[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

does bike reloan mean taking a loan from the bike shop to pay the private seller full cash, then go back to the bike shop to pay monthly instalments? does anyone know which shop provides bike reloans? thanks in advance

• Replies 7.2k

gears may need replacing...check if it's happening across every gear or only in a certain gear...if the former it's your clutch plate slipping...if its the latter its your gears

ask motordiam

thank alot. my gear 5 and 6 gt different sound only. will like to check how to much to change gears?

Safety come First

hallo to all.

Had a problem with my bike. Hope you all can give me some advise.:cheeky:

Just changed my bike engine oil and spark plug.

After changing, my bike become "harder" to start. On the electric starter, after 1-2 seconds, it die off. No matter how i try also the same result. Its only when i put it to a very high idle (the knot on right side) or keep on throttle then can start bike.

This only occur when the bike is left alone for a few hours. Other then that, ride for a while then off the engine. after a few mins still can start.

Went back to the bike shop. The boss can`t see the problem as the bike is still warm. He fine tune it a bit only. But the problem still remains.

Does anyone know?:giddy:

my normal idle is a bit high liao. Nw need to tune even more higher, But that will increase my fuel intake (now adays, fuel very expensive leh):sian:

I believe lots of people here also have the same problem. Anyone care to share?

i got one theory... but its only a theory... something may be clogging the oil pump. Therefore when the engine i cold and just started its not well lubricated enuff until it warms up. When warm the EO thins out abit more to flow better and lubricate better...

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

my normal idle is a bit high liao. Nw need to tune even more higher, But that will increase my fuel intake (now adays, fuel very expensive leh):sian:

I believe lots of people here also have the same problem. Anyone care to share?

why do u need to tune it higher btw?

The pain of discipline is nothing like the pain of disappointment

newbie here. just started riding 1 month ago. need a lot of help with the technical side of my bike.

Edwin Teo/Woodlands/[email protected]/91693274/TA150 Black

Can anyone enlighten me on the followings:

1) How 2T oil to topup for my bike?

2) Is it normal that I topup about 6L of petrol every time(after switching to reserve)?

3) How much (is it necessary) engine oil to topup?

4) Is the engine oil same as those used for cars?

My story: Before I bought the bike, I send it to seller's mechanic for servicing. 2 wks after that, I was able to topup about 1L of 2T oil. (Wonder if mechanic cheated about servicing). I am worried and also topup 1L of engine oil.

Posted this on newbie intro. but was directed to post questions here! Sorry, newbie made a mistake with 1st thread!!!!!!

1) As replied above

2) No. Tank before reserve contains more than 6litres. Think should be around 9 litres.

3)EO is the lifeblood of any engine. Your bike uses gear oil and 2T instead. 1 litre should be enough.

4) Most definately not. Car engines are nowhere as sophisticated as bike engines...the eo for cars won't last long in a bike.

Postman Eating Inc*

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a208/murano04sfs/38y29ty14.gif

http://4gifs.com/gallery/d/155006-1/Mascot_scares_girl.gif

Squid defination: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=squid

yo bros.. how come top up too much EO (1 + 0.2 litres) will cause difficulty in engaging neutral gear?

So what's the adv of topping up extra 0.2 litres? Will the EO reservoir deplete gradually?

I changd my sprocket n chain last mth at Koon's for $160. He say what Japan make.. but how I know? Can I check the brand on the chain n sprocket?

So far okay .. the only thing I was not too happy abt... the chain tension screw knobs (the one the mech will knock to adjust chain tension) on both left n right sides r in the middle.

I tot new chain should reset all the way to one end??

I changd my sprocket n chain last mth at Koon's for $160. He say what Japan make.. but how I know? Can I check the brand on the chain n sprocket?

So far okay .. the only thing I was not too happy abt... the chain tension screw knobs (the one the mech will knock to adjust chain tension) on both left n right sides r in the middle.

I tot new chain should reset all the way to one end??

chain in the market are sold with different in length. And most of the time shop dont keep chain spec. as per individual bike model.Unless you are buying an original manufacture made chain.

spocket brand can be found on the spocket itself. But the problem is they are in codes. eg. JPN=japan someting like that.

http://i42.tinypic.com/wqslfr.gif

Choke cable cost $18 at k**n.. rather steep?

I don't know, perhaps you'd like to refer to some metal some fyre's signature and make a comparison to the shop? :confused:

Ps: smile when you know the answer :)

does bike reloan mean taking a loan from the bike shop to pay the private seller full cash, then go back to the bike shop to pay monthly instalments? does anyone know which shop provides bike reloans? thanks in advance

Does the bike that you wanna buy got no more instalment? If yes then you might have some problem in getting refinancing/reloan. Not many shop that i know of want to do it.

If No, then go back to the shop and ask for refinancing/reloan. :)

http://i42.tinypic.com/wqslfr.gif

I don't know, perhaps you'd like to refer to some metal some fyre's signature and make a comparison to the shop? :confused:

hahahahahahahha :faint:

http://www.weather.gov.sg/wip/pp/rndops/web/ship/gif/rad70.gif
yo bros.. how come top up too much EO (1 + 0.2 litres) will cause difficulty in engaging neutral gear?

So what's the adv of topping up extra 0.2 litres? Will the EO reservoir deplete gradually?

do not top up above the upper limit...

i am not sure of the neutral gear reason??

but i do know if you top up too much...the following is going to happen..

1.. the extra oil is going to leak out through the breather tube..either it is in the tube or all over the place when you ride or park..end up messy undercarriage esp drippings along the side stand ..when u park..

2..this is more serious if it happens..if too much EO is in the crank case..and if the crank bearing touches this EO..serious damage of crank shaft may occur. as oppose to good lubrication when the bearing is in contact with the EO...this excess EO..in the bearing , as this is turning very fast the EO mix with the air in the crank will start to foam..and when this happens it actually staff the bearing of lubricant (EO) resulting in damage bearings/crank..

So never over fill..

note your manual calls for 1L for EO change...and always check when the engine is cool...then the dip stick or sight glass will be accurate..and top up as required..

always do what the manual tells u, and you will never be wrong..dont be a guinea pig and start experimenting this or that until you are very familiar with the bike workings..

not reading and following the manual is avery common mistake..so read the manual all answers are there..

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

neutral gear hard to kick can be a few reasons..

1) EO too much..

2) biting point too near..

these are the 2 i know of.. correct me if i'm wrong..

usually onli after long rides den the neutral gear is hear to engage de... that always the case of my ride...

so could that mean that the engine is hot?

Class 2B - 23 Nov 2007

Class 2A - 24 Mar 2009

Class 2 - 19 Oct 2010

Class 3 - 20 Jul 2011

usually onli after long rides den the neutral gear is hear to engage de... that always the case of my ride...

so could that mean that the engine is hot?

engine too hot have nothing to do with it IMHO, maybe its ure tired?:cheeky:

butt hurts from riding more likely... haha...

Class 2B - 23 Nov 2007

Class 2A - 24 Mar 2009

Class 2 - 19 Oct 2010

Class 3 - 20 Jul 2011

:p :P :p :P :p :P :p

I new rider also ard 10 mths with my TA150

answers to question

1) 2T oil can be topped up at the left hand side of the funnel below the tank. You cant miss it. There is a black cap. Remove cap pour 2T oil.

2) TA150 full tank is ard 11 litres. 10 litres main tank, 2 litres reserve. But that one agak2 only. Cant be bothered to read the manual. Usually the way II ride is abt 200km for 10litres.

3) Engine oil top up is usually around 1litre I think.

4) I also noob on that question. Any old timers want to answer that question.

Hope that helps

Thks Bros for your info. that was very helpful.

Two more questions:

1) If EO for cars is different from bike's EO then where and what type of EO to get for my bike?

2) If I got problem in engaging neutral gear (no problem after stopping engine), does it means that I had over top-up the EO?

1) As replied above

2) No. Tank before reserve contains more than 6litres. Think should be around 9 litres.

3)EO is the lifeblood of any engine. Your bike uses gear oil and 2T instead. 1 litre should be enough.

4) Most definately not. Car engines are nowhere as sophisticated as bike engines...the eo for cars won't last long in a bike.

Same questions here:

1) If EO for cars is different from bike's EO then where and what type of EO to get for my bike?

2) If I got problem in engaging neutral gear (no problem after stopping engine), does it means that I had over top-up the EO?

Two more questions:

where? bike shop lor.. :)

most prob is too much EO

where? bike shop lor.. :)

most prob is too much EO

But there is no leakage of EO after parking overnight, then how?

I tried checking the small little window but cannot see anything, so not sure if too much or not enough.

Can I use 4T oil for EO? I thought my bike is a 2 stroke bike????

dude eo is 4T......basically when u read the bottle it will say 4T ah...

wat eo u using btw