Isnt tat becoz e number of cars far exceed e number of bikes? Or r u referring to a percentage?

Base on e statistics provided. Bike accidents r 3% of e bike population where as cars r lower than 0.4%. So bikes r not safer even if majority of e cause is due to other vehicles.

We must remember tat to ride a bike is safe. BUT e roads r not safe!

well........

Signature editted as unauthorised commercial advertising. Please contact Senior Moderator/Admin for more advertising details

• Replies 25.1k

Its brake. :rolleyes:

Blame the parents for not teaching their kids about road safety. :cool:

Now, i feel so stupid for spelling brake to break...Z!

Parents teach correctly la~ Green then cross mah! hahahaha.

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l282/ahyi92/r15combi.jpg

Class 2B - 16 May 2012

YZF R15(2011) - 15 June 2012

http://www.youtube.com/user/noobielameo | You were once young and stupid but now, you are old and dumb! why are you reading this?

si bei on riding in the rain , then go dam ,then wihellie bike

riding is fun mah, atleast for my age now. Who knows 10years later what i will be riding, maybe like an ah pek.

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l282/ahyi92/r15combi.jpg

Class 2B - 16 May 2012

YZF R15(2011) - 15 June 2012

http://www.youtube.com/user/noobielameo | You were once young and stupid but now, you are old and dumb! why are you reading this?

There's a saying that goes " you don't stop riding because u get old; you get old because u stopped riding"!!

Or u get old because of accidents involving cars hitting u... I'm 24 this year and my mom says I look like a 30 year old man... Wtf... -.-

Laidad I got nth much to say. Lol

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

Allow me to entertain you. Using statistics from 2011 because Dec 2012 has not been released yet. Numbers from http://www.singstat.gov.sg/pubn/reference/mdscontents.html

Obviously there are some assumptions, for example that all registered vehicles are used to drive similar distances - this skews the statistics for buses the most, making them appear more dangerous than they really are, same for goods, vans, heavy vehicles and to a smaller extent for cars.

Using the numbers below:

Cars 633,331; Deaths 15, Injured 2636

Bikes 146,559; Deaths 99, Injured 4641

The result is that you are 28.5 times more likely to die if you ride in Singapore compared to driving in Singapore. 7.6 times more likely to sustain an injury.

This is consistent with numbers from the USA (NHTSA numbers: "Motorcycle rider deaths were nearly 30 times more than drivers of other vehicles.")

Another word of wisdom from the NHTSA: "The failure of motorists to detect and recognize motorcycles in traffic is the predominating cause of motorcycle accidents."

And on the "Car vs bikes" accidents:

"75% of accidents were found to involve a motorcycle and a passenger vehicle, while the remaining 25% of accidents were single motorcycle accidents. In the multiple vehicle accidents, the driver of the other vehicle violated the motorcycle right-of-way and caused the accident in two-thirds of those accidents."

I'm willing to bet that in Singapore, single motorcycle accidents are a smaller percentage compared to the US - mostly due to MUCH tighter regulation around motorcycle licences.

Thank you. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

There's a saying that goes " you don't stop riding because u get old; you get old because u stopped riding"!!

+1 I agree with u :thumb:

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

Riding really keeps my mind young.

Lots of brain exercise while riding with many sceneries to look at. Young office ladies, sexy ah lians, angmos with tight bodies jogging in tights, giggly poly girls at bustops and the occasional wedgies.

Riding really keeps my mind young.

Lots of brain exercise while riding with many sceneries to look at. Young office ladies, sexy ah lians, angmos with tight bodies jogging in tights, giggly poly girls at bustops and the occasional wedgies.

Wah... Still can see scenery ah? I don't dare... When I riding, my eyes will only be on the road and my mirrors.. Involved in too many accidents already... Scared already... Lol

riding is fun mah, atleast for my age now. Who knows 10years later what i will be riding, maybe like an ah pek.

Some ah peks very fast liao, kena overtaken on a corner by an ah pek before, don't play2.

Cars hit cars, cars hit bikes, cars hit lorries, cars hit trees, cars hit walls. U don't see bikes hitting bikes, or bikes hitting trees, or bikes hitting walls do u? Bikes are safe. It's cars which make the ROAD unsafe... And especially with drivers who drive heavy vehicles on lane 2.

Now how often do you see bikes hitting the road divider? I have seen cars doing it 7 times in a span of 2 years. Bikes self skidding, well only myself la hahahaha. Silly drivers, everything also want to kill, tree also want to kill, will never look at an auntie or uncle on the road the same way again. Somewhere deep inside them is a mass murderer waiting to kill hahahaha

now how often do you see bikes hitting the road divider? I have seen cars doing it 7 times in a span of 2 years. Bikes self skidding, well only myself la hahahaha. Silly drivers, everything also want to kill, tree also want to kill, will never look at an auntie or uncle on the road the same way again. Somewhere deep inside them is a mass murderer waiting to kill hahahaha

like !!!!!!!

Signature editted as unauthorised commercial advertising. Please contact Senior Moderator/Admin for more advertising details

to all bikers, go see TODAY NEWPAPER headlines...

my kopi nearly kena spill out from my mouth ...

Yes, I agree with you. The primary goal for riders is to get away from ALL other vehicles. Let me emphasize, "ALL".

To me, all other vehicles are hazards.

As for the news, I saw that she will be undergoing for her 3rd operation. I wish her all the best and speedy recovery too like all of you here.

+1!

Allow me to entertain you. Using statistics from 2011 because Dec 2012 has not been released yet. Numbers from http://www.singstat.gov.sg/pubn/reference/mdscontents.html

Obviously there are some assumptions, for example that all registered vehicles are used to drive similar distances - this skews the statistics for buses the most, making them appear more dangerous than they really are, same for goods, vans, heavy vehicles and to a smaller extent for cars.

Using the numbers below:

Cars 633,331; Deaths 15, Injured 2636

Bikes 146,559; Deaths 99, Injured 4641

The result is that you are 28.5 times more likely to die if you ride in Singapore compared to driving in Singapore. 7.6 times more likely to sustain an injury.

This is consistent with numbers from the USA (NHTSA numbers: "Motorcycle rider deaths were nearly 30 times more than drivers of other vehicles.")

Another word of wisdom from the NHTSA: "The failure of motorists to detect and recognize motorcycles in traffic is the predominating cause of motorcycle accidents."

And on the "Car vs bikes" accidents:

"75% of accidents were found to involve a motorcycle and a passenger vehicle, while the remaining 25% of accidents were single motorcycle accidents. In the multiple vehicle accidents, the driver of the other vehicle violated the motorcycle right-of-way and caused the accident in two-thirds of those accidents."

I'm willing to bet that in Singapore, single motorcycle accidents are a smaller percentage compared to the US - mostly due to MUCH tighter regulation around motorcycle licences.

wow! if only Singapore general public understand this! +1!

age got nothing to do with it. if you say you no longer enjoy riding cause you are old, it is like saying you no longer enjoy sex cause you are old! saw the taiwan story of a group of 80 yo ah peks ride round taiwan?

like! +1!

no lah, 30 / 24 also young mah! i am 42 but is still young cause forever we young mah! anyway all singaporeans are young cause we are never " old enough" to get our CPF money, ie. singapore very little old people!

Raptor: ( quote )

"As one gains more experience on a bike... one's perceptions and views on how a bike should be ridden will change over time.. just live and let live for now." :thumb:

to all bikers, go see TODAY NEWPAPER headlines...

my kopi nearly kena spill out from my mouth ...

what's it about? no papers

seeing is believin

jus go any store sell paper , u see the front headlines can le

seeing is believin

jus go any store sell paper , u see the front headlines can le

This one?

http://www.tnp.sg/content/boss-lorry-driver-accident-video-went-viral-whats-big-deal

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b7/ki113r/Mobile%20Uploads/20150407_203245_zpsvojubra6.jpg

2004 - 2005 FR1284A ~ NSR150SP (FILA Paintwork)

2012 - 2013 FS7810L ~ NSR150SP (Pure White)

2013 - 2015 FBE9955K ~ Spec 3 (Pearl White)

2015 - ???? Quit riding

yup u are right

Indeed F-up! He deserves to suffer from insomnia!

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b7/ki113r/Mobile%20Uploads/20150407_203245_zpsvojubra6.jpg

2004 - 2005 FR1284A ~ NSR150SP (FILA Paintwork)

2012 - 2013 FS7810L ~ NSR150SP (Pure White)

2013 - 2015 FBE9955K ~ Spec 3 (Pearl White)

2015 - ???? Quit riding

Isnt tat becoz e number of cars far exceed e number of bikes? Or r u referring to a percentage?

Base on e statistics provided. Bike accidents r 3% of e bike population where as cars r lower than 0.4%. So bikes r not safer even if majority of e cause is due to other vehicles.

We must remember tat to ride a bike is safe. BUT e roads r not safe!

That's not a correct interpretation of the numbers - they only include accidents that resulted in injuries. There are many more car accidents that are not included in those numbers because they did not result in a reported injury or death. Bike accidents on the other hand almost always result in (at least) a reported injury.

That makes sense!!

Still if base on the stats, car accidents will need another 10 times more to catch up to bike accidents