Coolant Comparisan  

353 members have voted

1. 1. Coolant Comparisan

  knoobie said:
okay. thanks ah pek. anyway, the last time was done by bike shop using maxima cool aide. it comes only in premixed right ? so ratio i suppose shouldn't be a problem.

Any brand oso can lah. Need not spend so much unless you go tracj track and your engine coolant system demand the best.

If you are too particular about over heating...can always switch on your fan by Y "live" grounding the other end to a DIY waterproofing switch.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

• Replies 814

Help!!!

My spec 2 yesterday aft a 30km hot run parked aside, suddently i found something flow out to ground through the fuel overflow pipe!!! i thought this is petrol but aft check confirm is my maxima coolent, i open the coolent tank and found it's empty. I topped up with pure water and will see how it goes first, anyone can enlighten me why the coolent flow out from that pipe, is that any leak in engine block?? thx

suddently i found something flow out to ground through the fuel overflow pipe!!! i thought this is petrol but aft check confirm is my maxima coolent,

It doesn't make sense that coolant can come off from over flow tube for fuel. I'm sure you have mistaken that. Since your reserve coolant reservoir is empty, I believe its coming off likely from the reserve coolant tank overflow tube. Do check again. When mixture (too much water) is not right and coolant reach extreme boiling point for some reason, it's being pressurised and coolant can oozed out from the tube. I may be wrong but just a tot.

It could be any tube joints coming off slightly loose too (check the "Y" configuration coolant tube).

  Ah Pek said:
It does make sense that coolant can come off from over flow tube for fuel. I'm sure you have mistaken that. Since your reserve coolant reservoir is empty, I believe its coming off likely from the reserve coolant tank overflow tube. Do check again. When mixture (too much water) is not right and coolant reach extreme boiling point for some reason, it's being pressurised and coolant can oozed out from the tube. I may be wrong but just a tot.

It could be any tube joints coming off slightly loose too (check the "Y" configuration coolant tube).

Just checked again the water level no change now in the reservior, will monitor again...Ya u could be right the coolant may not flow out from the petrol overflow pipe, it maybe just flow along outside of the pipe and dropping to ground so it looks like is from inside, thanks anyway :cool:

  FY**** said:
Just checked again the water level no change now in the reservior, will monitor again...Ya u could be right the coolant may not flow out from the petrol overflow pipe, it maybe just flow along outside of the pipe and dropping to ground so it looks like is from inside, thanks anyway :cool:

Sorry my friend...there was a typo error..."does" should be "doesn't...sighhhh!!!...my bad! :giddy:

guys, i need some help regarding the coolant system in my version s cb400. i got the bike 3 days ago and i found out tat there is no coolant in the reservoir upon opening when i felt strong heat frm the combustion chamber after parking for 1 1/2 hrs. so i went to a petrol kisok to get coolant. but still the engine is damn hot.. i suspect the following may be not working:

a)coolant pump spoil

b)radiator fan not running

c)sensor spoil

d)cooling piping got stuck

so i m not sure wat is wrong with the cooling system.. i need some answers frm u all.. and also i would like to ask some questions

a)if cooling system really not working, what will happen to the engine(eg gasket melt?)

b)is it normal for the engine(combustion chamber) to be tat hot??

c)like wat u all said, coolant pump will not be activated if rpm is not there.is it true? so the whole cooling system will only run when certain rpm is reached or certain temperature is reached???

really need help regarding my issue cos i am very worried my cb400 will get damaged.. thx alot guys.. appreciated alot

  sakio said:
guys, i need some help regarding the coolant system in my version s cb400. i got the bike 3 days ago and i found out tat there is no coolant in the reservoir upon opening when i felt strong heat frm the combustion chamber after parking for 1 1/2 hrs. so i went to a petrol kisok to get coolant. but still the engine is damn hot.. i suspect the following may be not working:

a)coolant pump spoil

b)radiator fan not running

c)sensor spoil

d)cooling piping got stuck

so i m not sure wat is wrong with the cooling system.. i need some answers frm u all.. and also i would like to ask some questions

a)if cooling system really not working, what will happen to the engine(eg gasket melt?)

b)is it normal for the engine(combustion chamber) to be tat hot??

c)like wat u all said, coolant pump will not be activated if rpm is not there.is it true? so the whole cooling system will only run when certain rpm is reached or certain temperature is reached???

really need help regarding my issue cos i am very worried my cb400 will get damaged.. thx alot guys.. appreciated alot

This questions be asked a few times. Please check Ah Pek post under search..you bound to find the answers.

ahpek, just now my mech at jb try to change the seal of the waterpump cover yet my bike still leaking. the mech says to get the water pump cover new one but im thinking what if its not the cover that is defect but the other side which is the problem? wouldnt it be better if get the whole water pump assembly like that?

also do u know if FJT sells the cover only and how much? also if buy with the water pump how much isit? The cover is the "Y" where 2 coolant hoses come into it one. am i right?

just now i otw back from jb my fan constantly turns on so manytimes cos coolant leaks out from the "Y" cover the below part. i think theres little or no more coolant in the hoses already.

what do u think? anw does FJT open tmw morning? (SAt?) cos i wanna get the part asap.

ahpek, just now my mech at jb try to change the seal of the waterpump cover yet my bike still leaking. the mech says to get the water pump cover new one but im thinking what if its not the cover that is defect but the other side which is the problem? wouldnt it be better if get the whole water pump assembly like that?

Sound more like a bad job than put the blame on the cover housing. There is no way this thing can be damaged. I believe he had it damage while changing the seal. Are you sure he uses the right seal for replacement? Anything JB..I really can't help. It could be a chance he was taking...and in the end, he may have damaged the cover while at it.

also do u know if FJT sells the cover only and how much? also if buy with the water pump how much isit? The cover is the "Y" where 2 coolant hoses come into it one. am i right?

Right..and do call FJT and asked. I think they should be open. Can try Chong Aik too and last..Ever Success (prices are on the high side)...all around the same place.

just now i otw back from jb my fan constantly turns on so manytimes cos coolant leaks out from the "Y" cover the below part. i think theres little or no more coolant in the hoses already.

Yah..its running dry and withyond cooling capability. Do get it done fast.

  Ah Pek said:
Sound more like a bad job than put the blame on the cover housing. There is no way this thing can be damaged. I believe he had it damage while changing the seal. Are you sure he uses the right seal for replacement? Anything JB..I really can't help. It could be a chance he was taking...and in the end, he may have damaged the cover while at it.

Right..and do call FJT and asked. I think they should be open. Can try Chong Aik too and last..Ever Success (prices are on the high side)...all around the same place.

Yah..its running dry and withyond cooling capability. Do get it done fast.

hmm.... maybe but the only way i can think of is that he accidentally overtighten it in the first place. however can overtightening damage the cover? also since it was already leaking in the first place could it be happen just like that due to wear and tear?

so what do u think? should i try to buy just the cover or the whole pump?

also do u know wheter its advisable to put adhesive like glue or silicone gasket on the cover (cos thats what the mech at jb did) or just leave it clean, put the seal and tighten? what about ur own coolant pump seal? u ever change it or see it taken out?

yah its the right seal also, i bought the seal at FJT a few days back.

so wasted i used up my MAxima coolant and it all leaked out back again.

tmw morning im going back to FJT to ask hw much is the pump, if the cover add some money can get the whole pump will most likely be doing that. what do u think?

  arsonist said:
anyone can help answer my question? im going to FJT soon.

want to help you but very difficult as there's no pics...

better send ur bike to bike shop to rectify...

uneven tightening of the cover and wrong seal size used also can contribute to the leaking leh...

is using silicone gasket or glue on the cover recommended? or to leave it clean and just use the seal and tighten. i think the seal is correct cos buy from FJT and even refer to the manual when buying

gimme a min i try to post the pics tt i have

ur pump look ok on the fins(dono izzit like tt spell one)

like time i change mine cos the whole ting turn rusty sia

Dear S4 riders,

I'm currently riding Spec 3 which is FBB 2 yr old bike, milleage abt 35k and have not flushed or change my coolent before for a whole 2 yrs since i got the bike.

1) Heard from a friend that if often go track must change once a year or 10 000 km but for me, since i only ride in SG change every 2 years or 20 000km, is it true?

2) What do you use for your coolent change? how often and what brand?

3) Im hoping to get from reviews on Engine Ice for our S4. After change, whats yr review?

Thanks for any replies here or pm me would be greatly appreciated :)

engine ice not bad..

at unique, $50 full top up with flushing..

  IceCub3 said:
Dear S4 riders,

I'm currently riding Spec 3 which is FBB 2 yr old bike, milleage abt 35k and have not flushed or change my coolent before for a whole 2 yrs since i got the bike.

1) Heard from a friend that if often go track must change once a year or 10 000 km but for me, since i only ride in SG change every 2 years or 20 000km, is it true?

2) What do you use for your coolent change? how often and what brand?

3) Im hoping to get from reviews on Engine Ice for our S4. After change, whats yr review?

Thanks for any replies here or pm me would be greatly appreciated :)

Flushing and coolant change is rather reasonably cheap at LAB - my spec3 also just bought and done it there - 20 dollars for both. For peace of mind, do it frequently at a reasonable interval...:popcorn:

http://www.animated-gifs.eu/transportation-riders/0016.gif http://www.animated-gifs.eu/transportation-riders/0077.gif

hi guys.. can u guys give me a soloution to this..

i just top up my coolent motul and flushed..... from motoworld.... after a day or two... the coolent starting to drip on the left side of engine.. when i open the coolent reservoir.. its empty .. and i top it up till the second level... now.. another thing is.. whenever i ride for a few km.. like 30 km.. the bike totally too hot .. and i made a fan switch to run .. and.. the temp light keep switchin on.. can anybody advice me on this.. is there a choke in the pipes or something ..

  WRfreak said:
hi guys.. can u guys give me a soloution to this..

i just top up my coolent motul and flushed..... from motoworld.... after a day or two... the coolent starting to drip on the left side of engine.. when i open the coolent reservoir.. its empty .. and i top it up till the second level... now.. another thing is.. whenever i ride for a few km.. like 30 km.. the bike totally too hot .. and i made a fan switch to run .. and.. the temp light keep switchin on.. can anybody advice me on this.. is there a choke in the pipes or something ..

If I were you, I go back to MW..sound like a bad job along the line. You should have gone back immediately instate of topping up yourself.

"..is there a choke in the pipes "..you should know better what the problem is when you decided to do a "flush". Hope you know what coolant flushing is..its not just draining out old coolant, hosing with clean water and then top up again..this is not "flushing"...its more like risning.

  aixin said:
Flushing and coolant change is rather reasonably cheap at LAB - my spec3 also just bought and done it there - 20 dollars for both. For peace of mind, do it frequently at a reasonable interval...:popcorn:

Careful!...beside buying cheap use and throw consumeables and cheap for Honda original part from LAB, other then that, never depend on their workmanship..its a "can use can olehdee" atitude..not even rack mounting for box..unless you go early in the morning.

It can't be flushing..the can of coolant flushing power or liquid already cost you at least around $12.