Will you warming up your engine by letting it idle for a few minute before riding off?  

685 members have voted

1. 1. Will you warming up your engine by letting it idle for a few minute before riding off?

• Yeah, I let the engine running at idling speed for a few minutes.
    • No, what for? Waste of petrol.
    • Depends, usually will if have not started engine for a period of time.

• Replies 297

erm, 4 e batt issue. mayb if e screw not tightened, yes. will hab tat crank sound den followed by stalled engine wif a tuk sound. but he can start e engine but nid e reving 2 keep e engine running den after tat wun stall or rev when starting.

Why u all nv suspect the battery problem?

Last time i also have this problem, but i change my battery, then its ok liao.

I oso tot it is de batt.. mayb shud ask de shop.. Thxs bro..

i used to have this problem on my S4..

very irritating..

went to tune carb, change plug and EO.

even battery.. still not solved.. increased idling also cannot..

i really dunno wats the problem. why i used the ord used??

cos i sold off tat S4 of mine.

adjusting the idling to 1k will not solve the problem(wasting petrol more likely) ....actually the best idling should be around 500-800 range....most prob the mech who tuned ur bike did not get the perfect setting....mine cold start at 500 no problem won't die off... guess u have u find a better mech coz tuning carbs looks easy but it is a very tedious process...so imo go to another shop

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y227/WingZer0/Interceptor/TailLight-1.jpg

rev ur bike till 2k rpm n hold there for abt 10 sec....let go n see idling rate...if dieing off, do agn till ok...do not pull choke...usually 2 or 3 times shud be ok...happens to me when i long time never ride da bike

Learned Past Living Present Think Future

Different riders and moving off preference will prefer different idling rpm. For mi i like my rpm to be around 1100rpm. Easier move off and to prevent engine stall. I'm using K&N air filter so my low end is quite weak, sometime even i move off at 1100rpm, my bike will stuttle abit. Btw at any idling range from 500rpm to 1500rpm, fuel consumption is very negligible.

All carbs from the factory where ur bike is rolled out is always tune to rich settings but sometimes might be slightly out of limit ie: slightly too rich or lean, this will also affect idling characteristic. However if ur bike is too fuel hungry (too rich) or very underpower (too lean) then do have ur carb retune. The same old rules from the ang mos is "IF IT AIN'T BROKEN, DON'T FIX IT" is always very true. :)

my idling is around 500-800 and slowly goes to 1000 which takes 5sec...still can start and wont die... only FC very high... still duno why...going for tuning soon...

2004-2006 >> Kawasaki- Krr 150 <<

2006-2008 >> Honda- Spec 1 <<

2008-2009 >> Yamaha- X1 <<

Banned from riding... Smallest bike but worst accident...:sian:

guys2! i send bck to de shop for carb tuning juz like u guys said.. but its still de same.. this time i went to de bike shop where i bought de bike itslf.. n now, there's even backfire wen i throttle constantly or even wen idling! oh God! kanchiong aready.. scared my carb gone case leh..

Here's what u can do, warm up ur bike for 10mins or when u came back from a ride, then rev ur bike to 10,000+ rpm (try not to hit the red zone) at stationary pos. Did u see black smoke from ur exhaust?

did you see/witness the tuning/washing of the carb??

if got backfire constantly means jia liat liao..

better fix it asap.. at another shop??

really? oh ****.. but wat wil b de prob likely ey?

Here's what u can do, warm up ur bike for 10mins or when u came back from a ride, then rev ur bike to 10,000+ rpm (try not to hit the red zone) at stationary pos. Did u see black smoke from ur exhaust?

ermmm.. tat time i went to de bike shop back n de medh rev my bike.. i tink there was ony a slite black smoke comin out.. den dun hav.. i'm sending for servicing agn this mon btw at PR SPC.. sigh..

I will start up and warm up my bike while it is on side stand and then proceed to place my barang into the box, once done and helmet, it is go go go. less than 1 minutes.

22 August 2005 - August 2006 - Phantom TA 200

August 2006 - April 25 2007 - X9- Almafi

May 2007 - Feb 2008 - S4 Spec III

Feb 2008 - Dec 2012 - Silverwing Euro 400 (longest ride)

July 2009 - Oct 2012 OPC - Sold

Dec 2012 - Jun 2013- paggio x10

Jun 2013 -?????? - Silverwing SW-T400 ABS (Euro ver)

http://s46.photobucket.com/albums/f138/flamingangelz/th_DSC00702.jpg

really? oh ****.. but wat wil b de prob likely ey?

his fueling too lean tats why will backfire. meaning not enough fuel go in. long term engine will biang. if too rich also no good throttle will feel heavy and no power. so the setting must be as precise as possible. :thumb: :thumb:

i want to know why my bike cant back fire but when i start my bike will come out fire

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v694/hueyamber/matachefe.gif

BURN RUBBER NOT YOUR SOUL

i want to know why my bike cant back fire but when i start my bike will come out fire

u got a habit of whacking ur throttle and straight away off ur bike?

Hello! Anyone there? :cheers:

if got black smoke what does it mean ?

did you see/witness the tuning/washing of the carb??

if got backfire constantly means jia liat liao..

better fix it asap.. at another shop??

Black smoke could mean fuel too rich. Carburetor adjustment is necessary.

Frequent backfiring means the timing is out. Must get it done soonest, otherwise, your engine block will go next.

But if backfiring occurs only once in a long time (once every several months), then it could be fouling of the spark plugs (one or more plugs). In this case, check the condition of the plugs and replace if necessary.

u got a habit of whacking ur throttle and straight away off ur bike?

Just a question, it is not advisable to off bike straight away?

S4 Spec3 Aug 2007 - Mar 2010

GSR400 July 2010 - Oct 2011

black smoke when you warm up engine is normally, not need to adjust carb. But if it keeps this condition when moving, you should replace new air filter then adjust carb (control 04 screws at the bottom of each carb)

Back firing maybe occur from ignition pulse coil problem and air-cut valve of carb problem