already experience the stability. At the ebrake station.

I believe u still can remember doing ur ebrake during class 2b. U should have experience how scary and how unstable a 2B bike is.

I always have phobia during the ebrake station. Skidded horribliy during one of my class 2B lesson that put me out for almost 1 month. Even thou I have recover physically. mentally still have phobia. So during TP time, it's always one of the station that give away free points to TP for me.

When I was trying out my 2A. I was so surprise how stable a FJR400 is during ebrake. Not to mention, almost effortless to keep it up right and stable.

TS.

Actually during 2A pratical, u can already experience the stability. At the ebrake station.

I believe u still can remember doing ur ebrake during class 2b. U should have experience how scary and how unstable a 2B bike is.

I always have phobia during the ebrake station. Skidded horribliy during one of my class 2B lesson that put me out for almost 1 month. Even thou I have recover physically. mentally still have phobia. So during TP time, it's always one of the station that give away free points to TP for me.

When I was trying out my 2A. I was so surprise how stable a FJR400 is during ebrake. Not to mention, almost effortless to keep it up right and stable.

Heh, I remember how I almost crap my pants when 3 (2 guys and a lady) persons before me skidded at the station. Luckily I came out unscathed, though I slide for abit due to the floor being wet. (Hate them for spraying water all over the area!)

I love the stability of the S4 which I took at BBDC . Yup, emergency brake is easier to perform with a heavy bike. Perhaps also due to the double disk brake that allows you to brake in gradually with better stopping power, don't really recall that I need to squeeze the front brake harder as compared to class 2B.

TS.

As someone who has experienced accident while cornering and flew, yes, 2B bikes don't feel safe cornering. You actually need more balls if you intend to corner low compared to a bigger bike. Slim tyres has only so much grip, worse in a corner where there's less.

why all always think that big tyres means more grip huh? Logically yes but technically i dun really think so leh. You can try corner with a TW super big donut tyres hahahahaha.

TS.

I crashed the super 4 during e brake cos i wasn't used to the powerful double disc brake with NISSIN calipers.... locked the front and it folded and i went down sideways..... it was fun!

!!!!!!!!!!

why all always think that big tyres means more grip huh? Logically yes but technically i dun really think so leh. You can try corner with a TW super big donut tyres hahahahaha.

Profile for beach mah, not for road riding.

Drivers tend to give bigger bikes a wider berth. I noticed it when moving through 2B to 2. Maybe the lights or size or whatever. Definitely feel safer on a class 2.

More road presence.

U can bully a small bike and then run from him, you can't do that to a bigger bike. The fella can trail you to your carpark, and do to you what a certain big bike rider did (came out on the newspaper).

LOL.

more road presence.

U can bully a small bike and then run from him, you can't do that to a bigger bike. The fella can trail you to your carpark, and do to you what a certain big bike rider did (came out on the newspaper).

Lol.

-like like like-

More road presence.

LOL.

the situation is vice versa in traffic jams, a small bike can bang your mirrors and zoom off while you are still stuck in traffic cursing yourself

if a bike bangs a mirror, runs away, can the car owner take action purely by knowing the bike number plate?

your word against his word