so call "corrupt free" lah, but now we see news of politicians in the west screwing up all over the place, riots in England is unprecedented. Its human nature that if people feel shortchange, some of resistance or chaos will erupt if its beyond their power to rectify it.

look at the displeasure of the 40%, now govt can't be bothered to change for the people. And stupid rulings pro-foreigner, anti-singaporeans ! The Cmc, TPL, MP sms during national anthem, honest mistakes brush aside billion dollar liabilities, seriously with this kinda govt. Everybody will lose faith in the system and think for themselves now, corruption is the easiest route in a lame administration, i see it becoming more rampant.

• Replies 30

so call "corrupt free" lah, but now we see news of politicians in the west screwing up all over the place, riots in England is unprecedented. Its human nature that if people feel shortchange, some of resistance or chaos will erupt if its beyond their power to rectify it.

look at the displeasure of the 40%, now govt can't be bothered to change for the people. And stupid rulings pro-foreigner, anti-singaporeans ! The Cmc, TPL, MP sms during national anthem, honest mistakes brush aside billion dollar liabilities, seriously with this kinda govt. Everybody will lose faith in the system and think for themselves now, corruption is the easiest route in a lame administration, i see it becoming more rampant.

So, what would you do about it?

Get used to it, kopi money standby liao.

Ain't that bad yet. Although certain affiliation "guanxi" with the right people would get you certain places.

Rmb kids, GUANXI (Relations) is NOT corruption! Better say first to make it clear, lest someone or something want to defamation suit me. Seems like people got alot of money to sue one another nowadays.

Human emotion is the biggest obstacle to have 100% corruption free.

Isn't suing some kind of investment nowadays? You put in money, and hope you get a return to off-set the cost, better if yet profit... Either way you still make he other party lose in some ways, e.g. face, money. :B I'm just saying.

Its just a matter of time dude.........

Justice is corrupted here, who got most money wins, thats why businesses can stomp on normal people. Normal people like us with average earnings have no chance.

Death comes for us all. Even for kings he comes. ~ Robert Bolt

Check and balance.

Now, you have a parliament where decisions are made and voted by the members, most of whom belong to the same party.

The President? What powers does he has and does he actually actively wield them to protect the People's Reserve?

Next is the mass media. Tell me what good is the media here in snooping on the doings of the govt and asking the questions?

Yours truly flipped the pages when I see comments or articles on the govt, becos I find there is no substance in those words.

How do you define corruption?

Taking money under the table?

Is there a huge difference between that and in paying one another millions and increasing the pay w/o as much as consulting the people, who are paying them?

Often, the words used is that pegging to the private sector ensures a good crop of civil servants who are of a good standing.

If you work in private sector and planned a function where u exceed the budget 3 times w/o so much as gaining anything. Your boss will ask u to F Off.

Here? Not so much as a whimper from anyone.

Corruption? It is not just about money.

It is about having being entrusted with powers and misusing it.

Dont get me started on the public housing joke, where the word public should be thrown away.

By the way, 60% of Sgs agreed with them.

And probably the same 60% will agree again on Aug 27.

And I bet those 60% already have flats of their own and they are probably middle aged or old, maybe can ask your average friendly biker killing taxi drivers, who they voted for.

The sane thing to do is wait for the next GE and hope for the best. The extreme thing to do would be to have riots, demonstrations, total anarchy.

yes, we all have eyes to see, but why the 60% so lame? are they all bizmen? 80% stay in hdb flats, even among the 20% pte also some not happy with the govt. so why singaporeans cannot be braver? bikers are only a small population, as compared to the car population. is it singaporeans by nature like govt to squeeze their balls?

either i alienate myself or the rest of the world are in denial.

Check and balance.

Now, you have a parliament where decisions are made and voted by the members, most of whom belong to the same party.

The President? What powers does he has and does he actually actively wield them to protect the People's Reserve?

Next is the mass media. Tell me what good is the media here in snooping on the doings of the govt and asking the questions?

Yours truly flipped the pages when I see comments or articles on the govt, becos I find there is no substance in those words.

How do you define corruption?

Taking money under the table?

Is there a huge difference between that and in paying one another millions and increasing the pay w/o as much as consulting the people, who are paying them?

Often, the words used is that pegging to the private sector ensures a good crop of civil servants who are of a good standing.

If you work in private sector and planned a function where u exceed the budget 3 times w/o so much as gaining anything. Your boss will ask u to F Off.

Here? Not so much as a whimper from anyone.

Corruption? It is not just about money.

It is about having being entrusted with powers and misusing it.

Dont get me started on the public housing joke, where the word public should be thrown away.

By the way, 60% of Sgs agreed with them.

And probably the same 60% will agree again on Aug 27.

That's what is call "corrupt free" now, but because we so stupid still vote them, the only way i see coming, is they are going to take more and more, uncontrollable. by next GE, we could be bankrupt on retirement.

i guessing we may not need to wait that long, with TT in place......and curry going to be ban.....

Sadly, in the words of TPL, i really dont know what to say?

Nope cos power corrupts... :sian:

Ok guys...... this all seems very obvious and we seem mostly in agreement..... next question would be: So how? What can we do about it?

do a tottenham?

YAMAHA FZ1S ABS 2K12

corrupt is a govt coined word for what you dont give the govt a cut from what you make.

That's why everything you do have to register for the govt to take a cut. otherwise why smoking, prostitution, gambling is allowed if its govt managed? and not pte managed.

Now that you have power and control everything, what do you do when you need more?

Make use of existing system of taxes and collections and make more, squeeze more, think of new rules and excuses to squeeze some more.

All these more leads to inflation even though SGD is strong, so technically Sg can never be corrupted, anything not enough, just proclaim and take, nobody stopping them.

Is Singapore really corruption free?

Look at the survey on public transport that says that Singaporeans are satisfied with our 'world classed public transport system' amist the cries against the request for the increase in public transport fees.

Makes you wonder.......

How do you define corruption??

Lets say someone bribe the other party by paying a extra sum of money and another group of people disagree on their action and consider them as corruption act. Thinking this is not an honorable act.

But... what is the sum of money is currently equal share amount everyone, I meant a really big sum of money...

So the situation has changes, imagine this as the dark age of HK empire... How do you define corruption if everyone is doing it??? Is this still corrupt?

curruption is coin as using one power to gain lucre for one glatification

there are 4 component

1.oneself

2.power

3.lucre

4.glatification

so objectively does paying millions to a persons prevent corrution.....?

so corruption is taking more without kpi? cannot be, its justified, but overpaid that's what i consider. How to drive down overpayment, if you dont self-adjust, whose going to stop you.?

Man kind was just fighting in the War less then 70yrs ago with many more countries still in civil unrest, so to think that man-kind isnt selfish or have good morals is just being plain ignorant. The only think in most society that has changed is Infrastructures and Technology. Mind-set is still the same, it hasnt evolved to another level of morals, so to think that people who govern you have the same morals as you do is not always the case.

Edited by bluelabel