Originally posted by alpha82@Aug 20 2006, 08:31 PM

Hello guys. am about to get a 05-R6 soon after i sell off my bike.

i'd like to enquire

1) Anyone knows what are the difference between the 06-R6 and the 05-R6 apart from the bore size?

2) What are the common problems? (Eg. honda has rectifier, battery, coil problem. etc...)

3) Also, how come with the new R6 model out, there is still this R6 S-model?

4) Lastly, what is tankslap uh? =p sheesh... dunno what this is... only happen to big bikes uh? don't think i experience b4 on my cbr400...

Thank you for time taken to assist... hope to sell off my bike soon and join u guys on outings.

Hmmm...

nobody free to spend just 5 mins to help me?

030803 - 240806 CBR400RR FL211*U

010906 - 301207 2005 YZF-R6 FY98*8M

120115 - 161015 2006 FZ600N. FBA828**

161015 - ?????? 2006 VFR800A. FBE81**

• Replies 29.8k

Originally posted by keOnni@Aug 21 2006, 03:52 PM

atuallie i got a better way.. when u kena tank slap.. jus pop a wheelie.. :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

hmmm... according to the articles and the clip given earlier, i infer that tankslap happens when the front weight is lighter than the rear weight?

so if the front wheel lifts up frm the ground a little, instability occurs and tankslaps happens?

hmm... dunno. still trying to find out more about this so that i can prevent it when i upgrade.... sheesh.

Originally posted by keOnni@Aug 21 2006, 03:52 PM

atuallie i got a better way.. when u kena tank slap.. jus pop a wheelie.. :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

better yet.. juz wheelie all the way.. hahaha~ :angel:

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

Originally posted by Wayang@Aug 21 2006, 04:45 PM

better yet.. juz wheelie all the way.. hahaha~ :angel:

And after that you need to worry about if you will kena tank slap when you land. So do a end do after the wheelie to shift all weight to the front. o_O

I think the best way to avoid the tank slap is to get a good steering damper.

hmm.. guys no one interested in bitubo damper mah? cheaper den the scotts one..

CBR600F4I SPORT --- JAN 2005 - JUNE 2006

YZF R6 '06 --- JULY 2006 - AUGUST 2006 (STOLEN)

GSXR 1000 K6 --- DECEMBER 2006 - ???

"char bor only know 3 bikes, sp, rvf, r1"
Originally posted by HamsterZ@Aug 21 2006, 12:43 AM

glad you are ok... had the same exact tank slap on the 2nd day of bike collection. Freaked out big time. My mother/father/good fren etc..etc flashed through my head. Boy those movie scenes are real in this sense man!!

I purposely went past 220kmh, with t-shirt & soft pants, over the crest (same place as R6ex mentioned) to test out the high speed comp capabilites. Upon impact, it oscillates with increasing magnitude till i heard multiple screechings from the front tires in the same frequency as the slap frequency. which ended up thumb hitting the tank. Can't do much as it is already throwing my body left n right.. can't even thigh grab tank, or elbows lock knees. Basically, after auto close throttle, it settled back slowly. Brakes didn't work also in the first pull of the levers in the bend, so kanah gravel on the right just beside the barrier. slide slide.. heng no buang.. Ended up sitting by the road for 20~30mins to catch back my mind, & rode like 80kmh to perling.

At that time, I am between 58~60kg. suspension is stock and not touched. (bad bad me... )

So.... to add on to Wayang's info,

1. take the R6 speed up step by step.

2. get ur suspension tweaked for ur weight n riding style.

3. if kanah tank slap, kiap ur tank tight, but NOT the handlebars. Its not saying that trying to counter the forces is wrong. But the thing is, at the tank slap's high frequency, there is no gurantee the forces you apply (in order to stop/reduce the slap is exactly opp of the forces. It might just be in the same oscillating direction and end up making it worst. Ease the throttle, and either follow the slapping flow, or lock your elbows to your knees and let the bars oscillate on your "loose hands.

After sorting ride sag, comp n rebound, it's better. But some places like after GP esso to perling, 1st lane (most right) under a flyover (slight left bend) where there are "black" patches, it still wobbles along the bend at prob 180~200kmh. And I only found it out when i was riding on that lane in the day time. I can't imagine what would happen if i didn't see it at night!

oh.. by the way, no brakes is due to disc flex which pushes the caliper pistons back due to the magnitude of the slap....Just pump a few times on the levers and it should be fine.. A pointer I learnt from teepeephobe :smile:

Oh.. i am waiting reply from Scotts on my order queries. I finally managed to save some $$ after 4 mths .. argrhh...

Current price is USD409.95 i think, excluding frieght n GST. You want to join in? Grim reaper? u also on?

Yeah count me in on the buy hamsterz. i want one too..so how much does it cost in total, i heard fruitcake bought the scotts already. and he also installed a full akrapovic system..

I ordered my full akra too..waiting for it.

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i179/vjjam/SBFpic3.jpg

Bikes Owned Previously : Aprilia RS125 / Suzuki GSX 400RR / Aprilia RS250 / Honda Phantom TA150 / Yamaha YZF-R1 2004 / Yamaha X1 2005

Bikes Owned Currently : Yamaha YZF-R6 2006

Sponsorship by : SPA TREASURES

Hi guys my frens R6 06 have been stolen at tampines do keep a look out for FBA6880H

Looking For R6 08 anyone selling?

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i177/luthertoh/PGsepang.jpg

Kori aka Daniel's R606 white/red has been stolen at his place's multi storey

car park at 708, Tampines St 71.

Please help him to look out! I don't have his bikes number!

sh*t man!!! :mad:

http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m87/fruitcakepablohoney/DSC02554-1.jpg
Originally posted by WW@Aug 21 2006, 05:06 PM

And after that you need to worry about if you will kena tank slap when you land. So do a end do after the wheelie to shift all weight to the front. o_O

eh.. oso can :sweat:

sianz..

I ****ING HATE ****IN MUTHA ****ING THIEVES~~~! :angry:

:gun: thieves

AAAaaahhhh~~~! DIEEEEEEEEEEE~~~~~~! :mad:

hmmm.. how come my posting got so many stars ? :cheeky: hahahaha~ :lol:

Originally posted by GrimReaper@Aug 21 2006, 07:54 PM

Yeah count me in on the buy hamsterz. i want one too..so how much does it cost in total, i heard fruitcake bought the scotts already. and he also installed a full akrapovic system..

I ordered my full akra too..waiting for it.

all the fast guys

woa~ ambra....

u're also fast urself...

saw u at PG track... omg... fast lah~~

teach me a few pointers man! i'm very VERY new to track....

Originally posted by keOnni@Aug 20 2006, 07:06 PM

riding r6 le ar?

most probably getting it by mid of next month

cos i retaining my no. plate so need some time to collect.

http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/3593/e0fs0995lj4.jpg

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

jun 04 - mar 05------>Yamaha Wr200 FQ3550Z

jun 05 - sept 06------>Honda RVF 399cc NC35 FP 658 Y

sept 06 - may 08------>Yamaha R6 600cc '06 FBA8609M

may 08 - dec 08 ----------> Honda CBR600RR '08 & Honda Wave I

hey amba u riding r6 too huh? or its maryjane's?

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

hi guys, my bike got stolen between the time frame of 3.30am - 8.30pm on the 21st august at the mscp of Blk 716A Tampines St 71. my bike number is FBA 6880 H red/white R6 '06 with fender eliminator and motovation sliders.. right side has a bit of scratches but touched up due to fall becoz of U-Turn.. now dun have any mood to do anything.. haiz.. kindly contact me at 91899972 if anyone spot it anywhere.. any help would be deeply appreciated..

CBR600F4I SPORT --- JAN 2005 - JUNE 2006

YZF R6 '06 --- JULY 2006 - AUGUST 2006 (STOLEN)

GSXR 1000 K6 --- DECEMBER 2006 - ???

"char bor only know 3 bikes, sp, rvf, r1"

ok will look out for u..

have u made a police report??

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]

Originally posted by Luciferwayne@Aug 21 2006, 11:08 PM

he using maryjane's R6..

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]

Originally posted by Wayang@Aug 21 2006, 09:48 PM

hmmm.. how come my posting got so many stars ? :cheeky: hahahaha~ :lol:

think they block out all the vulgarities..

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]

guys..

lets not let ourselves be easy target for such thieves.. damn these ****ers to eternal hell man~~!

better cover up, and use disc lock to secure our bike.. :smile:

and take a peek once in awhile..

[Jan03 - NSR150SP]

[Mar04 - RVF400RT]

[Apr05 - PIAGGIO X8]

[sep05 - YZF-R6]

[May07 - SilverWing]

[Apr10 - VFR800 ABS]

[Dec10 - Tmax]

Will be joining the R6 family soon. Getting the 06 R6. Any pointers about the bike?

Anything I should take note or contemplate of changing like tyres or brakes?

Would like to know more from you guys.

P.S.

Damn those thieves, so near some more. I'm also getting my R6 in 3 weeks. Is the R6 now the hot bike to steal now? Better get my alarm ready and disc locks ready....

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4108/4834745460_c32390dc33_m.jpg

1994-1997 - Piaggio LM150

1997-1999 - Honda NSR 150 SP

2002-2004 - Honda Super4 VtecII

2004-2006 - Yamaha R1 2004

2006-2008 - Yamaha R6 2007

2008-2010 - Suzuki GSXR1000 K8

2010-Current - Yamaha FZ1S 2006