For cars, the COE is split up into Cat A and Cat B, according to the power output. If they can do this for cars, do you think they can do this for motorcycles too?

My opinion is that COE for bikes should be split up into two categories: One for Class 2B and 2A, and one for Class 2. I think it's really unfair that the COE for bikes is categorised together regardless of power output, since most Class 2 bikes in Singapore (especially those bigger in size, like Harleys) tend not to lane split, taking up space, while most of the Class 2B and Class 2A riders will lane-split. As mentioned by many forumers here, the power of a Class 2A bike is sufficient on SG roads.

tl;dr COE for Class 2 bikes should be priced higher than that of Class 2B and 2A bikes.

Please do not flame me, I'm just trying to voice out my opinion. Correct me if I'm wrong, and please discuss this. Thanks! :cheers:

Class 2B - 171013

Class 2A - 05012015

Momo (Yamaha Fino 115) - 21/10/13 to 16/01/2015

SYM Maxsym 400i - 16/01/2015 - Present

http://i.imgur.com/pCU445z.jpg?1

• Replies 83

Then someone will say should spilt according to horse power

Or downpay don't 20% n loan max 3 years onli

dont think there should be any changes. bike population is already small compare to cars. and they futher reduce the quota and change those scrap COE to open cat quota. seems like the aim for LTA is to convert more COE to open cat to earn more money rather than the few thousand $ of coe of motorcycle.

No coe for bikes. Period! Bikers united, together we stand!

Idea of coe was introduced to collect money from the people..

Apart from the reason to regulate traffic and motorcycles do not contribute to congestion.

Japanese Standard "The Big Naked"

14019723412_fffe6b3e9c_n.jpg

SMS 8 1 6 9 2 6 9 6

We are the only country in the world that do this..

Vote for me next election, I abolish coe all for once.. :-)

SMS 8 1 6 9 2 6 9 6

My humble 2 cents, COE for bikes should not be a bidding system like cars.

As pointed out by many fellow forum members and studies, bikes do not contribute to traffic woes.

Thus, it is more appropriate to change to a ballot system for bikes.

An example of a simple ballot system;

* Govt allocates X number of COEs based on a % the number of license owners. Considerations to include number of existing bikes in each class + # of bikes scrapped each month

* You are eligible to ballot for a bike bi-monthly through ATM. Even if you own a class 2b, 2a, 2 license, you are eligible to ballot for 1 bike.

* No one allowed to own more than 2 (arbitrary number) bikes in each class regardless owner or just a sub rider.

* No one is allowed to own more than 3 (arbitrary number) bikes in total regardless owner or just a sub rider.

Through a system of ballot, population of bikes can still be controlled and no more high COE bidding through bike shops.

Apr252011?authkey=Gv1sRgCNKqvfj-59bJuwE#5599549735787625394

why ballot? what is the logic? you're encouraging coe to skyrocket?

anyone can own 10 bikes but can only ride 1 at a time and same still no traffic jam..

SMS 8 1 6 9 2 6 9 6

why ballot? what is the logic? you're encouraging coe to skyrocket?

anyone can own 10 bikes but can only ride 1 at a time and same still no traffic jam..

Ballot meaning $0 coe. Ballot is like lucky draw to own a bike.

# of bike as I mentioned is arbitrary.

Apr252011?authkey=Gv1sRgCNKqvfj-59bJuwE#5599549735787625394

Correct also,Unlike car any1 can drive.Bike only sub rider or the main rider can only ride 1 Bike at 1 time...

I feel the COE for bikes is abit like ....

Next Election MUST ask all this Questions,but "THEY" will have answers one...

BUY COE,road tax.BUT Still Need to PAY for ERP!!!!

Soon I think HDB estates will also have ERP.

http://www.parrotparrot.com/stopcruelty/cruelty1.gif

COE for bikes should not be split up. Instead should juz scrap off.

Honda Wave S125 (Mortal Kombat) FX 6045J [06-07]

Spark 135 (Transformers Cybertron) FBB 7182C [07-11]

Super 4 Spec III (Monster Energy III Red) FBB 2783B [08-11]

Honda Wave S125 FV 3157A [09-12]

FZ1S FBD 3365H [11-14]

Spark 135 (Yamaha Camel) FBB 4---M [10-current]

Honda CBR900RRR (Honda Repsol) FX 4---K [10-current]

Suzuki Bandit GSF1250K9 (20th Anniversary) FBE 8---R [14-current]

wah if split into different classes abit jialat. as you mentioned that class 2b and 2a are the majority on the road, then people will bid on class 2b and 2a more! leaving class 2 at a empty low bidding option, then some will start buying class 2 since its always same price with class 2b and 2a. thus ending up the same problem as the current coe problem with cars. people rather buy a BMW than a toyota, because the COE difference is only few thousand, not even 10. thus people will choose to buy cars that are worth more, rather than a simple fuel economic vehicle.

Soon I think HDB estates will also have ERP.

I dunno about erp, but in tampines got carpark gantry for hdb already...

the ones where even motorcycles have to pay, cannot lane split to enter.

its near springfield sec...

just my $0.02 :angel:

Goodee hor hot goodee... Mat witz sebastian! :p

I dunno about erp, but in tampines got carpark gantry for hdb already...

the ones where even motorcycles have to pay, cannot lane split to enter.

its near springfield sec...

just my $0.02 :angel:

PLEASE NOTE: MANY, MANY AND MANY HDB carpark got gantry so you cannot reuse your parking coupons to go to manyy parking areas. This is to ensure we can squeeze the maximum amount of money from you users. imagine, what we care about you bikers when we can reduce the coe anyhow, right?? and then transfer to cars (logical or not?) we know, we know. mathematical speaking, bike parking will be more expensive than car parking if you park only 15minutes or so. just calculate especailly you despatch rider or mac delivery. one time enter 65c. after 15 minutes u go out. now times 10 delivery $6.50. wah we HDB think kcing kcing. simple money in register.

Yours NOT so sincerely,

relevant people

How about the Wilson incharge of HDB carpark now,the $ also goes to HDB?

basically, wilson will get a certain amount according to their per agreement. but majority will go to HDB. places like in CBD areas such as IP and Amara, where the charge can be for bikes is $4 and hour, imagine the money they rake in . previously International Plaza and amara, there were many bikes parking bec they were free, but now, noone want to park

Go to IU inspection centre,if under warrenty,replacement is free,if not new one $160 if not wrong.

it only gets higher. 2016 u all know what to do.

Honda NSR150SP: 2012-2015

Honda RVF NC35: 2015

Triumph Daytona 675: 2015-present

SYM GTS 200: 2016-present

Conquered Places: Chiang Mai, MHS, Pai, Doi Inthanon, Bangkok, Hatyai, Danok, Genting, KL, Port Dickson, Seremban, Malacca, Kluang, Mersing, Desaru