[Archived - 2009] All About Cosmetic Mods

Originally posted by madman@Aug 13 2005, 02:57 PM

Of course, there's always the issue of whether the box/saddle will touch the exhuast...best is install a bracket, that'll solve all problems.

I'm trying to get them to make some brackets for the saddles...provided they can catch what I'm telling them 1st... :cheeky:

here's what I did:

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11005/normal_IMG_1906.JPG

and here's the result: (no more burn marks :thumb:)

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11005/normal_IMG_1903.JPG

• Replies 4.3k

Originally posted by kiamh@Aug 14 2005, 11:06 AM

here's what I did:

Kiamh,

just wondering... u did it DIY? or gotten someone to did it for you??

i only worry that the leather straps and bag may strap sag a bit, :confused: :confused:

Wonder how much is it to change the front & rear fender to those retro wan..... where to get it huh??? :sweat:

1995 - 1996 ~ Yamaha TZR125

1996 - 1999 ~ Honda CBR400RRK Hurricane

2005 - 2006 ~ Honda TA150 Phantom

2006 - 2010 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 1

2011 - 2013 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 2

2013 - 20** ~ Ducati Monster 796 ABS + Sym GTS200

Ah Xiong:

I don't think there is much we can do to prevent the bags from sagging. I'll agree that my solution might be temporary one, but it'll work for now. However, I am contemplating separating the two bags and mounting them directly onto my racks so that they function somewhat like sideboxes.

I'll think of something else if the sagging gets really bad (can also just shorten the middle strap to raise the bags some more)

(My racks are not DIY - they are done professionally)

vince_jas:

My bike mods were mostly done at a place called CoolCustoms . Unfortunately they have switched their business to doing cars (no more bike mods). If u interested in bike mods, come for the mass outing on Sept 11, I don't mind share my experience with you, and let u know where u can get fenders like mine too.

Originally posted by kiamh@Aug 14 2005, 12:53 PM

Ah Xiong:

I don't think there is much we can do to prevent the bags from sagging. I'll agree that my solution might be temporary one, but it'll work for now. However, I am contemplating separating the two bags and mounting them directly onto my racks so that they function somewhat like sideboxes.

I'll think of something else if the sagging gets really bad (can also just shorten the middle strap to raise the bags some more)

vince_jas:

My bike mods were mostly done at a place called CoolCustoms . Unfortunately they have switched their business to doing cars (no more bike mods). If u interested in bike mods, come for the mass outing on Sept 11, I don't mind share my experience with you, and let u know where u can get fenders like mine too.

yup.... will be going.

Originally posted by kiamh@Aug 14 2005, 12:53 PM

Ah Xiong:

i agree... there is nothing much we can do to prevent sagging of the leather bags with time...

i also tot about how to set the saddle bags as separate items, and mount them like side boxes... this way, i can easily remove them whenever i wash my bike... not too sure if i can DIY myself with my limited knowledge...

thanks a lot for your info... and let me be the first guy to say to you...

Nice Racks!!

:D :D :D :D :D

tot of putting a saddle bag.... bt can the leather withstand the cruelty of rain & shine??? :sweat:

Wah madman, I love your large saddle bags. They confirm tio exhaust. Do your other sizes of saddle bags come with the fringe too?

Originally posted by vince_jas@Aug 14 2005, 07:14 PM

tot of putting a saddle bag.... bt can the leather withstand the cruelty of rain & shine??? :sweat:

the answer is no leather is good enough to withstand the rain and shine . but its the matter if it can endure longer anot :)

A New Rider A New Bike A New Hope ~!

~~TA200 Phantom custom 4 ~ 2004 to 2006

A old Rider , A old Bike but still A New Hope~!

~~Dragstar 4TR custom 2006 to 2007

A forgotten Rider, An old legend, A returned Hope~!

~~VMax12 2007 to 2007

A returned Rider, Another legend, forever hope~!

~~Shadow400 2009 ...

Originally posted by Hideki45@Aug 12 2005, 07:11 PM

anyone else wants solo seater beside vince_jas, dudley and me?

so how is the solo seater goin???

hi knights,

i am tinking of putting side boxes on my ta200, but are there any ways of fixing the boxes on without re-adjusting the signals lights, if realli have to re-locate the signals, how huh? where shd it be placed?? any solutions?:confused:

imo, sadddle bags are nicer than side boxes, but find it quite troublesome ley, got to ensure tat it does not kena the exhaust..somemore not realli weather proof..wait kena water become soggy..hahaa..but those more solid and squarish type do look quite nice...

Originally posted by Brook@Aug 15 2005, 12:35 AM

hi knights,

i am tinking of putting side boxes on my ta200, but are there any ways of fixing the boxes on without re-adjusting the signals lights, if realli have to re-locate the signals, how huh? where shd it be placed?? any solutions?:confused:

small boxes should have no problem, but big boxes sure have to change your signal light , dont think so much , the person install for you will think for you and do the job :)

~~VMax12 2007 to 2007

~~Shadow400 2009 ...

Givi wingrack will do a good job.

Rack with integrated signal, solid stuff.

Price is solid also.

if you're getting side boxes, make sure u invest in a solid rack and bracket.. else, it'll turns out being shaky while on the move.

going over the hump looks as if the boxes are gonna drop..

Originally posted by Alexander2004@Aug 15 2005, 12:40 AM

small boxes should have no problem, but big boxes sure have to change your signal light , dont think so much , the person install for you will think for you and do the job :)

thks alex,

i am looking at the typical e21 side boxes, for tat, need to relocate signal lights?...i already modded my mudguards to those bigger ones, like tat how to relocate sia..cant b putting the signal lights at the end of the mudguard mah..will look damn ugly..:giddy:

i suggest u get saddle bag =D

April'12~Current - Kymco DownTown 125i

June'09 ~ April'12. - Kymco Grand Dink 150.

1st June'04 till now 30th June'09. - Honda TA150

June'11~April'12. - Toyota Hiace '04

Good ol' days with my Phantom~

:cheeky: "Baby"

Originally posted by vince_jas@Aug 15 2005, 12:17 AM

so how is the solo seater goin???

respond is poor so far :weep:

madman, still can order the solo seater despite the odds?

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12854/Ghost_Rider_Inked_by_Robot666.jpg

you. guilty.

Originally posted by Brook@Aug 15 2005, 12:46 AM

thks alex,

i am looking at the typical e21 side boxes, for tat, need to relocate signal lights?...i already modded my mudguards to those bigger ones, like tat how to relocate sia..cant b putting the signal lights at the end of the mudguard mah..will look damn ugly..:giddy:

IMHO, your bike won't look nice with sideboxes. Do re-consider.

And yes... your signal lights will be a problem to relocate.

Originally posted by Brook@Aug 15 2005, 12:46 AM

thks alex,

get a signal light like kiamh :)

~~VMax12 2007 to 2007

~~Shadow400 2009 ...

Originally posted by Hideki45@Aug 15 2005, 01:46 AM

respond is poor so far :weep:

madman, still can order the solo seater despite the odds?

:cry: all got gf to pillion mah so dun wan solo seat :cry:

marlboro79 & Jorn - u guys wanted the large seat, sorry to tell you agent have no stock for it. So this shipment wont be in. :sweat:

Originally posted by danieltanboonhuat@Aug 16 2005, 12:43 PM

no news on the 20l tank?

Check out the previous page 1st few posts daniel. :smile:

Originally posted by madman@Aug 16 2005, 02:04 PM

Check out the previous page 1st few posts daniel. :smile:

thank you... what's the price range....

probabaly over my budget? keke

For you O Lord, will bless the righteous; with favor You shall surround him as with a shield. Psalm 5:12