is it going to be temporary or going to hit further ?

what do you intend to do when the coe so high ??

jeremy aka lanman

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a386/lanmansg/fsc/bost-10-1123936846.gif

Game StarT

how to be a "small man to a "BIG MAN"???

• Replies 69

My belief is it will go around 10k, until the poorest people are unable to afford it.

Currently at 4k, even the poorest singaporeans still can afford it somehow, and these poorest people are generally the people who actually need the bike for work purposes.(low tier workers like kfc delivery requires motorcycles for instances)

17 Nov 2011 - April 2013, NSR150 SP

12 June 2013 - 23 Jan 2015, CBR400RRR

23 February 2015 - 29 February 2016, YZF R6 2006

12 March 2016 - 12 May 2017, CBR1000RR05

July 2017 - Jan 2019, YZF R1 2008/CBF150

Aug 2019 - Current SYM Joyride 200

Ban hock hin, which recently bought new YBRs to lease to OTIS, CISCO, Canadian Pizza, Dominos and the like and Pizza Hut, which recently bought new Waves, won't be too affected. But ya the ah pek couriers and people who work in inaccessible locations and stuff don't really have a choice but to pay. I mean, its still more convenient than public transport. $10000 on a bike = $1000 a year. Public transport $3 a day same price alr. Not to mention the time wasted.

My belief is it will go around 10k, until the poorest people are unable to afford it.

Currently at 4k, even the poorest singaporeans still can afford it somehow, and these poorest people are generally the people who actually need the bike for work purposes.(low tier workers like kfc delivery requires motorcycles for instances)

I guess your definition of poor is pretty rich, people who do KFC deliveries or any deliveries for that matter haven't seen their pay go up since 5-10 yrs ago.

Its still between 4-6 per hour, if this was their sole income, its still a pretty huge waste of money deemed only necessary by the Govt.

Ditch the motorcycle and get an electric motorized bicycle. Best of both worlds. No need pay parking and COE. Not even roadtax. Insurance also not compulsory so no need to worry about NCDs or premiums. On the road can ride like motorbike and on pavement like normal bicycle. Traffic rules does not seem to apply. No demerit points. Well that is what I have been noticing for those riding electric motorized bicycle. Can pillion and pick up girls. It is also a fraction the cost of a motorcycle. No need to pump petrol and can 'zhng' with LEDs with no worries. :cool:

Edited by duo

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

I guess your definition of poor is pretty rich, people who do KFC deliveries or any deliveries for that matter haven't seen their pay go up since 5-10 yrs ago.

Its still between 4-6 per hour, if this was their sole income, its still a pretty huge waste of money deemed only necessary by the Govt.

is it? I was under the impression they are highly paid as I seen them wearing the company shirt n riding class 2 bikes

Ditch the motorcycle and get an electric motorized bicycle. best of both worlds. No need pay parking and COE. Not even roadtax. Insurance also not compulsory so no need to worry about NCDs or premiums. On the road can ride like motorbike and on pavement like normal bicycle. Traffic rules does not seem to apply. No demerit points. Well that is what I have been noticing for those riding electric motorized bicycle. Can pillion and pick up girls. It is also a fraction the cost of a motorcycle. No need to pump petrol and can 'zhng' with LEDs with no worries. :cool:

I dun min a electric bicyle but cannot reach cbd from east side leh

This is how we are as a group of people. We make hell lot of noise, then we get used to whatever rubbish thats thrown in our way. I don't feel proud of it, but I too made a lot of noise about this COE thingy, but I eventually resigned to the rubbish way this system works.

How about those who rely on their bikes for a living?

Is there a way out for them? Will they be able to get a loan from motodiam to finance the COE renewal? Will their income be sufficient to finance the loan monthly? Will employers of despatch services be providing motorcycles henceforth? Will there be transport allowance for these riders who cannot afford a bike for their work?

So many questions, so little answer. Maybe I should be like everyone else. Stop asking. Trudge through day by day.

She calls out to the man on the street

"Sir, can you help me?

It's cold and I've nowhere to sleep,

Is there somewhere you can tell me?"

He walks on, doesn't look back

He pretends he can't hear her

Starts to whistle as he crosses the street

Seems embarrassed to be there

Oh

Think twice

'Cause it's another day for you and me in paradise

Oh

Think twice

'Cause it's another day for you

You and me in paradise

This is how we are as a group of people. We make hell lot of noise, then we get used to whatever rubbish thats thrown in our way. I don't feel proud of it, but I too made a lot of noise about this COE thingy, but I eventually resigned to the rubbish way this system works.

How about those who rely on their bikes for a living?

Is there a way out for them? Will they be able to get a loan from motodiam to finance the COE renewal? Will their income be sufficient to finance the loan monthly? Will employers of despatch services be providing motorcycles henceforth? Will there be transport allowance for these riders who cannot afford a bike for their work?

So many questions, so little answer. Maybe I should be like everyone else. Stop asking. Trudge through day by day.

She calls out to the man on the street

"Sir, can you help me?

It's cold and I've nowhere to sleep,

Is there somewhere you can tell me?"

He walks on, doesn't look back

He pretends he can't hear her

Starts to whistle as he crosses the street

Seems embarrassed to be there

Oh

Think twice

'Cause it's another day for you and me in paradise

Oh

Think twice

'Cause it's another day for you

You and me in paradise

I do my part by not voting for them. Make life difficult for LTA pple also good, soon no one wanna work as one, its a thankless job being a pain in the ass.

COEs should be fixed at a certain price and move according to GDP and inflation.

bidding should only be done by owners or buyers using cash upfront not by dealers becos they dont care.

without COE, they cant sell so they will just bid and pass the cost to consumers.

at the end of the day we got ourselves to blame if we cant stop ourselves from spending and chasing materials.

Anyway, ride safe and steady, thats most important.

COEs should be fixed at a certain price and move according to GDP and inflation.

bidding should only be done by owners or buyers using cash upfront not by dealers becos they dont care.

without COE, they cant sell so they will just bid and pass the cost to consumers.

at the end of the day we got ourselves to blame if we cant stop ourselves from spending and chasing materials.

Anyway, ride safe and steady, thats most important.

This applies to both motorbikes and cars.

Even if nothing changes, we still have a (unpleasant?) choice of going through the resale market. Best of luck to me in 2016 when my bike COE expires hahaha.

COE is actually a genius idea. It banks on the kiasuness of Singaporeans to inflate the prices. There is actually nothing stopping Singaporeans colluding to make COE prices less than $500 easily. If u read up on how the COE system works, there is NO minimum bid. If everyone colluded to bid $1 above one another, assuming an average of 400 bids per exercise, with 300 COEs available, remember they take the lowest individual bid that fits in the 300 COEs. So COE would be only $100+. ....But Singaporeans are too busy being kanchiong, kiasu and greedy.

Hence why COE can work only in Singapore. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

so rather than average joe like us who dont know or cannot be buying bikes every month, who else can be jacking the price???

the coe system is flawed, it only work for new car buyers who can afford them at any costs.

the rest of us who choose not to change to new cars & motorcycles should not be penalized to pay for our 10 year old vehicles at current obscene new coe rates as benchmark.

Japanese Standard "The Big Naked"

14019723412_fffe6b3e9c_n.jpg

SMS 8 1 6 9 2 6 9 6

I get the feeling that 1 minor reason as to inflation of COE might be due to the fact that there are a lot of 2nd hand bikes that has been sold back to the shops and yet nobody is buying it over to use it to its full 10 years. With filthy rich consumers who are just buying a new bike and using it only for a few years (maybe 3-4 years), selling it back and buying new bikes again......I think you might be getting where I am going, it is no wonder COE quota is decreasing, if old COE are still present, it will be hard for new COE to come in. Correct me if I am wrong in this minor point of view.

My posts are based on peaceful discussion, honest questions happy jokes. If for any personal reason u find my post not suiting your ego, scrolling and clicking is always faster than typing. Not hearing my retorts to your rude remarks only means I have confirmed that your upbringing is that of barbarians.

Your Perspective on life comes from the cage you were held captive in. - Shannon L. Alder

Coe was introduced (under the pretext, intended or otherwise) to regulate traffic congestion.

We all know especially in Sin city that motorcycles do not contribute to jams so why are the motorcycle quotas being brought over to cars? This situation have caused the hike in current bids by shops due shortage of certs.

It is ok for those who can afford to buy new but the system must not lead to problems for those who can't, let me thread the red line as gentle as possible.

Most of us are not that desperately poor but if we are pushed to have more and more debts just to sustain our lively hood than there's going to be serious complications.

For eg. the not well to do consumers will blame the well to do ones and for now it has been quite tolerable so far but soon it's going to turn into rage.

Welcome to the Matrix, neo! :-)

SMS 8 1 6 9 2 6 9 6

Pay attention on the bikes daily, most riders are using their bikes for work. WORK = providing convenience for the locals nationwide. Be it courier, food deliveries, despatch or servicemen. I did the above job before, its tough $$, pays way lesser than those sitting comfortably in office, rain&shine, suck it up when our vehicle breakdown or Servicing due.

Be it citizens,businesses or government sector they see despatches from bikes everyday, yet they blame us for mishandling, scold us for being late and now coe to prevent us from buying bike.

Msian reported 40,000 bike crossing the borders daily, they can mod n ride like crazy while we are the ones paying rdtax,insurance,erp iu,gst,season parking,inspection,coe??(wtf)

what if at a certain day of coe increase, All riders stop riding their own bike and demand employers to provide bike for work? Think ur letters, "so called impt express document", spareparts, daily repair/servicing and deliveries will become a national handicap. Even mcdonalds also! By the time only carpark warden n kfc/pizzahut(increased price)

Good luck

u all talk here no point.. complain also no point. problem lies with your will to initiate a protest.

Complain and complain around random corners won't work. Sillyporeans.

inb4 strait times gonna write another article flamming singaporeans being complaint king again and not sucking thumb like how gahmen wants you to.. =D

17 Nov 2011 - April 2013, NSR150 SP

12 June 2013 - 23 Jan 2015, CBR400RRR

23 February 2015 - 29 February 2016, YZF R6 2006

12 March 2016 - 12 May 2017, CBR1000RR05

July 2017 - Jan 2019, YZF R1 2008/CBF150

Aug 2019 - Current SYM Joyride 200

its alright to have a healthy discussion, this is a bikes forum so as long as it's bike related consider like having heart to heart talks from bikers to bikers lah.. :-)

SMS 8 1 6 9 2 6 9 6

Being human is all about wanting someone to know how you feel isn't it?

Coming to this forum to b*tch about stupid gahment policies also presents the opportunity to know how others are faring with it, or how do we console ourselves when there seem to be nothing we can do.

But i think we are very much like the Thai today. The poor (agriculturists) are subsidized, the rich are protected. The middle class sandwiched.

Its a pot put on boil. Just don't know when it will boil over.