• Replies 84

A point to take note. For some bikes, when the ignition is turned on, the +ve wire from the horn already has power (which activates the relay). when u press the horn button, it connects the ground and the stock horn sounds off.

so when using the relay, it is better to connect the -ve of the stabel horns to the orignal -ve wire from the bike. if u connect the -ve of the stabel horns directly to ground, your horns will sound off immediately when u turn on ur ignition.

Originally posted by rae07@March 10, 2005 12:46 am

anyone tried 3 horns configuration on the box? can u tap out the original horn wiring to the relay and do as it is explained here, with the original horn connector still connected to the stock horn ? :confused:

yes, it can be done as the relay solenoid draws very little current

If u r using given a 4 pin relay in the package. (dun worry, 5 pin or 4 pin relay, both, by right shld be normally opened relays)

http://img257.imageshack.us/img257/8791/horn1xj1.jpg

post-5-1174464129.jpg

when u r given a 5 pin relay instead of 4 pin relay

http://img257.imageshack.us/img257/6606/horn2le7.jpg

post-5-1174464147.jpg

this is another case which is rare. whereby the +ve horn already has power when the bike's ignition is turned on

http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/4563/horn3xw6.jpg

post-5-1174464173.jpg

Q. Why shld we use relay? y cant we directly replace the stock horns?

A. this is becoz your stock horn wirings might not be able to handle the larger current a stabel horn draws. by adding a relay, u can see that the stock horn wirings only takes a small current, that is to magnetised the solenoid in the relay.

the larger currents are taken care off by the additional wires u added.

Originally posted by flareon1982@March 08, 2007 04:28 pm

If my old horn is a 12V horn and the Stebel is also using 12V can i just plug the old plug in? or do i have to put a relay

In some cases, yes.

For an electrical circuit to work, the supply voltage must be higher or equal to the voltage required of the device. It is always best to use an equal voltage because if you not any electrical mechanic, using a higher voltage will blow the device immediately you plug it in. The normal threshold for voltage is around 20% of the rated value.

Even for the device to work, the battery supplying MUST HAVE a higher current(Amp) supply to the device, so let say a 12v 20A battery, can run 5 x 12v 4A device, but may or not may run a 6th device. Why? If you run the 5 device at one go, the maximum current are used up, so there is no more current to run the 6th device.

Though it is logical in this way, that a relay will not be needed to run a horn that draws 4A from a 20A battery, a relay is there to protect power surge, or power feedback. Ever wonder why you have shock when you click on your house lights in the past? Its the same logic, in the past, relays are not used for switching lights are electricians know its logical to jut connect the switch up in this way, but if you consider a rainy day with thunderstorm, the extra power when a lighting strikes to the house will cause a back fire to your switch if you on it at the same time. (Sound complex) So the relay is then installed to protect extra power to be feed to you.

A relax works on a 5V contact charge principal,(though it can be higher) but it means you are turning on a toy car, and you never see a toy car shock someone to death. So when you on the toy car, the toy move, so in this scene, the relay move, (or energised in electrician term). The relay "move" will cause another circuit to be on, which will be your battery to the horn. So you wont have direct contact with the transcation between the battery and the horn, but you will direct deal with the switch and the relay, and the relay is the middleman. :)

For fuse, it is always better to get a higher power rating than a lower power rating. Don't get fuse that draws less current than your device, let say your device draws 4A, you dun get a 2A fuse, it fuse immediately. A fuse works on a principal that if a higher current is draw from the battery, it will blow up and prevent the current to go to your device, so protecting your device from burning. So what fuse to get? Get a fuse that is equal or slightly higher than the device. so a 4A device will normally have 5A or 4.5A fuse. Getting a too high fuse is totally useless unless multiple devices are connected in parallel drawing more current from the battery.

So the principal of having more horns? Yes, you can have more horns, but take note of your battery power rating, and the devices that are already using the battery constantly, like headlights, signal lights, etc. Calculate how many As already been used and see how much you left, and it also means that you cannot on all the device at one go, since horns are seldom used, logically, its will be alright to install more than one, but let say you on everything at one good, it means shortening the life of the battery and having to replace one sooner than anyone. So for it to work yet not sabotaging the battery, get a battery that have the same voltage but higher Amp output. Take note of the power rating as it affects also.

Bascially, it works like that, any question regarding circuits or electrical, can PM me or post here.

Also, lastly, when you grounded the horn, ground at some place that you wont normally get to touch it unless you do repair or clean up. Because if there is a power surge, and let say its near your hand, you get the shock or your lifetime and might kill you.

(To kill a person, 2A of current and direct shock will do it. The movies are fake, no one will be able to survice a direct shock from a power surge on a switch. But miracle do happens)

Originally posted by AspMonK@April 04, 2007 02:11 am

Guys, does anyone has a high pitch Magnum horn(black/grey)?

I had a low pitch..

You can have a high pitch device by changing the capacitor and resistor setup in your horn.

If your really want to change, take out your horn, go to Sim lim Square, go to one of the shop doing electrical, tell them you want to modfiy this horn to a high pitch. It cost quite a bit.

To do your own, can be easy, or hard. If you study electrical before, you know how to do it. But since you asked this question, I doubt you are. So best is send to someone who know it. :)

• 9 months later...
http://www.unc.edu/~shu/horn.jpg

Hope I could get some kind's soul help here.

I tried to DIY this horn circuit and I think i screwed it up big time and need some help.

Here's the things I do not understand about this diagram.

1. For the 2 (-)negative points on the horn, do i just connect it back to the black wire from the original horn and leave it as it is?

2. I have 5 pins like what is shown in the diagram. Am i supposed to separate each (+) positive point from the horn to 87 and 87A respectively? eg. left positive go to 87 right positive go to 87a?

3. I have to link a wire from 30 all the way to the battery with a fuse between it? Did i get this right?

4. Can i use the red wire , connected to the fuse, from the original horn to connect to 30? Is this wrong?

5. Is no. 4 is wrong, how should i rectify it?

6. I'm not sure whether did i get this right, right now i'm thinking, Am i supposed to connect the original horn's red colour wire to 85 and black colour to 86 as according to Neo's photos?

7. Lastly, I do have a black white and black blue wire at the horn switch. I'm not sure whether am I supposed to cut those to fit it at 85 for the black white and 86 for the black blue. If i do that. what about the red and black original horns wire?

i've temporary solved the problem by using the original relay and doing a parallel connection for the 2 +ve points of the horns.

Here's my current connection.

2 horns +ve connected to 87

2 horns -ve grounded to a nut.

1 +ve wire with fuse connected from battery to 30.

original horn +ve connected to 85

original horn -ve connected to 86.

I have new questions.

1. If i want to use the relay that has 87 and 87a, i have to connect the 2 horns -ve to the original horn's -ve?

Then I'll have to link a wire from the battery's -ve to 86 in order to use it that way as shown by the circuit image below? courtesy of paiseh

http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/4563/horn3xw6.jpg

When i connect the relay with 5 pins with my current set up as similar to nEo's pictures, one of the horns will go off even without the ignition on.

Stebel prices at Mustafa as of 16.02.08

TM80/2 & TM80/2L= $16

TM80 magnum= $19.50

Nautilus Compact= $40

Nautilus Red or Black= $33

Nautilus Brid= $92

visit http://www.stebel.it

TM80/2 & TM80/2L= $16 (legal)

TM80 magnum= $19.50 (legal)

Nautilus Compact= $40 (illegal cos got compressor, de salesman told me)

Nautilus Red or Black= $33 (illegal cos got compressor, de salesman told me)

Nautilus Brid= $92 (illegal cos got compressor, de salesman told me)

i'm going to DIY now. gd luck to me!

anyone wanna help me install my newly bought stebel horn. i am electrical dumb. after reading so much still dunno how to install.

help help anyone?

Have A Nice Day.

How would i know if my relay is spoil? Cause too out from my old bike for quite some time dunno whether is it serviceable. Use multimeter to test? If is damage, where could i buy relay? Sim lim? The bosch type?

Crazy

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1022863475.png

hi all, just want to ask where can I get the following item from?

1) 5-pin bosch relay from? How much does each cost?

2) fuse holder which is something like below

http://www.go.jeep-xj.info/Loom%2027.jpg

hi all, just want to ask where can I get the following item from?

1) 5-pin bosch relay from? How much does each cost?

2) fuse holder which is something like below

http://www.go.jeep-xj.info/Loom%2027.jpg

5 pin bosch relay cost around $18 - $22. Fuse holder depends, around $5 haf liao. in fact no need fuse holder for a simple job.

I have spare 5 pin bosch relays if you wan. i can gif it to you for free :D :makeup:

Hi guys, just bought Stebel TM80/2 horn from Mustafa a month ago. But i donno how to install. Anybody can help me install on to my spark135 pls? Or can recommend any shop dat can install for free. Thanks.

clear n concise instructions....

so who's gg 2 do one for hazard lights?.. :cheeky:

i need one...

In complete agreement! Very dedicated and kind of this rider to enlighten us. I must say "idiot proof". Anyone could understand it easily!

Live To Ride;

Ride To Live.

Hi guys, just bought Stebel TM80/2 horn from Mustafa a month ago. But i donno how to install. Anybody can help me install on to my spark135 pls? Or can recommend any shop dat can install for free. Thanks.

I think if you go to the 6th fllor of Sim Lim Tower carpark at the end ( NOT Sim Lim Sq) - it's along the main Jln Besar Rd, you may get the techncian to do a professional job! He got no shop at all. Just the end of the carpark where he usually fixes hi-fi for cars. I had a mp3 playe fixed there at a fee of $50. He supplied all the wires, cables and swich. Very nice and decent job. I suggest that you either fix it on the fron basket of your Spark or maybe attached to the rear box bracket? Check it out.

Live To Ride;

Ride To Live.

I think if you go to the 6th fllor of Sim Lim Tower carpark at the end ( NOT Sim Lim Sq) - it's along the main Jln Besar Rd, you may get the techncian to do a professional job! He got no shop at all. Just the end of the carpark where he usually fixes hi-fi for cars. I had a mp3 playe fixed there at a fee of $50. He supplied all the wires, cables and swich. Very nice and decent job. I suggest that you either fix it on the fron basket of your Spark or maybe attached to the rear box bracket? Check it out.

:confused: Fix horn in front basket or rear box? Can meh?

Give me your email and I shall send u the pics. NOT inside the box lah. It's below the rear box at the metal rack.

Live To Ride;

Ride To Live.

Give me your email and I shall send u the pics. NOT inside the box lah. It's below the rear box at the metal rack.

Nevermind liao. last month went to jb shop fix liao. RM25. quite ex lei. hehe.