hi!

am new here, been interested in getting a cbr150 for ages, but I'm trying to compare the cbr150 and wr200, would love it if anyone had any tips to give! I found out that the difference in FC is huge, wr200 can go for the most 20km/l, but cbr150 can go for more than 40km/l? that's like 2full tanks of wr!

I know that these are two really different bikes, my initial idea was to get a cbr, because of the low FC, user/road friendly, etcetc, but my friends said it was too small for a 1.72m lanky person like me. and I've seen it at a shop, it looks fine really, just a lil skinnier than I expected.

then I tried the wr, which is kinda interesting, because I've always liked dirt bikes. but the maintenance is way higher considering the difference between it and the cbr. and not to mention, ++look factor on the road. hahahah (vain). but it's still pretty and more preferred by my biker friends, they said I suit the wr more.

1>> so that rounds off my question, cbr150 now then wait till 2A and get a drz (even though the FC is not much of a diff compared to the wr...) or just get a wr because I plainly like it? don't want maintenance to be a ***** and carry 2t oil everywhere I go. but considering I travel from yishun to bugis everyday for school, need to make the smarter choice for my wallet or my vanity.

all tips and comments appreciated.

2>> oh and also, if I do get a cbr, I noticed 2nd hand ones here are going for 2.4k to 2.6k. is it more worth it to get a 1st hand one, whack a down payment, and pay COI slowly for months after? I don't know yet if I will upgrade to a super4 or drz or whatever, yet, I might end up not even upgrading, but even if I do, I heard you can trade in your bike and continue paying COI for whatever bike you're getting. how worth it is this deal?

like I said, would appreciate if people would respond to this post. it's my first bike, that's why I'm asking so much. really need to know what's best. wahah.

thank you!

• Replies 30

a very good condition wr2 can give you 26-28km/l.

good condition 24-26km/l.

average normal condition 22-24km/l.

bad condition below 20km/l.

of course it depends whether the bike is correctly jetted anot.

a corrected jetted wr2 with a operated end-can is super powerful. very very torquey for city-riding.

i tried my friend's cbr150, it feels so underpowered to me.

but it should be very good as a transport bike, from what my friend tells me. he getting abit more than 30km/l only leh.

wr2

change 750ml of gear/engine oil. $10

change denso spark plug $2.50

wr2 have 2T pump mah, don't need top-up so often.

maybe once in 1.5-2 months. i like the power of a 2-stroke 200cc and the comfortable riding posture.

but be sure to get a good condition one.

those in bad condition really no power and not smooth, spoilt the name of wr2 man.

wr200 , i riding it now and i love it every moment, the power is there. but fuel coms not so good . and take note is a old bike so the may be some wear and tear parts to be replace. as for cbr150, i think is a good fuel com bike.:thumb:

hm, I calculated, from my house to school is roughly 17km. if the consumtion is really 20ish km/l, I can last for a good 10 days or so. each full tank is 20$ right. so around 60bucks lah/ month. ah but the love for the wr200.

anyone know about the 1st/2nd hand buying thing? is it worth it to get 1st hand and then trade it in, continue topping up? or should I save that for a future bike that I really wanna keep :o

get a xr125.. a trade off between both the cbr150 and wr200..

people sell it too ex... 3.5k or more, sigh >.

save petrol can go for cbr150.. for a better thrilling ride the wr200 wounld be great...

http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/ff17/bracken87/GSX1300RK8_BlackGray_2a292f.jpg

The future depends on what we do in the present:pray:

Hi sanntan,

i ride a wr. same height as you. (maybe your legs longer ^_^) stay in sembawang, work in boon lay. total riding distance everyday is about 52km. (if i dun go anywhere else) full tank can last me max 2.5 days or more. roughly, 52km X 2.5 = 130km (that's without using reserve fuel) full tank normally i paid around S$10. monthly i would use around S$100 (include misc travels around the island)

Engine Oil 1 - 1.5 months / 750ml S$5-7 (roughly)

2T 3 - 4 weeks / bottle S$>7 (i think)

that's all.

the rest of the maintenance is up to how much you love your bike.

And how much your bike loves you.

good thing. well. . . it's a dirtbike. the dirtier it is, the nicer it looks.

scratches and grim makes it smile.

manovering curbs and terrain is a breeze

duo sport machine, take it to some dirt to joyride and pop it back to the road as a transport. not to forget. the height is a plus point in jams to see further, hence can react faster.

if you have riden a mountain bike, it's the same.

(minus the pedalling, so you can imagine how nice it is.)

bad thing.

long bar might be a slight problem in manovering tight traffic

(skill and technique plays a part too. please get hand guards to protect your knuckles from side mirrors)

tip toe-ing is not exactly the most comfortable thing to do in jams.

raincoat and spare helmet storage is an issue.

(please dun attach a console box to your dirtbike. ^_^)

As claimed, There's a need to drive when we have a Family. But all that is needed to ride is Dream... Many are still dreaming about it.

if u rly luv riding, follow ur heart. u wont regret it and u'll enjoy the feeling while riding ur bike. however, if ur purpose of getting a bike is to purely avoid the hassles of public transport, and no passion for riding whatsoever, follow ur wallet.

The goal is not to set a fastest lap, it is to eventually win the race.

The problem with WR200 is that they are old beginners bikes. Therefore most of them are in rather bad condition because owners are beginners and they abuse their bikes not because they want to abuse, but because of lack of knowledge about bikes in general. By right, after buying WR200 you should take it to a good mechanic and spend quite a bit of money. Then you will enjoy it. But if you just buy it from a private seller and start riding it immediately, chances are you will be frustrated with constant mechanical problems.

From this point of view, CBR for one year and DRZ after sounds like a good idea.

i used to own a wr200 right after i passed, as mentioned above a rather old bike for a beginner, had lots of nonsensical small faults and maintenance $$$ to worry about especially for a student like you are currently right now. Then you will go around hearing fully synthetic 2T better, tempted to make the bike look better and etc.. and you start to spend more and more realising your allowance is highly drained.

If you have rich parents or you're working then it shouldnt be a problem. But if you're just engrossed in bike riding and studying it would really make you become a budget jones soon. Well overall it was a good experience and pretty good ride at the expense of my allowance.

my advise get a CBR150 for a headstart, less worries, less problems, more mileage and more pocket money for you to spend. I'm about same height as you and had tried my friend's cbr150 looks and rides fine, thought the bike looks a lil skinny.

thanks all for the comments! Have decided to try a wr for a while aft I pass. (if I pass!). if I can't get used to it and really eating my wallet (though I can claim petrol), I sell and get something else. heheh thanks all!

ride accordin to ur budget n wat u like.. not wat others wud like u to ride.. no pt payin juz to please others.. it shud be u payin to satisfy urself at ur own expense.. i'm short (1.64m) n used to ride a wr2.. many ppl say i'll suit riding a sports bike.. but my passion though.. today i'm still satisfied riding my drz.. =)

You Ain`t Ridin.. If It Ain`t Slidin..

http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k301/trialsin/siggie3.jpg

I like scramblers, to be honest. even though there's an impracticality of riding scramblers on Singapore roads, but I still like and prefer the feel of it than others! I've tried a cbr150. pretty, but skinny. only thing I like a bout it is the FC. haha. not really concerned about the speed etc, cos I wanna just cruise around. but a cruiser is out of the question.

would prefer good FC lah, but since I realised I can claim petrol, wr2 cheap cheap, can play around with it, should be ok. if it's not working out I sell lor. somemore I don't want to buy first hand 2b bike mah. since I intend on upgrading. even if I sell with COI also not worth my moneys... :p

thanks all~

p.s.: I love drz too!

DRZ LAR DA BEZ..!

back to topic.. get an xr2.. xr125.. dr2.. these scrammies are not as powerful as da ktm/wr2.. but this 4-strokers has very gd f/c.. rangin frm 30-35km/l.. n close to maintenance free.. do consider.. =)

yahoooo I passsedddd

question about wr2. why is it that when I'm going straight, it seems like the alignment is stuck pointing straight too? like a bit hard to turn the handlebar leh. does anyone know a reason or explanation for this? like there's a snap from no turn to turning. hm

and my bike..... seems to stall sometimes at gear one, clutched in. whyyy? so embarrassing at traffic lights. -_- then kick like idiot.

adjust your idle speed, not embrassing, it is dangerous. o_O

change ur cone bearings too.. maybe ur clutch plates are worn out.. n yes.. do adjust da idlin..

got it about the idling, thanks. will go check!

does anyone know about the alignment being stuck pointing forward? it's hard for me to turn cos I can't really turn the handlebar. must lean a bit a bit cos I scared lean too much fall. that results in quite slow turning. haha when I try to turn the handlebar it jerks off the front and the whole bike seems to sway instead of turning properly like normal bikes... dunno if this is how wrs usually are

any bike going above 30km/hr, you just turn the handlebar, it'll become jerky.. if not, then it might be your wheel alignment.. see if it is straight with the alignment anot.. if still not that prob, then is the rider liao.. lean more!!!

[CENTER][IMG]http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t148/binkaz11/1_980549729l.jpg[/IMG] [I][B][FONT="Verdana"][SIZE="3"][COLOR="DarkRed"]Wooo HoOOoOooooo~[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/B][/I][/CENTER]

yah but the thing is, I have difficulty turning the handle bar. it's not... turnable to the sides, so I have to lean. whereas if I was going reeealllly slow then I can turn it. hm. will try a while then let you guys know, thanks!

On the higher speed you turn by leaning, not by turning the handlebar.

And you lean by pushing the handlebar in the _opposite_ direction. That is, you push handlebar to the left, you lean right, you turn right.

Try this. Choose wide empty road. Accelerate to 30-40. Sit straight. Relax your hands, so that bike almost go by itself. Then gently! push forward with the right hand - the bike will turn right.