Enlisting NS wit SPF

Darkness19

Hey guys,i am enlisted with SPF tis december at home team academy(old chua chu kang road) just checking wit u guys who served NS wit SPF tat aft the three mths BMT,they will post u to a department izzit?hw many different departments r there for posting?what is the difference between serving the army & SPF,care to share ur experiences wit SPF, Thanks Guys for the help & informations :cheeky:

Four Wheels Move The Body,Two Wheels Move The Soul

• Replies 1.8k

Hey guys,i am enlisted with SPF tis december at home team academy(old chua chu kang road) just checking wit u guys who served NS wit SPF tat aft the three mths BMT,they will post u to a department izzit?hw many different departments r there for posting?what is the difference between serving the army & SPF,care to share ur experiences wit SPF, Thanks Guys for the help & informations :cheeky:
I'm not from SPF..Have got many friends servin NS with SPF..

I find that those that did 6mths as recruit seem to come out a better person as compared to the new system servin 3months recruit..Seems like after the 3months as a recruit they still come out as devils..No offence its just based on what I've observed..:cheeky:

Hello there!

NSF from SPF here, currently slated to ORD on 12.12.2007! Highly likely you're enlisting one day after I get my pink IC back! Gotta tell you one thing though.. Be it you serve it out in the Army, Police or Civil Defence, view everything with a positive mindset and I assure you, the 2 years will give you lotsa great memories!

If you're riding into HTA, there are bike lots within, for you to park your motorbike. Highly unadvisable for you to ride in on your first day. Registration, pledge followed immediately by Physical Training the moment your parents leave the place. My batch at Old Police Academy, we ended up doing "Mass Calisthenics" in our walk-in jeans and t-shirts. I don't know about logistics now, but it took 3 days before we got out PT attire; etc.

10 days of confinement.

You'll get your "mangkok" haircut on the first day. Prepare $2 for the cut and lotsa shampoo cos they reuse the blades. So the itch! You''ll be divided into "Squads" and not "Platoons" as in the Army. Highly likely separation between the ITE and Poly/JC grads into different squads. Seniors will keep disturbing you with "Mangkok", everywhere you go.

If you're going into the PTP phase aka "Prep Course", be prepared for "Mass Calisthenics" 3 times a day. It's basically a nice word put into place for the Field Instructors (FI) for keep on giving you rounds of push-ups after push-ups. In the Army, the command is "Half-left down, half-right down!" for push-ups. In the Police, its "To your right palms down, to your left palms down!"

Hang in there.

Bring lots of coins too, to get canned drinks from the vending machines located at the different Companies. Training's not that gruelling. Lights out at 2230hrs.

When it comes to vocation, I chose NPCO (NPC Officer) and got it. I was originally supposed to go into OCT (Officer Cadet), but I rejected it (I'm not trying to show off aight!). The prospects of being an OCT is that you train for a further 9 months after the 3 months of Basic Police Training (BPT), after which you end up doing paperwork for the rest of your National Service stint. You learn nothing.

After 3 months of BPT, got into NPCO and went for another 3 months course in HTA. Total of 6 months. After which I was posted to 'J' Division. On the ground, you learn lots of things and I can assure you that some of these things, you will never get to learn anywhere else. You get into real life problems/situations faced by real people and try to help them as best as you can. You see things that people cannot and will not.

If you end up being a Staff Assistant (SA) or Station Security Officer (SSO), say hello to Brain-deadness.

Plenty of frustrations.

Enjoy your training. ORD-O! :angel:

Sorry for the long rambling. PM me if you need any help!

For the certainty of death and the knowledge of life's fragility, makes it worth living.

Hello there!

NSF from SPF here, currently slated to ORD on 12.12.2007! Highly likely you're enlisting one day after I get my pink IC back! Gotta tell you one thing though.. Be it you serve it out in the Army, Police or Civil Defence, view everything with a positive mindset and I assure you, the 2 years will give you lotsa great memories!

If you're riding into HTA, there are bike lots within, for you to park your motorbike. Highly unadvisable for you to ride in on your first day. Registration, pledge followed immediately by Physical Training the moment your parents leave the place. My batch at Old Police Academy, we ended up doing "Mass Calisthenics" in our walk-in jeans and t-shirts. I don't know about logistics now, but it took 3 days before we got out PT attire; etc.

10 days of confinement.

You'll get your "mangkok" haircut on the first day. Prepare $2 for the cut and lotsa shampoo cos they reuse the blades. So the itch! You''ll be divided into "Squads" and not "Platoons" as in the Army. Highly likely separation between the ITE and Poly/JC grads into different squads. Seniors will keep disturbing you with "Mangkok", everywhere you go.

If you're going into the PTP phase aka "Prep Course", be prepared for "Mass Calisthenics" 3 times a day. It's basically a nice word put into place for the Field Instructors (FI) for keep on giving you rounds of push-ups after push-ups. In the Army, the command is "Half-left down, half-right down!" for push-ups. In the Police, its "To your right palms down, to your left palms down!"

Hang in there.

Bring lots of coins too, to get canned drinks from the vending machines located at the different Companies. Training's not that gruelling. Lights out at 2230hrs.

When it comes to vocation, I chose NPCO (NPC Officer) and got it. I was originally supposed to go into OCT (Officer Cadet), but I rejected it (I'm not trying to show off aight!). The prospects of being an OCT is that you train for a further 9 months after the 3 months of Basic Police Training (BPT), after which you end up doing paperwork for the rest of your National Service stint. You learn nothing.

After 3 months of BPT, got into NPCO and went for another 3 months course in HTA. Total of 6 months. After which I was posted to 'J' Division. On the ground, you learn lots of things and I can assure you that some of these things, you will never get to learn anywhere else. You get into real life problems/situations faced by real people and try to help them as best as you can. You see things that people cannot and will not.

If you end up being a Staff Assistant (SA) or Station Security Officer (SSO), say hello to Brain-deadness.

Plenty of frustrations.

Enjoy your training. ORD-O! :angel:

Sorry for the long rambling. PM me if you need any help!

thanks bro for the informations,anyway hw many different vocations r there for posting,they allow everyone to chose which vocation they wan to go?all vocation r office hr work izzit? :cheeky:

as i've mentioned, there are 32 units to be posted to.. depends on they put you as a 'staff assistant' or 'NPCO' or 'SSO - damn boring' ..

~ The Most Dangerous Practice - Tailgating. Accidents can be avoided if drivers Know how to Tailgate ~

wadafark: haha.. i assumed you're 122th intake one ritee.. I believed u kena called 'Mangkok' by me too cos i'm from 121th.. lol.. U also spend abt 1mth in the old Tracom rite..

Comparing HTA and old TRACOM, i prefer OLD TRACOM.. becus HTA look like a sch campus!! everything so NEW... Unlike Old tracom, at least there's many STORIES and really that happened to some of my squadmates..

'J' div NPCO... ur dy cmdr changing soon worr... David arul coming to my side..

~ The Most Dangerous Practice - Tailgating. Accidents can be avoided if drivers Know how to Tailgate ~

so the only uniform will be wearing is the white shirt & blue pants izzit?

The white shirt n blue pants attire is the so called walking out attire or when u r on light duty .

Anyway , m from the 100th intake .

The white shirt n blue pants attire is the so called walking out attire or when u r on light duty .

Anyway , m from the 100th intake .

so u mean the white shirt & blue pants u will only wear when booking out?so when u r posted to a unit ur uniform will change?

wah wah wah this thread v useful to me too! im entering in december too! 11 Dec to be exact. By the way, isit advisable for me to bring in my camera phone or get a phone which is cam-less?

According to my fren:

1. 2 weeks Confinement

2. Only Squad IC, Room IC and some **** IC are allowed to bring in their HP charger for easy communication with OC for direct instructions. if not selected as IC, advisable to buy extra batt for the two weeks ba

3. When you book out, you must wear your book out attire ( white short sleeve + belt + pants + boots)

4. Sandal or slipper would be distributed to you. (So isit advisable for me not to bring a pair )

But are we allowed to ride our bike? cuz the letter discourage us to ride it.

any more pointers to take note? I'm actually eager to enter..wohoo!

If I go Forward, Follow me

If I hesitate, Push me

If they kill me, Avenge me

If I'm a traitor, Kill me

I ORD-ed 3 years ago... :angel:

i ord-ed 4yrs ago.

ok.. waiting for the next one who ord-ed before me to quote me.

I ORDed 10 years and 10 months ago... :cheer:

so u mean the white shirt & blue pants u will only wear when booking out?so when u r posted to a unit ur uniform will change?

Its walking out attire , when posted out to units , u will be wearing the normal police uniforms . Unless u r posted to specialist units like SOC, TP or PCG , in which their uniforms r different from normal Police officers .

Anyway , TP n VC oso white shirt n blue pants leh .

wadafark: haha.. i assumed you're 122th intake one ritee.. I believed u kena called 'Mangkok' by me too cos i'm from 121th.. lol.. U also spend abt 1mth in the old Tracom rite..

Comparing HTA and old TRACOM, i prefer OLD TRACOM.. becus HTA look like a sch campus!! everything so NEW... Unlike Old tracom, at least there's many STORIES and really that happened to some of my squadmates..

'J' div NPCO... ur dy cmdr changing soon worr... David arul coming to my side..

Lol! You got everything right there, bro. Yeah David Scott Arul. Heh. No doubt Old Tracom is so much better. Always woke up in the morning feeling' damn fresh. The place is just so very nostalgic.

You signed on regular?

Camera phones are fine. Try to get permission from your OC to bring in a digital camera. Take pictures throughout your BPT for use during your Passing Out Dinner. All squads will have a picture montage.

For the certainty of death and the knowledge of life's fragility, makes it worth living.

wah wah wah this thread v useful to me too! im entering in december too! 11 Dec to be exact. By the way, isit advisable for me to bring in my camera phone or get a phone which is cam-less?

According to my fren:

1. 2 weeks Confinement

2. Only Squad IC, Room IC and some **** IC are allowed to bring in their HP charger for easy communication with OC for direct instructions. if not selected as IC, advisable to buy extra batt for the two weeks ba

3. When you book out, you must wear your book out attire ( white short sleeve + belt + pants + boots)

4. Sandal or slipper would be distributed to you. (So isit advisable for me not to bring a pair )

But are we allowed to ride our bike? cuz the letter discourage us to ride it.

any more pointers to take note? I'm actually eager to enter..wohoo!

Dont ride when you report for enlistment..

YOu are only able to ride when they allow you to do so..most probably after the confinement, during the next book in...

BMW R1200GS Adventure 2012 'Alpine White' FBG3465L

wat do i need to bring along wit me on the day of enlistment?wat r the stuff they will give it to u? :cheeky:

Underwear.

Washing powder (washing machine available. But hand-wash is encouraged)

Clothes scrubber.

Toiletries (toothbrush, paste, soap, shampoo, shaver).

Slippers.

A small padlock! (those darn HTA doors can be opened easily with a hangar)

Talking bout that, hangars.

Snake powder.

Extra handphone battery.

Titbits (biscuits would be good)

Clothes for sleeping.

Nail-cutter.

Books (plenty of reading time)

MP3 Player.

Yoko-yoko muscle ointment.

Panadol.

That's all I can think of at the moment! A good rule of thumb would be to go from your head to your toe for the necessities.

Please note that items not written here would be provided to you by SPF. E.g: Shorts, PT Shirt, Shoes, etc.

Underwear.

Washing powder (washing machine available. But hand-wash is encouraged)

Clothes scrubber.

Toiletries (toothbrush, paste, soap, shampoo, shaver).

Slippers.

A small padlock! (those darn HTA doors can be opened easily with a hangar)

Talking bout that, hangars.

Snake powder.

Extra handphone battery.

Titbits (biscuits would be good)

Clothes for sleeping.

Nail-cutter.

Books (plenty of reading time)

MP3 Player.

Yoko-yoko muscle ointment.

Panadol.

That's all I can think of at the moment! A good rule of thumb would be to go from your head to your toe for the necessities.

Please note that items not written here would be provided to you by SPF. E.g: Shorts, PT Shirt, Shoes, etc.

thanks bro for ur help,but anyway wat is snake powder?can wear hm clothing when slping at nite?MP3 player is allow? :cheeky:

It's a brand of powder popular amongst NSF's. Available in Original and Lavender. Yes and yes. You may wear home clothes and also bring in an MP3 player.

Whilst going through the NPCO course, some of us even brought in portable DVD players to watch movies. Power sockets are available in the bunks, just don't get caught though!

I ORDed 10 years and 10 months ago... :cheer:

hhhaha..u old bird lah!! kuku kuku~ :p :cheeky:

8 out of 10 of my frenz enlisted into HTA lohz!!! only 2 went into army o_O

now i also scared arh..dunnnoe i will get in HTA or army :sian: