Welcome to "Black Swan"

Formerly, the Class 2B local training division of

FRIDAY NIGHT BIKERS

Group Banner small.jpg

Background:

We are a non profit independent team of ride organisers, kopitiam engineers and family men who hop on our motorcycles every Friday or Saturday evening to burn petrol, makan, and improve our knowledge of motor vehicle technology.

While our platoon and company commanders reserve the right to hand-pick the core fleet of vehicles and riders/drivers for each occasion, admission is free and newbies can sign up with us at any time.

While some of us have up to 30 years or rider or driver experience plus extensive overseas road trip expertise, we do not discriminate between new or old riders regardless of engine capacity.

Operations:

Thanks to unique route planning and vehicle team tactics developed 'in the field' on Singapore and Malaysian roads over the past year, we are able to integrate a wide variety of 2/3/4 wheeled vehicles into the same convoy at a comfortable pace for all.

We use military style tactics to deploy a core force of light cruisers and choppers to navigate the route, escorted by a squadron of fast sports bikes and backed up by heavy cruisers and "battleships" - in this manner the navigators (Honda Phantoms) concentrate on picking the correct route to avoid congestion, helping the heavies (Can Am Spyder, Intruder 1800 etc) progress through traffic while sportsbikes sprint ahead to secure the next rally point.

The main objectives of this "multiple platoon" format are diversity, minimal stoppages and everyone's personal skill contributing to performance of the entire team. The company commander always has the option of splitting the convoy into multiple formations when heavy traffic is encountered, enhancing safety and average speed while preventing the road from being obstructed by the large convoy.

We are also a one of a kind band of riding kakis in that we allow and encourage 2B license holders and new members to have a go at leading the convoy (or a "platoon" thereof) when it is safe to do so - horsepower and tactical skill are instruments with which to protect our leaders in training, so in future you will be seeing many more independently planned outings and many more convoy leaders / route marshals on this forum.

Finally, while many of our riders have told us that they are initially nervous to join large gatherings due to the fiercely regulated rules and high traveling speed, there is no such thing as a "dictatorial" style of management here. All outings are planned for the SLOWEST and NEWEST member of our group, and it's the job of veteran riders to use their higher experience to defend and nuture new riders.

So yes, this is more or less the only time you'll see superbikes in formation with 2B bikes. Superior speed is used to secure a safe cruising route, but in heavy traffic the smaller Class 2B machines are of great utility being the eyes and ears of the convoy.

Showcase:

What is all the above in text? Boring!

Here are some of our trademark videos filmed as we were fine tuning our convoy tactics in June - July 2011: -

The "Spyder Battlegroup"

1. First, a Spyder joined our team in June. We had no idea how a trike fits onto Singapore's congested roads, so we got an idea to form a "Battlegroup" around it. Most of our regular riders then were SAF Armour veterans, but ironically we ended up with a naval line of battle instead.

2. The Spyder worked really well as a "battleship" accompanying that HUGE Intruder 1800, but how does it handle twisty rural roads? Very well! It has awesome stability and traction control.

3. And we sign off the Spyder's integration into our team by posing it against the rising sun... at 100kph.

We even get the timing for this moving shot perfectly right (deliberately late so the sun is "in the air"). Would you believe that the convoy leader @

palzzz for that day had no prior experience leading a motorcycle convoy? :3

4. Now we refine our convoy strategies to a fine edge through weekly rides. And we have not one but three outings in a week, organised by our various platoon leaders.

Outings:

Convoys are run every Friday night from 9.30pm till late by default.

We also conduct "special vehicle operations" such as the Dawn Patrol (5.30am), weekend "kopitiam engineering" to teach motorcycle maintenance and performance tuning skills, as well as Malaysian road trips for new riders.

On demand, we also conduct "road traffic familiarisation" outings for very new license holders who are nervous about commuting. We will teach you some key technical and vehicle handling skills, give you a few good references and we'll set you on the right track to learning about motorcycling the safe way. :)

Staff:

We do not have a fixed convoy leader, since we encourage regular riders to bring their own group of friends to large gatherings and manage their arrival times independently of the core "battle group". Here is a general list of our "Platoon leaders" as at August 2011:

@spyder@sg - Can Am Spyder, "Battle Force" (heavy cruisers and other large vehicles). Also provides logistics and "combat engineering" support from his Spyder's internal storage.

@tankee1981 & @Metal_Heart - Honda Phantom and Super Four, "Scouting Force Command" in charge of route navigation and 2B sportsbike control

@gutripper - Kawasaki KRR, These lightweight pocket rockets are our preferred "Scouting Force" equipment, scooting ahead to mark the next turning point and supporting Scout Command.

@jx87 - Ducati Monster S2R, "Third Platoon" with super- and exotic bikes who are given no direct orders, they are experienced riders who can assign themselves to any convoy position to best suit the tactical situation.

@BLACK COMET - Suzuki DR200 - Automotive technology consultant & Anime IC (yes, for real.)

@willtam - "Tame Racing Driver"

So now, the all important question:

When is the next outing?

We currently practise "community oriented" outing planning where everyone can propose and contribute to route planning / event management on Facebook.

For platoon commanders and event managers, you can add me on FB as well:

http://www.facebook.com/#!/carmen.alexandre1

Our website is in my signature and contains a link to our old Friday Night Bikers support webpage as well (FnB does not coordinate with us for event planning).

Disclaimers and Producer's Notes:

1. We are not a commercial entity nor are we interested to become a major touring group

2. Our members are obliged and encouraged to showcase their individual preferences, no discrimination is tolerated, be it with engine capacity, race, gender, etc. Remember, this is a gentlemens' motorcycle club, not a "dating" outing. Desperate bachelors should go to Geylang for that. (We have had certain bad experiences last year with "certain other" groups who make lewd gestures and comments at ladies at neighbouring tables / walking past. Once they got on the road, they didn't watch for traffic, they admired pedestrians while riding. Definitely not an example to encourage).

3. We do not practise "number plate censoring" in our photos and videos as we have absolutely no guilt whatsoever for going out and burning petrol in the interest of fun and education. Riders are individually responsible for their motorcycle's legality and handling their vehicles (and/or vehicle teams) in a safe, responsible manner.

4. As commercial vehicle enthusiasts, we acknowledge their drivers' long working hours and difficult working conditions, thus we look out for and offer right of way to taxis, lorry drivers etc who appear to be in a hurry. The same goes for car drivers who are in a hurry, who knows, they might be on a mission of mercy.

(Some of our mothers were rushed to hospital this way just before we were born...)

Edited by Pandora's Kitten :3
  • Replies 164

Helo :D yup super long post machiam lawyer's letter sia

Send me a sign, wanna leave it all behind

I'll be leaving the hands of doom...

Rearrange the master plan, take the future in my hands

To be free and not trapped anymore...

Ride The Sky!

Give me wings to fly...

Ride The Sky!

Helo :D yup super long post machiam lawyer's letter sia

LOL! R1 joining Spyder's malaysia trip next week? They might need some big horsepower support :3

Yep, have to find some way to reduce the lawyer-ness of it all. Maybe cute pillows? LOL

LOL! R1 joining Spyder's malaysia trip next week? They might need some big horsepower support :3

Yep, have to find some way to reduce the lawyer-ness of it all. Maybe cute pillows? LOL

Yup joining the trip...just got the bike yesterday...running cool now :D

Wad time u knock off 2mrw? I'm breaking fast at tpy...black bird still waiting for me haha

Send me a sign, wanna leave it all behind

I'll be leaving the hands of doom...

Rearrange the master plan, take the future in my hands

To be free and not trapped anymore...

Ride The Sky!

Give me wings to fly...

Ride The Sky!

Yup joining the trip...just got the bike yesterday...running cool now :D

Wad time u knock off 2mrw? I'm breaking fast at tpy...black bird still waiting for me haha

Dinner at 7pm onwards should be alright for me. We confirm tomorow as I need to try and shove all my work to 10 August :)

Waa got new thread here? Now can "spam" all I want without irritating the rest with fb notifications :p

“Speed has never killed anyone. Suddenly becoming stationary, that's what gets you.†- Jeremy Clarkson

http://images54.fotki.com/v104/photos/3/1279813/10237619/IMG_0625-vi.jpg[

Waa got new thread here? Now can "spam" all I want without irritating the rest with fb notifications :p

Do you have any big fish to spare from last night? Epic. Now we can have fishing outings at 3am.

*note: the type of fish and the location of fishing is debatable :3

Thanks to dave for teaching me the basic of fishing. I had to leave earlier because stomach wasn't feeling too good since I just recovered from diarrhea. I will be joining him again to learn more. Nice way to pass hours, before I know it. It was 5am.

Mins after I left dave caught catfishes >_> when I was around nothing LOL!

“Speed has never killed anyone. Suddenly becoming stationary, that's what gets you.†- Jeremy Clarkson

LOL great, so it does look like we have fishing expertise and it's rather easy to organise. I am not sure how we can fit in another fishing session this coming week as the large convoy will deploy on Saturday night instead of Friday. Perhaps in the "next next" week we can do a Friday night followed by Sunday morning fishing.

How do we cook the fish after the catch?

I'm ok with that need to check with dave.

Nice video and nice editing man :)

Thanks to dave for teaching me the basic of fishing. I had to leave earlier because stomach wasn't feeling too good since I just recovered from diarrhea. I will be joining him again to learn more. Nice way to pass hours, before I know it. It was 5am.

Mins after I left dave caught catfishes >_> when I was around nothing LOL!

LOL great, so it does look like we have fishing expertise and it's rather easy to organise. I am not sure how we can fit in another fishing session this coming week as the large convoy will deploy on Saturday night instead of Friday. Perhaps in the "next next" week we can do a Friday night followed by Sunday morning fishing.

How do we cook the fish after the catch?

Lol...I am no expert at fishing yet. Merely know the basics as I only picked it up this year but I found an interest in it. Yup thanks to Vik for accompanying for fishing on a boring saturday night :)

Fishing is best to kept to a really small group and preferably those who really have an interest in it or don't mind doing nothing for hours. Let's be honest about it, you will really be doing nothing much for 3-5 hours. But hey, it isn't really all about the fish but its about the company. If you don't mind doing nothing for 5 hours except chit-chat, discuss, enjoy the view/breeze/water....then anyone is welcome to join :) Actually, there was once I had a fishing outing with my krr group. Most of them didn't fish and only the 3-4 of us did. But it was ok, we simply cast our lines into the water and left it there. In the meantime, we brought a small bbq grill and had a bbq session. All of us had fun that night :)

I dunno how to cook the fish YET! I usually just release them back lol.

Lol...I am no expert at fishing yet. Merely know the basics as I only picked it up this year but I found an interest in it. Yup thanks to Vik for accompanying for fishing on a boring saturday night :)

Fishing is best to kept to a really small group and preferably those who really have an interest in it or don't mind doing nothing for hours. Let's be honest about it, you will really be doing nothing much for 3-5 hours. But hey, it isn't really all about the fish but its about the company. If you don't mind doing nothing for 5 hours except chit-chat, discuss, enjoy the view/breeze/water....then anyone is welcome to join :) Actually, there was once I had a fishing outing with my krr group. Most of them didn't fish and only the 3-4 of us did. But it was ok, we simply cast our lines into the water and left it there. In the meantime, we brought a small bbq grill and had a bbq session. All of us had fun that night :)

I dunno how to cook the fish YET! I usually just release them back lol.

OK on.

We can start fishing one night at like, 10pm, we can all chip in to arrange for a big pizza delivery, and use the fishing point as a "forward operating base" to launch small convoys from to various destinations. I.e., if the fishing point was Mandai we can launch convoys to explore "forbidden factories" in Admiralty (which you CAN drive into :D), Seletar Dam, Devils' Bend, etc then return to the fishing site to drink, makan and TCSS.

The idea is that we split a huge company into 2 or more platoons which ride to different areas to do different things simultaneously. The only issue is that someone needs to supervise the fishing operation all the time, or take turns fishing. And of course, guard the supply caches. (Spyder can provide logistics, as with tomorrow's Malaysian trip).

If any riders are tired they can sleep there lol.

Would be an interesting alternative ride format for this Saturday, non?

A fishing trip would be cool lol~ but no experience and no equipement xD Chit chat and lepak there is all i can do and at the same time learn haha.

Closest thing I done related to fishing is only prawn fishing =X

Adventure.

@gutripper

OK I think fishing IC can plan fishing already. Either add on to this Sat nite's ride or next weekend.

Thanks for the feedback @Shunpo :3

Ok lets discuss this and come up with something for next weekend. FB is a perfect place to discuss and contribute ideas haha.

Just checking u guys do DIY on bikes too??

Like to hands on bike..

Say change spark plug.. For a start..

Problems arise from advancement of technology - it causes unnecessary misunderstanding among us humans.

Just checking u guys do DIY on bikes too??

Like to hands on bike..

Say change spark plug.. For a start..

It's part of the Kopitiam Engineering Curriculum but not openly practised. Learning here is on a need to know basis - for instance those embarking on their first Malaysian ride tomorrow are expected to know how to deal with common emergencies, or at least what could possibly go wrong.

For us who organise local rides mechanical knowledge as well is important because things can go wrong as well especially when dealing with custom / experimental bikes but we don't organise special DIY sessions. More important to ensure that if things go wrong, there is a swift and decisive response.

Most of the automotive knowledge we have are self-learned, after all. We have the capability to self-tune, optimise and conduct minor repairs to the machines in our fleet but are not a licensed garage so will not directly offer services / classes to the general public.