Martial Arts...Which do you prefer?  

59 members have voted

1. 1. Martial Arts...Which do you prefer?

• TKD
    • KARATE
    • JUDO
    • Aikido
    • Ju Jitsu
    • Silat (Gayung /Minangkabau/etc)
    • Thai Boxing
    • Tai Chi
    • Kung Fu
    • Sprinting (faster better - get away from trouble :-) )
    • Why Take up Martial Arts - Waste time!

• Replies 165

multiple martial arts like he posted lah...

guess it's combining some here and there, taking the supposed best of everything...something like rojak?

good to learn more of diff types, cos each has it's own advantage.

jus remember that learning more may not be a good thing also, cos you are a master of none...master one that is more interesting to you, then the rest as a backup...

Originally posted by madman@Dec 28 2006, 11:28 AM

multiple martial arts like he posted lah...

guess it's combining some here and there, taking the supposed best of everything...something like rojak?

good to learn more of diff types, cos each has it's own advantage.

jus remember that learning more may not be a good thing also, cos you are a master of none...master one that is more interesting to you, then the rest as a backup...

i disagree.

many top exponents around the world are now cross training in another art.

for a time brazilian jujitsu (a ground fighting martial art) exponents were rulling the stage, coz once they take u down (and they are good at that), u've got almost no defences against them, if your background are the standup arts like karate, kickboxing etc.

to neutralise this threat, most standup fighters started cross training in BJJ (yes i know, stop snickering). whilst they may not be as good as those who have trained longer in it, at least they had a fighting chance agains the various submission holds.

having said this, most mma fighters start with one form or martial art or the other. then they cross train.

from the matches i've seen so far (on UFC and Pride), the ground-and-pound specialists (jujitsu exponents and wrestlers) seem to have the edge.

sorry bro, I didnt say it's no good to cross train.

What I mean is, learn one that interest you most, then learn the others so as to improve yourself and have a better understanding of other martial arts.

No matter how you cross train, you can only be good at one particular style, and will only use one you most comfortable in, at least, the majority.

Training for competitions at that level is different from a normal person who wants to learn it to defend yourself, hope you understand it's 2 diff matter altogether.

If you just want to learn martial arts to keep fit and defend yourself, it's good enough to learn just one type. Afterall, you don't need fancy moves to take the opponent down. Just a thrust to eye or kick to the balls is enuff to take the toughest man down, unless your attacker is a shaolin monk who has special abilities :D

why isn't dere brazilian capoeira?? its a sort of martial arts too ryt..? wud haf prefered dat over those options.. :bouncefire:

Jεήgσ™ : |l|l|ll| With great power comes great responsibilities.Think safe, ride safe |ll|l|l|

MMA sounds more like a legalised form of JEET KuN do, of the bruce lee fame.

Might wanna try it if my schedule frees up more

Things done so far:

Brand new rear suspension, new rubbers in carbs, serviced carbs, double bubble windscreen, voltmeter, Pilot Sport tyres, Did o ring + VAZ sprokets, front brake pump, gaskets + waterpump oil seal, Maxima CoolAid, 2nd hand rear hugger, 2nd hand front brake disc, Fizz Power brake pads front and back, 2nd hand front and back rims, Yusa battery, Reconditioned 2nd hand carbs by Planet, Front sticker number plate, front wheel bearings, new clutch plates, fortuna paintwork sponsored by spastic driver, Keitin tank pad.

Need sugar mommy for : Hel brake lines and top end overhaul.

For those who wanna learn sports Karate, look no further!! Here are the details:-

Course Title: KARATE

Course No: C20060661

Community Centre/Club: THE SERANGOON CC

Date: 24/01/2007 - 11/04/2007

Day/Time: WED, 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

No. of Sessions: 12

Language Medium: English and Mandarin

Instructor: YAP AH HUAT, SANNY

Closing date for Internet Registration: 17/01/2007

Fee Details:

Member Type Member OTHER CC MEMBER Non Member

Amount (S$) 70.00 70.00 75.00

Remarks:

*This is SPORTS KARATE, which includes, sprinting, running, push-ups, crunches, jumping jacks and learning karate techniques.

*For aged 8 & above*

*Karate Gi $50 make payable to trainer directly on 1st day of enrolment. *Measurements will be taken for Karate Gi.

*Karate-Do Goju Ryu Club Singapore

*New + Ongoing class

Address: 10 SERANGOON NORTH AVE 2, Singapore 555877.

Contact Number: 62824369 , 62844137

Fax Number: 62811446

Operating Hours: 09:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Payment Hours: 09:00 AM - 09:30 PM

How To Reach There: Buses No :43, 73,103,109,156,147 (YIO CHU KANG ROAD) Buses No 25,55,74,132 & 165 (Ang Mo Kio Ave 3) Feeder Service No 315

Map of The Serangoon

Originally posted by _wacko_@May 21, 2006 07:07 pm

erm..

i learn unarmed combat...

taught by the police force..

counted or not..??

first they teach TKD, then Unarmed Combat then Defensive Tactics..

me learnt Defence Tatics (Control & Restrain) too.

Originally posted by WildCard@May 13, 2005 03:40 pm

Always wanted to try capoeira.

But realize you have to be a good dancer to know it. Requires a lot of handstands and spins. Sort of like organized breakdancing.

Interesting fact:

The earliest form of martial arts is from India.

erm dude that art needs some space for you to perform certain acts..though cool in looks you need good arms and legs, not to mention a fast mind to think and calculate where you'll land, how and where yr opponent is..lol saw one friend performing it I went wow..just one step he took and a backflip kinda thingy..envious.. I'd go for muay thai..speedy, fast , lethal

I've enrolled myself to BJJ ( Brazilian Jiu Jutsu ) during the NTU CCA Open House. Ever since, I've been having lots of fun.

I'm trained in boxing before and yeah i loved it. But once sparring, injuries comes in. I've to stop training for 1-2week to recover.

However in BJJ, u can go non-stop, u simply "tap" when you feel the pain.

BJJ was made famous by Royce Gracie, he took part in the No Holds Barred Competition called UFC ( Ultimate Fighting Championship ). The comp has 8 different styles of fighters pited against each other.

Royce despite being the smallest, he easily swept past his opponents and took the title.

Now, almost or infact every MMA fighters are trained intensively in BJJ, Wreslting as they knew how important ground fighting is.

Well, good news, We are the first authentic representative of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu in Singapore, under the lineage of John Will of Will Machado Brazilian Jiu Jitsu.

Click here to find out more on the free introductory class

I might be Left Handed, But I'm Always RIGHT

DIY list

1. Volt Meter

2. Air Box Mod

3. Electric Horn

4. Dual Head Light

5. Removing of Mid Pipe's Cat

anybody know where to enroll in muay thai course? i only want it for exercising, no sparring. The place must have cushioned flooring, air con & shower facilties. :smile:

John 15:7 (New International Version)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

-- it's true & it really works for me. :)

anybody know where to enroll in muay thai course? i only want it for exercising, no sparring. The place must have cushioned flooring, air con & shower facilties. :smile:

try checking out in the net

they do have some courses

try watching a show call human weapon

u can look up in the net about it

I think the MMA academy do provide the Muay Thai course. Perhaps u can check with them.

For a good workout, perhaps U can consider BJJ too. I've lost 3kg just doing BJJ =P

Currently asking lawrence and jason to join in ^^

DIY list

1. Volt Meter

2. Air Box Mod

3. Electric Horn

4. Dual Head Light

hopStick;3353759']I think the MMA academy do provide the Muay Thai course. Perhaps u can check with them.

For a good workout, perhaps U can consider BJJ too. I've lost 3kg just doing BJJ =P

so sorry

i cannot take any more of this kinda pounding exerise due to back problem

i wish i can lor

hopStick;3353759']I think the MMA academy do provide the Muay Thai course. Perhaps u can check with them.

Thks btw, MMA in town side, quite heavy traffic to go there , especially going after office hour. Thinking of somewhere in west or north. Its hard to find a place with air con, floor cushion & washing facilities & good location. :giddy:

John 15:7 (New International Version)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

-- it's true & it really works for me. :)

Thks btw, MMA in town side, quite heavy traffic to go there , especially going after office hour. Thinking of somewhere in west or north. Its hard to find a place with air con, floor cushion & washing facilities & good location. :giddy:

Yeah i know what you mean, especially after i've installed the side panniers.

Place with air con, floor cushion and washing facilities have, but location maybe not to ur liking.

Do come for the free introductory class, I'll be there too. Just a rough idea on whats BJJ about, perhaps u can check this clip out.

A man's adventure

DIY list

1. Volt Meter

2. Air Box Mod

3. Electric Horn

4. Dual Head Light

tt after i see the video

i dont think u like to be slamp on the floor and get pin down almost to bone breaking technic so that u can tab on the floor to give up

tt after i see the video

i dont think u like to be slamp on the floor and get pin down almost to bone breaking technic so that u can tab on the floor to give up

Thats why u must know which side your on. Be slamped or slamp others =D

And btw, BJJ is not about slamming, thats wrestling FYI, or perhaps Judo and Sambo.

BJJ, i'll say its about ground fighting. Its pretty hard to explain. I'm not the pro anyway, i just started like 4-5 weeks ago.

DIY list

1. Volt Meter

2. Air Box Mod

3. Electric Horn

4. Dual Head Light

but if u like the babes who goes learn bjj, i think u will find it cool .

u ground them on the mat or they ground you on the mat .

either way lots of fun doing it to them and super fun for them doing it to you .

most important thing is dont any how tab the wrong place .

people who wanna get out of their normal life pls try it out not much harm done

to you.

was practising wushu and wing chun but that was quite a few years ago.. quite interested in learning muay thai or san da.. any1 currently learning have a good place to intro? living at east side, hopefully fees not too expensive..

Good news!!! We are going to give a free introductory class. We will be covering the fundamentals and the basics which are extremely essential for building a strong foundation for your growth in BJJ.

Our aim is to start a new beginner's class with a whole new group of beginners. We will be starting from scratch. That means everyone is new to Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, no intermediate or no advance students and even no beginners who have been doing for a while. No disturbance at all!

The introductory class for public will be on 18th jan at Orchard Hotel.

To find out more, click here ----> BJJ Singapore

For NTU students, please visit our recruitment booth at Canteen B 9th of jan, NIE Canteen 10th of jan.

DIY list

1. Volt Meter

2. Air Box Mod

3. Electric Horn

4. Dual Head Light