Crazybiker, Kenneth

Im now waiting to retake my cl2 TP 3rd attempt. Never bought a 2a bike even tho was so tempted to either get a s4 or rvf or cbr. But at the end of the day the thought of spending some $8k for a 3 yrs more coe put me off. Then the arf thing came out which further reinforced my idea to save $$ for cl2 dream bike. Still happily riding my sp. Spent so much replacing various parts which failed during my ownership + the overhaul with brand new block & piston....I think I jus want to enjoy my 'new' bike a bit longer. lol

All the best for your 2a bros!

Already gotten my 2A. Been busy viewing bikes. Particularly the cb400x and cbr400r. Tot of getting a 400 cc for touring. As for my nsr I will still keep it. Love the power. It's still a beast among the 4 stroke class 2b. Which makes it quite disappointing when u ride the new Honda 400 series. No power. Cant feel shyt at first gear. 😩

• Replies 140.5k

• wait4me

• lwfc

• MC28

• garfieldrox

Crazybiker, Kenneth

Im now waiting to retake my cl2 TP 3rd attempt. Never bought a 2a bike even tho was so tempted to either get a s4 or rvf or cbr. But at the end of the day the thought of spending some $8k for a 3 yrs more coe put me off. Then the arf thing came out which further reinforced my idea to save $$ for cl2 dream bike. Still happily riding my sp. Spent so much replacing various parts which failed during my ownership + the overhaul with brand new block & piston....I think I jus want to enjoy my 'new' bike a bit longer. lol

All the best for your 2a bros!

so when your sp coe ends

Already gotten my 2A. Been busy viewing bikes. Particularly the cb400x and cbr400r. Tot of getting a 400 cc for touring. As for my nsr I will still keep it. Love the power. It's still a beast among the 4 stroke class 2b. Which makes it quite disappointing when u ride the new Honda 400 series. No power. Cant feel shyt at first gear. 😩

the real beast is the nsr 250

The cb400x loses hands down to the S4 specs (any versions). and I mean LITERALLY. so might as well get a S4 spec.

You are right! too bad that its too expensive now. if not, i would have bought it again. hehe.

Saw 1 in the used bike section going at just under 8k for i think 6-7 yrs coe. Was quite tempted to get it. Comes with the hrc card too. considering that a 3 yr coe s4 is abt $8k now, thot it (nsr250) was quite a good deal!

Jus hv to be aware that its a dry clutch bike. Uncle Chong frm had told me of goons who thought it was also wet clutch & added gear oil & ruined the whole thing! Very prosperous business replacing that ruined clutch he says!

btw congrats to crazybiker & Kenneth on your 2a!

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

so when your sp coe ends

Feb 2021. Think I will renew coe when the time comes. Excellent bike to get around super congested jb.

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

Saw 1 in the used bike section going at just under 8k for i think 6-7 yrs coe. Was quite tempted to get it. Comes with the hrc card too. considering that a 3 yr coe s4 is abt $8k now, thot it (nsr250) was quite a good deal!

Jus hv to be aware that its a dry clutch bike. Uncle Chong frm had told me of goons who thought it was also wet clutch & added gear oil & ruined the whole thing! Very prosperous business replacing that ruined clutch he says!

btw congrats to crazybiker & Kenneth on your 2a!

Well, it depends on which model you are looking at. if it is a pgm 3, its a wet clutch, BUT, you can change it to a dry clutch as well.

yeah but parts getting harder to find locally. can get from agent but somethings need to order and wait. i probably wont renew when it ends in 2020

its gonna be extinct soon. thats why i kept mine as stock. :D

Feb 2021. Think I will renew coe when the time comes. Excellent bike to get around super congested jb.

just dun get imitation parts in jb. just my 2 cents. actually i only did my bike twice in JB. ever since that, i dun do anything in JB, for my bike.

https://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/274747-lt-PMO-gt-M-O-for-EBC-brake-pads?highlight=ebc+brakes

Was told Phantom front & back/NsrSP 150 front //Krr150 frt uses the same caliper, which will use FA197HH or FA197 for the frt....

Sparks/X1R front brake pad & rear drum brake shoe also in stock...

R15 frt in stock

chanced upon this thread, i sms the guy and he is still ordering the products, havent update me on the price. but now we know which pad to use if we buy ourselves. apparently its the same size as ninja 250/300, i think jbdoggy said so once. SP front and back is the same size right? i want to upgrade my pads soon.
yeah but parts getting harder to find locally. can get from agent but somethings need to order and wait. i probably wont renew when it ends in 2020

True. The swingarm & exhaust belly are totally extinct now both in sg & jb. YSS rear shock getting harder to find. My endcan was the last one Chong Aik had. Everfit & FJT dun have. TSK ordered my swingarm bearings for rear wheel & the bush for the swingarm to chassis connection. Took at least 2 - 3 weeks for each to arrive.

i think jbdoggy said so once. SP front and back is the same size right? i want to upgrade my pads soon.

Yes. My Vesrah pads are for the ninja. Front & rear pads are different plate shape & size. So make sure you buy front set & rear set. Interesting point is the ninja krr150 rear shock can also use on sp. jus hv to terbalik it only.

Well, it depends on which model you are looking at. if it is a pgm 3, its a wet clutch, BUT, you can change it to a dry clutch as well.

Oh I didnt know there was a pgm3. I only knew of pgm 4. Apart frm that i only know of R, SE & SP. Im guessing pgm3 is SE & pgm4 is SP??

Edited by jbdoggy

True. The swingarm & exhaust belly are totally extinct now both in sg & jb. YSS rear shock getting harder to find. My endcan was the last one Chong Aik had. Everfit & FJT dun have. TSK ordered my swingarm bearings for rear wheel & the bush for the swingarm to chassis connection. Took at least 2 - 3 weeks for each to arrive.

damn that sucks, i hope they have brought in more stocks. another alternative is joining those thailand sp facebook groups and buying from there. i've joined a few and some parts are cheaper than through the local dealer but without shipping.

as for the brakes, they both look the same shape and size caliper, need to check with mech.

Edited by Crazybiker

I saw on ebay brand new sp instrument cluster. abt usd$130 or so. Free shipping from thailand. Quite tempted to get. My original 1, speedo needle broke aftr kena buang at causeway on cny eve. Fitted 2nd hand instrument cluster replacement. Now the speedo & odo gives higher readings then normal. Speedo now gvs abt 10km/h more, odo now gvs abt 10% more. Fuel gauge now also a bit haywire.

Chk with you guys, 6th gear 5k revs. What speedo reading you hv? Mine now is a bit under 95km/h. My original 1 gv 80km/h. At 7k revs gv abt 110km/h. Now it shows 125 km/h.

There was a guy selling used sp exhaust bellys for sgd$150. No installation. I thought too ex. Much cheaper to flame weld the pin hole leaks on my belly.

The cb400x loses hands down to the S4 specs (any versions). and I mean LITERALLY. so might as well get a S4 spec.

Yes. Which is why I said it is so disappointing testing out the new 400cc Honda bikes. All is buay kan compare to the old bikes. Cb400, cbr400rr and rvf all the horse power above 50. Really disgusted.

But what to do. Now my backside itchy.

I saw on ebay brand new sp instrument cluster. abt usd$130 or so. Free shipping from thailand. Quite tempted to get. My original 1, speedo needle broke aftr kena buang at causeway on cny eve. Fitted 2nd hand instrument cluster replacement. Now the speedo & odo gives higher readings then normal. Speedo now gvs abt 10km/h more, odo now gvs abt 10% more. Fuel gauge now also a bit haywire.

Chk with you guys, 6th gear 5k revs. What speedo reading you hv? Mine now is a bit under 95km/h. My original 1 gv 80km/h. At 7k revs gv abt 110km/h. Now it shows 125 km/h.

There was a guy selling used sp exhaust bellys for sgd$150. No installation. I thought too ex. Much cheaper to flame weld the pin hole leaks on my belly.

mine6th gear 7k rpm is 120 kmh on meter. but i used a gps speedo app, and my speedo is higher by 15-20 kmh. try get from local scrapyard or people selling the bike. or thailand facebook grp. they have alot of stuff

Congrats. Are u going to start hunting for 2A ? Or gonna wait until class 2 ?

wait for class 2, but ill probably be working overseas by then.
mine6th gear 7k rpm is 120 kmh on meter. but i used a gps speedo app, and my speedo is higher by 15-20 kmh. try get from local scrapyard or people selling the bike. or thailand facebook grp. they have alot of stuff

wait for class 2, but ill probably be working overseas by then.

Think I am getting cb400x. Should be ready by next week. Let's see if I will get used to riding a neutral posture bike.

just dun get imitation parts in jb. just my 2 cents. actually i only did my bike twice in JB. ever since that, i dun do anything in JB, for my bike.

share your story on what happen

because i also kena same thing ...

but well that was ages ago and bike was still running fine

Think I am getting cb400x. Should be ready by next week. Let's see if I will get used to riding a neutral posture bike.

haha i rmb after my 2a prac, when i went back to my bike, i felt that the posture was really agressive even though im using stock footrest. made me realise the difference in riding posture. its gonna be more comfortable for your back and legs, especially long distance.

share your story on what happen

because i also kena same thing ...

but well that was ages ago and bike was still running fine

share leh, i almost kenna imitation stuff in jb. wanted to do top service. i bought gasket set from fjt before going in just for safety, during service then wanted to change my piston rings, i told them no need because no money.

I too have an unpleasant experience at bapok. Gonna share my story but not mentioning any names.

-1year+ ago when i just got my sp, i frequent bapok.

-Couple months later, Mech open up for top service, he said piston need to change so i went ahead.

-One week+ later, midnight riding along KJE (returning from JB,pump petrol) bike suddenly died. About 1sec~2sec later heard rear wheel lock, quickly clutch in and filter to shoulder. (FML piston jam)

-For about 5mins tried to start but no avail. Push bike to nearest exit and wait at bus stop.

-After awhile, can start then slowly ride back home.

-Next day bring to bapok, open up,piston and block scratch. Told me have 1 original sp piston but no block, want to put in first or not. Rejected kindly and told him to close up the engine.

-After that i found myself a honest Sg mech and stick with him since then.

-Never returned to bapok ever.

Not sure if my luck is bad or what. :?

2001 HONDA NSR150SP FT97xxU 02 Apr 2016 to ~

1991 HONDA CBR400RR L FL35xxT 15 Dec 2017 to ~

could be never run in properly or just fake parts.

if i service in jb next time, i'll probably buy the parts in sg then go there to ask them fix. and stay there throughout so i can see what they doing.

and they shop i went to, for their top service 'package' they will always change the piston rings but not the piston unless needed. then the usual stuff like cleaning piston, block and carb. i dont understand why they need to change it every service, unless the rings are really worn out by bad blowby. usually people change piston and rings as a set lol.

i guess for bapok or any shop, is to build relation, see what your friend recommend then follow him go there and make friends with mech. if need change or replace anything, only use ori stuff that you bought. can't trust them no matter how close you are.