oh and another thing - anybody have any idea how common is the practice where they take the speedo cable and attach the end to a power drill to make the odometer reset to some small number?

heard from a friend a long time back who worked in a shop that they did that once in a while.

• Replies 140.5k

• wait4me

• lwfc

• MC28

• garfieldrox

Originally posted by mike1024@Jul 3 2005, 04:47 PM

guess i will stick to this. maybe spend money on a new rectifier (if that is the problem).

just frustrated cos this is my second bike from the same shop; i got a used phantom, which never gave me any problems at all, so i though this shop was reliable and had high quality maintenence before selling their second hand bikes. so when i got there, looked at the first one, with the smallest mileage, and just bought it without doing research in this forum as to what to look for in a used SP.

FT bike 37k on odometer sound relaible? or is it actually 137k???

at the shop, there was a new KRR, and actually i went to the shop wanting to buy a KRR, just that the new KRR would have cost almost 2k more than this bike.

what's a good workshop that deals with SPs around the bukit merah area? anybody been to ah koon near redhill mrt, who specialises in phantom service?

i think i need a mech who really knows how to debug the electrical problems.

looking at the engine with the fairing off, kinda scary looking - there are some cables which are not well connected to the alternator (i think); everything seems ok, but just not durably connected. seems like the last mech to work on the bike was quite shoddy. sometimes, i wish i could DIY. anybody know where to find the SP shop manual?

i'm not sure about workshops in the west, but i heard many good stuff about the peeps at racewerkz. you might want to give them a try? it all depends on luck i suppose. sometimes you'll get a good 2nd hand bike, sometimes you wont :( some problems you wont be able to see when you are choosing bike i suppose, only will appear when you are riding it.

yeah since you got the SP instead, i suppose you'll have to live with your decision. it isnt as bad as you think :) if you are worryin about mileage, why bother that much? even if its NOT reset, the prev owner MAY not have taken care of the bike. if you ask me, i'd take a 50k mileage FT plate SP that i know is well maintained than a 30k FT plate SP that is not. thou its mostly luck, theres some stuff you may notice when you're choosing a 2nd hand bike that gives you hints on if the prev owner takes care of it or not.

not sure where to get the workshop manual thou :(

'96 nsr250sp

'90 nsr250r

'18 yzf-r6

:cheer: Hi everyone ! i just change my nick DAx AKS OnceEarth ...

I just got SP hehee so to :cheer: :cheer: to all SP rider ...

Qing tuo tuo quang zhao ! ! ! Oh Hi Yo ! hehee :bouncefire: :bouncefire:

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/07/16/2726170/31361028839571l.jpg

2005 = NSR 150 FS **00 G

2005 = Aprilia RS 125 FS **** L

2007 = Spark 135 FBA **0 D

2007 = Yamaha R6-06 FV **22 K

2009 = Runner ST 200 FBD **

Originally posted by filbert@Jul 3 2005, 05:11 PM

i'm not sure about workshops in the west, but i heard many good stuff about the peeps at racewerkz. you might want to give them a try? it all depends on luck i suppose. sometimes you'll get a good 2nd hand bike, sometimes you wont :( some problems you wont be able to see when you are choosing bike i suppose, only will appear when you are riding it.

yeah since you got the SP instead, i suppose you'll have to live with your decision. it isnt as bad as you think :) if you are worryin about mileage, why bother that much? even if its NOT reset, the prev owner MAY not have taken care of the bike. if you ask me, i'd take a 50k mileage FT plate SP that i know is well maintained than a 30k FT plate SP that is not. thou its mostly luck, theres some stuff you may notice when you're choosing a 2nd hand bike that gives you hints on if the prev owner takes care of it or not.

not sure where to get the workshop manual thou :(

what hints to know how well maintained a bike is? i know this is a little late now, but better late then never, eh?

yeah, i get the thing about the well maintained 50k bike being better than the poorly maintained 30k bike. i know i whack my phantom very hard, but i go for very regular maintanence too.

and another thing - noticed to my horror that the cooland reservoir was empty. today took a closer look under the fairing and found the hose connecting the reservoir to the radiator was cut *double shock*. then i realise what the little blue aluminium bottle beside the radiator was about - it was a coolant reservoir.

does that make sense? to have the coolant reservoir so close to the radiator? seems like the reservoir is being pre-heated by being so close to the radiator; on the other hand, it is closer to the front of the bike, where the cool air comes into the fairing; so maybe that is better? or should we not be smarter than Honda to firstly reduce the volume of coolant in the reservoir, and bringing it so close to the radiator?

anyone else did this before? what are the supposed advantages? i am thinking of getting that silly bottle removed, the hose replaced, and resume using the original honda designed reservoir.

Ok i'm going :offtopic: here... Just updated photo of my bike... COMMENTS PLEASE!!

Eh brudders and sistas if you see my bike in carpark or on the road... help me look out for it ok? its my precious BAOBEI... cannot afford to have anything happen to it =)

Oh ya, please say hi on the roads if you see me =)

THANKS! :smile: :bounce:

Originally posted by Astinus@Jul 3 2005, 05:55 PM

Ok i'm going :offtopic: here... Just updated photo of my bike... COMMENTS PLEASE!!

Eh brudders and sistas if you see my bike in carpark or on the road... help me look out for it ok? its my precious BAOBEI... cannot afford to have anything happen to it =)

Oh ya, please say hi on the roads if you see me =)

THANKS! :smile: :bounce:

neat paint job.

boy you are going to have difficulty maintaining the polish though :smile:

at least it is distinctive. have not seen another SP like this yet.

Oh bigger picture in my user info, and yes the paint is really hard to maintain, i wash and polish every week to keep the WHITEness... =(

Have to keep the bike covered most of the time too.. =) pain in the az but its worth it...

Originally posted by Astinus@Jul 3 2005, 06:12 PM

Oh bigger picture in my user info, and yes the paint is really hard to maintain, i wash and polish every week to keep the WHITEness... =(

Have to keep the bike covered most of the time too.. =) pain in the az but its worth it...

oh i think i saw ya on sat noon...rem at e kaki bukit junction there was a row or army guys riding their bikes??

i was e last biker of them...haha..saw tt ur bike was very white so i keep looking at it..lolz..

much more cleaner than our bikes in army..:sweat:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1312.jpg

After 18 months of disqualification,I'm not like before...

Dun compromise safety...

Always expect the unexpected...

Remember..traffic policemen are the guardian angels of the road...

Originally posted by ZeC^SP@Jul 3 2005, 06:17 PM

oh i think i saw ya on sat noon...rem at e kaki bukit junction there was a row or army guys riding their bikes??

i was e last biker of them...haha..saw tt ur bike was very white so i keep looking at it..lolz..

military off-road bikes? or military police bikes?

in any case, what bike was it? just curious. is it a honda trail bike, 2 stroke?

Originally posted by ZeC^SP@Jul 3 2005, 06:17 PM

Ahh yes!! i remember!! haha you taking rider course? cool!! you in scout??

Steady lah bro ... i like how you coloured the insides of your rims. Btw you DIY or sent to moto shop do?

FORMERLY KNOWN AS DEATHINC2004

If you train hard, you'll not only be hard, you'll be hard to beat.

New MO Thread for Bike Alarms coming soon!

just to let u guys n gals know... not very sure if it's an SP but looks like it..

was driving from dairy farm road to BKE saw a SP (back view onli n hidden)

Originally posted by DeathInc2004@Jul 3 2005, 06:45 PM

Steady lah bro ... i like how you coloured the insides of your rims. Btw you DIY or sent to moto shop do?

Hey bro! Thanks thanks, yes motor tiam do one..

You can DIY too, its really easy, just use paint remover remove the existing paint, get some good masking tape and tape up the areas you dont want painted, get some good quality paint and paint away... sun dry after... its that easy! =) motor tiam does the same thing... oh ya.. you might want to put a layer of clear lacquer on it for the shine...

Szeto will be the person to look for about DIY rim's paint removal... :cheeky:

filbert

will take e 2t from u at e next outing n pay u then

doremo

can try bikebulance 64255333/90233228

UNHAPPY with shell?

Take your money elsewhere then. I did.

Originally posted by zHonG_85@Jul 3 2005, 10:44 AM

icic... haha... i noe danegerous... anyway when i brake i always use both brake... so will hav light... ermz... so u decided to go where n hav ur bike check??? yishun?? or sim ming?

yishun lor so near

but muz go decarb first...u wanna go decarb?

UNHAPPY with shell?

Take your money elsewhere then. I did.

Can recommend the motodiam u went to? And how much?

FORMERLY KNOWN AS DEATHINC2004

If you train hard, you'll not only be hard, you'll be hard to beat.

New MO Thread for Bike Alarms coming soon!

Originally posted by Cruxader@Jul 3 2005, 03:07 PM

Hello everybody, i'm a new SP rider. :smile:

So am I...

Proud owner of a SP! (Although I wonder why I didn't made an aprilia purchase :sian:

Originally posted by bgoy@Jul 3 2005, 07:15 PM

yishun lor so near

but muz go decarb first...u wanna go decarb?

decarbonise means wad huhz?? don understand lehz... but i find decarbonise a waste of money lehz... wanna try go inspect for de 1st time.. if fail den go do de necessary... cos very troublesome to go decarbonise all tat... me pnsf, go msia muz apply exit permit de.. haha...

~iT's nOt tHe ride, ItS thE riDer~

Originally posted by craz_03+Jul 3 2005, 05:36 AM-->
QUOTE (craz_03 @ Jul 3 2005, 05:36 AM)
lolx...

i m backz also le... heehee

tired ar.. everybody went back home too..

maybe junhong n blackheart went to some bushes..

*xXxXxXxXxXxXxxXx* lolx....

=X

oopps...

nitez gUys... moRnIng LaDiEs..[/b]

Hey I wun do dat to him, pierrot will be very upset... :sweat:

28th Jan 05 - 16th April 06 Honda NSR SP150 (Pro-arm)

1st Apr 06 - Nov 06 Honda CB400SFYJ HyperVTEC, 17th Oct 06 - ???? Honda TA200 Phantom, Nov 06 - Apr 07 Honda Wave-R, Apr 07 - ???? Subaru Impreza AWD

<u>Official Road Trips</u>

7th-8th May 05 - Malacca (460km round)

2nd April 06 - Mersing (240km round)

6th-10th July 06 - P.Pinang ; Hatyai, Thailand (1900km round)

anyone know where i can buy those front light bulbs those 12V 35W ones? cause my light bulbs keep blowing which i don know why also. sometimes my fuse also get blow..

anyone knows which hardware shop got sell those bike fuse and front light bulbs?? cause i know buy there is cheaper than ah boy and i have been to many places but cant find.

Jan 05 - Mar 06 : Honda NSR150SP

Mar 06 - Mar 07 : Suzuki RMX250

Mar 07 - Sep 07 : Honda XR400R

Aug 05 - Nov 09 : Honda XR125L

Sep 07 - Nov 09 : Suzuki GSR400K7

Mar 09 - Present : Yamaha R6'06

Nov 09 - Present : Honda Hornet 600

Hallo guys.. was wondering whether there is any outing for sp again.. coz i'm quite a newbie in sp.. maybe get sum tips and pointers from the old birds.. hehhe..

931153_10151259704352614_844334838_n.jpg

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do.

So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

Originally posted by Avita@Jul 3 2005, 11:10 PM

anyone know where i can buy those front light bulbs those 12V 35W ones? cause my light bulbs keep blowing which i don know why also. sometimes my fuse also get blow..

anyone knows which hardware shop got sell those bike fuse and front light bulbs?? cause i know buy there is cheaper than ah boy and i have been to many places but cant find.

i had this problem with my sp last time too...bulbs keep blowing...i think you could go check your cable out...i changed a new cable that connects to the bulbs and everything was fine

April 2004 - June 2005 : Honda NSR150SP

June 2005 - August 2006 : Honda RVF400 NC35

August 2006 - Present : Yamaha YZF-R1

Originally posted by OnceEarth@Jul 3 2005, 05:24 PM

:cheer: Hi everyone ! i just change my nick DAx AKS OnceEarth ...

I just got SP hehee so to :cheer: :cheer: to all SP rider ...

Qing tuo tuo quang zhao ! ! ! Oh Hi Yo ! hehee :bouncefire: :bouncefire:

harlow...

ur bike looks familiar...

u bought it frm the ads here also isit???

=)))

Suck it n ride!

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn224/ervinchua_wl/633520157058579273-SignatureCelebra.jpg