Hi all ,

I am a safe rider and do not squeeze between vehicles during jams or slow moving traffic. End result , kena 2 to 3 times cars behind me high beam me ... ( Wat the hell ? ) Just because the usual folks squeeze means I must follow suit?? Even if I give way and squeeze makes no difference to him cos in front is a jam.

To make matter worst, I was once travelling along Bukit Timah stretch ( along Hwa Chong ) at 70km/h(legal speed limit) on the left most lane { suppose to be for slow moving vehicles } and 2nd , and 1st lane vehicle moving slightly slower(even when road clear and dry weather). Then comes along a impatient Hyundai Car from the 2nd lane change to 3rd lane behind me and high beam me??? Hey I thought if anyone wants to overtake should do on the right side? So he expect me to signal left and mount onto the pavement for him to overtake me??? :confused:

Any safe riders experience such nonsense from four wheels before? So far I think even taxi drivers nowadays behave better than private car drivers { in terms of being road bullies } .Even P platers car drivers try their nonsense on me some times by tailgating { i am not a p plate rider } What do you think ? :giddy:

And talking about this , u guys notice each time the advertisment on road safety always show a bike squeezing and kena accident? Perhaps it is also time authorities show some ads to remind drivers to reflect on their driving manners too , instead of keep giving impression that motorcyclists are the cause of their own accidents all the time .

• Replies 57

Haha, Thats funny. I never kena before, much of the time, In the past, I also ride along bukit timah road. But never have this. Got once I got this is because I din on my lights, and he high beam me and I check my lights loh. If the person high beam me because I slow, I dun even bother, he want to overtake, filter left and overtake, or just follow man. (Normally you cannot be slow because you be riding like 90 on those road without much traffic)

And it also depend on what kind of bike you riding that matters, but well, drivers attitude is quite bad recently no doubt, and some female drivers that they think they own the road and din check their blind spot before turning or cut into lane. This kind is really call dangerous man.

whatever it is, even if you are at 100km/h on lane 1 and there's a vehicle faster than

you behind, you are road-hogging. give way by changing to lane 2 instead remaining a

danger to yourself by blocking the person's way.

but prata24, i find nothing wrong with you not-squeezing. although, sometimes you just

might have to to escape situations like an extra sudden e-brake. i wish i had your

patience. :thumb:

mods done:

powerplant device, fuel injector venturis,

underseat cylindrical air filter, bassy stock cans,

super-sensitive in-built gyroscope, inertia-based accelerometer,

streamlined panniers (zero drag),

taped up wires, exposed grounding wires,

TBC mounted, custom tire pressures.

litre bikes watch out! :gun:

There are all kinds of people in the world... Just ignore them. They can beam all they want.

Or MAybe... He accidentally flick his high beam... so just forget it and continue to be a safe rider... :thumb:

I pass by Bukit Timah road quite frequently, but I seldom get that kind of treatment. What I get most is bus coming out of bus bay without checking. there are a few times when I have to swerve to avoid those bus.

For tailgating problem, I just flash my brake lights at them. If they don't back off, I will reduce my speed slowly, eventually they will just filter to another lane.

The most important thing to me is that I keep to the center of the lane, this will prevent them from trying to squeeze me by the side.

Another thing is that don't ride too safely (slowly). Try to keep to the road traffic condition without speeding.

Pulsar UG3 (Mar 07 -> 21 Jan 2009)

S4 Ver S. (Scrapped May 2010)

S4 Revo (05 Aug 2010 -> current)

Hi prata24,

welcome to the real world of bikers, this is reality and some accidents happened becos they do not respect the other road users. sometimes it's safer if u squeeze in between cars becos if u dun do that, that Hyundai driver might squeeze u to the corner.

good luck n happy riding!!!

Yamaha TZR > Kawasaki KIPS >> Suzuki GSX-K >>> Honda NSR >>>> Yamaha RX-Z >>>>> Honda CB400 Ver S >>>>>> Kymco X400i

Well, just have to ignore the drivers when they flash you for not squeezing. I personally feel that these drivers are such impatient ppl.

But if you are on the extreme left lane and they flash you, then it shows they have no brains, coz how do you give way to them on the left lane?!!!

Slow in Fast Out, Fast in Never Come Out.

hahaha.... i have been riding this road almost everyday but have not get all this sh*t yet... but if the driver really high beam me dan i will just get more and more slow... buay song rite over take me lah... after he over take me i will pick up speed and get infront of him again and slow down again... lol... repeat this until i get to my exit.. lol..... if he wan to tailgate me... can try lor... either he bang me and i never die he will get it... or i just pick up speed and let him see my arshole... that's all..... :cheeky:

Rot In Hell!!

Originally posted by QX@April 11, 2007 02:24 pm

hahaha.... i have been riding this road almost everyday but have not get all this sh*t yet... but if the driver really high beam me dan i will just get more and more slow... buay song rite over take me lah... after he over take me i will pick up speed and get infront of him again and slow down again... lol... repeat this until i get to my exit.. lol..... if he wan to tailgate me... can try lor... either he bang me and i never die he will get it... or i just pick up speed and let him see my arshole... that's all..... :cheeky:

Your method fierce sia! :cheeky:

prata24, you are a very safe rider and a patient man. Its good that your style of riding exposes you to a lower level of risk. Keep it up. Unfortunately, errant drivers still like to give trouble to safe and docile riders like you. Since you are on the left lane already and travelling at legal speed, consider shaking him off by slowing down gradually and flashing your brake lights? This should not expose you to too much risk since there is a low chance of vechicles cutting in from lane 2 to your lane and if they do, its unlikely they will not clear you?

Quote sikonesis

"whatever it is, even if you are at 100km/h on lane 1 and there's a vehicle faster than you behind, you are road-hogging. give way by changing to lane 2 instead remaining a danger to yourself by blocking the person's way."

How wrong can you be? Road hogging is travelling at an unreasonably slow speed on fast lanes, from the driving schools. On Singapore roads, if you are travelling at speed limit on the slowest lane, it is unreasonable to be expected to change lane and give way to a faster vehicle behind you, especially on a 3 lane road like Bukit Timah Rd. This is riduculous. Its attitude like yours that impatient drivers practice and put riders at risk. If the tailgator wants u to change lane to let him pass when you are in the slowest lane, he must be a very very impatient person, and most likely will not wait for you to make a complete lane change before flooring his gas, putting you at extra risk.

Many riders practice what saboon does. Its fun. It irritates the sh*t out of the driver. The "If you dare, you buang me lah" kind of gung ho attitude provides a psychological outlet for pent up frustrations accumulated from other driver's bad road behavior. You also feel superior and brave, and that you've got back at the idiot who needs to be taught a lesson. When you calm down and think back, however, you realize its also a fast way to die on the road. Anger, impatience, reduced buffers of space put you at high risk. Remember the taxi driver who deliberately banged the rider into the road barrier on lane 1 some time back? The rider died. The taxi driver's passenger saw the driver grin. He was prosecuted. I do not know the results. But the rider had died. Nothing will change that. Nobody can decide how you ride, Saboon, but i wish you well and hope all riders following this thread have many more good years ahead of them.

Stunts, high speed riding and cornering are best done in tracks, lest you make an error.

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

Follow them to their residence, talk to them nicely, ask them what they want. Call the police.

http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/ii159/gnayed/n641300248_3172135_77.jpg
Originally posted by Pplater@April 11, 2007 02:48 pm

Quote sikonesis

"whatever it is, even if you are at 100km/h on lane 1 and there's a vehicle faster than you behind, you are road-hogging. give way by changing to lane 2 instead remaining a danger to yourself by blocking the person's way."

How wrong can you be? Road hogging is travelling at an unreasonably slow speed on fast lanes, from the driving schools. On Singapore roads, if you are travelling at speed limit on the slowest lane, it is unreasonable to be expected to change lane and give way to a faster vehicle behind you, especially on a 3 lane road like Bukit Timah Rd. This is riduculous. Its attitude like yours that impatient drivers practice and put riders at risk. If the tailgator wants u to change lane to let him pass when you are in the slowest lane, he must be a very very impatient person, and most likely will not wait for you to make a complete lane change before flooring his gas, putting you at extra risk.

Many riders practice what saboon does. Its fun. It irritates the sh*t out of the driver. The "If you dare, you buang me lah" kind of gung ho attitude provides a psychological outlet for pent up frustrations accumulated from other driver's bad road behavior. You also feel superior and brave, and that you've got back at the idiot who needs to be taught a lesson. When you calm down and think back, however, you realize its also a fast way to die on the road. Anger, impatience, reduced buffers of space put you at high risk. Remember the taxi driver who deliberately banged the rider into the road barrier on lane 1 some time back? The rider died. The taxi driver's passenger saw the driver grin. He was prosecuted. I do not know the results. But the rider had died. Nothing will change that. Nobody can decide how you ride, Saboon, but i wish you well and hope all riders following this thread have many more good years ahead of them.

Stunts, high speed riding and cornering are best done in tracks, lest you make an error.

Lane 1 refers to the overtaking lane or most extreme right lane here I presume. Experienced road users should know that the right lane is for overtaking regardless of the speed you are travelling at, at expense of breaking the law most of the time. You as the slower vehicle should give way on the lane 1/overtaking lane if you see a faster vehicle closing up on you. Road ethics.

Maybe it is a matter of terminology misunderstanding here. Besides, what you learn from the school is probably just a guide, stick with 'em and you will suffer injustice and frustration from those newbie-perceived right-of-ways. My safest piece of advice to the threadstarter would be, stick to your lane and the vehicle behind you will overtake eventually (if he/she is really that impatient). Keep a cautious lookout for any offensive move, be prepared to avoid. If you are confident, you can choose to give way by moving to the middle/2nd lane to prevent agitation to the rear driver.

Who knows the driver might be rushing somewhere due to some urgent reasons? We probably can't put thoughts into a logical process when your loved ones are in trouble, for example.

http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/ii159/gnayed/n641300248_3172135_77.jpg

mr pplater, let me clarify. lane 1 is the innermost lane, the one on the right. by right,

it's meant solely for overtaking. lane 3 or 4 would be the slowest lanes, on the left.

so let me just assume you read my post wrongly, or that you weren't sure which lane i

was refering to.

edit: gnayed explained it while i was typing. and i think you meant QX instead of saboon

when talking about the gung-ho attitude. hrmz, time for an eye exam? o_O

mods done:

powerplant device, fuel injector venturis,

underseat cylindrical air filter, bassy stock cans,

super-sensitive in-built gyroscope, inertia-based accelerometer,

streamlined panniers (zero drag),

taped up wires, exposed grounding wires,

TBC mounted, custom tire pressures.

litre bikes watch out! :gun:

Originally posted by QX@April 11, 2007 02:24 pm

brother we got the same idea.. but onli diff is i'll do it once..

crash better.. i got a free maintenance service.. and paintwork.. :cheeky:

prata24, you are a very safe rider and a patient man. Its good that your style of riding exposes you to a lower level of risk. Keep it up. Unfortunately, errant drivers still like to give trouble to safe and docile riders like you. Since you are on the left lane already and travelling at legal speed, consider shaking him off by slowing down gradually and flashing your brake lights? This should not expose you to too much risk since there is a low chance of vechicles cutting in from lane 2 to your lane and if they do, its unlikely they will not clear you?

Quote sikonesis

Just to summarize...

If you are on the RIGHT-most (overtaking lane), even if you are at the speed-limit, when there is a vehicle behind you that is trying to overtake, please, please let that vehicle pass.

Please, please for the love of God, dun be like those "exceptional" (exceptionally stupid, if you ask me) people I meet on the roads every morning to work. Driving on the rightmost lane at 40 on a 90 expressway.

If you are the LEFT-most lane and someone wants to overtake, ask him go overtake on the next lane to the right,

Originally posted by LarryDK@April 11, 2007 09:17 am

Haha, Thats funny. I never kena before, much of the time, In the past, I also ride along bukit timah road. But never have this. Got once I got this is because I din on my lights, and he high beam me and I check my lights loh. If the person high beam me because I slow, I dun even bother, he want to overtake, filter left and overtake, or just follow man. (Normally you cannot be slow because you be riding like 90 on those road without much traffic)

And it also depend on what kind of bike you riding that matters, but well, drivers attitude is quite bad recently no doubt, and some female drivers that they think they own the road and din check their blind spot before turning or cut into lane. This kind is really call dangerous man.

Hi bro, yes I just got into accident with a lady driver recently . To share with u , she was travelling in front of me ( about 3 car length) at 40km/h , suddenly on hazard light and slow down to the left and come to a complete stop . So okay , since the road is a super wide one , me practising the safe method , on right signal overtake her car with MORE than the safe requirement of 1 m . What she do? W/o warning do a U turn in front of me as I approach , then I bang straight into her car and fell . Woman come out of car admit her mistake never check blind spot before turning due to Rushing for time ! If she say check mirror or blind spot cannot see me okay can understand due to my bike small , I don't blame them sometimes. Woh , rushing for time as an excuse??. In the end pay for my bike damages . Moral of the story , Even safe riders have to bear the risk of accidents due to other's dangerous road habits . Maybe auhorities should also start looking at campaigns to instill saftey driving ( not just drink driving ) in their ads ....really gets put off sometimes by the OVER emphasis in campaigns that motorcyclists are the cause of their own accidents (ie , squeezing, abrupt lane change tv ads) . :sian:

Originally posted by saboon@April 11, 2007 02:05 pm

Well, just have to ignore the drivers when they flash you for not squeezing. I personally feel that these drivers are such impatient ppl.

But if you are on the extreme left lane and they flash you, then it shows they have no brains, coz how do you give way to them on the left lane?!!!

Someone told me I should shift to the extreme left and let him pass me from behind w/t the lane :giddy: I think doing so will send a wrong signal to the drivers that bikes do not have a right of use of the entire lane . Wats more that is so dangerous !

Quote sikonesis

Hi bro , yes that was what I did , flash my brakelights to indicate that I am already w/t the limit of the legal speed for 3rd lane ( at 70 km/h ) along tat stretch with the intention of slowing down further( since there is a traffic light upfront , and I have no intention to speed up . )

prata24... think i got a "good idea" but result in inconvience... so if u are on that road again, simply jus lean forward abit.. then u cant c the mirror liao... then tailgating n hi beam wil not irritate u ... :smile: then when u wanted to lane change or turn, return to norm position...

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1150/1426483839_2b47be539c_o.jpg

oct05 - oct06 runner 200

oct06 - july07 vtec1

july07 - ?? runner200

may09 - ?? vtec2

be smart, don't get heat up when someone flashes.

if u r on fast last signal left n give way.

on slow (3rd) lane just slow down to legal limit, eventually he will overtake.

there r many idiot drivers, yesterday around 10.30pm, i witness an accident in front of me. accident occurred at siglap/upper changi junction, whilst waiting for traffic to pass. this lexus (in front of me) couldn't wait for the last cub kia to go thru, just surge forward n knock him down. couldn't believe this can happen, even u r very careful on the road. there r others aren't, so ride like there r no tomorrow. lucky the cub rider is OK, lexus hit the back of the cub. rider tumbled forward, with some bruises n cuts, did get up scream n scold the driver.

fact is... theres always an unwritten law for lane 1.... though speed limit says 90km/h... even if you do 110km/h... its still considered slow for a car that wants to get to destination fast.... thats life... which i've learnt to live with it.... cos small bike mah...

about the tailgating part... if i'm already on middle lane of a 3 lane road... what i'll usually do is.. keep tapping the brake levers... so the light is somewhat blinking... sometimes it works and they back off... on unlucky days, i'll just make sure he aint overtaking from the left then i shift 1 lane to the left...

and i agree with prata24... the focus of road safety should shift....

I've been riding for more than 2 years in Singapore and not squeezing between lanes. I haven't encountered anyone flashing their headlights at me from behind yet.

Possible reasons could be that:

1. I don't use the right lane unless overtaking or turning right.

2. I keep up with the speed of the traffic in my lane. If the traffic speed is too fast for me on the middle lane, I'll get out of the way, let faster traffic pass, then move back into the middle lane.

My personal experience has been that the number of other motorists who mess with me are about the same when I was either riding or driving.

I believe the point of the TP ads are that motorcyclists need not do reckless things to endanger themselves needlessly. The roads are dangerous enough for all users, there's no need to make it more so especially for the risk factors within your control.

He who hesitates is lost!

Erm, maybe you got the wrong person?? :cry: :cry: :cry: