CB400 spec 3 stock tire

Just got my CB400 spec 3 today. Had a bad experience when i was riding my phantom TA200 last time, self skeed twice with IRC tire. Wanna check if CB400 spec 3 stock tire is it adviceable to change. According to bike shop mech, he says that its a racing tire and good. i realise most of the bikes are using Mitzeler tire. Is it better?

• Replies 24

  axel85 said:

Just got my CB400 spec 3 today. Had a bad experience when i was riding my phantom TA200 last time, self skeed twice with IRC tire. Wanna check if CB400 spec 3 stock tire is it adviceable to change. According to bike shop mech, he says that its a racing tire and good. i realise most of the bikes are using Mitzeler tire. Is it better?

erhhh i used my stock tires for 1.5 years wor, so far so good wor.

  axel85 said:

if you changing Sportec M1 or M3 please Pm and sell me your stock tires thanks...

Acceleration power is not important than a good perfect braking system to prevent an accident.

http://i483.photobucket.com/albums/rr191/emomtv/wah.gifhttp://www.gifanatics.com/files/eyes-1.gif

Sure or not racing tires. Advisable to change if you like to go fast. Its slippery and the grip not so good especially on rainy day. But very long lasting. So do not travel too fast during rainy days as the gripping is not so good.

i agree wif ivikarazi... good on dry days.. but not as good on rainy days... my tyre was on for 2 yrs before i changed.. even wif minimal threads, the gripping during corners are still good.. don't change yet until necessary i.e front tyre botak.. cos normally front finish faster..

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3387/3632031753_703ef020ac_o.jpg

~u live only once, so don't do anything st0opid~

  axel85 said:

why yr spec lll comes with IRC tires? changed by previous owners or bikeshop?

  axel85 said:

ah ray said:

pls read properly :thumb:

  axel85 said:

I think the spec 3 stock tire not bad la.Been using for 1 & half year,so far so good.And i don't think that stock is a racing tire.

stock tire which one?? u got the battalax bt-56(or issit 50 i forgot) or the dunlop sportmax?? got 2 version of spec 3 too... the older spec 3 comes wif battalax and the newer one is sportmax... wat mech say is quite true... the tyre can be used for high speed but definitely no really suitable for race... both tyres can be used for cornerin... battalax seems to wear out faster compared to sportmax (based on mileage and not time) but den it oso depends on your riding style... if u r the kind hu likes pick up or quite a big weight definitely it wears off faster... but sportmax will have a prob later when its left wif lesser than a quater thread... it doesnt really grip on dry road... but both tyres are very good enuff for normal road riding n for non-race riders... :angel:

metzeler m1 or m3 is very good but takes time to warm up and suitable for race use... but den again its quite pricey...

tis is juz my opinions only... its up to u to decide though...

http://i355.photobucket.com/albums/r454/negatis99/Rykros.jpghttp://i355.photobucket.com/albums/r454/negatis99/landale.jpg

FBB6663M (CB400 SF Spec III) aka. Alis Landale

  ah ray said:

Ah ray, please read properly. IRC tire is my phantom TA200 not super 4...

Erm... May i ask how to change my stats(P Plate) to class 2A???

  axel85 said:
Erm... May i ask how to change my stats(P Plate) to class 2A???

You have to contribute more to the forum like actively having posts/comments. Dun worry as you engage yourself in the forum, your status will rise.

  IvikaRazI said:
You have to contribute more to the forum like actively having posts/comments. Dun worry as you engage yourself in the forum, your status will rise.

Oh... Icic, i dont know about that. I keep explore the User CP but i cant find a place to change my stats.... haha

  axel85 said:
Ah ray, please read properly. IRC tire is my phantom TA200 not super 4...

roger it..please refer to post #9

Anyone know how much Metzeler sportec M1 rear tyre?

  Firdaus said:
Anyone know how much Metzeler sportec M1 rear tyre?

M1 much cheaper than M3 bro..ard 260 if i'm nt mistaken ahh.. but kennot tahan for so long lah.. better u change to michelin power..expensive and ken onli tahan 4 9mths roughly bt the grip, power kedemak bro..:thumb:

There is more to life than increasing it's speed:cool:

tyres r not recommanded to use more than 1 year even though the thread is still healthy. considering the fact that the tyre compound harden after time, compound detiorate due to usage n so on. yes. it might still grip but it takes that one time that it doesn't grip to screw urself up.

stock tires r normally street tyres. or sport touring tyres. good for normal usage but not track. m1 n m3 r dual purpose tyre. they r for track n road use. race tyres r for track use. not for street use.

when to change n wat to change for ur tyre, u decide. :thumb:

  skateboy said:
tyres r not recommanded to use more than 1 year even though the thread is still healthy. considering the fact that the tyre compound harden after time, compound detiorate due to usage n so on. yes. it might still grip but it takes that one time that it doesn't grip to screw urself up.

stock tires r normally street tyres. or sport touring tyres. good for normal usage but not track. m1 n m3 r dual purpose tyre. they r for track n road use. race tyres r for track use. not for street use.

when to change n wat to change for ur tyre, u decide. :thumb:

huh? every year change tyre?? Imagine if u do your annual major maintenace + renew insurance + change tyres then u will :faint:

well, that is up to individual. tyre shelf life is about 5 years from date of manufacture. then the tyres we use is normally of 1 year or 2 years of shelf life. n with the sun n rain, the compound weakens n hardens which dun grip well. yes. u still can take corners or use it for 2 or even 3 years. thats individual decision. but if anything were to happen when the bike skidded, then dun blame anything or anyone.