Originally posted by motofreak@Apr 12 2005, 04:37 AM

Hey any updates yet. And recently the Newpaper came out with this article recently. Wat u guys think bout that?

tink dats like a stab in the back even after wad 1 of the forumer here did.

• Replies 268

Guest motofreak
Originally posted by newbie@Apr 14 2005, 03:08 AM

tink dats like a stab in the back even after wad 1 of the forumer here did.

I tot so too. The papers only trying to make it show as thou the riders are to blame over sumthing that miniscule. Anyway best way to show how we feel about "such companies" is just to avoid it. :nono:

It may be too late.... heard some rumors the other stations are considering to implement or implementing it as well......

Whatever happened to freedom of choice and common sense?

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Guest motofreak

We could always take a little trip across the causeway and get 50% discount on petrol. Pump and FO. That way petrol stations in SG will notice a significant drop. Only then they will listen. Losing $$$ makes them think harder.

read the newspaper article on the icident that happen at rochor shell station.

A rider's scooter caught fire when he tried to kick start the bike, but the station manager press the emergency button which stoped all the pumps so no major fire was caused.

after Investigation it wasa found that the scooters fuel line was leaking.

So the fire was caused by the scooters fuel line, NOT by him sitting on the bike and topping up. besides a kick start scooter should be a vespa, if I am not wrong the fuel cap is on the side so he has to get off the bike to top up and get on again to kick start ( Vespa rider pls correct ). andway all new bikes come with electric starter anyway.

tday after 1 year went to top up at shell because my UOB card got extra 3% discount. Again they stop the pump halfway thrue topping up WAH ^%$#&%^(^.

Never mind I "accidentaly" droped the pump on the floor, when to pay at cashier, went back top up the tank ( this time standing while bike is on side stand) then went to pay again ( company must pay CC company per transaction ) no monetary difference to me just inconvineiant for cashier and me.

After that warm up engine and b4 i move off, I clear carbon, rev my black Bird to 7 rpm, wah lao i also suprise how much BLACK smoke come out, 2 months never clear. whole of pumping area very smoky . their rules say i cannot sit down and top up but never say i cannot Rev.

I notice the smaller shell stations cannot be bothered about the stand up rule only the larger stations with 8 pumps.

Originally posted by Lonewolf@April 17, 2005 04:46 pm

read the newspaper article on the icident that happen at rochor shell station.

A rider's scooter caught fire when he tried to kick start the bike, but the station manager press the emergency button which stoped all the pumps so no major fire was caused.

after Investigation it wasa found that the scooters fuel line was leaking.

So the fire was caused by the scooters fuel line, NOT by him sitting on the bike and topping up. besides a kick start scooter should be a vespa, if I am not wrong the fuel cap is on the side so he has to get off the bike to top up and get on again to kick start ( Vespa rider pls correct ). andway all new bikes come with electric starter anyway.

the fuel cap in underneath the seat..no way he could pump while sitting.. :smile:

Personally, I feel that this law is for our own safety but just like the rest of you all, I would want to see drivers get off their car when pumping petrol. Its for their own safety also, right? Hahaha. Why make double standard when it comes to safety.

Mar 2001 - Jul 2001 DT200R

Jul 2001 - May 2004 WR200

Jun 2004 - Sep 2005 GS125

Sep 2005 - Aug 2006 Super4 Vtec II

Aug 2006 - Feb 2007 Bajaj Pulsar

Feb 2007 Super4 Vtec I

Originally posted by Lonewolf@March 16, 2007 02:42 pm

tday after 1 year went to top up at shell because my UOB card got extra 3% discount. Again they stop the pump halfway thrue topping up WAH ^%$#&%^(^.

Never mind I "accidentaly" droped the pump on the floor, when to pay at cashier, went back top up the tank ( this time standing while bike is on side stand) then went to pay again ( company must pay CC company per transaction ) no monetary difference to me just inconvineiant for cashier and me.

After that warm up engine and b4 i move off, I clear carbon, rev my black Bird to 7 rpm, wah lao i also suprise how much BLACK smoke come out, 2 months never clear. whole of pumping area very smoky . their rules say i cannot sit down and top up but never say i cannot Rev.

I notice the smaller shell stations cannot be bothered about the stand up rule only the larger stations with 8 pumps.

LOL OHMIGOSH WOW! you 'cleared carbon' in front of people who are just doing their job. Well done ! :clapping: you will go far in life, cheers mate.

btw, i only pump shell gas because i loike it.

nice illustration by william liu :thumb:

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

Originally posted by speedo@February 23, 2005 12:04 pm

:slapforehead: Haiz... Shell advise you to stand up then you stand up lor. How much more fuel can u pump in when you make it upright? :sian: The most obvious reason to stand up is to be able to run away faster if really something happens.

It is true that the chances catching fire are low. This is just a safety precaution. I believe this will soon be the trend in all pertrol kiosk.

Shell is d best for me.. They are really friendly people there.. Ok lar.. all kiosk aso got frendly ppl but i alwys go shell.. anyway, i think its only good to get down n pump petrol.. i dun understand hw u can sit on ur bike n stretch and pump petrol.. i mean u r making things difficult for me.. wat if something happens n u drop ur bike? Ermm.. I dunno lar.. not tryin to argue or wat.. Best way is to get down n pump .. ofcoz its more safer.

Sit or get off the bike and pump. Suddenly, it's not safe because authority says it's not.

Think this would be the norm in the future since it's a "safety" aspect. Just wait for the other companies to jump on the bandwagon.

Current Rides:

FEB 07 -> NOV 08 [CBR 150]

AUG 08 -> AUG 12 [XJR400]

AUG 12 -> ??? [DUCATI MONSTER 696]

Originally posted by Rodimus Prime@March 19, 2007 01:56 pm

Suddenly, it's not safe because authority says it's not.

we are constantly improving in this society and many changes are being implemented for our own wellbeing. there were many things that were dangerous in the past but people were IGNORANT about such dangers until technology and science came into the picture. now that we are equipped with such knowledge, why should we choose to be ignorant ?

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

aiyah everyone so worked up on this.....Shell is not the only brand of petrol in sg......

Lets promote our own petrol....SPC better discounts...

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y227/WingZer0/Interceptor/TailLight-1.jpg

loserss.....:nono:

I wanna stand with you on a mountain,

I wanna bath with you in the sea,

I wanna lay like this forever...

Until the skies...falls down on me...

Love U Always...

I was not angry about their ruling, I was angry that they off the pump while i was already pumping.

My argument is, to tell me politely after i finished pumping or advise me that there is a safety hazard or in the future do not sit on the bike, but NOT switching off the pump halfway thrue me pumping the tank, when i am paying them for the fuel.

Or at least have a sign that indicates that they will off the fuel if we sit on the bike.

ONLY Shell has this ruling, personaly i find their fuel better then the rest, but that has made them too confidant, the first post of this tread was more then one year ago still no gov ruling or BBQ disaster at the other petrol stations.

If their customer service is so good, then i might as well ask the attandent to pump full for me and walk off, read mags and pay. I think i am going to do that, next time the ask.

Originally posted by enfant@March 19, 2007 02:05 pm

we are constantly improving in this society and many changes are being implemented for our own wellbeing. there were many things that were dangerous in the past but people were IGNORANT about such dangers until technology and science came into the picture. now that we are equipped with such knowledge, why should we choose to be ignorant ?

erm sorry

i dun think the society is improving in this instance, whereas most of the time i feel i am living in a PARANOID society

i gues there are some of us who choose to look at things from a different angle n not follow the book blindly

i used to be a loyal shell supporter for yrs until they started this thing which i find no sense AT ALL, firstly, pumping on stands or straights is alot of difference to me

\i myself have been "told off" many times by shell attendants

, n many whom have got aggressive when i refused, i have since call it quits, empty my shell points on a new DVD player and now a happy customer of mobil

if they make me feel i m being taken for granted, den someone else deserves my dough

cos i persoanlly find pumping petrol itself is a waste of time, its a non productive time we have to waste, but we lan lan have to do, thus i always squeeze till max whether i am in msia or sg

secondly i have asked many times wads the reason, they have always quoted static discharge casuing ignition to fumes

but i always get the statistic from euro countries where the humidlity is entirely different, in fact, i dun think its actually possible to have a static discharge in 90+ % humidlity, rather

, i find cars drivers more likely to discharge than bikes because of their air conditioning enviroment, but i dun see them setting up a rule to ask all passengers to alight while refuelling, why ? is it because bikers are normally poor folks or uneducated outlaws ? the normal stereo typing attitude of the average sgporean ?

the discrmination of not allowing bikes into shopping centres carparks ?

or igniting 50Litres of petrol isnt tat much damage to 20litres of petrol ?

does this rule comes wif a really solid scientific proof, or it came off a brain storm table of scholars who has neber touched a bike in their entire life ?

go figure !

http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r239/utopian355/ABCD0006-smallcopy.jpg
Guest aiya4

i go where ever offers the lowest price for petrol. Dun care shell, esso, SPC or whatever rules not.

Want to pump their petrol, adhere to their "house rules". Else not go at all.

Shell never use gun point at you die die must go there pump what.

Why get so worked up over small things? Sillyporeans only know how to whine.

From what i can see, all of you dun mind getting off the bike to pump IF the attendants had talked to you all nicely and explained the rule in a nicer and friendlier way...

I always go to the Shell @ Tampines beside Junyuan Primary, where they have the multi-purpose court. most of the attendants are nice and smiling. One even talked to me about my bike. And the cashiers are polite, friendly and all smiles. They recognize their regular customers and greeted me everytime i go in to pay.Even got one chio bu... but rarely see her.. next time muz go see their schedule... wahahha...

So i have no problem getting down to pump petrol becoz of the service. But i agree that not all stations are like that... maybe they SHLD conduct customer service lessons for their staff... Becoz ultimately, its a service industry after all...

* If you don't take care of your customers, someone else will

Agree?

But i have a problem with an attendant @ the new shell station along the way to changi from tampines... i think loyang ave... i pump petrol there then i went in to pay... my other frens are waiting @ the side. So my pillion (who has a valid riding license) rode my bike to join my frens. When i come out, there's this commotion. This petrol attendant was questioning my pillion...

"You got license or not?"

"Got lah..."

"Where? Show me.."

"Apek, you just pump petrol leh... why muz show you my license?"

F***** up lah... he was just a petrol attendant and want to see license. Maybe with regards to insurance and stuff, my pillion legally not able to ride my bike... but it was just to join up with my other frens, thus freeing up a space for others to pump petrol. I was damn pissed... then when i got there, he asked if it was my bike.

"Yah... my bike... you want to see my license? my road tax? my insurance?"

Argh... i tink he apply for TP never get... then LL muz try out @ petrol kiosk...

Grrr....

http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b396/lilshah/gilera-1.jpg

i guess tat attendant juz wanna act act sia.. but i find tat Shell giving the highest discount? 11%.. esso n caltex giving 9% discount.. dunno if i'm right here.. with those discount cards tat u can apply at the counter.. unless u hav credit card or wat.. any comments?

http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u142/nGuOrEn/renssig.jpg

My RiDeS

HONDA NSR 150 (FS 336K): 23/09/06 tO 17/08/07

WAVE-I (FY 5801U): 17/08/07 tO 13/12/07

HONDA CBR400RR (FM 1463B): 13/12/07 tO 20/09/08

WAVE-R (FZ 2846E): 20/09/08 tO 17/04/09

WAVE-S (FV 7293M): 03/10/09 tO 14/08/10

CB400 BOLD'OR (FZ 7896G): 16/08/10