[Discussion] Typical prices for Phantom repairs & mods

thatone1

Hahaha, there's a fast and direct way to cure the gian! Go Sawadee-land and get it your own! Hahaha...

Side Covers to be Black? Spray your own lor!

can try go there get but dun get extra bullet head in ur body coming back can liao..

knocking sound de , im n0t sure cant help, other seniors with similar experience please help out the knocking sound problem

Class 3 29 April 2009[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2B 11 March 2010[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2A 02 July 2012[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2 On-Training[TP Attempt: TBA]

TA-200 Honda Phantom 2010~2013

GSR Suzuki 400R 2013~Present

• Replies 3.8k

Knocking sound? Left side? It's a bit difficult to pinpoint.

Knocking sound when stationary and coming from the engine, it's easy to identify... but right now I'm thinking... what kind of knocking sound? Can't be your suspension bottoming out, so check the chassis for any loose fittings.

For all you know tightening one bolt will do the trick.

Knocking sound? Left side? It's a bit difficult to pinpoint.

Knocking sound when stationary and coming from the engine, it's easy to identify... but right now I'm thinking... what kind of knocking sound? Can't be your suspension bottoming out, so check the chassis for any loose fittings.

For all you know tightening one bolt will do the trick.

Ya, maybe needed some tightening, cos garang mentioned he heard the knocking sounds when on uneven road or negotiating a bend. Or maybe something is loosen inside the chrome covers?

Don't do it to others what you don't want others to do to you! God bless! :cheers:

Try a critical thinking approach to this - the worst-case first.

You do not want a loose wheel bearing, loose axle nut, loose suspension mount, things like that. Start shaking the big parts to see what's up. Try raising a car jack under the exhaust pipe and shake the rear wheel, see if it's your wheel bearing acting up. Yes, sometimes you're the victim of sloppy work, like it or not!

Get a friend over to help so you have more chance of figuring out what's the problem; you might need his help for the wheel inspection too.

Btw, "left" and "right" sounds may be deceiving when the bike is moving. Due to turbulence, airflow, etc chim crap.

Try a critical thinking approach to this - the worst-case first.

You do not want a loose wheel bearing, loose axle nut, loose suspension mount, things like that. Start shaking the big parts to see what's up. Try raising a car jack under the exhaust pipe and shake the rear wheel, see if it's your wheel bearing acting up. Yes, sometimes you're the victim of sloppy work, like it or not!

Get a friend over to help so you have more chance of figuring out what's the problem; you might need his help for the wheel inspection too.

Btw, "left" and "right" sounds may be deceiving when the bike is moving. Due to turbulence, airflow, etc chim crap.

Ya, good idea!

Don't do it to others what you don't want others to do to you! God bless! :cheers:

I have been wearing full face with a liner inside ever since i got my bike. And today i try open face. I realise there is this loud "ssssss" sound when i'm riding. But when i stop the sound stops too. Anyone has any idea?

Recently I changed my air filter to K&N and also clean my chain and lubi.

I have been wearing full face with a liner inside ever since i got my bike. And today i try open face. I realise there is this loud "ssssss" sound when i'm riding. But when i stop the sound stops too. Anyone has any idea?

Recently I changed my air filter to K&N and also clean my chain and lubi.

the open face helmet is of course going to be noisier than your full face... its normal that it whistle more, or whistle more obvious than your full face... :smile:

Repairs / Maintenance :

* Fuel Sensor $40 (Planet)custom 4 & above

* Battery $26Yuasa/$38(plug and play) (LAB) / $35 (Planet) / $48 (Ah Koon)/ $60 woodlands road carltex (7Ah battery)

* Steering cone $55-65

* Chain Tensioner $55-60 (for tick tick sound at cold start)

* Front brake disc $45

* Tyres (metz lasertec) $160 front & back just changed on monday at planet

* Rear Tyre (Metz) $90 @ planet

* Chain $70-120 depending on type

* Chain + Sprocket - $140+/-

* DID O RING with Original Honda Sprocket - $130 (planet)

* Signal lights - depending on which type you like. $8-25.

* Signal bulb, headlight bulb - 1 $ (LAB, easy DIY) (add on: approved brighter ones for $8. bought from koon.)

* Speedo BackLight + Workmanship (Planet) - S$2

* Headlight - anywhere from $35 to 90 depending the type you like.

* Spark plug - $2-20 [[ Replay once had his changed for S$2 ]]

* Engine oil - $6 -18 (jB got his lousiest EO for $3)

* Brake Pad $15-25

* Bleed and change brake fluid($10 each side)

* Air filter - $10

* Wheel ball bearings - $20-35 (depends on how mech chop u) jtzx: change for only $5 at planet

* Gear Shaft - $100 (planet)

* Clutch plate - $80 (Planet)

* Front fork (1 pair) - $330 (planet)

* Front fork seals (plus fork oil of course) - $65 (planet)

* Front fork tube (1 x) - $30 (planet)

* Rectifier - $75 (planet)

* Coil - $180 (planet)

* Rethreading of spark plug thread - between $35 - $45.

* Gasket - $30 (koon)

* Gasket @ Exhaust - $25 (Planet)

* Starter carbon - $60 (planet)

* Front fender - $45 (original honda) ($28 at ah boy, DIY 4 screws only)

* Rear brake plate w/ pad $58 (planet)

* Rear brake disc - $80 (planet)

* Original rear suspension $180 (planet)

* Repair front brake pump (jam) and replace brake oil -$25 - (planet)

* Replace entire front brake pump ($80) - (planet)

* Rear Brake Pump ($85) (planet)

* Overhaul: Piston+Ring+Block+Top gasket+EO+Plug - ($380) - (planet)

* Rear brake light 12 v 5w/18w $1 (planet)

* Clutch cable - $15 (planet) / $20 (ah koon)

* Throttle cable - $12 (planet)

* Front Brake/Clutch Lever - $8 each(planet)

* Balancer [the 2 silver thingies at the edge of your handlebars] - $15 (planet)

* Front fender -$45 (AMK HL motors)

* Spark plug cap - $18 (planet)

* regina gold chain, front & rear honda sprockets with installation at ah boy- $120

* air suction valve - $60

Mods and Accessories:

* Respray of bike, (front/rear mudguard + Tank) single color - $180 (H L Cycle)

* Wide handlebar (custom4 phantom type) - $38

* Wide Crashbar with mounting points for spotlights - $80

* Big Footrest - $60 madman - Pinkphantom.com

* Front\Rubber part - $5/piece @LAB

* Front\Metal base plate - $11/piece @LAB

* Rear\Eagle footrest - $25/pair @ LAB (just bought today, now is $30)

* Side box e21 - $90-180 / $180 as of April 2010 from LAB

* Zeus box 48L - $110 (Koon)

* Fuel tank - $382 contact madman or check http://www.pinkphantom.com/estore06.html

* Spotlights $35 a pair http://www.pinkphantom.com/estore11a.html

* Windshield $65-80

* Grips $10-120

* Chrome w/ rubber strips grips (LAB) - $25

* Mirrors $12(LAB) - $50 (jB got his, 8 bucks for small ones)

* Look-alike-original mirrors (shop beside LAB) - $20, LAB should be cheaper.

* Saddlebags $98-190 madman - Pinkphantom.com

* Hazard light less than $10 if u fix&wire urself, $18-20 for mech installation [[ S$15 if Replay does it for you! ]]

* Relocating rear signals to license plate - $10 (planet)

* Relocating rear signals to license plate with bracket - $28 (LAB)

* Rear box $80-330

* Voltage stabiliser - $59-$120 depends

* Rider's ORIGINAL footrest (LAB) - S$18 per side, can be cheaper?

* Stainless steel screws for speedo, and side covers. 6 to change altogether. $1-$1.80 also bought from koon.

* washers to go at 50c each at regina

* Socket for supporting the head light - $15

* Bullet Headlight - $35 (LAB)

* Gear lever with rubber $20 at koon

* Chrome gear and brake levers set - madman

* Stebel Magnum 2 (Silver) w/o installation - $18-$20 (LAB)

* Daiso electric horns (pair) - $45 (planet)

* Phantom TA 200 gearbox - $540 (planet)

* Front fender the "mudflap"- $20 at koon

* Stebel Electric horn with nice hidden installation under front chrome cover- at koon $38

* Re-wrap seat- Starts from about $38 from Eugene saddledry

* Spotlights on crashbar with installation- $35 at koon

* Crashbar- $65 from ah boy DIY

* Anchor and wide type crashbar - madman

Tow Services & Send for Inspection:

* Towing (to and fro) - $40 (Planet)

* Send for inspection - $60 (Planet)

But the ssss sound really sounds un-normal for the engine. Didn't have this sound before. Not sure myself.

Also, how to clean my chain properly? I spray degreaser then clean with cloth and push bike. Very troublesome any better way to do it alone?

Sssss sound - can be your hi-flow filter. Which is normal, since a K&N increases intake pressure at the cost of noise.

Intake noise is not that loud though, since I DIYed my intake and I need to concentrate quite a bit to hear the 'vacuum cleaner sound' that I like. That or drive at max power.

Or.. it can be just the wind acting on your open face helmet. Perhaps this is more likely because air intake is proportional to engine power output (throttle) and not speed.

Phantom is designed like a naked classic bike so yes, enjoy the sound effects :D

Chain cleaning - if you don't consider dismounting the chain and then cleaning it in your favourite solvent, your method is okay I guess.

If you have a car jack put it up under the exhaust pipe and jack up the rear end. Do this only if you're confident with the bike because if anything happens it's quite a handful for one person.

Don't overdo the degreasing though, a chain (especially O ring type) is designed to hold in grease for protection and lubrication.

I saw a beautiful silver/golden Phantom (looked new, and not a FU plate) pass between the lanes on the PIE this morning and everything was sparkling including the golden chain.

Problem is by cleaning the chain TOO well the bike was literally destroying the chain as it went flapping away at 90kph. The chain noise was audible 30m away.

Edited by Pandora's Kitten :3

i was there this afternoon ;-D

tmr it's time to go planet already =)

Repairs / Maintenance :

* Fuel Sensor $40 (Planet)custom 4 & above

* Battery $26Yuasa/$38(plug and play) (LAB) / $35 (Planet) / $48 (Ah Koon)/ $60 woodlands road carltex (7Ah battery)

* Steering cone $55-65

* Chain Tensioner $55-60 (for tick tick sound at cold start)

* Front brake disc $45

* Tyres (metz lasertec) $160 front & back just changed on monday at planet

* Rear Tyre (Metz) $90 @ planet

* Chain $70-120 depending on type

* Chain + Sprocket - $140+/-

* DID O RING with Original Honda Sprocket - $130 (planet)

* Signal lights - depending on which type you like. $8-25.

* Signal bulb, headlight bulb - 1 $ (LAB, easy DIY) (add on: approved brighter ones for $8. bought from koon.)

* Speedo BackLight + Workmanship (Planet) - S$2

* Headlight - anywhere from $35 to 90 depending the type you like.

* Spark plug - $2-20 [[ Replay once had his changed for S$2 ]]

* Engine oil - $6 -18 (jB got his lousiest EO for $3)

* Brake Pad $15-25

* Bleed and change brake fluid($10 each side)

* Air filter - $10

* Wheel ball bearings - $20-35 (depends on how mech chop u) jtzx: change for only $5 at planet

* Gear Shaft - $100 (planet)

* Clutch plate - $80 (Planet)

* Front fork (1 pair) - $330 (planet)

* Front fork seals (plus fork oil of course) - $65 (planet)

* Front fork tube (1 x) - $30 (planet)

* Rectifier - $75 (planet)

* Coil - $180 (planet)

* Rethreading of spark plug thread - between $35 - $45.

* Gasket - $30 (koon)

* Gasket @ Exhaust - $25 (Planet)

* Starter carbon - $60 (planet)

* Front fender - $45 (original honda) ($28 at ah boy, DIY 4 screws only)

* Rear brake plate w/ pad $58 (planet)

* Rear brake disc - $80 (planet)

* Original rear suspension $180 (planet)

* Repair front brake pump (jam) and replace brake oil -$25 - (planet)

* Replace entire front brake pump ($80) - (planet)

* Rear Brake Pump ($85) (planet)

* Overhaul: Piston+Ring+Block+Top gasket+EO+Plug - ($380) - (planet)

* Rear brake light 12 v 5w/18w $1 (planet)

* Clutch cable - $15 (planet) / $20 (ah koon)

* Throttle cable - $12 (planet)

* Front Brake/Clutch Lever - $8 each(planet)

* Balancer [the 2 silver thingies at the edge of your handlebars] - $15 (planet)

* Front fender -$45 (AMK HL motors)

* Spark plug cap - $18 (planet)

* regina gold chain, front & rear honda sprockets with installation at ah boy- $120

* air suction valve - $60

Mods and Accessories:

* Respray of bike, (front/rear mudguard + Tank) single color - $180 (H L Cycle)

* Wide handlebar (custom4 phantom type) - $38

* Wide Crashbar with mounting points for spotlights - $80

* Big Footrest - $60 madman - Pinkphantom.com

* Front\Rubber part - $5/piece @LAB

* Front\Metal base plate - $11/piece @LAB

* Rear\Eagle footrest - $25/pair @ LAB (just bought today, now is $30)

* Side box e21 - $90-180 / $180 as of April 2010 from LAB

* Zeus box 48L - $110 (Koon)

* Fuel tank - $382 contact madman or check http://www.pinkphantom.com/estore06.html

* Spotlights $35 a pair http://www.pinkphantom.com/estore11a.html

* Windshield $65-80

* Grips $10-120

* Chrome w/ rubber strips grips (LAB) - $25

* Mirrors $12(LAB) - $50 (jB got his, 8 bucks for small ones)

* Look-alike-original mirrors (shop beside LAB) - $20, LAB should be cheaper.

* Saddlebags $98-190 madman - Pinkphantom.com

* Hazard light less than $10 if u fix&wire urself, $18-20 for mech installation [[ S$15 if Replay does it for you! ]]

* Relocating rear signals to license plate - $10 (planet)

* Relocating rear signals to license plate with bracket - $28 (LAB)

* Rear box $80-330

* Voltage stabiliser - $59-$120 depends

* Rider's ORIGINAL footrest (LAB) - S$18 per side, can be cheaper?

* Stainless steel screws for speedo, and side covers. 6 to change altogether. $1-$1.80 also bought from koon.

* washers to go at 50c each at regina

* Socket for supporting the head light - $15

* Bullet Headlight - $35 (LAB)

* Gear lever with rubber $20 at koon

* Chrome gear and brake levers set - madman

* Stebel Magnum 2 (Silver) w/o installation - $18-$20 (LAB)

* Daiso electric horns (pair) - $45 (planet)

* Phantom TA 200 gearbox - $540 (planet)

* Front fender the "mudflap"- $20 at koon

* Stebel Electric horn with nice hidden installation under front chrome cover- at koon $38

* Re-wrap seat- Starts from about $38 from Eugene saddledry

* Spotlights on crashbar with installation- $35 at koon

* Crashbar- $65 from ah boy DIY

* Anchor and wide type crashbar - madman

Tow Services & Send for Inspection:

* Towing (to and fro) - $40 (Planet)

* Send for inspection - $60 (Planet)

Hi, anyone knows how much is it to replace a second hand front brake caliper or brand new front brake caliper?

After changing the entire pump and pads, my brake pads still wear our fast within 1 month and can hear the screetching sound on the brake disc.

my guess is the caliper is damaged.

Phantom TA200> 2006 - 2008

GSXR400RP> 2008

TA200> 2008 till now

Hi, anyone knows how much is it to replace a second hand front brake caliper or brand new front brake caliper?

After changing the entire pump and pads, my brake pads still wear our fast within 1 month and can hear the screetching sound on the brake disc.

my guess is the caliper is damaged.

its very difficult to damage the caliper... unless you have an accident... maybe your brake disc is worn?

Hmm anyone here knows whether can put aftermarket signal lights on phantom like LED lights or something? I self-skidded and broken the left signal ): How much will the LED cost if can put them on?

IRC tires are horrible - i bought the bike, the owner change new tires so dun feel like changing them yet. But can even skid on dry straight roads. Model IRC P66 or something.

Hmm anyone here knows whether can put aftermarket signal lights on phantom like LED lights or something? I self-skidded and broken the left signal ): How much will the LED cost if can put them on?

IRC tires are horrible - i bought the bike, the owner change new tires so dun feel like changing them yet. But can even skid on dry straight roads. Model IRC P66 or something.

you can practically use any kinda signals..

myself, im using sportsbike turn signal for my rear..

LED cost as in th set of turn signals?

below 30bucks i believe..

IRC is always stereotyped as lousy tyres..

but thr'r different 'model' of th tyre, so yea.. (:

metzeler wld be a good choice if you were t change.

black&white saves life.

enquire @ [email protected] | 94786'999

Hmm i might want to try out the pirelli tires city demon? You use b4? I know its out of point because there's a tire subject in the forum but just asking lar.

Hmm i might want to change both sets the front and back to LED ones. Hmm not illegal to change them?

mm, city demon im not too sure of th quality, i hasnt used em befor..

but according to fellow riders, its pretty good..

anthr good one is, smthg smthg fire edition or smthg like tht..

go for th one with your ideal threading.. picking up use, cornering use, wet surface use, depending on which is your riding style, different tyres suits different riding style & road condition.. (:

can also, front & back change to led ones..

i doubt its illegal, its for increase visibility aftrall.

myself, riding a kustombike, i dont rlly bother bout legal or illegal. =x

some othr fellow pks here wld know th crazy mods ive done.. (:

black&white saves life.

enquire @ [email protected] | 94786'999