Originally posted by MiddleAgedBiker@May 08, 2007 10:39 pm

Don't squeeze between lanes when you're riding in normal traffic, just ride like you learnt in the driving centre, this is the safest way. Ride behind the car, and keep a safe distance, and use your signal lights.

I also have to warn you about squeezing in between cars when stopping at traffic junctions to get to the front of the queue. Because you're riding a 2B bike, there's not much pickup power. Those taxis and some car drivers are very selfish, they won't care about your safety. They want to be #1 when the light turns green so that no obstruction, so they'll pickup very fast. IF you kena sandwiched between 2 vehicles that pickup faster than you, you're in real danger. Just don't do it.

If you're riding on the expressways, and there's a jam, don't take the fast lane, it's very dangerous. If you follow behind the car, you cannot brake in time if there's an emergency stop.

Either follow the car leaving ample distance on the slow lane, or if you've already familiarised yourself with your vehicle (about 2 - 3 months riding experience) you can try to follow behind other riders when they cut between cars. But do it carefully and never go faster than you're comfortable. If the bikes behind pressure you, just move in and let them go first. They have years of experience, you cannot go at their speed.

Wake up earlier if you have to, and take a longer route if necessary. Avoid CTE, PIE and even ECP during peak hours in the first week or two after you get your bike. Take quiet roads like TPE or just ride on regular roads.

Some people may say I'm very kiasee in the way I ride, but I've been riding for 15 years and only had one minor accident where I was going crazyily fast up a hill then kissed a car's bumper on the downhill when I couldn't brake in time. So if you want to stay safe and stay alive, ride like me! :D

I still ride very kiasee-ly even up till today, never want to take any risks.

THanks for d tips. very practical. Believe it or not, i follow most of the stuff u mentioned. And i will continue to follow it even for 15 yrs like u =):cheer:

• Replies 73

Originally posted by Pplater@April 29, 2007 09:26 pm

Believe it or not, when I press the horn, my finger will like kenna super glue like that, stuck there and cannot pull off. Especially if i see the fella gabra and kan chiong dunno want to steer where. :smile:

Hehehe.. good one la. haha

i been riding for ard 2months now...been always staying behind cars unless traffic jam then i ride in between...normally just follow what the school teach lor always brake early...

They want to be #1 when the light turns green so that no obstruction, so they'll pickup very fast. .

First one out - can also meant first one die when the light turned green and the other fellow has just beaten the red light. better stay behind n watch the show

I do filter between lanes but i don't like to do it, it adds to the stress of riding in Singapore. So would only do so when it is necessary. eg, jam, traffic lights.

But if you are new and not too familiar with your bike, there is always a thinking that there is nothing wrong in stopping behind another vehicle. You can start filtering when you are more comfortable with your bike.

Slow in Fast Out, Fast in Never Come Out.

hey you guys here in singapore have the right to be scared about riding the 'white line'....as we call it when you 'filter' between the cars and trucks on the main roads....as for how do you survive....easy..as the previous person said..when you are comfortable....move between carefully..I have been riding for years and still play it safe...the worst case is the local taxis cabs shifting lanes with even thinking of looking behind....but that is life....

not bad not bad.... Pretty good advice to follow around in this thread :)

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

ahh.... my specialties. Been doing it since 10 yrs ago when i got my license hehe

its not for the faint hearted and risk averse, but let me try to give my tricks in point forms:

1. Depends on ur speed, always try to get a view of at least 3 to 5 vehicles ahead of you for BOTH ur left and right lane. If a vehicle is blocking it (i found those Box-lorry are the worst), slow down a little. For me, i'll try to peek ahead if possible by swinging my head left or right while slow down to see if there is a gap in front of the vehicle blocking your view. A gap is dangerous and ill explain next in 2.

2. Always be extra careful when there is a gap between vehicles on any of the left or right lane. Drivers always look out for gaps when they want to change lane. We are being mindful of those who never give signal and just swerve lane when they see the opportunity.

3. For the same reason as point 2, becareful when you are riding in between 2 lanes that have difference in traffic flow (one lane is faster than the other). Pay more attention on those vehicles in the slower lane. As previous people suggested, you can see their signal light, front tyres, vehicle body closing in, etc etc.

4. Know the width of ur bike. This comes with experience and practice. But some people are simply better in vehicle body control than others, while others have higher risk tolerance. Part of the bikes that usually hit: Mirrors, edge of throttle, rear box/side box, pillion knee (seriously :p).

5. Be mindful of other riders doing the same thing. Try to take notice of their position if you can detect another fast white-liner nearby. There is a risk of collision with those filtering to your white-line. On the opposite, always have a good lookout for another bike white-lining when you are cutting into it.

White lining in singapore has a risk from its relatively higher speed. Back in Jakarta, the risks are from those even more inconsiderate drivers, tighter gap, MUCH more pedestrian crossing everywhere, and MUCH MUCH more other 2 wheelers on the road.

So far my near-accident or accident experiences are mainly other bikes cutting into my lane. Fell down once from this collision before. Never fall down from hitting 4 wheelers, at most was hitting their side mirrors.

Have fun! Be safe =P

btw, im riding 2b bike

Hi guys, just wanna know whether is it safe to ride between lanes.

As i'm still struggling for my 2B license, everytime i drive on the road, those blardy taxi drivers just filter without giving signal and i was wondering how bikes avoid such situation if riding between lanes?

It's taking a big risk whenever riding between cars. Once there was a chain collision on the fast lane of the highway, and a car pulled out to avoid hitting the car in front. This was right in front of me, so nowhere to run but crashed into it. Luckily noone ran over me.

That's the gamble we take. We're not fast enough to react if something like that happens. Slowing down may help somewhat, so never speed while doing that.

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

"Thy fate is the common fate of all;

into each life some rain must fall" - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

It's taking a big risk whenever riding between cars. Once there was a chain collision on the fast lane of the highway, and a car pulled out to avoid hitting the car in front. This was right in front of me, so nowhere to run but crashed into it. Luckily noone ran over me.

That's the gamble we take. We're not fast enough to react if something like that happens. Slowing down may help somewhat, so never speed while doing that.

You should have reacted when the car IN FRONT of the car infront of you braked. If you didn't, you're not looking far ahead enough.

Its easy said la.. in case of emergency its very difficult to react fast.. as for me, my mind goes blank and i cant horn/brake on time.. so ya.. it all depends.. we r taught to look far ahead n stuff but its hard to do it.. thats all

Its not hard to look ahead of the car directly infront of you. Bikes by nature have taller eyepoint than cars, so you can see further ahead. Position your bike in such a way you can see whats infront of the car infront of you. If you can't see ahead of the vehicle infront of you, then re-position or overtake.

If you make it a habit, you may find yourself braking earlier than the cars around you. The earlier you brake, the more time you have and the more gentle your braking can be.

sfowner's situation isnt easy to avoid for the car changed lane abruptly to avoid the chain collision. Also, i believe the car did not signal at tat point in time.

it is always good to look ahead. usually if i see a van or MPV infront of me, i will try not to travel behind or follow too closely.

there was once on CTE. i rode between lane 1 and 2 during the morning peak jam. a lorry on lane 2 suddenly changed lane to lane 1. he signaled but i missed him becoz i nv expect a lorry to go onto lane 1.

so thread starter, u have to always be careful while riding between lanes. always a good practice to put 2 fingers on ur front brake lever and brake an extra 0.2 secs earlier.

eg. u travel at 40km/hr.

60mins u travel 40 000metres

60secs u travel 667 metres.

1sec u travel 11metres.

0.2sec u travel 2metres.

if u brake 0.2seconds earlier, u save on a braking distance of 2metres! almost 1.5 times of an average bike length!

so if u travel at 80km/hr,

60mins u travel 80 000metres.

60sec u travel 1333metres.

1sec u travel 22metres.

0.2 sec u travel 4.5metres.

there, u save 4.5metres on braking distance :)

If you practice HOV you brake many many seconds earlier, or you won't get into the situation where you have to e-brake. haha... Cheers. Check out last post of Street Smart thread for the next HOV class conducted by Endlessloop. Cheers all and have a good safe ride :)

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

it seems often but not taxi drivers are also deaf and blind to motorcycles...

no matter how much i horn taxi drivers always cannot hear..

i was so angry the other day on ECP a taxi cut into my lane without signalling.

i gave him a middle finger..

http://i33.tinypic.com/2h3ok5w.jpg
it seems often but not taxi drivers are also deaf and blind to motorcycles...

no matter how much i horn taxi drivers always cannot hear..

i was so angry the other day on ECP a taxi cut into my lane without signalling.

i gave him a middle finger..

dont anyhow point finger. u can be charged for that. keep ur cool.

The car that pulled out in front me was from lane 1 of the ECP, did not signal, and was only a few metres in front of me. He not only pulled out, but braked, so was stuck right in front of me. Perhaps i could have pulled into lane 2, but can I tell for sure there's no truck from behind that will run me over?

Ideally, I should have looked way ahead, and spotted the potential for a chain collision in lane 1.

I should have also be paying attention to traffic from behind in lane 2, so that i can swerve out left if necessary.

Unfortunately, I'm not that good a biker to concentrate on so many things. Squeezing between cars at evening peak hour going home on the ECP creates lots of little things to focus on.

Accidents happen because of a confluence of events that create them. I'm not saying a better biker, or a luckier biker, would not have been able to avoid what happened to me.

I'm just saying that riding between cars is taking a big risk.

Of course riding is also taking a big risk... but what the hell, it's too much fun. :cheeky:

What really pissed me off was when I was lying in the middle of the ECP with my fallen bike, the drivers of the accident cars and the one that I hit,all got out of their cars... to inspect their cars.

I had to pick myself up, pick up my bike and push it in traffic to the side of the ECP with no help. No one even came over to ask me how I was.

That's the state of human kind? Sad... :angry:

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

"Thy fate is the common fate of all;

into each life some rain must fall" - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

dont anyhow point finger. u can be charged for that. keep ur cool.

alternatively should install air horn blast the crap outta the taxi driver :thumb:

160207 - 170407: Honda NSR SP150

230507 - 140807: Aprilia RS125 '99

300712 - 290113: Ducati Monster 400 '02

050213 - 190413: Honda CBR 400RR '96

090413 - Present: BMW 316i '12

Why fear the silence when it's already so noisy - Gj

sfowner, I feel for you la. Go down liao pick yourself up without anyone giving a sh*t about you. The drivers involved in the accident may be too dazed themselves, and as you picked yourself up and the bike up they prob got started on their settements liao. If you laid there a while longer, I'm sure people will start fussing over you. haha... I also had to pick myself up when i self skidded after i just passed. Also agree with you it takes a series of events to accident. Like rain, line of sight blocked, first time use the road, decreasing radius turn contributed to mine. Also agree its sometimes a matter of luck la... This type of things... Some people buy 4D always strike. I keep buying never strike. Strike that time ui never buy. KNS

If the car pulled out from lane1 to lane2, means theres a space in lane2 for him to swerve into. If you've noticed this space, you should start preparing for any vehicle ahead of you to swerve into that space, thus avoiding the incident.

I believe this, and many other defensive riding techniques are found in the Street Smart thread. Go read it up, alot of useful info there.

BEWARE!!!!

I think the cost of battery and light bubl are going up!!!!!!

So a lot of drivers dun signal when switching lanes, worst turning.

without knowing their intent, we bikers are at losing end and can get into accidents easily.

Dun be like them.

Motorcylce Battery and light bulbs prices are stsying for the moment, dun worry to signal when necessary to tell other road users of your intent.

Faith enables us to transform not only our day to day problems, but our lives at their very foundation.