[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

nah i know him one la =P so i bite him.

err time to change my siggy, now still haven change, u suan me i muz suck thumb :lol:

April'12~Current - Kymco DownTown 125i

June'09 ~ April'12. - Kymco Grand Dink 150.

1st June'04 till now 30th June'09. - Honda TA150

June'11~April'12. - Toyota Hiace '04

Good ol' days with my Phantom~

:cheeky: "Baby"

• Replies 7.2k

nivleK1985: si nivlek... my bike sinc first day till now i don use choke de leh... anyway i went to ah chong just now...

some how battery was weak then he charge up for me then change my spark plug too... hopefully that solves the problem....

spark plug is also needed to create the spark for starting the bike right? Doesn't affect idling right? Cause started my bike this morning then idling became weaker n died off... Then end up like battery weak like that so have to push start....

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Phantom TA200 Dec'05 - June'08

not v sure for ta200 la, but afterall a choke is there not for nothing one ma...

use it to start bike then after bike warm up awhile liao then off it :p

Originally posted by Kel^83@Oct 2 2006, 09:22 AM

Need some advice from PKs...

Recently I had some probs starting my bike(TA200)... When I start my bike, it will idle for a while and died off... I've increased the idling but it still died off.... Tried maintaining throttle but it still died off... I will try starting it again but it can't be started... It will end up as though the battery is weak as it wont start even though I press the electric start.. So end up have to push start my bike.... But I doubt the battery is weak as I just changed it in Aug...

Could it be my spark plug? But if I can start my bike earlier on it shouldn't be a prob right?

Any idea what could be the cause of it?

Thanks In Advance...

you got turn your petrol switch to on bo :confused:

Hi all, tips,advice,thought,help,ideas etc given from me is base on my personal experience.

Girls want sense of security from a guy.

Guy want sense of trust from a girl.

Hello everyone,

i wanna ask where can i find a reliable and gd phantom specialist motor shop or mechanic in east side?cos i residing tat area...i am a new rider and i have some problems with my TA 200.. the prices for the full service reasonable can liao..i wanna make my bike a better riding...so pls help me by telling the address and wad the mechanics name?thanks alot and appreciate it alot!! dun mind can tell me roughly how much so i can prepare 1st b4 going down...

nivlek1985: i know choke is for cold start ah.. but mine usually don't need choke to start so never use lor... hahaha... save petrol? :x

Quiet Guy: Defintely its on.... I don't set it to off de... :cheeky:

Anyway, gonna try if my bike can start properly not after changing spark plug... If cannot then have to go find Ah Chong le....

ehzz: For east side maybe you wanna try Planet Motor... Look for Ah Chong... As for full service I think it depends on individual bah... I don't think there's a standard set for full service bah... Nt very sure abt that... Maybe other PKs can advise?

Planet Motor

ADDRESS:Blk 3007, Ubi Road 1, #01-430, S'pore 408701

OPERATING HOURS: 9am to 7pm ( Mon - Sat ) Closed on Sun and Public Holidays

TEL: 67474740

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

kok ur head, how much patrol u save sia lolz

ehzz, go to planet if u're on the east :D

Guest @h_püi™

hi can i check for phantom ta200

gear 6 is normal from how many km/h to how many km/h?

cos my gear 6 is about 90 to 105/110 km/h

but at 100km/h the engine start to produce a sound like stressing the engine.. rev to much that kind of situation..

is it norm?

nivleK1985: haha... no idea... :cheeky:

Ah_pui: for me gear 6 is 60km/h onwards lor...

its normal for you to feel strong vibration around that speed....

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

ah pui, try not to go that fast ba :)

rather uncomfortable at high speed. get a bigger bike le then u can start going faster :D smoother ride from bigger bike hehe

Ah pui: Checked yr EO level? Any knocking/pinging sound also?

Cos a normal TA200(thats been carefully, tenderly looked after) can hit uptil 130-140km/h max.(w/o much accessories + pending on weight of rider)

Tried hitting yr max before?(@ OWN RISK! Im not promoting speeding pls...)

If abv mentioned sound is audible, time to bring to shop for a diagnose.

Guest @h_püi™
Originally posted by KeV1143@Oct 3 2006, 05:10 PM

Ah pui: Checked yr EO level? Any knocking/pinging sound also?

Cos a normal TA200(thats been carefully, tenderly looked after) can hit uptil 130-140km/h max.(w/o much accessories + pending on weight of rider)

Tried hitting yr max before?(@ OWN RISK! Im not promoting speeding pls...)

If abv mentioned sound is audible, time to bring to shop for a diagnose.

well.. actually the part where the exhaust is connect..

think where the timing chain is.. got like knocking sound..

not very loud but if u r near that area.. you can listen to the knocking sound...

not sure is it the tensioner need to change?

can i ask if u all fix ur voltmeter urself or let motor shops do for u?

cos my fren pass a brand new voltmeter to me. so tot of installing it.

any let motor shop do den can recommend that u think is good.. thanks in advance!

http://www.motorcyclenews.com/upload/205650/images/300x200/2848almeriaij070-01.jpg

..i lovin' it..:thumb:

no idea, for me i dun check voltage one. :p

After changing spark plug the bike still die off after a while even though I've increased my idling speed... End up after starting the bike have to throttle the bike liao...

Not the same as last time where I just press the electric start and let it warm up while i wear my gears.... :sian:

nivlek1985: how to change the bulb for speedometer ah? Just noticed that my speedometer has no light yesterday...

Oh btw, is it ok to have the "bouncing" sound when you kick down the gear ah? Cause sometimes when I kick down the gear, it will have some "bouncing" sound before engaging the gear... Not sure what's wrong with it....

Any advise is appreciated... Thanks...

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

bouncing sound could be chain lei...

change bulb muz unscrew the speedo side one. technically is easy, but when do quite lay chey :lol:

Originally posted by Ah_pui@Oct 3 2006, 05:17 PM

well.. actually the part where the exhaust is connect..

think where the timing chain is.. got like knocking sound..

not very loud but if u r near that area.. you can listen to the knocking sound...

not sure is it the tensioner need to change?

Yr describtion abit misleading, nonetheless, if u are saying the engine block near the exhaust header output is, then I guess thats it.

How old is yr bike? Mileage? Any knowledge of past record on this bike?

Else suggest u bring it to yr trusted shop/mech for a due change of timing chain(wear prone for TA 200s).

If u hav a spare $$, ask yr mech to do a full diagnose, as u are oreadi disassembling the engine.(aka overhaul)

Mayb can change those worn parts too.

Might set u back here though... + Running in again...

Guest @h_püi™
Originally posted by KeV1143@Oct 4 2006, 05:10 PM

Yr describtion abit misleading, nonetheless, if u are saying the engine block near the exhaust header output is, then I guess thats it.

How old is yr bike? Mileage? Any knowledge of past record on this bike?

Else suggest u bring it to yr trusted shop/mech for a due change of timing chain(wear prone for TA 200s).

If u hav a spare $$, ask yr mech to do a full diagnose, as u are oreadi disassembling the engine.(aka overhaul)

Mayb can change those worn parts too.

Might set u back here though... + Running in again...

ya is at the engine block where the exhaust header link to...

my bike is FU plate 4 yrs old, mileage is 34K just brought it two month ago...

Originally posted by Ah_pui@Oct 4 2006, 06:04 PM

Hmm... Guess its time le bah...

Guest @h_püi™
Originally posted by KeV1143@Oct 5 2006, 11:17 AM

Hmm... Guess its time le bah...

it time le ba??

meaning? change which one? the tensioner??

about how much?

then my carb is cover by spilting fuel....

dunno where it leak to make my carb external so messy...

any iidea what went wrong?

Originally posted by Ah_pui@Oct 4 2006, 06:04 PM

bro.. ur bike FU plate den the mileage so less only ah.. or go one cycle liao..

sorry for being kpo.. juz asking only.. :cheeky:

http://www.motorcyclenews.com/upload/205650/images/300x200/2848almeriaij070-01.jpg

..i lovin' it..:thumb:

Guest @h_püi™
Originally posted by etky85@Oct 5 2006, 10:51 PM

bro.. ur bike FU plate den the mileage so less only ah.. or go one cycle liao..

sorry for being kpo.. juz asking only.. :cheeky:

this one i have no idea...

cos i got my bike for two month pass i only clock 4000km

i going to and back from NTU to my house... for the past two month with my bikebike...

whether already clock one cycle this one i didn;t check....

even go one cycle, is it something need to change?

Originally posted by Ah_pui@Oct 5 2006, 05:27 PM

it time le ba??

meaning? change which one? the tensioner??

about how much?

then my carb is cover by spilting fuel....

dunno where it leak to make my carb external so messy...

any iidea what went wrong?

Ok, Im not sure what exactly went wrong.

But I guess u shld save up, & go for a operation on the bike?

Upz to yr own preference, cos if u tink if its not worth it, then ride until u upgrade, elsewise, do an overhaul for a replacement of the worn parts.

IMO, its either the mileage has oreadi spun 1 rd, OR, its under used.

(kehehe... mine baru hit 35km++ nia... :sweat: )

Guest @h_püi™
Originally posted by KeV1143@Oct 6 2006, 09:27 AM

Ok, Im not sure what exactly went wrong.

But I guess u shld save up, & go for a operation on the bike?

Upz to yr own preference, cos if u tink if its not worth it, then ride until u upgrade, elsewise, do an overhaul for a replacement of the worn parts.

IMO, its either the mileage has oreadi spun 1 rd, OR, its under used.

(kehehe... mine baru hit 35km++ nia... :sweat: )

when koon today... he told me is tensioner... cos every morning when i start... got the knocking sound...

same as he ask me whether morning i start got this problem.. then he told me is tensioner...

Guys!

When approaching and pausing at traffic junctions, i always habitually shift my gear to Neutral. I've noticed that lately, when i step down to gear one, the Neutral Light remains ON, and i cant engage Gear 1! I step hard hard, will all my might, multiple times, also cant! Then paiseh all the vehicles behind waiting. When i try to kick up to Gear 2 from Neutral, also cant... After around a minute or 2 of desperately trying to engage gear 1, then can.... Happened a couple of times already but inconsistently.

What might be the cause?!

I have the best signature.