Aftermarket air filter + aftermarket full system combination performance

when i got my s4, i had replaced to K&N air filter with my addition of Yoshimura Endcan... :dot:

and now that i had upgraded to Yoshimura Full system, i was told that full systems requires more air intake, so called "hi-flo" air filters like BMC and Pipercross as K&N is not compatiable for a full system. anyone any comments and advices or knowledge to share? how's the performance like? :confused:

thanks in advance!

regards

Thomas aka s4vtec :cool:

• Replies 38

i used a micron full sys with pipercross air filter n upsized jetting (105,108)... superb feeling... air filter as long as u used aftermarket, it increases your air-flow... be it knn, bmc or pipercross... if u wan to compare bmc wif knn, how to compare?? both using same material n almost same design... pipercross is diff though... heard tat the air flow intake increases as rpm get higher... i do feel the diff btw knn n pipercross... seems pipercross is better... hahah :cheeky: well u really need to test it out n run on dyno b4 u can tell which is better... with paper results is more trustworthy than wat pple say...

juz my opinion ~~ cheers ~~

http://i355.photobucket.com/albums/r454/negatis99/Rykros.jpghttp://i355.photobucket.com/albums/r454/negatis99/landale.jpg

FBB6663M (CB400 SF Spec III) aka. Alis Landale

nobody wan to share their configurations?? tats sad :sad: s4vtec i think u got to try out on your own diff configurations tat u can think off... haha... cheers bro..

http://i355.photobucket.com/albums/r454/negatis99/Rykros.jpghttp://i355.photobucket.com/albums/r454/negatis99/landale.jpg

FBB6663M (CB400 SF Spec III) aka. Alis Landale

maybe not many ppl got try it so many time to give advise on different product ma

bro spec3 set up with endcan only gets 3.93 sec for 0-100.

FU2***L NSR 150 SP Pramac (RIP)

FBB 1***H Spark 135 Lmt Ed (RIP)

FZ4***B Aprilia RS125 (RIP)

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)

bro spec3 set up with endcan only gets 3.93 sec for 0-100.

yesh, thats the way is should be... if i unload my 3 boxes, thats the timing i clock too... :cheeky:

nobody wan to share their configurations?? tats sad :sad: s4vtec i think u got to try out on your own diff configurations tat u can think off... haha... cheers bro..

maybe not many ppl got try it so many time to give advise on different product ma

maybe when i got the time and chance and $$$$$ to spare, i go get BMC and Pipercross then go try individually with Dyno... anyway, i'm awaiting to send my bike into workshop for tuning again soon... :cool:

no need to try.. unless you wanna prove it with paper and facts..

i've tried all except OEM air filter..

butt dynoed.. BMC best air flow all ranges.. K&N air flow good all ranges but poor in high range.. PiperX very poor in low range but good in high range..

if you understand and know your bike.. you will notice the slight different when you change the air filter..

as for now Yoshi FS goes well with K&N.. nothing wrong with filter but change your jettings please..

butt dynoed.. BMC best air flow all ranges.. K&N air flow good all ranges but poor in high range.. PiperX very poor in low range but good in high range..

if you understand and know your bike.. you will notice the slight different when you change the air filter..

as for now Yoshi FS goes well with K&N.. nothing wrong with filter but change your jettings please..

yes, gonna redo my tuning for my full system... my current settings is for my previous endcan... now, the performance and FC sucks... :faint: :giddy:

oh.. till now haven do tuning or carb wash?? :slapforehead: :slapforehead:

thomas mai tu liao. kenso jets n tuning. at the most 300$$. i did tuning and replaced some wear n tear in the carb. mid range improve. overall very smooth.

FU2***L NSR 150 SP Pramac (RIP)

FBB 1***H Spark 135 Lmt Ed (RIP)

FZ4***B Aprilia RS125 (RIP)

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)

for me i feel that k&n with micron not very good.

maybe still not enough air flow

http://i181.photobucket.com/albums/x74/FN98Z/SERVER.jpg

wat u guys wan r more airflow rite ?? y not do something to the airbox instead ?? :)

for me i feel that k&n with micron not very good.

maybe still not enough air flow

tried PiperX and K&N with Micron..

PiperX low range very bad, high range is very good, the VTEC kick in is very power.. K&N is ok in all ranges, no "kick in" when Vtec opens..

with Yoshi..

BMC feels the best.. "butt dynoed"

wat u guys wan r more airflow rite ?? y not do something to the airbox instead ?? :)

very hard to mod as air box is hidden beneath tank near the seat.. even if wanna do CAI also very hard..

unless you say open pod, which will suffer a lot in low ranges..

i tink so lah bro...for BMC airfilters there are two types which is for street n race use...the street are like KnN while the race type has bigger holes or mesh for better air flow......but u have to service it more often compare to the street type lor......n plus ur fuel wll suck like a bubble tea straw.....hahaha

when i got my s4, i had replaced to K&N air filter with my addition of Yoshimura Endcan... :dot:

and now that i had upgraded to Yoshimura Full system, i was told that full systems requires more air intake, so called "hi-flo" air filters like BMC and Pipercross as K&N is not compatiable for a full system. anyone any comments and advices or knowledge to share? how's the performance like? :confused:

thanks in advance!

regards

Thomas aka s4vtec :cool:

change to yoshi carb. settle everything. no air filter required. power oso better than any 400cc bikes.

haha.. was abt to suggest this too..

with 450cc big bore kit.. win any 600cc anytime..!! :angel:

sorry.. OOT!!!

oh.. till now haven do tuning or carb wash?? :slapforehead: :slapforehead:

haven yet as i have been busy with work and personal stuff... but i know its time already.

performance like duno wat, carbs working on their own, not sync... :giddy:

i jus came home from bike shop. sent my K&N for washing... :sian:

yoshi carbs? hmmm... maybe jus remove the air box then can function like yoshi carbs already. Open podssss... :lovestruck:

thomas mai tu liao. kenso jets n tuning. at the most 300$$. i did tuning and replaced some wear n tear in the carb. mid range improve. overall very smooth.

somehow, i still feel more comfortable with Dynojet leh... :dot:

Guest snowdog

Pardon me but what exactly is dyno jet? Is it changing of fuel injectors?

haha.. was abt to suggest this too..

with 450cc big bore kit.. win any 600cc anytime..!! :angel:

sorry.. OOT!!!

win any 600cc anytime?

what top speed u will get with yoshi carb?