guys..

i am no track expert but i have been to pasir gudang quite a no of times. from my own experience i find tat when i use 30 psi front n rear the handling of the bike becomes real sluggish.

so i have tried using street pressure on the track 36psi front n rear and i found no real issues wif lack of grip. of cos i wasnt near lap record pace i was doing ard 2.00 mins flat which i feel is pretty decent for a leisure track goer.

for my last track session i decided to try an in between pressure.. 34 psi front n rear.. again no issues wif grip but suspension became a lil loose..

my qns is has anyone experience a drop off in handling from using a certain tire pressure.. perhaps too high or too low ? becos i think its definitely not a one pressure suits all situation.. i'm sure diff riders wil have diff optimum tire pressure.. and tat might change too as skill levels increase..

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

• Replies 29.8k

guys..

i am no track expert but i have been to pasir gudang quite a no of times. from my own experience i find tat when i use 30 psi front n rear the handling of the bike becomes real sluggish.

so i have tried using street pressure on the track 36psi front n rear and i found no real issues wif lack of grip. of cos i wasnt near lap record pace i was doing ard 2.00 mins flat which i feel is pretty decent for a leisure track goer.

for my last track session i decided to try an in between pressure.. 34 psi front n rear.. again no issues wif grip but suspension became a lil loose..

my qns is has anyone experience a drop off in handling from using a certain tire pressure.. perhaps too high or too low ? becos i think its definitely not a one pressure suits all situation.. i'm sure diff riders wil have diff optimum tire pressure.. and tat might change too as skill levels increase..

Wat tires were u on when u used these pressure?

A different Make & Model provides different feedback & actions.

Diff make have diff compound/radius/carcass design..etc.

And Yes..different rider may different riding style & technique goin abt the track so they may have Personal Preferred/Tested/Comfortable pressure.

Ur suspension setting do plays a part too..but if juz leisure ride,stock setting should be safe.

Experimenting works too...gotta have a spare air compressor or manual pump lah..hehehe:p

-Contact - [email protected] / +65 83121946

-Add me @ FaceBook = Saitoh Hajime

Support Local Brand,

Support Local Races,

Support Local Racers..!!:thumb:

..But had to treat him lots of drinks,Angkat him a bit,Smell a lot of smoke as i can only follow him from behind,polish his R6/Spark & clean his riding attire..Haiz...:faint::faint::faint::faint::faint:)

so,??when u gonna wash my X1??? :lol:

No problem..urs juz send to JB banafe wash..i pay Rm7..hehehehe..

But ur R6 or CBR 6 u want me wash hehehehe..Got free test ride?:p

Support Local Brand,

Support Local Races,

rein: dunlop d208rr.. they r a pair of street tires.. i dun use dot race tires becos i'm concerned i'll use up their heat cycles n render them useless..

oh.. i dun change tire pressures in the same session.. i'll juz take note everytime i go back and make small changes for the next time..

wat i practice for every TD is dat i will pump both tyres 40psi in singapore juz b4 leaving for JB.normal rd use may b at 36/38 front n 38/40 rear...when i reach PG pits,let tyres n bike cool dwn.abt 1/2hr b4 goin on track,i set it to 28psi front n 27psi rear at cold.basically tis is up to individual.used to ride on 30-30.

other riders might hv diffr opinion on tis matter.a newbie on track,correct me if i m wrong.juz my sharing bit.:shy::cheers::angel:

Based on Pirelli's wat i recommend for new or not to aggressive riding at P.G is 30 front/29 rear.Set at cold.(wat u do is actually set it before ur bike move off from home).Then wat u could do when u stop u could measure the increase in pressure when at hot.(should be around 34~36 front/ 33~36 rear).

So next time u go PG juz set the pressure higher to save tire wear for Road riding & bring it down once u hit PG without waiting for the tire to cool down.

U could use cmR6 recommendation (28 front/27 rear at cold) too as i set the same pressure on my Pirelli Diablo SC2.(i the other day saw cmR6 goin very fast so i had to persuade him to give me tips on how he went so fast & his tire wear was still great..But had to treat him lots of drinks,Angkat him a bit,Smell a lot of smoke as i can only follow him from behind,polish his R6/Spark & clean his riding attire..Haiz...:faint::faint::faint::faint::faint:)

Personally I find the wear better & the grip quality is still not compromised.

But do watch out for the 1st few corners when u head out from the Pit.the tires will need to generated some heat to get the pressure up..

These is for air filled tires..

If using N2(nitrogen) its different as the heat generated is lesser.

Juz my opinion.:thumb:

guys..

thanx bros.. very2 useful infos indeed.. currently i just changed to fresh racetecs.. will try the technique and pressures given..:thumb:

2004-2007: Kawasaki KRR

2007-2008: Yamaha R6 02 & Honda Wave

2008-2011: Yamaha R6 07 & Honda Wave

2012-2013: Hond CBR600 & Honda Wave & KTM 640

rein: dunlop d208rr.. they r a pair of street tires.. i dun use dot race tires becos i'm concerned i'll use up their heat cycles n render them useless..

oh.. i dun change tire pressures in the same session.. i'll juz take note everytime i go back and make small changes for the next time..

The Inputs on the dunlops is on the Straights or in the Turns Wayang?

The dunlops i ever used are the Qualifier as the R6 was stock fitted & the BT39SS on my race Kupchai..hehehehe..

I had not much inputs on the Qualifier..(use it for less than 2 days)

Great for street riding but :cheeky: Track i donno..

But from the Malaysian guys that i know that race with the Dunlops GP race tires commented before having pressure of 27~30 at cold..

They did mention stick like glue in the corner but on the straight the tires go Bonkers..

But i think the Latest Dunlops have been re-engineered as the ARRC racers claims the tires are performing better.

Wait till World Moto2 commences i bet the Dunlop's will be even better.:thumb:

Support Local Brand,

Support Local Races,

rein:

the bike felt sluggish comin out of turns.. i need to force the bike upright which i felt was strange.. and slow tru the chicane as well.. right left transition

isnt bt39ss bridgestone tires ?

rein:

the bike felt sluggish comin out of turns.. i need to force the bike upright which i felt was strange.. and slow tru the chicane as well.. right left transition

isnt bt39ss bridgestone tires ?

Oppsss:cheeky:..sorry its TT900..khekehkehee..

Sluggish meaning no power??

possibilities-Wrong gearing/at very low rpm.

Ans:Improve better basic track riding Technique / Knowledge,U definately enjoy more.

Sluggish meaning handling??

Possibilities-Posture / front rebound soft return up very slow / front compression soft diving the front easily compensated with higher front tire pressure / Rear suspension set at soft so u set Rear tire higher pressure to compensated.(bike Suspension Setting / Geometry is screwed??)

As u lower both the tire pressure is trying to make the tires have more contact patch with the tarmac.(this fundamental is for the turns not straights ah)

more contact = more traction,more traction = bike stabile in turns.

BUT

More traction = tire Grip / life span shorter / become bald faster( hehehehe)

ANS:U can have the suspension check by a proper Suspension Tech or Mech.

Do a static & rider sag.These don cost much..

These are juz possibilities,there could be others too..

So take 1 thing at a time at ur own budget.

(i maybe wrong...hahahhahahhahaha):p:faint::p

Support Local Brand,

Support Local Races,

yes.. i have read up on suspension tech.. i have already adjusted the rider sag.. compression rebound have been tuned to my own preference.. which is more comfort n stability.. so its more biased towards road riding.. for the track i made no adjustment becos i was simply too lazy.. hahaha

actually a fellow forumer Hartholomew shed some insight on y i felt the sluggishness in the handling when i set the tire pressure too low.. turns out becos i'm not yet fast enuff or agressive enuff to generate the heat needed in the tires for it to be at the correct hot tire pressure.. i ended up riding a bike which felt the tires were under inflated.. so the bike felt realli lazy.. but when i raised the cold tire pressure higher.. i was able to get back the agility and grip felt quite ok.. no slippin nor sliding.. my style of riding is to be as smooth as possible.. set corner speed early.. and dial in the power progressively comin out of the turn..

.(i the other day saw cmR6 goin very fast so i had to persuade him to give me tips on how he went so fast & his tire wear was still great..But had to treat him lots of drinks,Angkat him a bit,Smell a lot of smoke as i can only follow him from behind,polish his R6/Spark & clean his riding attire..Haiz...:faint::faint::faint::faint::faint:)

if i remeber it correctly,it more likely d vice-versa bro....:p:faint::angel::cheeky::cheers::shy::thumb:

pc3 for 300.

yes.. i have read up on suspension tech.. i have already adjusted the rider sag.. compression rebound have been tuned to my own preference.. which is more comfort n stability.. so its more biased towards road riding.. for the track i made no adjustment becos i was simply too lazy.. hahaha

actually a fellow forumer Hartholomew shed some insight on y i felt the sluggishness in the handling when i set the tire pressure too low.. turns out becos i'm not yet fast enuff or agressive enuff to generate the heat needed in the tires for it to be at the correct hot tire pressure.. i ended up riding a bike which felt the tires were under inflated.. so the bike felt realli lazy.. but when i raised the cold tire pressure higher.. i was able to get back the agility and grip felt quite ok.. no slippin nor sliding.. my style of riding is to be as smooth as possible.. set corner speed early.. and dial in the power progressively comin out of the turn..

Agreed..:thumb:

I think Hart got it spot on..if u set at 30/30 front/rear, and u dun ride hard enuf to generate enuf heat..wat u will get is an underinflated tyres going ard the track..

Frequent track goers who ride hard enuf will find the heated 30/30 inflated to ard 35-36 due to air expansion juz nice.. :thumb:

From what i read frm an internet posting..a recommended expansion diff of ard 5 to 6 psi from cold is much desired..

Too little expansion, u will suffer frm cold tearing..too much expansion u will suffer hot tearing of the tyres..

Here's a link..hope u guys will find it useful..Tyre wear, suspension setting, even race day or track day data sheet for personal use.

http://www.feelthetrack.com/tire-wear.html

hey bro, Do u mind help me get a quotation from ur satellite racing team the HRC harness and ECU?

Its better if u can give me the specific product code..or the bike model and year.

Specific parts required etc..

Cos the ecu and harness comes in a bundle with many other parts..like speed sensor..ecu cd rom..ecu tuning harness..blah..blah..blah..

But i can order specific parts too... :thumb:

Its better if u can give me the specific product code..or the bike model and year.

Specific parts required etc..

Cos the ecu and harness comes in a bundle with many other parts..like speed sensor..ecu cd rom..ecu tuning harness..blah..blah..blah..

But i can order specific parts too... :thumb:

Cbr600 2007 Model, i believe what u can get from satellite racing Team should be grade 1 right. So u mind want to ask for me just the Harness and the ECU with the CD and Inter-face.

Or your website from Spiral????

Cbr600 2007 Model, i believe what u can get from satellite racing Team should be grade 1 right. So u mind want to ask for me just the Harness and the ECU with the CD and Inter-face.

Or your website from Spiral????

Nope..direct frm Japan..a Japanese satellite racing team with direct links with HRC.

Ok..I will ask for FIM and ST ecu and harness set together with cd and interface. Its not gonna be $600 as quoted above hor.. :cheeky::thumb:

FIM maybe the full race version..ST maybe the superstock version(comes with meter)

I'm not a HRC technician..haha, so tell me if I'm wrong.. :cheeky:

For 2007 600RR kit is not available according to HRC website..only 2008. I assume you want the 2008 ecu kit set? Cos 2007 and 2008 are compatible..Anyway I will ask for both 2007 & 2008..Pls refer link below..

http://world.honda.com/HRC/products/cbr600rr2008_kit/index.html

Edited by Rsexxyy
Nope..direct frm Japan..a Japanese satellite racing team with direct links with HRC.

Ok..I will ask for FIM and ST ecu and harness set together with cd and interface. Its not gonna be $600 as quoted above hor.. :cheeky::thumb:

FIM maybe the full race version..ST maybe the superstock version(comes with meter)

I'm not a HRC technician..haha, so tell me if I'm wrong.. :cheeky:

For 2007 600RR kit is not available according to HRC website..only 2008. I assume you want the 2008 ecu kit set? Cos 2007 and 2008 are compatible..Anyway I will ask for both 2007 & 2008..Pls refer link below..

http://world.honda.com/HRC/products/cbr600rr2008_kit/index.html

So am i right to say that what u mention about the Satellite racing are using the product from the given link?

Same Product same parts number???

If so i can say that those parts are not the better Grade they are just the HRC normal Grade which are release to public thats why there are cheaper then YEC.

Im looking for better Grade which are not release to public. From wat u mention i thought that ur Satellite team are using better Grade but to my disappointed.

great website r6sexxyy.. i read up some material from it b4 too.. i oso monitor my tire wear to check for abnormalities..

recently i oso read up a comparo on the dot race tires.. quite informative.. those lookin to get dot race tires might wanna take a look

http://www.motorcycle-usa.com/545/4924/Motorcycle-Article/2009-DOT-Race-Motorcycle-Tire-Shootout.aspx

So am i right to say that what u mention about the Satellite racing are using the product from the given link?

If so i can say that those parts are not the better Grade they are just the HRC normal Grade which are release to public thats why there are cheaper then YEC.

Im looking for better Grade which are not release to public. From wat u mention i thought that ur Satellite team are using better Grade but to my disappointed.

For a moment, I was happy for you.

http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s122/edmundino/avatar77_Artwork.jpgJimmy Chan #77 our mentor will always be in our hearts.... RIP

http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s122/edmundino/My%20Track%20Day%20Pictures/36052_477507261797_778161797_6619068_5697776_n.jpg

Agreed..:thumb:

I think Hart got it spot on..if u set at 30/30 front/rear, and u dun ride hard enuf to generate enuf heat..wat u will get is an underinflated tyres going ard the track..

Frequent track goers who ride hard enuf will find the heated 30/30 inflated to ard 35-36 due to air expansion juz nice.. :thumb:

From what i read frm an internet posting..a recommended expansion diff of ard 5 to 6 psi from cold is much desired..

Too little expansion, u will suffer frm cold tearing..too much expansion u will suffer hot tearing of the tyres..

Here's a link..hope u guys will find it useful..Tyre wear, suspension setting, even race day or track day data sheet for personal use.

http://www.feelthetrack.com/tire-wear.html

Personally i don rough em out/whack/ride agrresively the tire to :-

*generate heat

*Bring the pressure up to its optimization.

Previously during my Trackdays or Race weekends(can't afford tire warmers)

All i did was Excelerate hard & gradual hard braking on my warm up lap or sighting lap..

I still could keep pace with the pack & the tires were still able to hold with the follow thru..

I don believe roughing it up to heat/pressure up the tire..

I believe Dave Moss from Catalyst Reaction OR

Dave William his Producer in his OnTheThrottle show will recommend this too..

Read this LINK ------------->>>>>>>>>>http://www.sportrider.com/tips/146_0810_how_to_warm_up_new_tires/index.html

Direct From PIRELLI RACING MANAGER MOTORCYCLE DIVISION.

But ultimately i am not sayin or commeting who's Way is RIGHT or WRONG!!

Its like filling up petrol..U like Esso go ahead fill up ESSO,U like Shell go ahead fill up Shell..

End of the day u still get to ride ur bike around....khekhekhekheke:P:P:P:P:P

Support Local Brand,

Support Local Races,

Hi all R6 bros.

I'm torn between an R605 and an R606. I will be using this bike for quite sometime and will be committing to a bike shop for another 4-5 years max. I don't go touring nor do I use this bike for track, but I'm awed by its handling and sheer power. Would decide on either one by early Feb but I would hope that some kind souls would give me some tips and pointers on deciding which one to get.

Cheers~

Years from now, you will regret not the things you did but the things you didn't do ~ Ethelion

KTM - Ready To Race 2012

That to a certain extend is true..1st I don't know what grade they use from HRC for their race bikes, 2nd I told you to give me specific part no so that I can get a quote or if I can get them..The HRC link is something I give so that me, you and everybody has a reference since its the best thing I can refer from.

If you think top grade HRC ecu and harness kit exists..get that specific product code and give it to me..I check.

Personally i don rough em out/whack/ride agrresively the tire to :-

*generate heat

*Bring the pressure up to its optimization.

Previously during my Trackdays or Race weekends(can't afford tire warmers)

All i did was Excelerate hard & gradual hard braking on my warm up lap or sighting lap..

I still could keep pace with the pack & the tires were still able to hold with the follow thru..

I don believe roughing it up to heat/pressure up the tire..

I believe Dave Moss from Catalyst Reaction OR

Dave William his Producer in his OnTheThrottle show will recommend this too..

Read this LINK ------------->>>>>>>>>>http://www.sportrider.com/tips/146_0810_how_to_warm_up_new_tires/index.html

Direct From PIRELLI RACING MANAGER MOTORCYCLE DIVISION.

But ultimately i am not sayin or commeting who's Way is RIGHT or WRONG!!

Its like filling up petrol..U like Esso go ahead fill up ESSO,U like Shell go ahead fill up Shell..

End of the day u still get to ride ur bike around....khekhekhekheke:P:P:P:P:P

elo..bro!!! The man has spoken... :cheeky:

Yes, I also agree with you...I dun whack the tyres to get to my "optimum" pressure..I did the same thing as u..hard acceleration and braking to compress the tyres to generate heat..instead of riding hard thru the corners and stuffs..

After the tyres warmed up that way(still not to my desired pressure), then I can start to go faster and harder for a few laps to get to my desired pressure..after that its woohooo!!! :cheeky::thumb: