Mountain-Bike Bicycling.

Guest billabong

Hi anyone into mountain biking? Got photo to share and how much u bought your bike? I though of getting a new bike. It S$70 only; and with forks is S$130. I be locking it outside my HDB, but if buy expensive afrid kena stolen heart pain. If buy the cheap without suspension fork, then if i go long distant then vey siong haha not comfortable leh. If i can put inside my house, i consider buy a $300 something one if ma allow haha. But i know she wont allow that.

• Replies 45

Wat kind of cycling u r into.. maybe frm there u will noe wat MTB to buy...

We the safe riders, pledge to be alert at all times,considerate to other road users and follow all traffic rules so as to make riding a safer and more enjoyable experience.

We pledge to ride safely and stay alive.

Originally posted by billabong@April 29, 2007 04:41 pm

Hi anyone into mountain biking? Got photo to share and how much u bought your bike? I though of getting a new bike. It S$70 only; and with forks is S$130. I be locking it outside my HDB, but if buy expensive afrid kena stolen heart pain. If buy the cheap without suspension fork, then if i go long distant then vey siong haha not comfortable leh. If i can put inside my house, i consider buy a $300 something one if ma allow haha. But i know she wont allow that.

Mountain biking was my first love. It was mountain biking that got me excited about motorbikes eventually! :lovestruck:

Well, I was at the bicycle shop at Queens Road (Hon Kah Trading) [it's located near St. Margaret Sec Sch]. I believe they do sell good bicycles with suspension forks that cost less than $300..

Do check it out there! I bought my Shimano mountain bike from there! They are really trustworthy! :goodluck:

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

Guest billabong
Originally posted by s4^dreamer@May 07, 2007 03:34 pm

Mountain biking was my first love. It was mountain biking that got me excited about motorbikes eventually! :lovestruck:

Well, I was at the bicycle shop at Queens Road (Hon Kah Trading) [it's located near St. Margaret Sec Sch]. I believe they do sell good bicycles with suspension forks that cost less than $300..

Do check it out there! I bought my Shimano mountain bike from there! They are really trustworthy! :goodluck:

Got a low-end hardtail MTB for S$110/-.

:bouncefire: Thanks for your recommendation though. :cheers:

Originally posted by billabong@May 13, 2007 08:55 pm

Got a low-end hardtail MTB for S$110/-.

:bouncefire: Thanks for your recommendation though. :cheers:

so when r u goin to wack e trails ?

http://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_kanan.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_katagiri.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_ringo.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_yuukisan.gif

My friend told me he spent a total of $3000 on his mountain bike. Shimano hand-grip gear changer, expensive suspension setups, light aluminium frame, tyres, etc...

He did list lots of stuff that he had changed; I could just sit there in awe thinking what I could do with that sum of money...

FYI: Learnt that those suspensions fitted on those budget mountain bikes aren't as effective as those expensive ones mentioned by my friend. His suspension setup mirrors the comfort and shock absorbancy of a real motorcycle. Whoa...

Originally posted by redbeacon@May 14, 2007 08:40 pm

My friend told me he spent a total of $3000 on his mountain bike. Shimano hand-grip gear changer, expensive suspension setups, light aluminium frame, tyres, etc...

He did list lots of stuff that he had changed; I could just sit there in awe thinking what I could do with that sum of money...

FYI: Learnt that those suspensions fitted on those budget mountain bikes aren't as effective as those expensive ones mentioned by my friend. His suspension setup mirrors the comfort and shock absorbancy of a real motorcycle. Whoa...

can pm me e place tat ur frnd do e setup?

http://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_kanan.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_katagiri.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_ringo.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_yuukisan.gif
Originally posted by redbeacon@May 14, 2007 08:40 pm

3000 is still alrite.. my setup already close to 6-7k, RRP..

i even noe 1 encik, cant remember how mani bikes he got, but at least got 6-7 bikes at home.. and the cheapest is already around 4k.. the most ex i think you guys will flip upon hearing....

almost 13k!

can put half downpayment for R1 07 already... hahahaha!!! :help: :help:

Originally posted by Wildswans@May 15, 2007 10:28 am

You can get those wall installation from ikea and hang your bike in the room

i was thinking of getting those to hang my helmets..

Originally posted by LollyPoP@May 15, 2007 11:06 am

i was thinking of getting those to hang my helmets..

Dun think you need to get those cos helmet not so heavy. Maybe can get the cubes instead, then can keep the helmets from gathering too much dust

:cheeky: :dozed:
Originally posted by aRcHeR@May 14, 2007 11:52 pm

3000 is still alrite.. my setup already close to 6-7k, RRP..

i even noe 1 encik, cant remember how mani bikes he got, but at least got 6-7 bikes at home.. and the cheapest is already around 4k.. the most ex i think you guys will flip upon hearing....

almost 13k!

can put half downpayment for R1 07 already... hahahaha!!! :help: :help:

must b very branded stuff?

i know nuts abt bicycles, go where to c c these exp bikes ah ?

e cost of e bike is mostly e suspension n frame onli rite?

many many bike shops.. can go hup leong near chinatown.. or mezzo at geylang lor 25..

the costly parts of a bike, depends.. but most of the time is the frame, fork and wheels..

my set of wheels cost me more than my fork.. 1.2k for the wheels..

one of my good friend gave me h is bike (he's going oversea) it;s italian brand with front fork and shimano gears.

bike is quite light with slim tyres

i ride from yishun to toa payoh thru thomson road, took 1 hour and muscle cramp, exhausted.. well.. it feels good..

not likely riding motorcycles.. but i enjoy bicycles alot more..

one of my good friend gave me h is bike (he's going oversea) it;s italian brand with front fork and shimano gears.

bike is quite light with slim tyres

i ride from yishun to toa payoh thru thomson road, took 1 hour and muscle cramp, exhausted.. well.. it feels good..

not likely riding motorcycles.. but i enjoy bicycles alot more..

Sometimes, you gotta have a lil enjoyment on a bicycle -- trail-riding, a lil road, and lotsa leg power.

(More like enjoyment - a lot of it, on a mountain bike :lovestruck: )

many many bike shops.. can go hup leong near chinatown.. or mezzo at geylang lor 25..

the costly parts of a bike, depends.. but most of the time is the frame, fork and wheels..

my set of wheels cost me more than my fork.. 1.2k for the wheels..

I'm working in a bicycle shop... $1200 for a wheel is normal.. we even sell "lightwheel"(brand) wheel in full carbon spokes,rim,hub at $8k

http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-snc4/hs846.snc4/70761_544356827_629794_n.jpg

http://209.85.62.24/358/50/0/f371375/dbaURL_logo2.png

Kleivard Project Pte Ltd

alike motor riders, cyclists who cycle for passion are willing to spend on their machines....who doesnt want the best piece of equipment and gear on them...as an avid cyclist, although i still believe in technology gears, i still think that its the cyclist that matters..expensive gears and lightweight body frames aren't worth the buy if the human engine cant produce and sufficient long lasting energy and stamina...just like motorbikes where a superbike with zero skilled riders are just plain commuters....

cheerx

wah i love cycling but realli nv cycle for like 1 yr+ le.. wonder how much does it cost to get a decent mountain bike for nor rd & abit o long distance riding

2002-2003 -->aprilia Rs125

2002-2005 -->honda Ta200

2003-2008 -->aprilia Rs250

2006-2008 -->honda ta150

15 jan2008 - 5 Apr 2012 --> x8 400ie

5 Apr 2012 - now --> busa the falcon..

wah i love cycling but realli nv cycle for like 1 yr+ le.. wonder how much does it cost to get a decent mountain bike for nor rd & abit o long distance riding

hey venom, interested to relive those moments?...you can get GIANT BOULDER bike for onli 290 if im nt wrng at shops in tampines and simei eastpoint..

I'm working in a bicycle shop... $1200 for a wheel is normal.. we even sell "lightwheel"(brand) wheel in full carbon spokes,rim,hub at $8k

not normal. diff discipline diff price range.

MTB 1.2k is considered top range already, and every thing is customized and easily replaceable.

'lightweight' wheels, 1 crash that's it! hello new wheels! and they are road racing wheels for the matter. nobody will use it for training use anyway..

people spent more on bicycle den bikes?