Harley Riders gather

Hi guys thinking of buying a HD...I heard tat the V-rod is the most powerful among all izzit true? I am interested in the night rod or the sport version v-rod....wats the price of a second hand one and where can I find one?

Check this out:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=215550

Most experts aren't...and research is the difference between speculation and investment.

1430...ã™ãã€æ¥ã‚‹ã“ã¨ã€‚ :thumb:

Hi guys thinking of buying a HD...I heard tat the V-rod is the most powerful among all izzit true? I am interested in the night rod or the sport version v-rod....wats the price of a second hand one and where can I find one?

The V Rod is indeed the most powerful among all the Harleys strictly from HP numbers. But from stock, it does run a little less torque than the regular 96 cube air cooled Harleys.

If you intend to get a V Rod, before you spend $ on it, do understand that you are not getting a sports bike.

ie:

1) Dont expect the V Rod to lean into corners like a R1 or even a RXK for that matter.

2) It is built for the drag strip for the street. 6500 rpm dump clutch at the traffic lights will beat hayabusas. This is what the bike was built for.

3) It has forward controls so it puts pressure on your butt a lot if you are touring for many long hours.

4) Unlike other harleys, where you can mod them into bobbers, baggers, apers, etc... there is only "one" way to mod a v rod...and that is putting more power on it and pray all your other parts dont break or fall off.

5) Engine capacity of a v rod is less than the bigger air cooled harleys. Even after modding, the bigger air cooled harleys still have bigger displacement.

Most experts aren't...and research is the difference between speculation and investment.

Harley's sales & net income drop, foster new market strategies

Posted: Aug 4, 2009/Rachael Embler

After a promising first quarter, Harley Davidson's net income plunged 91% in the second quarter and the company said they'll have to cut a thousand jobs.

Thousands of hungry eyes feast on the newest Harleys during the rally, but that may be as far as they get.

Sales for the motorcycle icon went down 35% in the second quarter.

On the heel of riding season, it's usually their best time for sales.

"Personally I think part of it is the economy right now," said Biker Dawn Barber.

During a recession, Barber said a motorcycle often takes the back burner to basic needs.

"A bike is a toy to a lot of people, unless you ride a lot then you think it's something you need instead of want," Barber said.

Barber said she has been riding Harleys for 15 years and she said it's a priority.

"This is my seventh bike. I will go without other things so I can keep my bike," she said.

Others need to be enticed and that's exactly what Harley is trying to do-- entice more women to ride.

Next May, Harley set aside a few days to celebrate women riders.

Over the years, Barber said she's noticed their effort.

"I've seen a lot more marketing towards women. The bikes are geared more for women like the new deluxes that came out, which I bought a new one this year," she said.

Barber's sister Dorie Duinick said she along with all their friends have noticed it too.

"We ride with a bunch of girls and everybody's got something different, some have got new, some have got old, you know everybody's got a different kind of bike, so I guess there is something out there for everybody," Duinick said.

That makes Harley's main hurdle turning that desire for a hog into necessity.

Harley's heavyweight motorcycle sales declined 48 percent in the second quarter.

Analysts said it's because the baby boomer male market has all the Harleys they need.

Evan and Crew Ready to Hand Over Petition to Harley-Davidson

Evan Forrester Staff reporter / 10:40 PM EDT, August 4, 2009

MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN - The effort to try to persuade Harley-Davidson's management team to keep the plant open in York County continues. Eight local riders have ridden their motorcycles 800 miles from York to Harley headquarters in Milwaukee Wisconsin. The group started the trip Monday, traveling from York to Cleveland, Ohio. Tuesday they hit the open road for the remaining 400 miles to Milwaukee. There they will meet with a member of Harley's upper management to present petitions with more than five thousand signatures, urging the company to keep the plant operating in York County.

The group left bright and early Tuesday morning, leaving Cleveland in the rear view mirror-- more than 400 miles of open road to Milwaukee. "It feels awesome. I've had a great time! Fantastic weather-- excellent ride-- couldn't ask for more" says Brian VanSyoc from Lancaster County. While he doesn't ride a Harley he clearly knows the importance of keeping the Harley plant in York County. "I know our economy has been really bad, and to hear the fact that 25 hundred plus people could lose their jobs could really devastate not only York County but surrounding areas as well, Lancaster and Harrisburg and that."

Tuesday's leg of the trip roared through Ohio, Indiania, Illinois and Wisconsin. Dave Thoman has made this trip countless times. For almost 20 years he drove a truck for Harley. Now he rides to help others. It's been a fantastic ride for me. Harley has been really good to me. I have friends and family that still work there, and I would like to see them stay there."

Wednesday the group will present Harley management with petitions containing more than five thousand signatures along with a DVD of highlites from the FOX43 Save Our Plant Ride and Rally. Rider Dan Helman hopes it will help make a difference. "I hope hope that they do pay attention to all the names on the petition. All the people that actually took time out of their day to go on the ride on Sunday and show they're support. I hope they take that into consideration when they make their decision."

My new baby... ETA...7 weeks and counting...:thumb:

Christine,

Can you post some pics of your bikes??

c26492.jpg

Very true except for the StreetRod (VRSCR).

1) Dont expect the V Rod to lean into corners like a R1 or even a RXK for that matter.

You need enough balls to lean a VSRCR or a RXK equally well. The engine alone is 200lbs so there's still no comparison to crotch rockets.

3) It has forward controls so it puts pressure on your butt a lot if you are touring for many long hours.Cheers

It's more comfy than any forward control softails all the way to Thailand.

4) Unlike other harleys, where you can mod them into bobbers, baggers, apers, etc... there is only "one" way to mod a v rod...and that is putting more power on it and pray all your other parts dont break or fall off.

Check out the Germans for vrod mods, it'll put most American Big Twin builders to shame.

The VRSCR is a different breed that appeals to a different crowd (such as sportsbike riders looking for a little HD loving).

Is that you Adrian looking for the VRSCR?

My new baby... ETA...7 weeks and counting...:thumb:

Cripes Christine! You're really in Japan?? Hope you're not too affected by the typhoon! But the fact that you're posting means you're fine and thats good to hear :thumb: So whats your story? I mean, you working there? a taitai there? hehe...wah seh a taitai on a harley, not something you see everyday:cool:

So you're getting your new ride in Japan or S'pore? And whats the new ride? I'm not savvy enuf with HD bikes to guess your bike by looking at the exhaust :( Not trying to get fresh :shy:with you but just wondering about an interesting 'chick' with a phenomenal knowledge of HD bikes.

Alamak, then our coffee get together when i get my harley how? I even wanted to throw in a black forest cake..:cry:

Cripes Christine! You're really in Japan?? Hope you're not too affected by the typhoon! But the fact that you're posting means you're fine and thats good to hear :thumb: So whats your story? I mean, you working there? a taitai there? hehe...wah seh a taitai on a harley, not something you see everyday:cool:

So you're getting your new ride in Japan or S'pore? And whats the new ride? I'm not savvy enuf with HD bikes to guess your bike by looking at the exhaust :( Not trying to get fresh :shy:with you but just wondering about an interesting 'chick' with a phenomenal knowledge of HD bikes.

Alamak, then our coffee get together when i get my harley how? I even wanted to throw in a black forest cake..:cry:

Yup. Born in Imabari. Working in Tokyo. Been to Singapore and have been working in Singapore for many years as I was posted to Singapore. I now run back and forth my Tokyo office and Singapore office.

I own a fatboy and a NRS. Both totally different builds. Dont have any new rides coming up but sure love to test ride the muscle. Heard quite a lot of -ve things about it so want to test it out myself to see if they are just normal biker ramblings which are non objective or there are really that many faults on the muscle.

What i learnt about bikes are not really phenomenal. Got to thank my 2 motor nut head brothers for that. (my eldest brother is working on putting a K8 rolling front end on a sporster...but facing too many problems now)

Cheers and looking forward to the black forest cake. Free coffee and cake...haha...cant say no to that.

Check out the Germans for vrod mods, it'll put most American Big Twin builders to shame.

QUOTE]

Saw those German V-Rod builds. 300 tyres, upside down forks, shortie fenders, chain driven, etc... IMHO...after a while...they look the same. So in the end, it still comes down to engine build for the v-rod(s).

Actually, those German shops have been taking the ideas from the earlier era work shops in Germany who builds and mods Vmax-es. It revolves around the same idea and build standards. And after a while when the 'fad' of cosmetics starts to die down, the Germans starts tearing the engine apart and working on it. That is when we start seeing 200 hp v-rods naturally aspirated, 250 hp v rods with SC/TT units etc.

There is however 1 very well build v-rod that is a bagger with a 'street glide' batwing that is truly truly very well built. It is built by a canadian and i will post the pic if i can find it.

...after a while...they look the same. So in the end, it still comes down to engine build for the v-rod(s).

Very true, which is quite refreshing to see some turn the VRSCR into more of a crotch rocket looking bike, or even a Sportster into a scrambler. Was toying with those ideas when I had those bikes but not the dough :(

finally found time last saturday to replace my brake light switch.

Bike almost brand new with mileage less than 4000km but brake light switch already went kapuk.....wtf?

Anyway, just grousing, i knew what i was getting into the moment i wrote the check for it. haw haw...

Very true, which is quite refreshing to see some turn the VRSCR into more of a crotch rocket looking bike, or even a Sportster into a scrambler. Was toying with those ideas when I had those bikes but not the dough :(

A sporster into a scrambler! That would bring back the good ole Evil Kneivel days. STORZ all the way.

It is an awesome build but like you said...need more of this $ to build one of those. If you do get to building one, let us know how it went and how it handles. Just the thought of it puts a smile on my face.

Off topic on harleys, there is this company called JVB moto that builds ducatis into scramblers. 1 of them builds and converts the multistrada into scramblers and its awesome.

finally found time last saturday to replace my brake light switch.

Bike almost brand new with mileage less than 4000km but brake light switch already went kapuk.....wtf?

Anyway, just grousing, i knew what i was getting into the moment i wrote the check for it. haw haw...

You shouldnt have to pay for it right? Your bike should still be under warranty and you can claim from the stealership...oops...i meant dealership.

It seems that warranties for Harleys in SG end in 2 yrs and mine ended in apr 09, so i had to pay for it. I dont mind paying for it but it's the waiting time that frustrates me.

on a different note, I really dig tokyo, the city and have been there a couple of times. twice to attend the TMS at Makuhari Messe.

dont mind me asking, arent you angmoh?

It seems that warranties for Harleys in SG end in 2 yrs and mine ended in apr 09, so i had to pay for it. I dont mind paying for it but it's the waiting time that frustrates me.

on a different note, I really dig tokyo, the city and have been there a couple of times. twice to attend the TMS at Makuhari Messe.

dont mind me asking, arent you angmoh?

Nope. Last i checked...my skin's still yellow...and proud that it is.

9 New Models for 2010

The CVO™ Ultra Classic® Electra Glide® is a limited-production motorcycle for the discerning touring rider that combines custom paint, a potent powertrain and a well-chosen array of top-line accessories.

The CVO Ultra Classic Electra Glide is built on the innovative Touring chassis introduced by Harley-Davidson in 2009, based on a single-spar, rigid backbone frame and a stout swingarm developed to withstand the demands of long-haul touring riders and today's more-powerful engines.

The new king of the Grand American Touring experience, the Electra Glide® Ultra Limited offers enhanced performance and features, with distinctive styling upgrades. The Twin Cam 103 engine that delivers 10 percent more torque than the Twin Cam 96™ engine offered in other Touring models.

The innovative Harley-Davidson® Touring chassis is based on a single-spar, rigid backbone frame and a stout swingarm developed to withstand the demands of long-haul touring riders and today's more-powerful engines.

The Harley-Davidson® CVO™ Street Glide® is a limited-production version of the popular Harley-Davidson® hot-rod bagger. Powered by the largest-displacement V-Twin engine offered by Harley-Davidson, this potent touring bike is loaded with sparkling chrome, electrifying paint and fresh custom-styling ideas.

The CVO Street Glide is built on the innovative Touring chassis introduced by Harley-Davidson in 2009, based on a single-spar, rigid backbone frame and a new swingarm developed to withstand the demands of long-haul touring riders and today's more-powerful engines.

The Street Glide® Trike brings lean, stripped-down, hot-rod styling to the three-wheel category.

The Harley-Davidson® Trike platform brings original-equipment design, quality and service to the three-wheel motorcycle segment. Trike models utilize a frame and associated chassis structure and geometry engineered specifically to handle the loads generated by the steering forces and weight of a three-wheel vehicle

Darker and lower, the Fat Boy® Lo retains the bold presence of the Fat Boy® while offering a fresh interpretation of the motorcycle that still defines the segment. A re-shaped seat and lowered suspension combine to produce the lowest seat height of any Harley-Davidson® model, just 24.25 inches.

The Softail® rear suspension mimics the clean lines of a vintage hardtail frame but offers the comfort of a modern suspension that is hidden under the chassis. The rigid powertrain allows tight packaging of the engine and frame and creates a solid connection between the rider and the power that moves the motorcycle.

Harley-Davidson® CVO™ Softail® Convertible is a limited-production custom motorcycle that can be configured for all-day touring, two-up cruising or solo profiling by adding or detaching key components, which can be easily removed or installed without tools.

The Softail rear suspension mimics the clean lines of a vintage hardtail frame but offers the comfort of modern suspension that is hidden under the chassis.

The rigid powertrain allows tight packaging of the engine and frame and creates a solid connection between the rider and the power that moves the motorcycle.

The Road Glide® Custom is a tougher, lower vision of the shark-nose Harley-Davidson classic, with a big 18-inch front wheel, a 2-into-1 exhaust, and a smooth tail light assembly. This bagger rolls with new swagger.

The innovative Harley-Davidson® Touring chassis is based on a single-spar, rigid backbone frame and a stout swingarm developed to withstand the demands of long-haul touring riders and today's more-powerful engines.

The Harley-Davidson® CVO™ Fat Bob® is a limited-production custom motorcycle that projects an agressive, super-duty presence behind a beefy front wheel, twisted Tommy Gun exhaust, bold paint and innovative custom styling.

The CVO Fat Bob is based on the Harley-Davidson Dyna platform, which pairs Big Twin performance with an extended FX front end, exposed twin rear shock absorbers, and an under-seat battery box.

The new Wide Glide® is a Dyna® Big Twin done up old-school chopper style - a low, stretched-out custom with drag bars and forward foot controls that give its rider a real fists-in-the-wind profile. The LED stop/turn/tail light combo and side-mounted license plate keep the chopped rear fender clean.

The Harley-Davidson Dyna family has its roots in the factory-custom revolution of the 1970s, and combines Big Twin performance with an extended FX front end. Dyna models deliver great handling and bold styling.

10_FLHTCUSE_R_thumbnail-large.jpg

10_FLHTK_R_thumbnail-large.jpg

10_FLHXSE_R_thumbnail-large.jpg

10_FLHXXX_R_thumbnail-large.jpg

10_FLSTFB_R_thumbnail-large.jpg

10_FLSTSE_R_thumbnail-large.jpg

Don Juan: Like i said before...your Dyna Wide Glide is a legend and a real keeper. Look at the 2010 model and it is terrible. Looks like HD just took parts from everywhere and pieced it together. Fat Bob pipes...night train front end (?)... Sigh...dont think 2010 would be a good year for the Wide Glide...

I remember the Lorenzo Lamas TV serial some years?ago about bounty hunters. He was on a dyna Wide glide, i think.

nice.

I remember the Lorenzo Lamas TV serial some years?ago about bounty hunters. He was on a dyna Wide glide, i think.

nice.

Hoho.... I remember that one!

Went to to the dealer today n was interested in the xr1200 cause it can handle really well,wonder how is the maintenance of the bike any one here riding one can give me some pointers? Love the 2010 xr1200x wonder whether this is model coming in here.

Ha ha, Chrissy, you are rite. Looking at the 2010 FXDWG, what i do not like most are the Fatboy looking pipes, battery cover and the rear end. Still like the traditional staggered pipes, chrome box like batt cover and the bob tail fender of the old DWG. Not mentioning that mine is the last of the carbs.... ha ha. A real keeper like you mentioned.

However the EFI models does have a better pick up when you pull the bike at the lower gears. Tried my friend's EFI model the other day, you can really feel the pick up :( .... pros and cons lah....

Hey, i saw the purple / blue super loud fatboy you mentioned to me the other day when i went to the dealership. Rider is in his 40s had a female pillion on it. Not sure if it is your kaki that you had told me too look out for at the 105th Harley Anni. Cheers

Harley Davidson is not just a bike, it's a lifestyle......