You know, reading Lun's post reminds me of how lost I was when I got into my first accident. I think it's the same for everybody, no one knows what to do when they get into an accident and they come to the forums for help. Well, what to do when you get into an accident is actually pretty standard but when people reply to the guy their answers are often fragmented; each person tells him of a small part here, a small part there and he has to piece it all together. What I was thinking is that we should have a sticky or thread with a checklist of what to do when you get into an accident.

I know lots of us are now familiar with the procedure but after an accident, especially if there's an injury, it's hard to remember what to do when one is all shaken up and worried over his own bike, the financial implications of getting into an accident and so on. I think a checklist would be quite useful. Thoughts? Kev, what do you think?

I think there's one somewhere in this forum.

Found it.

Accident related - What happen next? Private settlement? Look here

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=69402

Making A Motor Claim

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=70070

Dun have to start a thread, may be useful to make a link (if people dun start new thread to ask old question again)

Edited by lunloon

• Replies 18.3k

• VidaK

• kmax

• Kevs

• jtzx

You know, reading Lun's post reminds me of how lost I was when I got into my first accident. I think it's the same for everybody, no one knows what to do when they get into an accident and they come to the forums for help. Well, what to do when you get into an accident is actually pretty standard but when people reply to the guy their answers are often fragmented; each person tells him of a small part here, a small part there and he has to piece it all together. What I was thinking is that we should have a sticky or thread with a checklist of what to do when you get into an accident.

I know lots of us are now familiar with the procedure but after an accident, especially if there's an injury, it's hard to remember what to do when one is all shaken up and worried over his own bike, the financial implications of getting into an accident and so on. I think a checklist would be quite useful. Thoughts? Kev, what do you think?

I think there's one somewhere in this forum.

Here's the link from Legality & Regulations Related section: Accident related - What happen next? Private settlement?

&

Making A Motor Claim

IMO, since there's already available useful threads around, dont think there's a need to open another?

Ah, didn't know threads like that existed. Maybe we could link them in the PK directory for easy reference?

http://i511.photobucket.com/albums/s351/thenation_bucket/whowatches.jpg
gambling? @ Sgp turf club? :confused:

yea... singapore jockey races are quite popular overseas... :weep:

aik? tot hk's races lagi more hot?

got dog races somemore...

since when u into gambling? :confused:

Ah, didn't know threads like that existed. Maybe we could link them in the PK directory for easy reference?

well, i dont mind the hassle of linking up.

but hw many people in here(esp. the newbies), will read before posting?

needless to say explore the whole SBF.com....

I'm looking for a 2004 or later Shadow400/750. It would be awesome if its black. Cash deal.

Anyone have friends selling or see in a bike shop, give me a beep.

(its kind of tough to go window shopping for a bike when you are bikeless)

psst: nick name "herculie" is trying to upgrade from his shadow400.

still in progress as he is trying for class 2 licence.

well, i dont mind the hassle of linking up.

but hw many people in here(esp. the newbies), will read before posting?

needless to say explore the whole SBF.com....

true, well anyway the info is already in SBF, no point linking it up and sticky it, if the person can read thru sticky, im sure he can even troll thru the rules and regulation forum....if he even knows how to, so at the end of the day, they ask, then someone with the knowledge help out loh...

imagine when we started out in forum, know nothing we asked, they answered same, theres no shortcut to gaining knowledge, if there is, i think the whole education would be humanless, read from textbook and test by computers....simple and cost effective, but wysiwyg only...

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

true, well anyway the info is already in SBF, no point linking it up and sticky it, if the person can read thru sticky, im sure he can even troll thru the rules and regulation forum....if he even knows how to, so at the end of the day, they ask, then someone with the knowledge help out loh...

imagine when we started out in forum, know nothing we asked, they answered same, theres no shortcut to gaining knowledge, if there is, i think the whole education would be humanless, read from textbook and test by computers....simple and cost effective, but wysiwyg only...

& so I wonder, who had went thru the stuffs I've created since I stepped up?

Thou not as beautifully done, like what JJB or Arjen had did, but at least I tried my best.

well, its a process that goes round & round, never ending, until the day He comes to claim back the mother earth.

I've said it before, & I'll say it again, there's God knows how many people with infinity types of characters out there.

&, its always hard to satisfy, even one.

Agreed, not many will read through the thread. My thinking is that it will be easier to refer people to a sticky in the PK forum when they ask for help.

Truth to be told, thou Im(I guess) equipt with what to do I.C.E.(In Case of Emergency), I dont even know if I'll be able to execute it diligently at the time of incident.

Its ok bro, wont be sticking a link there.(Thou may not phase out the possiblility to stick it one day.)

Its either linking the enquirer where to read abt, or, reply in whatever we know.

Prefer to keep the PK Directory just soley for Phantom infos & issues, since there's already a Legality & Regulations Related section.

Sure thing. Need to keep in mind that there's such threads in that section in case it's needed in the future...

there is a 2010 shadow phantom 750... any interest...? :confused:

I am looking for a used bike, not the latest model.

psst: nick name "herculie" is trying to upgrade from his shadow400.

still in progress as he is trying for class 2 licence.

Noted with thanks. I'm in no hurry to get a bike. It has to be the 'right' deal for me to get back OTR.

he say apparently got deep scratch near bottom of fender which need to be patch.

he initially ask for 300, in the end we settle for 180.

Is the price okay?

he say apparently got deep scratch near bottom of fender which need to be patch.

Is the price okay?

very reasonable from the photos and his description, it doesn't get any cheaper already....i think he already gave way, pay him the money, whether he does the repair or not its another story, but rmb u guys need to write an agreement stating the date of accident, time, venue, and that ur reimbursing him the damage cost, there after no insurance claims shall be made against or initiated by either party...u sign, he sign, then get a person over 21 yrs old to be witness when u both sign the agreement, simple....

let that be a lesson learnt, its good ur learning thru paying money rather than paying it with injuries or worse still your life...learn the lesson, file it up in your mind, and enjoy ur biking career to come...

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

very reasonable from the photos and his description, it doesn't get any cheaper already....i think he already gave way, pay him the money, whether he does the repair or not its another story, but rmb u guys need to write an agreement stating the date of accident, time, venue, and that ur reimbursing him the damage cost, there after no insurance claims shall be made against or initiated by either party...u sign, he sign, then get a person over 21 yrs old to be witness when u both sign the agreement, simple....

let that be a lesson learnt, its good ur learning thru paying money rather than paying it with injuries or worse still your life...learn the lesson, file it up in your mind, and enjoy ur biking career to come...

yea most impt is the agreement.

Best u type out yourself 1st, print out 3 copies. 1 for u, 1 for him, 1 for just inc ase the 1st or 2nd copy is dirty.

Remember to get down his details from his NRIC so u can have his address.

This is to keep u save from him going to his insurers after u pay him money.

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k129/ckoonyin/ThenandNowver2a.jpg
aik? tot hk's races lagi more hot?

got dog races somemore...

since when u into gambling? :confused:

dog races are found in macau... not hk...

sigh... followed my grandpa to the "zoo"... only to realise that there is only one kind of animal on display... :sian:

and it wasn't long before I have proven myself hopeless at anything related to luck... :weep:

my money... :cry:

from 'typical prices for phantom repairs n mods'

haha, hasnt been hiding.

had been reading quietly all along. (:

miss me uh, beep me for coffee! lol.

tday damn stressed out ah, bout my bike stuff..

1) new fender project failed

2) electric start died

3) licence plate fell off

4) bought wrong screw&nuts

5) riding specs crushed by 3 cars infront of me

6) fml.

reply in chitchat thread bah. (:

Icic, sounds like you got hit by a bad case of 'suay-ness' bro, den must bath with flowers liao lor! Hahahah... Seriously let's catch up for coffee one of this evening lah. Cheers!

Don't do it to others what you don't want others to do to you! God bless! :cheers:

Is the price okay?

yea most impt is the agreement.

Best u type out yourself 1st, print out 3 copies. 1 for u, 1 for him, 1 for just inc ase the 1st or 2nd copy is dirty.

Remember to get down his details from his NRIC so u can have his address.

This is to keep u save from him going to his insurers after u pay him money.

Agree with Hamster & ckoonyin that a written agreement must be done up so as to avoid further claims. Some drivers can be very nasty and will do all sorts of weird/funny things. My wife was knocked down by a taxi and the taxi man changed his story completely (can even change the location of the accident hor!!!) and we are still fighting the case. So protect yourself well bro! Cheers!

Edited by pureice68

Don't do it to others what you don't want others to do to you! God bless! :cheers:

I am looking for a used bike, not the latest model.

Noted with thanks. I'm in no hurry to get a bike. It has to be the 'right' deal for me to get back OTR.

woa.. must be something that'll really trickle u sia..

sigh... followed my grandpa to the "zoo"... only to realise that there is only one kind of animal on display... :sian:

and it wasn't long before I have proven myself hopeless at anything related to luck... :weep:

i tink i see too much tv or movie from hk liao... & then fail to listen properly when they are saying abt the country...

so... what animal is on display?

woa.. must be something that'll really trickle u sia..

i tink i see too much tv or movie from hk liao... & then fail to listen properly when they are saying abt the country...

so... what animal is on display?

i guess he went to strip club with his grandpa ?:p

oops... \m/

The animal must be horse right? :D

Cannot be Thai girl, oops I meant Tiger right? :cheeky: