just a sudden thought. what if bike lots in shopping centers came with their own helmet lockers?

don't think it would cost that much to implement. i know for bikes with boxes, helmet storage is not an issue. but for those without, i feel having a dedicated locker for each bike parking lot (to fit 1 or 2 helmets + whatever barang) would motivate more bikers to visit that particular shopping center.

think about being able to have both hands free to try on clothes, carry more stuff, go into food-courts or cinemas without worrying about where to put your prized helmet, etc. for those who frequently pillion their girlfriends, she will confirm plus chop be happy for not having to lug around her own helmet.

then at the end of the day, go back to the locker, maybe scan your IC/input your secret PIN/scan your eye (okay probably not), grab your helmet(s) and leave happy.

feel free to support/shoot my idea down. :)

• Replies 11

at the end of the day its really not about how much it'll cost to make one, rather its the space it'll take up.

might even have to install security cams (more manpower) aimed at helmet stealers...

cost wise, how much consumables can 2 people on a bike carry?

cos i don't think you see bikers buying diamond rings (big tickets items) everyday

most likely it won't materialize cos if they do implement it, then car owners will

ask for key lockers (lost your keys before??)

looking for drz parts, any parts will do!

People usually just clip their helmet to their seats, this isn't Malaysia and shopping centres aren't exactly unsafe areas.

but old smelly helmet also got people steal leh......what more a full face.

i don't have an issue with carrying my helmet around, i like it. makes me look cooler and i want people to see i am a rider.

First off, some shopping centres don't even allow bikes to park there.

To them, most motorcyclists are small-time spenders.

A normal car can fill their whole boot with shopping bags and still fit in a family of 5.

If you can't even fit a helmet, how much stuffs can you buy and carry back?

Slow down abit, smell the air and enjoy the scenery.

Caught the touring bug once again!

http://www.michelinmotorcycle.com/img/sport_comparo_lg.jpg

this doesn have to be complicated.

just get a locker vendor to work with the mall and install pay-per-use lockers at a location in the mall. maybe along the corridor leading to the restrooms; discreet enough.

lockers like the ones at swimming pool. or can go more stylo high-tech ones like at some theme parks.

the point is, no need target bikers. target any mall visitor. after all, if you shop a lot, maybe want to watch movie or makan but dowan to carry all your shopping, just use the locker. if it gets high usage until the locker vendor can earn money, sure vendor want to mke such a business.

so bikers also can use for helmet storage. just dun expect special 'for biker' lockers, located swee-swee beside bike lots some more.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

er , ppl dun even wan to pay for bike parking liao ,

still wan to pay for keeping helmets in locker?

something like sentosa theme park ?

besides u put locker there , many other shoppers will put their items , imagine buy things liao , put all in the locker then go for their coffee/high tea buffet

er , ppl dun even wan to pay for bike parking liao ,

still wan to pay for keeping helmets in locker?

you expect ppl want to give you these facilities for free then?

besides u put locker there , many other shoppers will put their items , imagine buy things liao , put all in the locker then go for their coffee/high tea buffet

thats precisely my point. when you make people pay and people really use it, it becomes profitable as a venture and some vendor might really consider setting it up. who wants to give this locker for free? even swimming pool charge 50c for small one. or if must pay but they make this exclusive for bikers, if few bikers take this up because they dun want to pay again not profitable nobody want to set it up.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

I see this in place in other countries..u just have a basic locker facility like what u have in driving centers..u put 1 $ and can lock for the day, they clear all lockers at midnight, so u cannot leave it there overnight..it need not occupy too much space and can be quite beneficial especially for the full face helmet users..i don't think anyone leave their shoei or arai on their bikes.

Singapore is not a motorcycling friendly society. To the non riders, their perceptive are malaysian cub, dispatch, or beng lacers. Nuff said.

Edited by shunoski

Anyone can ride a bike. Being a biker, is a state of mind.