eh, no issue you mean? :sweat:

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

• Replies 616

Originally posted by jockster@Mar 30 2005, 12:48 PM

well i pumped 2 days ago at mobil, and issue.

i'll get him to try at other Mobil outlets and see got any problems or not.....

Originally posted by StAr@Mar 30 2005, 10:57 AM

THINK IT HAS ALREADY HAPPENED AT MOBIL !!

few days back, my bf needed to pump petrol, i told him i dun wanna go SHELL ( cos kana before to dismount bike plus have read thru the threads here and the petition ) , so we went MOBIL.

it was the MOBIL station jus before the old HDB building at Bukit Merah, jus as my bf abt to pump petrol, one attendent suddenly walked over and tell him to dismount from the bike as well, citing reason tat accidents happened whereby some riders actually slipped and fall while straddling their bikes and pumpin petrol!!

:mad: :mad:

Mobil hasn't officially started stictly enforcing it ... i think the uncle who came over was probably instructed by the station manager as the incidents may have happened in his station..

When they officially ask me to get off, i think i gotta pump SPC leow... and when SPC ask me to officially get off, i think i sell my bike and drive van or something... :sweat:

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y191/MPeX/DSCF0048.jpg

Still got Caltex.... :sweat:

I won't stop riding, just have to go further to JB!

But then it'll be a good excuse to get a bigger bike! :D

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

just becos have to dismount to pump petrol then dun ride bike... haiz.. wat if one day govt say eat noodle cant use chopstick onli can use fork .. r u going to quit eating noodle??

Originally posted by tweakmax2@Mar 30 2005, 09:09 PM

just becos have to dismount to pump petrol then dun ride bike... haiz.. wat if one day govt say eat noodle cant use chopstick onli can use fork .. r u going to quit eating noodle??

Firstly, their reason for banning chopsticks must not be something like "in case ur chopsticks accidentally poke you, we aim for zero-tolerance towards utensil-related injuries..."

Firstly i shall shoot email to gahment ask them why they ban it with such a crap reason, then i will set up a petition and get all chopstick users to sign... finally i will meet the gahment to discuss the entire issue.

And if they decide to give us a 10-day grace period to use chopsticks before fully implementing the no-chopsticks policy, i will use a spoon...

That's until they decide to ban spoons...

they aim for zero tolerance?

why not ask the pump attendants to wear full armor suit plus full face high temp helmet?

zero tolerance? there are no such thing as being perfect, its juz an idealistic dream, not a relastic plan worth implementing..

for now, JB is the way to go.. :cheer:

Originally posted by Tyrian@Mar 30 2005, 10:07 PM

zero tolerance? there are no such thing as being perfect, its juz an idealistic dream, not a relastic plan worth implementing..

beside the inconvinience, is it safety rule good for us ? :confused:

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

Originally posted by MrLau@Mar 30 2005, 11:34 PM

I think some of bikes r against this policy b cos of inconvienence, however, I thk MOST of them have the other 2 reasons for disagreeing to the policy.

1) pride or feeling of Shell discrimination?

2) strongly believe in calculated risks? I thk William Liu belongs to tt grp

1) Pride.

We bikers r a minority road user, and we r the humble lot (in terms of machine price and rd tax paid), so ANY policy tt cause soem dicomfort, like this policy of Shell, will generate many comments and rebuttals. Not to offend anyone, if Shell implemnt this to CARS ONLY, will car owners go against it?? PRobably yes, but the number will be small, I believe, BECAUSE, the sense of pride is not there for most of the car owners.

To bring this point clearer, for those who own both bikes and cars, will they pump their car at Shell? the answer is a definite NO. WHY?? Cars r not affected by the rule, but Y bikers who own cars don't pump there?? Becuase of inconvience, no right? Pride again, I must say! I ride a scooter, actually quite easy for me to dismount and park mainstand, but I still don't pump at Shell, I also drives a car, I seat inside the car and the Shell pump attendant pump for me, but I still don't want to go to Shell, pride again lah!

We have pride as a consumer, as a customer, as a biker etc, we want to show Shell we are somebody, we want to exert our rights, we want to teach Shell a lesson, but most important of all, we want our voices heard, we don't want (scared of?) other oil coys will follow Shell. Tt's y ths thread is so long, so many comments.

2) Calculated Risks

There are many risks in the world, I belong to a grp who believe in calculated risks. If you are a perfectionist on risks, then u shdn't ride a motorbike, u shd not even ride a bicycle.

Bikers are the ones who persuaded the govt to allow full face, FF helmets are also inconveince rigth? sweaty, hot, stuffy, bulky, those bespectacled bikers have to remove specs when wearing etc. But y we bikers as govt to implement? B cos of calculated risks, the risks of not wearing a FF OUTWEIGHS the inconvience of weaing it.

BUT in the case of Shell, I thk the inconvience/difficulty/(inability to pump full tank) of dismounting OUTWEIGHS the potential risks. TT's y some of us r against Shell policy.

JUST MY 2 CENTS.

People ask me, "Why ride bike?" I ask them back :"Why drive car?"

Originally posted by MrLau@Mar 30 2005, 11:34 PM

Minority of the riders will feel more dangerous and insecured balancing those huge and heavy bikes whilst refuelling.

Memories of 1403 on 24/8/06

http://img166.imageshack.us/img166/2910/memoriesof1403tfkl2.jpg

Memories of Arai Helmets

http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/2710/helmetsdfbi0.jpg

Originally posted by hohosaint@Mar 31 2005, 11:27 AM

Minority of the riders will feel more dangerous and insecured balancing those huge and heavy bikes whilst refuelling.

oh...

is it happen before ? someone spill the petrol ? or drop the bike ? :confused:

Originally posted by MrLau@Mar 31 2005, 03:38 PM

oh...

is it happen before ? someone spill the petrol ? or drop the bike ? :confused:

Maybe u can read my meeting summary with shell a few pages back... i answered most of the questions u asked in that few posts..

Originally posted by MPeX@Mar 31 2005, 03:48 PM

Maybe u can read my meeting summary with shell a few pages back... i answered most of the questions u asked in that few posts..

oh.... I read thru, cannot find the the answer i looking for....

becoz i still not understand why they implement this rule.... for their own good or for bikers good...

I just want to confirm is anyone from us here, witness :

1. Petrol spill to groin area...

2. Drop the bike refueling while strading.. ?

Originally posted by MrLau@Mar 31 2005, 04:28 PM

oh.... I read thru, cannot find the the answer i looking for....

becoz i still not understand why they implement this rule.... for their own good or for bikers good...

Regardless whether this policy makes sense or not or whether we're happy or not, the war has been fought and lost.

There's nothing more we dissidents can do about it except to cease patronage of Shell.

Originally posted by MrLau@Mar 31 2005, 04:28 PM

one person in this thread recounted his own personal experience of spilling petrol onto his groin. its somewhere here, so yes its happened before.

i myself had a near miss last week. the trigger was faulty and engaged 'hands-free' filling by itself; the trigger remained depressed even after i released my fingers from the trigger. i actually panicked, because i noe bike petrol fillers are not like car fillers which can allow 'hands-free' top-up and then deactivate automatically when chamber full. i didn noe exactly how the mechanism worked (i dun drive), but i reacted by pushing the nozzle in, hoping it will disengage when the petrol filled to the brim like cars, then quickly called for help. as the attendant came over, luckily i did the right thing because the trigger did disengage when petrol level to the brim.

the attendant said the mechanism was faulty. my habit is to fill standing beside the bike. but i think anyone who filled while straddling and din react the way i did (by pushing the nozzle all the way in to allow the mechanism to detect petrol level at the brim) would have a less favourable outcome. the trigger in my case could only disengage by detecting the petrol level. straddled on bike and removing the nozzle, for sure will spill onto groin. trigger was depressed all the way, max flow. a person panicking and attempting to dismount with one hand still on nozzle into tank could either topple the bike, or spill petrol, or both.

having said this, i am neither for nor against shell's policy, nor am i saying we shd not fill straddling. all i'd like to say is, if you gonna fill while straddling bike, at least remember to kick your sidestand out and leave it hanging, and then make it a habit to dismount on the side stand side. then if anything happen, can quickly dismount on side stand side without toppling and without a need to use hand to balance bike while dismounting. anything can happen, so lets not be complacent.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Actually this incident brings up 2 points and my personal observations:

Despite their so-called emphasis on safety and zero-tolerance policy:

1) I do not recall any effort spent to educate motorcyclists on HOW to operate the petrol filler and it's functions. Most of us (especially those who have never ridden or driven before) learn how to operate it by trial-and-error, and during this learning process the chances of an accidental spillage happening is much greater.

2) A faulty pump filler is still being allowed to remain in operation, despite the staff having prior knowledge that the problem existed. Does that sound like a "zero-tolerance" policy to you?

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the emphasis should be on HOW to PREVENT an accidental spillage from happening in the first place, and their present no sitting/straddling policy just does not convince me that they are serious about finding a REAL solution to the root of the problem.

To me it's like the TP saying "All right we're not going to enforce any riding license limitations for bikers anymore, we don't really care whether you are able to handle the bike or not... you can ride whatever you want!

However, we'll make full leather riding gears and fullface helmets compulsory so that in the event you crash, you'll be very well protected! We're emphasising on safety for bikers from now on!"

Originally posted by william_liu@Mar 31 2005, 06:09 PM

1) I do not recall any effort spent to educate motorcyclists on HOW to operate the petrol filler and it's functions. Most of us (especially those who have never ridden or driven before) learn how to operate it by trial-and-error, and during this learning process the chances of an accidental spillage happening is much greater.

2) A faulty pump filler is still being allowed to remain in operation, despite the staff having prior knowledge that the problem existed. Does that sound like a "zero-tolerance" policy to you?

not that i want to defend shell, but:

1)i think its fair that it is up to us to take the initiative instead of them. wat i mean by that is, we shd be the ones to approach the staff to ask how to operate if we're not sure. i assume they would be very willing to assist if any of us do approach the staff. in which case, fair enuff in my opinion. but if they unwilling to show, or blow us off, then of coz diff story.

second one, well, the attendant apologised to me profusely because he wasn around to assist me when i first arrived. doesn vindicate them completely of coz, but that particular attendant came across as sincere in wanting to assist me unlike one who would just bochap me coz i'm a biker, so i forgive them. this time.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

You have made valid points, and I agree that as a motorist we should share some of the responsibility and take some initiative to learn such matters for ourselves.

However, I personally just cannot understand why they are not focusing more on and taking more initiative in such basic safety issues, when they are the ones claiming to be emphasizing on safety and practising a "zero-tolerance" policy (as seen in their own official reply to MpeX). If they had not make such claims then perhaps it is more reasonable.

Btw, I have nothing against their attendents, I'm sure most of them do a good job and only some are rude.

Just an hr ago (1+ am) i refuelled at Thomson Mobil...

And attendant uncle walk over and said "Good morning, hello!" to me and offered to help me. I politely declined and pumped while seated on my bike, and he had a short chat with me about rising petrol prices, my bike and where i just came back from.

That's service for you! :smile:

Originally posted by MPeX@Apr 1 2005, 02:22 AM

And attendant uncle walk over and said "Good morning, hello!" to me and offered to help me. I politely declined and pumped while seated on my bike, and he had a short chat with me about rising petrol prices, my bike and where i just came back from.

if only everyone one is like tat & stop treating us like dirt...

Originally posted by MPeX@Apr 1 2005, 02:22 AM

Well folks, it's up to the individual, but I will reward good service with my patronage. As for poor service, and policies i don't agree with - the opposite applies.

It's MOBIL for me!

Originally posted by jockster@Apr 1 2005, 09:53 AM

Well folks, it's up to the individual, but I will reward good service with my patronage. As for poor service, and policies i don't agree with - the opposite applies.

It's MOBIL for me!

Why everyone keep saying mobil and esso? I actually dun have anything against shell and will continue patronizing shell as its most convenient for me. However, I have found another contender to beat the SHELL V-Power.

The One: CALTEX VORTEX PLATINUM

Anyone pumped this and V power like to comment? My engine totally no knocking. Last time despite when I used Shell 98 and V power also knocks. Not enough drive.

Originally posted by MS@Apr 1 2005, 07:01 PM

Why everyone keep saying mobil and esso? I actually dun have anything against shell and will continue patronizing shell as its most convenient for me. However, I have found another contender to beat the SHELL V-Power.

The One: CALTEX VORTEX PLATINUM

Anyone pumped this and V power like to comment? My engine totally no knocking. Last time despite when I used Shell 98 and V power also knocks. Not enough drive.

as said, up to individual... some frens of mine hardcore vortex fans too...