just for sharing my chain of events:

1: had my bike with high idling (according to my ears) from seller who claims everything is alright. (of course, wanna sell bike mah). brought to my favourite mech. washed them twin carbs. idling still erratic/erotic.

2: then, while on the road, i haemorrhagically bled green. brought to shop and subsequently changed a secondhand radiator. (first was busted and patchworked with epoxy, thanks shady seller)

3: erotic/erratic idling was ignored for the sake of need bike to travel. then, one cylinder decides to shut down. brought to mech and was offered 2 suggestions. cheap or expensive repair. cheap - change spark plugs, increase darn idling and go. expensive - valve seal leak. need to top overhaul. i took cheap repair due to desperation and despair from possible bike seperation.

4: lasted one month, idling was ignored but was never out of my mind (cause it hurts to know that your precious is sick but you never bring her to the doctors) cylinder was shot. bike stalled. towed to mech and chose expensive repair. engine was dismantled to stand-by-order. suspicions was backed by evidence. vlave seals GG causing mysterious liguid to seep into cylinder causing failure. gaskets were changed. valve seats were machined flat to improve seals. coolant pump was reserviced. bike was suregically seperated from me for a good 9 days. pain.

5: after having my precious back to me for 1 week, noticed minor dribblings of coolant everday. green blood on the floor is kinda hard to miss. was told that it was normal, possible sign of overflow. (dont we all love that "it is normal" sentence from our mechs. gonna have him check them after i post this text wall.

/resigned to fate.

chuinjie

Sorry to hear that you bought a 'lemon'.

The steed is an old bike.. and yours is prob 10++ years old?

This bike is cheap but old. The thing about old bikes is that you should expect parts to fail one after another. Wear & tear..

There's no feasible way to prevent this.. short of stripping every thing down and inspecting each part.

So every once in a long while, be prepared to replace worn parts/ fix minor problems.

My steed also had a fair share of minor problems that need fixing every once in a while.

I changed rectifier, carburetor insulators, coolant fan, engine seals. But hey.. it's tough to kill this bullet proof engine.

• Replies 4.9k

Guest chuinjie
Sorry to hear that you bought a 'lemon'.

The steed is an old bike.. and yours is prob 10++ years old?

This bike is cheap but old. The thing about old bikes is that you should expect parts to fail one after another. Wear & tear..

There's no feasible way to prevent this.. short of stripping every thing down and inspecting each part.

So every once in a long while, be prepared to replace worn parts/ fix minor problems.

My steed also had a fair share of minor problems that need fixing every once in a while.

I changed rectifier, carburetor insulators, coolant fan, engine seals. But hey.. it's tough to kill this bullet proof engine.

thanks man. kind words you have there, at least made me feel that im not the only loser out there.. and im probably giving up on my current mech.. the last problem seems tough to fix..

chuinjie

Guest chuinjie
Can a VLS tank fit a VLX without any modification?

i believe can. same frame mah.

chuinjie

Guest chuinjie

just a couple of normal questions which i may have missed the answers from the previous posts: whats the mileage like for this bike? im constantly getting 19-20km/l if i dont exceed 80km/hr on highways. and whats my sprocket sizes?

thanks in advance

chuinjie

just a couple of normal questions which i may have missed the answers from the previous posts: whats the mileage like for this bike? im constantly getting 19-20km/l if i dont exceed 80km/hr on highways. and whats my sprocket sizes?

thanks in advance

chuinjie

im getting 22/23 km per litre avg 100km/h , mostly highway riding

sgcruisers.blogspot.com

Guest chuinjie
im getting 22/23 km per litre avg 100km/h , mostly highway riding

alright. thanks for the insight. may i know your sprocket sizes? : )

chuinjie

18-24. Not enough mileage to call it consistent yet.

Looking forward for tomorrow! Hope to see more steeds.

cj. At least the engine is fixed now.

now left the radiator.

Guest chuinjie

maybe i was misinformed, i went to ubi to look for plant motors and found planet motorcycles service. no rosli. is it the right place?

chuinjie

maybe i was misinformed, i went to ubi to look for plant motors and found planet motorcycles service. no rosli. is it the right place?

chuinjie

LOL Rosli is at:

R S Bike Centre

Kaki Bukit Ave 6 #02-45 Autobay Singapore 417883 Tel: 6747 8202

And I'm not sure about a Plant motors but there SURE is a Planet motorcycles. Heh he's my trusted mechanic.

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing." Helen Keller

www.kruzer.sg

Wait. If my memory doesn't fail me, Rosli should be at Autobay but at the highest floor. I think you better call him and ask to double check. Whoops!

www.kruzer.sg

I believe the stock sprocket size is 16/45 as I call fit and ask for the price.

I changing to 16/44 after my krabi trip.

My fc now is 22.5-23km/L.using motul 3100 gold.ron98 caltex.rider weight 90kg.things on the bike 30kg.

Speed on highway 110km/h. Small road 65-70km.

70% small road/30%expressway.

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

Fastest I can go is 125km/h.

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

Guest chuinjie
LOL Rosli is at:

R S Bike Centre

Kaki Bukit Ave 6 #02-45 Autobay Singapore 417883 Tel: 6747 8202

And I'm not sure about a Plant motors but there SURE is a Planet motorcycles. Heh he's my trusted mechanic.

lol, looks like age is catching up on me.. cant spell right, cant remember addresses right.. i did went down to planet motors. was like a warzone there with the old chinese guy shouting orders around~

gonna look for rosli as my favourite mechanic bailed on me. suddenly awol, the boss (which is my best friend's father-in-law) doesnt know where he went.

thanks to all the seniors for guidance.

Guest chuinjie
I believe the stock sprocket size is 16/45 as I call fit and ask for the price.

I changing to 16/44 after my krabi trip.

My fc now is 22.5-23km/L.using motul 3100 gold.ron98 caltex.rider weight 90kg.things on the bike 30kg.

Speed on highway 110km/h. Small road 65-70km.

70% small road/30%expressway.

now, this is the information i need. i last read, my rear was a 49.. =.= hopefully my front is 16. i asked about sprocket sizes because i felt that my bike reached its cruising peak too early. 5th gear at 70km/hr. anymore increase in speed and the bike feels like its entering its high powerband zone. dont know if you understand what im trying to say.. hehheh~

ps: thanks for the information.

chuinjie

chuinjie

we having a meet up tomorrow. check out the shadow forum. hope to see yall.

Fastest I can go is 125km/h.

Tony, you sure? LOL! :p

Fastest I went was between 130 to 140, with the needle vibrating vigorously towards 140.

That's the max liao.

www.kruzer.sg

Hi to all, I'm a new steed owner and is wondering where I shud go for servicing and parts witout getting rip off.

planet motorcycles at ubi industrial park.

cheap, value for money, knowledgeable, but dont expect your bike parts to receive princess treatment.

Tony, you sure? LOL! :p

Fastest I went was between 130 to 140, with the needle vibrating vigorously towards 140.

That's the max liao.

ya lah...ride is on 17" magna front rims....

so far only tested the speedo 70km/h with a cbr150.

above 80km/h never try...

i heavy mah,i 2x of your weight and my ride is much much heavier than yours....

planet motorcycles at ubi industrial park.

cheap, value for money, knowledgeable, but dont expect your bike parts to receive princess treatment.

Thanks bro for the tip....any ideas on getting handlebars, risers, saddle bags etc??

Just done a speedo test using gps...

Front rim is 17" magna rim,120/80-17 profile

Speed on meter/gps speed

60km/52km

70km/62km

80km/72km

100km/92km

120km/108km

Could still push the bike more but dun feel like doing it...