after 4 lessons of lesson 1, I am able to go straight. However, I am unable to control the bike when it is turning.

How much of the handlebar am I supposed to turn? How do I know whether I am supposed to tilt my body as well?

I have observed that riders dont turn their handlebars much but tilt their body more.

What am I supposed to do? I keep knocking down the corns in the circuit .

• Replies 43

Yeah. Just look forward and not stare directly at the cones when you go through them. Control throttle properly and let your body react naturally. You'll get used to the feeling, don't think too much.

IG: @adrielwrites

Don't forget the hug the fuel tank with you legs tightly

Good clutch and throttle control is also essential

Don't look on the ground, front tyre etc

Always look ahead to where you are turning

looking for drz parts, any parts will do!

eyepoint very important, look far, look at the direction you going towards to :cool:

CLASS 2B - 2012 | CLASS 2A - 2014 | CLASS 2 - 2015

Past & Current Ride -

YAMAHA Y125Z - FBA 5025 S(2012-2016)

YAMAHA FZ16ST - FBK 218 H(2015-2017)

YAMAHA FZ1000S - FX 9676 T(2017-2017)

YAMAHA RXZ 135 - FQ 5622 L(2017-2017)

HONDA NC750X ABS - FBK X2XX E(2017-????)

halo TS.. u are funny... how are we suppose to tell u how much handle bar to turn?

actually the slight turn of handle bar and tilting of body is quite a natural thing.. im not too sure how to explain... hope other bros around here can help u with that..

all the best for your lesson... :thumb:

:makeup: :shy:

Reality is the only obstacle to happiness. .. ...

i think like this you go and buy or borrow the motorised bicycle first. then learn to ride from there.

you tilt your body to turn not by the handlebars.

q 2 consciously lean your bike to the left more

how do you handle it when your bike is falling to the right and you are supposed to stop?

You are not supposed to place your right foot on the ground at all.

My own cheatcode method is to turn the handle bar to the left and try to lean left. It works, but u have to get used to it. If u're falling to the right, odds are u turn the handle to the right too, which makes it easier to fall to right. If u turn left instead, it counters.

RIDE.

2012 - 2015: Honda NSR150SP

2015 - current : Honda CBR600RR

my tips is grip tank with your thigh firmly, close eyes contact to the direction where you are turning, e.g. cones, kerb. Slightly tint the handlebars but lean/banking the bike with your body.

Hope this helps.

after 4 lessons of lesson 1, I am able to go straight. However, I am unable to control the bike when it is turning.

How much of the handlebar am I supposed to turn? How do I know whether I am supposed to tilt my body as well?

I have observed that riders dont turn their handlebars much but tilt their body more.

You are scared and so going too slow, to ride a motorbike, it is very similar to a bicycle only much heavier.

Therefore, if you hv more momentum, you will be more stable.

The slower you are , the more you hv to turn the handlebar and the more shaky you will likely be.

Practise with a bicycle , it will help.

You are scared and so going too slow, to ride a motorbike, it is very similar to a bicycle only much heavier.

Therefore, if you hv more momentum, you will be more stable.

The slower you are , the more you hv to turn the handlebar and the more shaky you will likely be.

Practise with a bicycle , it will help.

Looking at the title, I thought TS has problem starting the bike.... or he is trying to get his bike excited........

But seriously, on a motorcycle you use countersteer to turn... you initiate left turn by pushing on the left handlebar and vice versa for right turns... pushing means away from your body....

Going somewhere isn't why I ride... riding is why I go..

Past rides: XL100, CG110, Elsinore 125, CB175, CB250N, CX500, CBX400F, GL1000, CBX-6,

V45 Magna.

Present ride: DN-01, Spyder RT LTD

I am at the stage after banging of tyres.

The problem is that the turning angle is too sharp and I have to stop even before my bike goes to moving speed.

Can someone help? like got any videos?

hmmmmmmmmmmmmm......corns........................

I am at the stage after banging of tyres.

The problem is that the turning angle is too sharp and I have to stop even before my bike goes to moving speed.

Can someone help? like got any videos?

Bro youtube got alot ar, juz click search..

Niwae like wat e bros here advised, most important u cnt b too stiff like robot... B comfortable but not too comfortable until u fall asleep hehe... Im out of touch bout nowsaday lesson... The best solution, ask e instructor for help.. Ask him to teach u how to do it right until ur able to do it right.. But of coz lah, want to ask oso got technique.. Buy coffee or wat, nothing is free bro hehe.. If ur lucky, e instructor will ask u to become pillion n he will show u how its done :)

"Shut Up n Ride"

You don't turn bikes like a car, you lean.

Best thing for u to do now is stop learning to ride. Safer for u and other road users. U don't know what it's like to ride on public roads. If u can't even do this in a controlled learning driving centre, how do u expect to ride in Singapore's roads? Seriously. U need to learn faster or don't learn at all. Because Singapore's roads are not safe at all. Hope u have watched the videos from TP in the theory lesson. Please don't add to the statistics of fatalities. With your riding technique now, it's either u bang into someone because u reacted slowly to the person crossing the road. Reacted slowly because u were preoccupied in looking at where u were going to turn into. Or u get banged by a car or lorry because u reacted slowly also. Preoccupied by things a rider should not be thinking about. Being a rider, u have to be fast. Look fast, react fast. Do whatever it takes to not hit the object on the road. Do whatever it takes to prevent yourself from getting into an accident. Cars not signalling their intention to change lane, construction materials falling out from lorries, cars beating red lights, pedestrians jay-walking, stones and sand on the road, wet roads, uneven surfaced roads, poorly lit roads, vehicles that do not switch on their headlights at night. All hazardous. U have to look fast and react fast. Think of how you're gonna avoid the hazard. Think if it's safe for u to do the avoiding. Think of all possible sh!t that might happen in the case of u managing to avoid it and u not managing to avoid it. Hope this helps.

Btw, just think of the plastic cones as bombs. The timer is 6 seconds till they explode and if u touch them, they will explode instantly too. then the tester will say, "Please try again." lol. But I still prefer u taking public transport though. I wouldn't like being hit by flying objects if an accident happens anywhere near me. I have enough problems of my own without that happening to me. Example, biker at a traffic light. The lights just turned green and the biker started going across, this car doesn't realize that the biker has the right of way and beats the red light on his side. Biker didn't see that coming. Boom. Box from his bike flew across the road into oncoming traffic. Just imagine if some other rider was going at 60 speed limit and the box suddenly flew into his lane. that's when look fast, react fast comes into play. The box in your path now, u saw it. Estimated time to impact, 1-2seconds. Going at 60, is it possible to brake in time? No. What if I close throttle to slow down and try going around it, is it possible? Yes. If I go around it, will I get into accident? Maybe. Must check mirrors first. Check right blind spot if going around it by the right side, check left blind spot if going around by the left. There might be another rider going faster and trying to overtake. Check will be safer. U have to do all this within 1-2 seconds. Ask yourself. CAN YOU DO IT??? If u can't, then I seriously suggest BMW. Bus, Mrt, Walk. Or cab.

Hope i helped u somewhere. Videos u want, go to YouTube and search TWIST OF THE WRIST. shows u all the factors that affect the handling of a bike. Shows u all the kinds of different road surfaces. Shows u what kinds of turns there are. But seriously, u have to learn faster than this. Follow your instinct. Don't care whether its an immediate failure or not. Would u rather fall down and hurt your right leg than to put it out to prevent yourself from falling? Either way, both seems like an immediate failure to me. Right leg touch ground, failure to u from the TP. Right leg stuck to footrest because u scared of immediate failure by the TP, end up fall down and injure yourself, this is an immediate failure to yourself from yourself. Because u failed to protect yourself from getting injured when u could have done something to prevent yourself from getting injured. I rather someone fail me than I fail myself. At least my legs are not broken, I still can go try it again. Get it? Omg. Btw, a tip to counter balance, the falling right but turn handlebar to the left I'm not too sure about that cos I've never tried it before. Mostly I do is using body weight to counter it. If u feel like the bike is falling right, u shift your weight to the left. Use your footrest, step on it, move your body weight to the left without standing on the footrest, not sure if TP will accept standing on the footrest. WAIT!

U said the bike feel like falling to the right? Is it when you're turning to the right or going on a straight road? Answer me this and everything will make sense to me.

Everybody learns at a different pace. Ride a bicycle more to get used to turning. Don't give up...it will click after awhile.

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg

When u feel the bike falling to the right, quickly put your left leg out when you're stopping. If really can't counter the falling with your weight, standby to push the road with your right leg. If you do the right leg thing fast enough, the tester might not notice it. Hehe. For me, I don't care about the right leg thing. Lol.

TS, if only u got frens who willing to allow u to practise on their bike.. I used to do it when i took my license more than a decade ago n it really helps... Haiz, those were e days when there's only 5 pracs n estimated time to get ur license on e average 3mths... Dun worry bro, u can do it... Not every1 born to ride a bike bt with determination n practises, u will b a good rider 1 day... :)

"Shut Up n Ride"

best is to practice more on circuit, if half clutch at junction take one big step with leg foot. After passing practical lesson 3, you should be stable, confident, mini circuit, junctions, half clutch, safety checks, tank grips, eyes point.

And well prepared for lesson 4 circuit assessment, also practise more road revision and circuit for lesson 5, 6, 7.

Keep asking instructors for help on your weak points e.g. circuit and timing wise.