[Discussion] Technical - Clutch

What Mileage You Change Clutch Plate  

96 members have voted

1. 1. What Mileage You Change Clutch Plate

• 50K ~ 60K
    • 60K ~ 70K
    • 70K ~ 80K
    • 80K ~ 90K
    • 90K ~ 100K
    • 100K ~ 110K
    • 110K ~ 120K
    • 120K ~ 130K
    • 130K ~ 140K
    • 140K ~ 150K

Guest chuinjie

bro, many of us would love to do it, and i personally admire your courage to DIY!

but would you care to reveal more of the minor details so that we might have a fuller picture? thanks!

thanks,

chuinjie

• Replies 267

To FunckyChicken:

Sori to miss ur message. Actually i went to the bikeshop tat sell me th bke.

Noe the mech quite well, so manage to DIY at the workshop area.:cheeky:

oh okiez....thankz aniwae.

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

Originally posted by chuinjie@Nov 28 2004, 04:17 PM

bro, many of us would love to do it, and i personally admire your courage to DIY!

but would you care to reveal more of the minor details so that we might have a fuller picture? thanks!

thanks,

chuinjie

No guts to try it myself.. haha.. but i understand that to screw back the nuts/screws of the engine, need to used those air gun type right?? otherwise not tight enuf?? :confused:

1996-1997 : Honda CBX 125

1997-2006 : Honda Project Big 1

2006-2011 : Yamaha Fazer 1

2011-2013:- Harley Davidson XR1200

2013- now: Something BIG..

What if ur clutch plate already wore off?

what will happen if ur clutch plate wore off?

i suspect my clutch plate wore off or sumthing wrong with the clutch cable

when i change gear from first to second n second to third gear sumtimes quite hard to kick muz kick veri hard especially from 1st gear to 2nd gear and when it kick to 2nd gear sumtimes went to netural gear and when rev the throttle veri loud.

Any laojiaos know the problems??

Btw juz change engine oil recently so cannot be engine oil problem...

thanks in advance :help:

Once a BIKER always a BIKER....

Originally posted by delvin25@Feb 5 2005, 07:08 AM

What if ur clutch plate already wore off?

what will happen if ur clutch plate wore off?

i suspect my clutch plate wore off or sumthing wrong with the clutch cable

when i change gear from first to second n second to third gear sumtimes quite hard to kick muz kick veri hard especially from 1st gear to 2nd gear and when it kick to 2nd gear sumtimes went to netural gear and when rev the throttle veri loud.

Any laojiaos know the problems??

Btw juz change engine oil recently so cannot be engine oil problem...

thanks in advance :help:

if not mistaken clutch plate worn off will not have a big effect on gear shifting... only diff is engine power not being transmitted effectively to the wheel...

one sure way to test is to hold front break, lean weight to the front and throttle with half clutch(like moving off liddat)... if the clutch is still good, mini smoke show will happen... if you can see significant rise in rpm but rear wheels not moving, clutch plate is worn out and is slipping... if scared lau chiu (miscue) can get lao jiao to help... normally FR cars do this by stepping accelerator in half clutch position with break on (won't work on cars with 4 wheel disc breaks)...

actually a number of things can affect gear changing... to be sure, visit motor diam and ask them to test your bike out...

do correct if i'm wrong in any way...

ty

Rgds,

Sinblesser

i have a date with cloud but wind kept blowing her away...

Guest bomerman81
Originally posted by maxbiaggi@Feb 5 2005, 10:00 AM

i think ur clutch cable too loose dude........no bitting point.suggest tighten clutch cable

??? hw u tightened the clutch cable???

Guest motofreak

There is a screw like thing on your leaver. Just lengthen the screw. This will tighten up the cable. If still too loose can check on the right side of engine cover. U will see a cable with a leaver. Just lengthen it. Its easy. Shld DIY then u learn. :thumb:

if clutch plate worn off, u will feel a dramatic decrease in power of the bike, and most probli a low top speed.. tink its the EO level or clutch lever

99 - 00: laopok bike

00 - 02: another laopok bike

02 - 03: laopok bike chui liao

03 - 06: yet another laopok bike

06 - ??: yet yet another laopok bike

Guest bomerman81
Originally posted by motofreak@Feb 5 2005, 02:35 PM

There is a screw like thing on your leaver. Just lengthen the screw. This will tighten up the cable. If still too loose can check on the right side of engine cover. U will see a cable with a leaver. Just lengthen it. Its easy. Shld DIY then u learn. :thumb:

shld it b u adjusting ur biting pt 4 the clutch meh????:confused:

its the eo level. how many litres did ur mec pour in??

in a shop i been too the mec did not use a measurin bottle. he jus agar agar pour. same thing happen.. no choice have to wait for the next oil change lo

no DISTANCE to FAR , no RIDES too LONG.

Engine oil too dirty lliao. just go and change will do .......

Signal First Before You Brake

I maybe always meowing but sometime i ROAR

SuperFour Biker

Beware of 6350 RPM .................. VTEC .

Posts ALL Rights reserved�.

Reading purpose only. Not for copying or duplicated �.

THE WINGS TO RIDE FREELY

Originally posted by ismail ithnin@Jul 18 2005, 01:31 PM

HI ANY OF YOU S 4 EVER CHANGE CLUTCH PLATE, HOW TO KNOW THAT YOU CLUTCH HAVE WEAR OFF AND HOW MUCH IT COST WHICH SHOP DO GOOD JOB AND HOW LONG IT TAKE TO DO. THANKS :thumb:

someone did at planet motors at 95 bucks within a day :goodluck:

Originally posted by humveexl@Jul 18 2005, 02:05 PM

how do you guys see or feel that your clutch plate is worn out? any way of self-diagnose? does 2nd gear kick down once became neutral, slow pick up a sign? :confused:

if u nornally drive and suddenly no pulling power tats means maybe ur clutch slip liao:goodluck:

Originally posted by humveexl@Jul 18 2005, 02:11 PM

sori me abit 2pid, what is "pulling power"? :sweat:

means tat no matter how hard u rev the bike oso wont go any faster :goodluck:

oh.. ok, still haven got that problem yet. Thanks and! I was thinking if changing the clutch plate will improve on my pickup. kinda of waste $$ and don't know how well it will help so i dropped the idea. :smile:

Originally posted by humveexl@Jul 18 2005, 02:22 PM

oh.. ok, still haven got that problem yet. Thanks and! I was thinking if changing the clutch plate will improve on my pickup. kinda of waste $$ and don't know how well it will help so i dropped the idea. :smile:

u wan to play pickup change spocket lor and do some jetting tunning.:goodluck:

Netural gear at idling will have slight vibration is it a sign also? But when clutch in.. no more vibration..

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a49/king_ziege/Biker%20gers/board_headerEdited.jpg
Originally posted by Ah James@Jul 18 2005, 07:00 PM

Netural gear at idling will have slight vibration is it a sign also? But when clutch in.. no more vibration..

What u're referring to is the sound from the clutch housing.....quite normal for S4. Even u change a new housing, after a while the sound will appear. :cheeky:

Originally posted by Kushinagar@Jul 18 2005, 07:24 PM

What u're referring to is the sound from the clutch housing.....quite normal for S4. Even u change a new housing, after a while the sound will appear. :cheeky:

his advise is gd. :cheeky: he does his own repairs :cheeky: