Guest Valarie

High fuel comsuption with short distance milage can be a result from a few key factors:

1)Low tire pressure

2)Addition heavy accessories such as side pods and rear box.

3)Poor riding techniques

4)Poor regular service record

5)Old and worn out chain and sprocket

6)Old sparkplug

7)Retune ur fuel and air intake at the caburator

The above are some of the factors which I know of.

• Replies 316

best way to save fuel is to change ur gears early, but not too early till ur bike is getting labour...so far my worse consumption was 33L,cuz i forgot bout my eo till it got burnt away....and best was 42L...cuz i worked despatch wif it and thus i had to cover all e expressway available in sg...haha...and also remember one crucial thing...spark plug...do change it if u've got e spare cash...lyk every 20k km...and also after a new set of plug is installed tune up e carburator

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

Originally posted by sky_vinz@February 04, 2007 02:46 pm

hailang_82: U can always read up ur Phantom TA200 manual anytime or call up Boon Siew to enquire, if u doubt my words.

hot liao hot liao !

check da manual~ :lol:

April'12~Current - Kymco DownTown 125i

June'09 ~ April'12. - Kymco Grand Dink 150.

1st June'04 till now 30th June'09. - Honda TA150

June'11~April'12. - Toyota Hiace '04

Good ol' days with my Phantom~

:cheeky: "Baby"

Guest Valarie
Originally posted by mercurius@February 13, 2007 09:21 pm

tune the carburator.... how do u do that, or u tell the mechanic he'll understand exactly how to tune? since all bikes a but different

Ah Koon can tune the air and fuel intake which is located at the carburator. U can ask for faster acceleration but at the expense of high fuel consumption or a slower acceleration but a lower fuel consumption. OR..still can ask him to tune back to the original factory settings.. plus minus. When I ASKED him how he could tell, he said..experience!

I know old thread but just to update. now i travel far n' fuel consumption is about 36-40 km/l. i guess the problem before wos becos of city riding + inexperienced riding. Thanks all!

2004: Sanyang Husky 150

2005-2006: Arilia RS 125

2007-2012: Phantom TA200

2013: Gilera Runner ST200

my ta200 FU plate fc was around 46km/l when i first got it..

i got quite shocked..

den once add top box drop to 38km/l like that..

my calculations based on constant refuelling..

visit shell like once every 3 days..

top up like half tank maybe less den half tank..

'bikes are your sweet poison. despite knowing it would kill, you would die just to have a taste of it. '

my odometer have been dead for very long already... (about 1 week) now I know nuts about my FC, by the trend my FC is steadily dropping... last time I calculated it was 23km/l... by now maybe below 20km/l :cry:

Dead means inaccurate. So im not so sure about ur FC. TA200 should have at least 30km/l if whack then 20+

no... I meant that I calculated when the odo was still working... yea I know I always keep the throttle open errr... fully... >.

Well, imo, you shouldnt do that... fully also most prob cannot go any more faster. Max for a TA should be around 130 - 140km/h .... so fast also no use, scared kenna caught... plus u should know by now that the brake isnt that fantastic... just ride smoothly and ur fc will be better, lastly, if u always whack, there is a chance that there will be piston jam. Most times, piston jam = wheel locked = you know what..... ride safe!

ok... now my FC stands at 32.9km/l... that is a little more acceptable... probably due to a change of oil... lets see how the FC stands at next pump...

oKayz...

Sharing here

First got myy bike Oct 08. A used custom 4 bike. 05 bike regd feb 06. 7k on odo.

Previous owner wasn't too much into bike TLC. Motor oil was like more than a year old. Imagine that. Dropping into first gear was a nightmare and i paid 3.3k for my *****, and its a real bad *****.

A week after i got new oils, plugs and later on got her one those K&N airfilter. She became less temperamental. i bagan to like her. Tho she was all that, she's just a 7k, 2 and a half year bike. And that is rare. So i say if she's going to be good, it's got to be my doing. So tats the way its going to be.

Fc was at first round about 34kmpl before anything done. Throttle happy - gunning at lights. Not that its very fast,... but fast enuff provoking some others...

Hey its not about racing. Those guys that hope to play will be disappointed. Its just that when you love to ride... you ride. Its the *****, you, the road and the wind. Pretty romantic is it not?

Anyways, after the improvement FC slightly gets better. goes up to 38kmpl. Then i stop gunning. Learn to cruise at slower pace. Goes 60-90kmph. Last done FC was 41kmpl.

You kno why we shudn't be gunning around??? Someone might get killed. Seriously. Anyways singapore roads you go like that, in the end no more licence.

Haiz... long winded me. Its a way of saying, this ***** i now love. What wud be nice on phantom is a bigger front wheel, maybe 19", longer fork, slightly higher bars. And actually if you notice, the parts material the got on phantom is crap really. Sad.

OKayz. THats it there... Until the next time,

http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/jj167/elkban/IMG0046A.jpg

well said... I'm glad that you are taking good care of your phantom... ha my job is a little more uphill... I'm trying to restore my 8 years old phantom... Anyway dun worry too much about the parts' material... you as the owner can always do something about it ^^

wah, bu 2 years later like me must scrape or renew leh... dunno whether i want to put so much into my wife...

But then having said that.. changed brake lines liao.... hahaha

11022009 Passed 2b BBDC

24022009 Bought Ta200

omg what!? you changed brakelines? to... hel or venhill?

extreme...

please be gentle with the rear brakes... my stock brakes are so stiff that it would be mental to upgrade brakelines... lol skid galore

ride safe...

*p.s. not all upgrades possible for bikes are suitable for phantoms!

best way to save fuel is to change ur gears early, but not too early till ur bike is getting labour...so far my worse consumption was 33L,cuz i forgot bout my eo till it got burnt away....and best was 42L...cuz i worked despatch wif it and thus i had to cover all e expressway available in sg...haha...and also remember one crucial thing...spark plug...do change it if u've got e spare cash...lyk every 20k km...and also after a new set of plug is installed tune up e carburator

start plug = every how many km recommended?

i know EO is every 2k +

just see how much of the tip is remaining... if the tip is running out just change the plug... phantom uses only one plug, so its quite cheap for us even if you for no reason decide to use something like twin iridium plug

I probably will change oil every 1500km... I need to keep the engine alive if I were to pass the bike onto my children and grand children

Been my 4th day riding PK.. any good method to calcute how many KM my full fuel tank will last?

approx on avg about 100km per full tank?

Hehe kind of newbie Qus yea. sorry about that.

just see how much of the tip is remaining... if the tip is running out just change the plug... phantom uses only one plug, so its quite cheap for us even if you for no reason decide to use something like twin iridium plug

I probably will change oil every 1500km... I need to keep the engine alive if I were to pass the bike onto my children and grand children

oh i see.. yesterday went to workshop i ask the uncle to teach me. he said it's better for me to bring to workshop to check and change..( cause i'm still newbie =p)

told me later you slot in wrong, the whole engine Game over.

Vidak: you just ride PK not long, u started removing parts yourself aleady? you study mech ar?

lol of course not! I study money only... its good to understand how my bike works... right? and I think I need years to figure out the mass relay...

just run your bike until hit reserve, once hit reserve look for petrol station ^^

from then on, you can calculate roughly full tank can last how long by the differences in odometer