Huh?

mine is good advice.

dont jump into something that one doesnt know.

what is so mean about it?

quoted for truth. so i would like more guidance from the bros here. i know enough of bikes/maintenance/performance in general, but not enough about this class because i'm only just getting my cl2. please guide a little brother to motoring nirvana :)

went to a couple of bike shops today and got to ride (straddle la, not ride ride) on a few bikes. most cl2 naked bikes are not quite like their 2b siblings. their riding posture is ... halfway aggressive? there's a slight lean forward. cl2 sportbikes though, ride like their 2b brethren. that said, because of my current ride, i feel more at home on a cl2 naked bike. however, at low speeds (again, i didn't get to ride, but i was allowed to just push it around while on the bike), i find that cl2 sportbikes are slightly easier to handle .. i don't have the hard facts to back it up now, but just pushing the bike .. it feels lighter and more agile, which pretty much went against what i had expected to find. maybe i'm weird and it's just me. in any case, all this is subjective, and truth be told, i'd probably be able to adapt to either, given enough time.

this is where it gets contentious though. the different sales people at different shops had widely differing opinions as to the cost of running cl2 sportbikes and naked bikes. no doubt they all have their hidden agenda and commission structure, but i was presented with a plethora of reasons for choosing one over another. some said the servicing intervals were the same between the 2 types of bikes, others not. some said that in the long haul, due to the popularity of sportbikes in singapore, parts would be cheaper for them due to easier availability. others said that due to the inherent quality required of sportbike parts, they cost more to buy. i would really like input on this. i know if i go into r6/xj6/cbr6/gsxr6/fz thread, they would say r6/xj6/cbr6/gsxr6/fz good. so ideally, someone who can be objective about their experiences :) thanks!

• Replies 44

all the advise u need is already here. i think is pointless to continue. good luck in finding 1 bike u love

thanks! haven't been so active on sbf since my cl2b in 2009. really digging thru all the threads. fzer thread crazy tho .. read dunno how many pages/years back liao but neverending!

Interesting thread, you seem like the really detailed kind, when I was looking for class 2 bike I also explored every option and learnt a lot, maybe share a few things with you.

Regarding costs

First, if you have to worry about FC and maintenance costs for a particular bike, don't get it. Once you get the bike, you can't scrimp on maintenance and fuel. You can't postpone service intervals or save fuel when riding (not much anyway).

Second, get bikes that are common on the roads: FZ6, R6, FZ1, CBR600RR etc. Singapore is not a very big bike market and with a rare bike you may have trouble getting parts and with reselling. Bikes like CBF1000, Z1000 for whatever reason are not popular here even though they are similar to popular counterparts.

Third, consider older bikes. Class 2 bikes depreciate very fast compared to, say, super 4, because of lack of ready market. Depreciation will be your single biggest cost. You may even consider getting a COE bike then topping it up (although COE prices are high now).

Regarding bike type

This is really up to you. As you probably know all class 2 bikes are plenty powerful. Litre bikes can go >100kmh in first gear. Basically you will never use full power. But like you said, it's nice cruising at high speed at low rpm, overtaking with the slightest twist of the throttle.

By the way for me the biggest shock going to class 2 (I went straight from 2B to 2) is the weight. This is most apparent at low speed or pushing around. Tight corners at low speed need a certain amount of power. And your legs have to be ready for a bit of workout, no more pedaling around like bicycle.

thanks alot bro kraikk. your response was most helpful! yes i'm the very detailed kind! like to be very thorough in everything i do. as this bike will be replacing what i currently ride, i don't want to skimp on the little things .. off the bat i would love to have a sportbike as i said, but i don't want something as minute as riding posture/weight/fc/maintenance to eventually have me second guessing my decision.

as for bro biting_point, i didn't know i need to be tested in order to be deemed deserving of guidance and help. in any case u have been very helpful, so to answer ur question, i found the cl2 sportbikes to have a similar riding stance to the older cl2b sportbikes tzms, tzrs, nsrs (hornet), and also aprilia's rs125. tbvh, i found the riding stance to also be similar to modded krrs with racing footrests and pulled back bars, but since u only asked that i share what i think to be true breed sportsbikes .. then ya. read my post again, i was talking about riding posture (shops only let me hop on the bike, and also to push the bike while straddling it)

edit: jst want to add that if i'm the right track, pls carry on sharing! i have a long way to go. if i'm on the wrong track, please teach and correct. :) there's nothing worst than just stating a position w/o explaining.

i found the cl2 sportbikes to have a similar riding stance to the older cl2b sportbikes tzms, tzrs, nsrs (hornet), and also aprilia's rs125

not trying to be mean.. but many still doesnt understand the meaning of sportsbike..

many still thinks that TZM, NSR are sportsbike.. they are in fact roadbikes with fairings.. their original sitting posture is almost upright..

true breeds ones are RS125, mito.. their USD forks, rear tyre size, posture makes them different from TZM, KRR and NSR..

back to your queries..

as i've mentioned, most road bikes (CL2) in SG have a slight forward stance posture.. there are also full fairing Fazer1 and FZ6 if you are going for looks..

go for what you really like and would like to own it for years down the road.. one bike that really makes you go crazy about it..

if you are financially burdened, lower your expectations and go for a achievable bike within your budget..

you did mentioned that you are very detailed, but no bike make/model makes bike specifically for you.. unless of cuz you are Rossi or Lorenzo..

make a list of the possible bikes that you would wish to own, then list out their specifications/price/reviews..

from there, cross out those that are not within your needs, slowly narrow down to at least 2-3 choices..

from there, intensively research on these 2-3 bikes and see which one suits you the most (financially, looks, power, FC, maintenance, aftermarket parts, service schedules, etc)

bro u shd try my current ride daelim roadwin r .. that one is REALLY a roadbike with fairing (more upright than fazer) haha. when i got onto a tzm/nsr (hornet) while deciding on my 2b bike, the feeling is a world of difference.

anyway, u are right - can't have ur cake and eat it. i think alot of bros here have been very helpful giving me long and detailed responses. i have decided to get a sportbike. the one common rhetoric in this thread is buy what u love. yes there may be cost differences, but i doubt it will be substantial (as per bro shockard's testimonial with regards his r6, and bros such as urself on capacity/servicing). i don't consider low hundreds to be a big diff over an annual basis .. all things in perspective, my car basic service costs $1k+ year (oils, fluids, gases, pads, tyres, alignment), and $100 at the pump per week =.=" no point being penny wise and pound foolish.

from here on out, i'll be researching individual models (and variations according to year). will take questions to their respective threads. BIG THANKS TO ALL WHO REPLIED! really appreciate time taken to answer my noob queries.

If I were to get a CL2 bike when I just passed my license I would definitely get a Yammie R1/R6(Or any sportsbike). When you're young you wanna look the most macho-est on your bike. Of course when you buy something like a CL2 sportsbike you dont even think about having a life outside your motorcycle hahaha (Monetary wise).

But the reasonable person in me would just hang it out with the CB400 and save up money for stormy days. Fact is Singapore is one place that's hard to ride your dream unless you got a good solid financial backing without risking your future.

WTS: CB400-PB1

Search my threads! Thanks for viewing!

there are too much info on forum, there are lots of things to talk about bikes,

my advice... try to catch up with different riding groups... at various outings..

Fazer group, ST owenr group, Moto-V, Kruzers, etc... there are mixture of bikes and can get first hand info.

or just pm @biting_point and he can share more over kopi...

Don't forget to knee down, its a waste if you don't try it at least once.

You dun need a sportsbike to knee down..

My first knee down experience is on my DRZ SM..

Anyway, TS can also PM @kmax for advice..

He'll try to sell you his TDM thou, so that he can get himself a Super Tenere!! :cheeky:

You can knee down with most bikes, even kups, just saying sport bikes are made of it and since he's getting one.

hahaha.. TDM is half price of Super Ten.. come... come..anyone ?

Pertinent question for you TS.

1. Do you have a regular pillion?

2. Do you go to the track often?

Maintenance for CL2 bikes (assuming same type of engine config ... eg. FZ1 vs R1) is about the same. Road tax, same. Insurance, maybe some slight differences.

Ultimately you have to decide how you're gonna use it.

When I got my R1, I very quickly decided that I hated to ride it on the streets. I'm ok with the posture actually.

But I couldn't pillion my partner with it. Very uncomfortable for both. Next, start stop traffic on a literbike burns your thigh and balls.

But then I had a Super4 and Phantom in addition to the R1 then, so it ended up as my weekend and track bike. After 2 years, it clocked only 20K, and that included tours and track.

Now I'm on a FZ1. I use it often as it's more streetable. Powerwise, it'll match most CL2 sportbike on the street (not on the track) as how much can you use on the roads anyway?

I take a more practical slant towards ownership.

So if I ever feel the itch or pull of the track again, I'll prolly get another liter sportbike. But it'll likely be another 1 day a week bike again.

That is all.

bro deus, thank you so much!!! ur response really shows how well u understand the questions that i as a soon-to-be cl2 rider have. from the costs involved to the eventual use of the bike .. absolutely spot on!!! having read what u wrote, i feel so much better about my decision a few posts back.

it's not so much that i as a rider don't understand my bikes (although without doubt i'm one of the least versed), but rather, want confirmation from the bros who've had these bikes, and to find out about their inclination-shaping experiences. this is why my questions have not been about model vs model but type vs type .. it's the big picture that i am most concerned about at tihs stage of my decision-making process, not the little details. and to this end, bro deus .. REALLY ZAI! BIG THANKS!

There's nothing zai about it. It's just an honest question that everyone has to ask themselves before they buy a car or bike.

Anyway, something interesting for those who're deciding between naked, sports or cruisers.

Some dude's view

http://hallicino.hubpages.com/hub/Motorcycle_Ergonomics_Getting_That_Kink_Out

And an ergonomics illustration tool. Very useful.

Just choose your bike, enter your height and see your seating position.

http://cycle-ergo.com/