Encountered something unpleasant while traveling home on PIE to BKE this yesterday evening (09/05/2013) at around 6.50pm - 7.05pm.

I'm at the center of lane 3 and 4 heading towards the band towards BKE and this sports bike (not sure which cc but looks like a 2B bike) tried to cut infront of me with female pillion behind. But wait! when there is no space? He could have waited for me to pass and follow behind. But he didn't!?! #$%

And then when I'm on the band moving towards BKE, I positioned my bike more to the center of the right lane as there is no space to squeeze through due to a lorry was on the left and a Red Ferrari on the right but guess what? The same bike tried to squeeze on the right of the Ferrari on my right!?! OMG It's a band where there isn't space on the right between the Ferrari and the curb? Plus there is a pillion behind??!

Not valuing his life, doesn't mean he have the right to drag the person behind him down also please..

Although I'm also riding a sports bike, but with a pillion behind me, I ride with responsibility and safety no matter how confident I am with the bike. Not recklessness and inconsideration of others safety.

• Replies 25.1k

True. I've seen good & bad big bikes' riders. This "war" is never-ending :sian:

Today while riding, was in a rush from west to east during peak hour. I'm riding middle class bike - drz. Got class 2 license but dont see a point to get a class 2 bike yet. Had to give some light honk to the slower bikes- no class 2, Only 2B and 2A, in front as I overtake them with peak hour traffic, having given due consideration for spaces for the both of us. Everytime I pass I wave a thank you sign'. Then came behind one r15. Rider abit kayu, stuck behind him quite awhile he still dont want to give way, and didn't check mirror also. I also noticed that his helmet strap wasn't done up. Overtook him when I could and pointed the chin strap out to him then only he realized he could've got himself seriously injured had he taken a fall...

To all riders. While overtaking during lane splitting, always be courteous and ensure safety for both riders. And if there are faster bikes, try not to take it that people are trying to race with you, just that they feel more comfortable in fast riding during LS. Please give way at the earliest opportunity... Some dont like to get stuck behind slower bikes, others don't like people tailgating them..

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

this is a serious allegations .. got anything to back it up ?? lol

else its

2b look down on public transport ppl

2a look down on 2b

2 look down on 2a

class 3 look down on 2b,2a,2

like that ah ?

I've out cornered class 2 and 2A on 2B, likewise when I'm on 2A. Out accelerate most cars when they think they are fast, as well as take corners at speed they don't dare.

Do I consider myself a good rider? Obviously I still have alot to learn, if you don't crash, you don't learn, its the rider, not the class.

You have class 2, you get overtaken by a seasoned 2B rider who goes PG ever so often , where you want to put your face?

They ride for glamor but when it comes down to the crunch, just ask them go track, see what they say, don't talk so much, get down to it.

I've out cornered class 2 and 2A on 2B, likewise when I'm on 2A. Out accelerate most cars when they think they are fast, as well as take corners at speed they don't dare.

Do I consider myself a good rider? Obviously I still have alot to learn, if you don't crash, you don't learn, its the rider, not the class.

You have class 2, you get overtaken by a seasoned 2B rider who goes PG ever so often , where you want to put your face?

They ride for glamor but when it comes down to the crunch, just ask them go track, see what they say, don't talk so much, get down to it.

this one, I like! :D
always got people tailgate me when i ride at peak hours. especially malaysian bikers. dam fierce, i lane spilt at 60-70.. flash at mirror one sec, cant see anything, only can see the chest/rag shirt of a malaysia ah pek. he dont even need to use his bike to cover mine whole mirror. the chest to neck area is big enough to cover it, thats how close he is.

I suppose this is a stereotype that actually is true.

In alot of cases, they stay in your blind spot too (I never understood why, they are fellow bikers also, what... Then they should bloody well know its dangerous!!!)

I sometimes wonder, if these reckless motorcyclists can escape the law just because ---They don't have a sg home address (to post the summons to)

Goodee hor hot goodee... Mat witz sebastian! :p

Class 3 looking down on riders, definitely. To typical drivers, all they know of bikes are delivery, uneducated, and probably cheap.

Drivers, let's just leave them aside. The battle of 4 wheels and 2 wheels will never end.

As for different classes of bikes and riders looking down on each other, I think it takes 2 hands to clap.

True enough, there are those riders with big bikes looking down on 2b riders as if their ride is not a motorcycle or something. EVeryone has to go through the same stage to reach class 2, so why the hate?

Then those 2b riders will have a bad impression of these big bikes, and subconciously trying to fnd ways to have their revenge on the road.

If I can't win in straights, I win in the ability to lane split better than you and so forth.

We all have eyes to see. For class 2 bike riders, how many times do you encounter 2b bikes trying to challenge you as if it can be any faster? No specific group bashing here, but I always get that from RXZs .

Class 2 riders, when is the last time you showed aggressive behaviors to small bikes, who wasnt able to lane split as fast and probably blocked your way and wasted like .. an extra 5 mins of your life?

There will be good guys around, and those buggers whom you wish they never sit on a bike and tarnish the impression of riders.

class 3 also got look down on class 3 wan u know
I suppose this is a stereotype that actually is true.

In alot of cases, they stay in your blind spot too (I never understood why, they are fellow bikers also, what... Then they should bloody well know its dangerous!!!)

I sometimes wonder, if these reckless motorcyclists can escape the law just because ---They don't have a sg home address (to post the summons to)

Our countries actually have a mutual agreement that as long their riders does not go against any traffic rules here they can go where they want. Hence why we see bikes from their country here with modded exhausts and leds and etc and not fined. But seems like only SG is honouring the agreement. Cannot say likewise for the neighbouring country. Also I have been wondering if these riders even have a valid licence. Maybe some but not all. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Our countries actually have a mutual agreement that as long their riders does not go against any traffic rules here they can go where they want. Hence why we see bikes from their country here with modded exhausts and leds and etc and not fined. But seems like only SG is honouring the agreement. Cannot say likewise for the neighbouring country. Also I have been wondering if these riders even have a valid licence. Maybe some but not all. :cool:

The Other Country is losing $$$ due to years of unpaid summons from its citizens, thats why they are more hard-up on kanna-ing us. They sure can get to us eventually, cos our home address real, not some phantom address. :sian:

Sometimes I wonder if these riders don't value their lives. Maybe they got spare life, limb & organ somewhere. I suppose Jb got such spare parts. o_O

Goodee hor hot goodee... Mat witz sebastian! :p

Today while riding, was in a rush from west to east during peak hour. I'm riding middle class bike - drz. Got class 2 license but dont see a point to get a class 2 bike yet. Had to give some light honk to the slower bikes- no class 2, Only 2B and 2A, in front as I overtake them with peak hour traffic, having given due consideration for spaces for the both of us. Everytime I pass I wave a thank you sign'. Then came behind one r15. Rider abit kayu, stuck behind him quite awhile he still dont want to give way, and didn't check mirror also. I also noticed that his helmet strap wasn't done up. Overtook him when I could and pointed the chin strap out to him then only he realized he could've got himself seriously injured had he taken a fall...

To all riders. While overtaking during lane splitting, always be courteous and ensure safety for both riders. And if there are faster bikes, try not to take it that people are trying to race with you, just that they feel more comfortable in fast riding during LS. Please give way at the earliest opportunity... Some dont like to get stuck behind slower bikes, others don't like people tailgating them..

When I encounter slow bikes lane splitting, 80% of the time they dont give way to me, I just follow behind them or change lane and change back infront of them, I nv horn to warn them tho. And I notice they like to lane spilt at the same speed as the car and in their blind spot, I think they should stay in lane, may be slightly left or right if they were to maintain same speed as the car, it is dangerous lane splitting in a car blind spot, some of them will just turn out without signaling.

Yes, correct, i have the same feeling about such riders. I encounter them on somewhat daily basis cos i always ride on PIE during peak hours to get to work and get home. I'm ok if they are slow, but still faster than the cars on either side. But if they are slower than the cars, i actually get scared for not only that guy, but my own safety as well. Cos i will feel like i don't really have escape route and my life is in his hands. So usually i will try to switch lanes asap. And cars at that timing, seldom will give way to you if u want to switch into their lanes, so need to be a bit aggressive and know your bike's capability.

RIDE.

2012 - 2015: Honda NSR150SP

2015 - current : Honda CBR600RR

Ya. I actually think some of them want to purposely get sandwiched by cars. Just stay by the side of the car and ride. As if the white dots is for them to ride on and is a lane by itself. I don't change lanes and overtake and get back infront cos I think that's putting too much risk on my side. And if the rider goondoo, when I come back in front of him that time he might not notice and crash himself.

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

Ya. I actually think some of them want to purposely get sandwiched by cars. Just stay by the side of the car and ride. As if the white dots is for them to ride on and is a lane by itself. I don't change lanes and overtake and get back infront cos I think that's putting too much risk on my side. And if the rider goondoo, when I come back in front of him that time he might not notice and crash himself.

did any of them challenged you when you horn them? cuz i scare if i horn them they not happy. usually bikers who do that are uncles.

I seldom horn. Unless i noticed it's those guys riding touring bikes with sideboxes and very protective gears, because i think they understand better. I tapped horn at 2 of such riders before, and when they let me through, they held a hand up sort of like 'sorry' kind, and i held my hand up in thanks as i passed.

Horn may get troublesome if the person in front is some hot-blooded rider who may think u're challenging or some old uncle who might suddenly get shocked.

Also, usually i just wait patiently for opportunity to overtake, or switch to other lane. Cos my own experience when LS-ing, sometimes too concentrate on the road ahead to check mirrors properly for anyone behind, so glances sometimes can't see the rider behind, so i assume that the rider in front might have same issue and i tell myself be patient.

RIDE.

2012 - 2015: Honda NSR150SP

2015 - current : Honda CBR600RR

I seldom horn. Unless i noticed it's those guys riding touring bikes with sideboxes and very protective gears, because i think they understand better. I tapped horn at 2 of such riders before, and when they let me through, they held a hand up sort of like 'sorry' kind, and i held my hand up in thanks as i passed.

Horn may get troublesome if the person in front is some hot-blooded rider who may think u're challenging or some old uncle who might suddenly get shocked.

Also, usually i just wait patiently for opportunity to overtake, or switch to other lane. Cos my own experience when LS-ing, sometimes too concentrate on the road ahead to check mirrors properly for anyone behind, so glances sometimes can't see the rider behind, so i assume that the rider in front might have same issue and i tell myself be patient.

oh thanks for sharing your experience. I always check my mirror during lane splitting if they are fast bikes I will let them pass. but if with pillion sometimes I concentrate on Lane splitting fully, didnt check the mirror.

The Other Country is losing $$$ due to years of unpaid summons from its citizens, thats why they are more hard-up on kanna-ing us. They sure can get to us eventually, cos our home address real, not some phantom address. :sian:

Sometimes I wonder if these riders don't value their lives. Maybe they got spare life, limb & organ somewhere. I suppose Jb got such spare parts. o_O

You don't lose $$$ for not samaning however only our cheapskate country would take fines into an artform to make profit from it.

today while riding,

got NUDGED by a taxi.

was riding along and the taxi from my right decided to switch to my lane, and he came so close to my bike when i wanted to accelerate past, his headlights was already at my rear wheel. then suddenly, i felt my bike back end move to the left abit.

cb, stupid taxi cannot change lane or judge distance properly. i quickly turn back and ask him stop at roadside.

Diao him with his passengers looking at me. and all he could do is give me a stupid look and say i never hit you i never hit you.

funny enough, i check my bike, no damage leh. been a bad month so far, quite a few close shaves. argh!

Happen to me before many years ago when still riding s4. Some more at a bend. Result is, I did a drift like stunt rider. Thankfully still alive and same thing, bike unscratched.

This is so incorrect.

Agree. Shouldn't need a crash before learning. In fact a lot of stuff is common sense.

as for the LS topic. Well I ve often talked about it and mostly my opinion is Dun overtake especially if out means some tight or quick manuovre.

I always feel that if the rider in front is too slow for me, y should I be the 1 too take the risk to overtake? Of Cox if the rider gives way nicely or there's a good and safe chance them no issue. But if no such opportunity arises, then I will not take the risk myself just to get ahead.

I always say, not worth your life to save seconds of your time.

The difference between white uniformed TP and the dark blue uniformed TP is that the white uniform don't carry guns. While the dark blue are carrying guns...

TP are not armed in the day.. but on night shifts, most likely you will see them armed..

Today was about to enter PIE through the slip road and saw a cyclist with helmet on cycling at the double yellow lines. That is good to see. Next the cyclist can just happily swerve to go across to the other side of the slip road causing me almost to either crash into him or swerved and buang. Horned the fellow and he stopped then he stared at me like I owe him money. Perhaps I should just crash into him and let him learn the hard way? :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Agree. Shouldn't need a crash before learning. In fact a lot of stuff is common sense.

as for the LS topic. Well I ve often talked about it and mostly my opinion is Dun overtake especially if out means some tight or quick manuovre.

I always feel that if the rider in front is too slow for me, y should I be the 1 too take the risk to overtake? Of Cox if the rider gives way nicely or there's a good and safe chance them no issue. But if no such opportunity arises, then I will not take the risk myself just to get ahead.

I always say, not worth your life to save seconds of your time.

When I say crash, I meant on track, if its on the road, either your luck or your skill but how else do you improve your skill but by going to the limit. If you're just an everyday rider, well your skill is that much.

I stand to what I said, even the best fall.

Today was about to enter PIE through the slip road and saw a cyclist with helmet on cycling at the double yellow lines. That is good to see. Next the cyclist can just happily swerve to go across to the other side of the slip road causing me almost to either crash into him or swerved and buang. Horned the fellow and he stopped then he stared at me like I owe him money. Perhaps I should just crash into him and let him learn the hard way? :cool:
either way is still a bad choice though.

If you had a loud exhaust, use it to effect or give one long irritating horn.