[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

• Replies 7.2k

There are 4 strokes of combustion cycle in a 4 stroke engine

1) Piston opens up, sucks in fuel-air mixture from intake valve

2) Piston closes up, compresses fuel-air mixture

3) Piston opens up, fuel-air mixture combusted by spark plug

4) Piston closes up, remains (smoke/carbon etc) of combustion pushed out to exhaust valve

* repeats sucking in of fuel-air mixture in step 1 again

2 Stroker Engine

1) Piston opens up after combustion, sucks in fresh fuel-air mixture, using new mixture to push out the remains of combustion

2) Piston compresses fuel-air mixture, spark plug ignites

* repeats

Tourer, just a slight correction of your description if you don't mind :sweat:

"Piston open/close" in the description above actually means the intake/exhaust valves of the combustion chamber opening/closing. This is synchronized with the movement of the piston in the chamber to ensure a proper combustion cycle.

Originally posted by tanchunxun@March 26, 2007 12:01 pm

so which stroke of engine is suitable to beginner?

I have no answer to your question, but I can you some facts.

Fundamentally, if you ignore the technical mumbo-jumbo & comparing 2 engines with the same capacity (i.e. cc)

1) A 2-stroker gives much better power & acceleration, but has a higher fuel consumption

2) A 4-stroker will have less power & acceleration, but better fuel consumption.

How you relate these facts to newbie riding is your prerogative.

Hope I helped & did not make you more confused :p

Originally posted by kiamh@March 26, 2007 11:51 am

Tourer, just a slight correction of your description if you don't mind :sweat:

"Piston open/close" in the description above actually means the intake/exhaust valves of the combustion chamber opening/closing. This is synchronized with the movement of the piston in the chamber to ensure a proper combustion cycle.

Yes yes, ofcourse feel free to correct or add on. :smile:

Infact, thanks for adding on! :)

guys... not much of big thing.. butta..

what kinda helmet will suit phantoms??? half-cap??

full face, multi graphic helmets looks so nice... but they are more towards sport bikes... arent they..

so... for phantom riders.. what are you guys using.. and what would u prefer ??

no such thing as what type of helmet suit phantom

it's personal taste.

wear what you like and why bother about others.

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12854/Ghost_Rider_Inked_by_Robot666.jpg

you. guilty.

Originally posted by kiamh@March 26, 2007 12:14 pm

I have no answer to your question, but I can you some facts.

Fundamentally, if you ignore the technical mumbo-jumbo & comparing 2 engines with the same capacity (i.e. cc)

1) A 2-stroker gives much better power & acceleration, but has a higher fuel consumption

2) A 4-stroker will have less power & acceleration, but better fuel consumption.

How you relate these facts to newbie riding is your prerogative.

Hope I helped & did not make you more confused :p

Yeah... Theoretically a 2-stroker gives twice the power a 4-stroker does, considering if you are given the same engine setup and equal engine efficiency. Because a 4-stroker engine takes 4 strokes to combust the fuel-air mixture once while a 2-stroker has 2 combustions in 4 strokes.

Then again, on top of what kiamh mentioned, some of the engine characteristics one might experience between a 2-stroke and 4-stroke engines are:

1) 2-stroke engines usually produce a higher-pitched exhaust note

2) 2-stroker has more of a big-bang engine characteristics, abrupt and raw power delivery

3) 2-stroker gives more smoke

4) 2-stroke engines need both 2T and engine oil lubrication, while 4-strokers only need engine oil

Originally posted by Small Machine@March 27, 2007 12:00 am

no such thing as what type of helmet suit phantom

it's personal taste.

wear what you like and why bother about others.

well... not really bothering about exact type.. but i see some people with half-cap harley type helmet looks cool... just expression my opinion on open forum..

Guest @h_püi™
Originally posted by kmax@March 27, 2007 01:38 am

well... not really bothering about exact type.. but i see some people with half-cap harley type helmet looks cool... just expression my opinion on open forum..

half cap is illegal on road...

if safety is top piority for you.. then go for full face..

currently i'm using those normal one.. cos by using full face it will like narrow my field of view... and viewing the speedometer i need to move down my head.. but using the normal one i just glane can already..

hey guys.still a newbie here.i wanna ask if i am 75kg and i pillion my friend who is 120kg.plus my box.is it over the weight limit a phantom can endure?cause i always pillion my friend. :confused:

Originally posted by Ah_pui@March 27, 2007 08:19 am

half cap is illegal on road...

if safety is top piority for you.. then go for full face..

currently i'm using those normal one.. cos by using full face it will like narrow my field of view... and viewing the speedometer i need to move down my head.. but using the normal one i just glane can already..

thanks bro... coz i am planning to get one full face... but didnt know it's pros and cons before... now i can reconsider again.. :p

well i THINK half cap is a matter of 'closing one's eye' if u know what kind of scenario/circumstances i am refering to.

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12854/Ghost_Rider_Inked_by_Robot666.jpg

you. guilty.

Originally posted by fisherian@March 29, 2007 12:22 pm

hey guys.still a newbie here.i wanna ask if i am 75kg and i pillion my friend who is 120kg.plus my box.is it over the weight limit a phantom can endure?cause i always pillion my friend. :confused:

wa...u so strong ar...can pillon a heavy person...anyway i m also inerested to noe if is this overload??

oh...and i wanna buy helmet any recommandation??

Originally posted by xiaolala@March 29, 2007 01:40 pm

wa...u so strong ar...can pillon a heavy person...anyway i m also inerested to noe if is this overload??

oh...and i wanna buy helmet any recommandation??

haha.i learn from experience.the first time i pillion him on my first day of getting my bike.we buang together.haha.but suffer from minor scratches and bike got no scratches expect for box.haha.nowdays pillion him can corner lower and ride better.cause learn from experience and getting used to the weight.

you can buy a hyperblade helmet.it looks nice and it cost around 35 bucks at ah boy.

Guest @h_püi™

my screw on the speedometer is stuck.. any no matter how i screw it out it will still stuck... and i couldn;t take it out..

try all possible of screw driver but still no cure..

supect that the tread rusty therefore causes the screw to get stuck...

how to settle this issue?

thankx

Originally posted by Ah_pui@March 30, 2007 11:34 am

my screw on the speedometer is stuck.. any no matter how i screw it out it will still stuck... and i couldn;t take it out..

thankx

try to use WD40 or other brand of lube to set lose the rust. then maybe u can try it again. but be careful, dun blunt the screw head.

if still cant do it, gotto bring it to workshop and ask mech to use airgun to open it liao. :smile:

"Respect All Others Until They Disrespect You."

Hi guys.. Does anyone has the experience of screeching sound coming from the front fork? It's like metal rubbing against metal like tat.. The front wheel and front brake not the source of the sound.. The sound confirm is coming from the front fork.. Btw, how much does a new pair of front fork costs?

I'm riding a TA200 custom 4.. I had experienced this sound b4.. turns out to be the suspension cover rubbing against the fork itself.. I always used the screwdriver to adjust the front cover.. However, it doesn't work this time.. There is no oil leakage from the fork.. juz metal rubbing sound whenever the bike is moving..

Feb 06 till Present - Phantom TA200 Custom 4

Sometimes Results may be Disappointing, but it's never Discouraging..

Hi guys.. Does anyone has the experience of screeching sound coming from the front fork? It's like metal rubbing against metal like tat.. The front wheel and front brake not the source of the sound.. The sound confirm is coming from the front fork.. Btw, how much does a new pair of front fork costs?

I'm riding a TA200 custom 4.. I had experienced this sound b4.. turns out to be the suspension cover rubbing against the fork itself.. I always used the screwdriver to adjust the front cover.. However, it doesn't work this time.. There is no oil leakage from the fork.. juz metal rubbing sound whenever the bike is moving..

Feb 06 till Present - Phantom TA200 Custom 4

Sometimes Results may be Disappointing, but it's never Discouraging..

Originally posted by Ah_pui@March 30, 2007 11:34 am

thankx

you may want to try this, spray wd40 and rest for a day, than use a super LONG screw driver, some tricks is, you need to so-call tighten it again than can un-screws easily.

CHeers..

Hi all, tips,advice,thought,help,ideas etc given from me is base on my personal experience.

Girls want sense of security from a guy.

Guy want sense of trust from a girl.

Originally posted by Technician III@March 30, 2007 08:47 pm

my problem is the sound will come after a ride in the day, what i did is add some "oil" to the fork seal and sound will be away, this is not recommended by PK here.:goodluck:

Hi all, tips,advice,thought,help,ideas etc given from me is base on my personal experience.

Girls want sense of security from a guy.

Guy want sense of trust from a girl.

Guest @h_püi™

Question:

recently when i rode my phantom..... i notice that is a "tak tak" sound coming from the left side of the engine area....

the sound is loud/obvious when in gear one and two but during high speed/gear something the sound is there also....

any idea what wrong? is it chain need to be tighten?

Ah_pui.... sounds like what I had when I just bought mine from shop....

I change front sprocket and chain, then sound gone already.

If you have the tools, open the housing for the front sprocket and see if the teeth are bent/deformed or not.

If your sprocket is the type with the rubber padding, see if they are worn down or not...

Not serious problem, but the I know the tak tak tak can be irritating!!!

Either way, if I was you, I would change both the sprocket and tighten the chain.

Lose your Temper & Lose your Life.