[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

Originally posted by theyasman@Oct 8 2006, 01:43 PM

when i step down to gear one, the Neutral Light remains ON, and i cant engage Gear 1! I step hard hard, will all my might, multiple times, also cant!

That happens to me sometimes when I try to kick all the way down from 3/4 gear when coming to a stop. It kinda gets stuck at neutral. But after I release my clutch and pull in again then kick gear it'll be ok.

Also kena kick up from gear 1 to 2 then throttle up expecting to move but it was jammed at neutral. Pull in clutch kick again then will go to 2...

Mine only happens sometimes so didn't think much about it. probably need to adjust clutch cable?

http://www.rovyx.com - Affordable Web-based ERP Applications for SMEs
  • Replies 7.2k

thanks Lormee...

i did release clutch and try kick down again, but still, it took several attempts before being able to be kicked down to Gear 1... anybody else got views? Please read my query on page 70, thanks..

I have the best signature.

i also got similar problem butt seem opposite of you guys...

when i want to park my bike i kick up to neutral but some time

it will jam at gear 1 cant kick up.

i need to open throtter move a bit then can kick to neutral ........sian

Originally posted by theyasman@Oct 8 2006, 05:23 PM

thanks Lormee...

i did release clutch and try kick down again, but still, it took several attempts before being able to be kicked down to Gear 1... anybody else got views? Please read my query on page 70, thanks..

hey Yas, If Im not wrong, something might have happened to yr internal gear shift rod(sorry, not sure wats it call).

Happened to got it when I was riding sometime early last year.

Went Koony there to fix, after he opened it & check, he said its the part(of what I know of the abv mentioned) had been damaged,

If got to replace, would be expensive(not sure here).

But I chose that he fix it(aka knock) back straight.

And it lasted til now.

Though there still times of abit 'funny' shifting of gears, works out quite fine to me...

Erm, if it gets too serious, mayb time to go to yr trusted mech for a diagnose? Gota leave bike behind I guess.

Hope this helps. :smile:

Guest @h_püi™

can phantom use this type of EO? cos went to gaint just now and is selling very cheap....

thank you so much, thats credible enough... Hope mine can be 'knocked back'... now whenever i feel phobic at junctions, i pull clutch until strain.

I have the best signature.

Originally posted by theyasman@Oct 8 2006, 11:46 PM

thank you so much, thats credible enough... Hope mine can be 'knocked back'... now whenever i feel phobic at junctions, i pull clutch until strain.

Yas, best is able to replace it rather than knocking it back.

I guess mine conceived this problem due to early extensive engine braking.

Had rectify my own problem after what happened.

:btw: there's nothing wrong of holding yr clutch while in waiting.

(P.S. Rmber when u were in driving centres, whereby u dun release yr clutch until either the instructor ask to do so or the lesson ended?)

Dwn the road when u decided to get back & upgrade, the very 1st lesson, u'll shld get sore lefties... :D

Upon reading yr problem again, I tink it might be the clutch plates worn.

Unable to engage gears properly when the cluch has been either worn due to wear & tear or the alignment has not been adjusted properly enough. o_O

i also hav similar problem....mine is cannot kick down the gear when the engine heat up ...gt to throttle abit to down 1 gear only....then i went to check the mechanic said my clutch belt burn due to using 4T oil that is not thick enuff for my bike....he said phantom gt to use thicker engine oil if nt will like that(dunno true anot but becareful when u change engine oil ) then change the belt with the metal parts all these + new engine oil altogether cost me ard $150 :cry:

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/ldslds_siggy-1.gif

BY GODSENDWORX=)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/305185-ldslds-GARAGE-SALES!!

Originally posted by Ah_pui@Oct 6 2006, 02:24 PM

when koon today... he told me is tensioner... cos every morning when i start... got the knocking sound...

same as he ask me whether morning i start got this problem.. then he told me is tensioner...

so u change ur tensioner liao ma? can tell me how much it cost? cos when i start my bike also got knocking sound.. thanks.. :smile:

http://www.motorcyclenews.com/upload/205650/images/300x200/2848almeriaij070-01.jpg

..i lovin' it..:thumb:

Originally posted by velo@Oct 9 2006, 12:46 PM

Then what grade of engine oil should we use?

i think the highest grade that i hav come across is 50. i nv seen any 4T which is higher than 50.. i also looking for thicker grade.. :cheeky:

http://www.motorcyclenews.com/upload/205650/images/300x200/2848almeriaij070-01.jpg

Guest @h_püi™
Originally posted by etky85@Oct 9 2006, 02:38 PM

so u change ur tensioner liao ma? can tell me how much it cost? cos when i start my bike also got knocking sound.. thanks.. :smile:

koon quote me $60 for thailand original made tensioner

and planet quote me $58 for japan one

oh ok.. actually if we dun change it, does it cause more prob to our bike? or juz a wear and tear part which muz be scheduled to change?

sorry.. i hav another qns.. recently after i pump petrol, when i pressed back my fuel lock cap.. the key doesnt turn but the lock cap is secured.. i hav to turn the key myself den i can take out the key.. what happened to my fuel lock cap? cos i try wit mine other keys also the same thing..

Originally posted by TianLei@Oct 8 2006, 06:00 PM

i also got similar problem butt seem opposite of you guys...

when i want to park my bike i kick up to neutral but some time

it will jam at gear 1 cant kick up.

i need to open throtter move a bit then can kick to neutral ........sian

try from gear two to neutral ... easier for me :cheeky:

CHeers..

Hi all, tips,advice,thought,help,ideas etc given from me is base on my personal experience.

Girls want sense of security from a guy.

Guy want sense of trust from a girl.

hmm.. topid ques..

went to 'pump' air into tires the other dae.. but somehow didn't realise the pump was faulty... deflated the tire instead..

went to another pump, used the 'flat tyre only' thingy managed to inflate the tires....

but somehow... the bike feels bumpy.. as if like one of the tire is kinda deflated feeling.. anything to do to solve the prob? [besides going to a bike shop ;X]

Thanks..

btw... anyone knows wat the procedures are when u finish paying the final instalment? when can get the spare key etc? =X i alwayz internet transfer the instalment.. nvr liked going down to the bike shop... -.-""

Originally posted by etky85+Oct 9 2006, 09:44 PM-->
QUOTE (etky85 @ Oct 9 2006, 09:44 PM)
sorry.. i hav another qns.. recently after i pump petrol, when i pressed back my fuel lock cap.. the key doesnt turn but the lock cap is secured.. i hav to turn the key myself den i can take out the key.. what happened to my fuel lock cap? cos i try wit mine other keys also the same thing.. [/b]

Hmm... either yr keyhole needs a lub or its spring damaged. Try with a little WD40?

:btw: a gentle reminder, pls resize yr signature pic....

http://forums.ircspy.com/images/smilies/7309300734.gif

Before its removed unwittingly...

Huh.. muz call one ar!!! Duhz.. iz been a week... no news~... i dunwanna call.. coz.. the feeling of them taking me for a fool is overpowering~ -.- when i transfered the last instalment, i did indicate final instalment ar... -.-

Originally posted by Janielle@Oct 10 2006, 09:47 AM

Huh.. muz call one ar!!! Duhz.. iz been a week... no news~... i dunwanna call.. coz.. the feeling of them taking me for a fool is overpowering~ -.- when i transfered the last instalment, i did indicate final instalment ar... -.-

Else you can ask someone who can help you on this matter, if not how were you to get back yr log card & spare key?

Best if have hardcopy for reference.

Originally posted by KeV1143@Oct 10 2006, 09:12 AM

Best u give a call to yr bike shop, ask whether u can get yr original Veh Log Card + Spare key on the day of yr last instalment, ...

u mean to say they do not give u ur spare key until u've finished paying? so if u lose ur key u have to go back to the shop to get the spare? :giddy:

i already got my 2 keys from my motodiam even though i'm on installments...

Originally posted by Lormee@Oct 10 2006, 01:33 PM

u mean to say they do not give u ur spare key until u've finished paying? so if u lose ur key u have to go back to the shop to get the spare? :giddy:

i already got my 2 keys from my motodiam even though i'm on installments...

Er....

Is both the keys original?

U can ask whether they hav another spare, cos frm what I know, they usually hav jus in case rider defaults on payment on a certain timeframe, they'll go & look for the bike to be reposessed.(something like NuNu's ST11 got reposessed wrongly :D)

Original keys hav a short teeth body length whereas compatibles hav a longer teethed body.

Except C4's, which is uniquely design frm older TA200's...

ey.. yup.. i onli got a key.. haha =D almost misplaced it the other time searched high n low juz for it~!! i understand the key even if duplicated.. the top not the same.. cannot lock or open.. =X correct me if i m wrong.. =)

Originally posted by Janielle@Oct 10 2006, 01:56 PM

ey.. yup.. i onli got a key.. haha =D almost misplaced it the other time searched high n low juz for it~!! i understand the key even if duplicated.. the top not the same.. cannot lock or open.. =X correct me if i m wrong.. =)

yup ... for the new custom 4 ...

the key is slight different ...

but as long as u dun slide the catch close...

a duplicate key can still start the bike rite ?

THE ONLY EASY DAY WAS YESTERDAY

mine is C4. :smile:

my motodiam told me both orig give mi liao. if lose both have to go back Honda and tell them the number on the key to duplicate. if outside duplicate will not be able to close/open the cover lor...

Guest @h_püi™
Originally posted by etky85@Oct 9 2006, 09:25 PM

oh ok.. actually if we dun change it, does it cause more prob to our bike? or juz a wear and tear part which muz be scheduled to change?

it will be an overhaul prob is you ignore the problem... according to koon.. as when i went for servicing there a guy witht his knocking sound and is very obvious...

then he told him about the disadvantage is he dun change,,, as now he will be paying 60 if not maybe few hundred for the overhaul.