[Archived - 2009] All About Cosmetic Mods

yes, tried and tested. and proven. locking of front wheel will result in undesirable results.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR

• Replies 4.3k

Originally posted by Thunder_X@Oct 7 2005, 11:57 AM

#3, About the brake till yourself kena throw out of vehicle thing, hm....so far I havent heard of la....but when you feel that the center of gravity of the bike is moving upwards, I guess most ppl will stop pressing the front brake anymore.

On lighter bikes, its very possible. That's how you do "stoppies".

Your reaction to the center of gravity of the bike moving upwards when applying front brake, should also be used in the same way as rear. the moment you start to feel loss of traction on your rear tire, you should start releasing your rear brake.

BTW, I'm not malaysian but I know plenty of malaysian riders. Just making a guess. :smile:

Originally posted by kiamh@Oct 7 2005, 12:05 PM

this is new to me....

IMHO, if u lose control of (or lock) the front wheel, there is literally zero chance of controlling the bike.

huh?

I buang a few times in my riding life before, and thanks to everyone that I know, I'm still live.

I've encountered several front wheel lock cases before, a few of them were at a T-junction, when I was around 50m away, I saw a stupid vehicle come out, and then **STOP** at the white line, then I continue to ride with around 60 km/h, when I was about 5 m away from the vehicle, that f**ker suddenly like kena ghost like that, chiong out of the junction, then I LL use fron brake, somemore rainning, so wheel lock + skid, but heng able to handle the vehicle.

Another case was after rain at a basement carpark. So used to that car park liao, then I always use rear brake and then left turn park into the car park. But that day was raining, so bang~ was an immediate skid + fall. And a lorry was juz at my back, heng the driver was moving slow, cause car park.

So to me, I feel that front wheel lock is easier to control.

juz my little experience to share here.

I'm BACK~!!!

汗血孤山走,

é¹é¹„浅巷飞,

何日伯ä¹çŽ°ï¼Œ

浪å­å‡ æ—¶å½’。

- å­¤é«˜æµªå­ å­—

Name : Eric

Nick : Thunder X

HP : 98711456

MSN : [email protected]

ya... from my experience... locking the front brake is not a wise action... although i dun have 7yrs experience bt from my 95-99... and 6mths now = 4yrs + 6mths experience... i advise fellow bikers to use their front brake with the rear brake together to increase the braking effect. Best if together with engine brake. so tat pressure on the fork oso wont be so great.

juz a suggestion..... :smile:

1995 - 1996 ~ Yamaha TZR125

1996 - 1999 ~ Honda CBR400RRK Hurricane

2005 - 2006 ~ Honda TA150 Phantom

2006 - 2010 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 1

2011 - 2013 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 2

2013 - 20** ~ Ducati Monster 796 ABS + Sym GTS200

Originally posted by Smart Bet@Oct 7 2005, 12:18 PM

On lighter bikes, its very possible. That's how you do "stoppies".

Your reaction to the center of gravity of the bike moving upwards when applying front brake, should also be used in the same way as rear. the moment you start to feel loss of traction on your rear tire, you should start releasing your rear brake.

BTW, I'm not malaysian but I know plenty of malaysian riders. Just making a guess. :smile:

i see~

Hope I wont get bully here as a malaysian..

BTW, personally I feel harder to keep track/control rear skid, by comparing it to the front wheel lock...

how come you guys feel the other way round?

I'm BACK~!!!

汗血孤山走,

é¹é¹„浅巷飞,

何日伯ä¹çŽ°ï¼Œ

浪å­å‡ æ—¶å½’。

- å­¤é«˜æµªå­ å­—

you all are going abit :offtopic: here :p :P :p

come down dam tonight to chat about it haha :cheeky:

A New Rider A New Bike A New Hope ~!

~~TA200 Phantom custom 4 ~ 2004 to 2006

A old Rider , A old Bike but still A New Hope~!

~~Dragstar 4TR custom 2006 to 2007

A forgotten Rider, An old legend, A returned Hope~!

~~VMax12 2007 to 2007

A returned Rider, Another legend, forever hope~!

~~Shadow400 2009 ...

Originally posted by Alexander2004@Oct 7 2005, 12:35 PM

you all are going abit :offtopic: here :p :P :p

come down dam tonight to chat about it haha :cheeky:

as long as sky dun cry, I'm on...

timing?

I'm BACK~!!!

汗血孤山走,

é¹é¹„浅巷飞,

何日伯ä¹çŽ°ï¼Œ

浪å­å‡ æ—¶å½’。

- å­¤é«˜æµªå­ å­—

hmm, I'll rather none of the wheels lock in braking.

but if have to choose, rather be the rear (for phantoms only).

fishtail on phantoms are easy to control, muchmore than any other bikes, especially sportbikes.

i had many fishtails on it, even with pillion, but, it's nothing really, unless u do it on a wet road, which u know wat will happen lah...hahaa...

-------------------------------------------

back to topic..

Going on another mission to meet the supplier agent overseas again. Any request?

I had requests of steed owners for a larger tank... :sweat:

Originally posted by madman@Oct 7 2005, 12:44 PM

hmm, I'll rather none of the wheels lock in braking.

but if have to choose, rather be the rear (for phantoms only).

fishtail on phantoms are easy to control, muchmore than any other bikes, especially sportbikes.

i had many fishtails on it, even with pillion, but, it's nothing really, unless u do it on a wet road, which u know wat will happen lah...hahaa...

-------------------------------------------

back to topic..

Going on another mission to meet the supplier agent overseas again. Any request?

I really dunno what can be added in....and i need to concentrate on my exam...

pls try to stock something madman~! maybe after my exam i go see if got any thing left over that suits my appetite...

I'm BACK~!!!

汗血孤山走,

é¹é¹„浅巷飞,

何日伯ä¹çŽ°ï¼Œ

浪å­å‡ æ—¶å½’。

- å­¤é«˜æµªå­ å­—

Originally posted by fusionzone@Oct 7 2005, 12:46 PM

madman see got sassy bar, T handle bar and metal vtx headlight not leh.

Wahahha (is my require too much) ???

they dun seems to have vtx type headlight, ask b4 already, but will ask again lah.

sassybar, it's make to order over there, so the answer is yes and no.

--------------------

thunder boy, I do keep some extras, but as you know, I'm not a bikeshop mah, cant stock so many things ah, pocket will pitcha if items not sold. :sweat:

only stockup items like saddle and carashbars and some smaller items.

you can see the v-twin mod I mentioned to you here. anyone who mod this, will be the 1st in SG...wahhaaa...I wanted to use it myself, but it's meant for ta200 nia...this one, I have a set wif me...

vtwin mod photo

Originally posted by Thunder_X@Oct 7 2005, 12:31 PM

i see~

Hope I wont get bully here as a malaysian..

BTW, personally I feel harder to keep track/control rear skid, by comparing it to the front wheel lock...

how come you guys feel the other way round?

u won't be, I'm from M'sia too :smile:

Ever seen bikes 'drifting'??? technically, the rear wheel is skidding, but the bike is still under perfect control of the rider

u sure u have LOCKED your front wheel before and maintained control of the bike?? if u have, u are one damn good rider! :thumb:

mad, please lookout for any nice handlegrips and mirrors... aligato! :smile:

eh.. MAD neighbour,

I am looking out for DAYTONA white stripe. Will you be accepting this kind of paint job?

As usual, must be FAST, GOOD QUALITY and cheap.

Basically it's the front fender, tank and seat cowl nia.

Probably we need not spray the base color since it's already red.

Women will never be as successful as men because they have no wives to advise them.

Originally posted by kiamh@Oct 7 2005, 01:23 PM

u won't be, I'm from M'sia too :smile:

Ever seen bikes 'drifting'??? technically, the rear wheel is skidding, but the bike is still under perfect control of the rider

u sure u have LOCKED your front wheel before and maintained control of the bike?? if u have, u are one damn good rider! :thumb:

sorry for :offtopic:

I did lock my front b4(accidentally & purposely), fun, but dangerous... :giddy:

& FYI, I saw a Vespa fishtailed(drift type) & then regain control to normal riding position again... I was stunned... :thumb: to the rider...

:btw: Im looking for a couple of Hella Fog/Spot lights, anyone got any lobangs?

Originally posted by madman@Oct 7 2005, 01:01 PM

they dun seems to have vtx type headlight, ask b4 already, but will ask again lah.

sassybar, it's make to order over there, so the answer is yes and no.

--------------------

thunder boy, I do keep some extras, but as you know, I'm not a bikeshop mah, cant stock so many things ah, pocket will pitcha if items not sold. :sweat:

only stockup items like saddle and carashbars and some smaller items.

you can see the v-twin mod I mentioned to you here. anyone who mod this, will be the 1st in SG...wahhaaa...I wanted to use it myself, but it's meant for ta200 nia...this one, I have a set wif me...

vtwin mod photo

wah bro. looks like you haf a nice webbie set up. all the prices are what you are charging rite?

Originally posted by madman@Oct 7 2005, 12:44 PM

back to topic..

a break hose long enough for my 20" apehanger?

plus cheap short risers( can't afford $98 type)

possible?

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12854/Ghost_Rider_Inked_by_Robot666.jpg

you. guilty.

All the skidding talk continues here :

Rear Whell Skid? Front Wheel Skid?

pls keep madman's thread clean for modding only~!

madman,

I want the endine guard more urgently than the V-twin cover.

Any idea where to get one?

I think I sms you tml.

I'm BACK~!!!

汗血孤山走,

é¹é¹„浅巷飞,

何日伯ä¹çŽ°ï¼Œ

浪å­å‡ æ—¶å½’。

- å­¤é«˜æµªå­ å­—

Originally posted by Hideki45@Oct 8 2005, 12:46 AM

a break hose long enough for my 20" apehanger?

plus cheap short risers( can't afford $98 type)

possible?

HEL hoses @ VectorOne. $90 for Phantom-front include installation, no additional charge for customisation i.e. longer to fit ur apes (that's what Bernard told me)

a bit expensive, but its really good stuff! :thumb:

actually, i wanted a sissy bar too...

but with my rear box on.. it looks stupid lol....

MAD can PM me the price for ur Crash bar that u just sold....

i m on budget now hehehhhe

Past Ride:

TZR - 1998 - 2000

Sonic - 2004-2005

Phantom - 2005-2006

Super4 - 2006 - 2008

Fiat G.Punto 2008 - ??

Originally posted by fusionzone@Oct 7 2005, 12:46 PM

madman see got sassy bar, T handle bar and metal vtx headlight not leh.

Wahahha (is my require too much) ???

kiamh aha, itchy again ya? hahaa...I been looking for the grips and mirrors also, something Sg dun have for myself also, but havent find any. Will try again and update here if any k?

vincekam yes neighbour. u know, cannot be fast one lah, contact me if you really want fast 1. but still, min. 3 days for a reasonable job. you know lah, fast = quality drop abit also.

fusionzone I'll take some pics and post, but which one you looking at? Those SG have one, I wont get lah, only get items SG dun have.

KeV1143 - tot u wanted some items? bluff me ah? hahaa...hella mustafa have, selling ard $50 nah. u check it out there.

Jorn thanks, still trying to improve the webby. not completed yet. regarding prices, how to answer you here...hahaa, got special price (certain items) for special people lah, ok? :D

Hideki45 - how long you need it? Gimme the measurement. Confirm cheaper than $100...hahaa...sorry, bo cheap risers, if LAB dun have then bo pian...I cant compete wif him you know, no fight ah! :giddy:

Thunder_X no have ah, you try seng kwang at AMK. But abit ex lah.

RetlaW price for crashbars as per online, 98. my little pink webby

will be out, reply u guys when I'm back. cya!