Take it easy bro ... just have a nice ride first and get used to the bike as much as possible. Feel the width and length of the bike for cutting through vehicles or lane during peak hours or jammed! .. Feel the braking power and distance since our bike braking not that very good we can say! .. Feel the control of the bike during especially with MRF tyres but I don't say it's so no good. MRF gave you a good mileage and speed actually but not that very good on wet day or wet surface at mscp. ....

For a timer on your ride .. like others said just put a chep waterproof watch can do ... we do that on our bike. Yes. at times there will have a cheapo thief dropby and steal it .. so that's part and parcel .. better to lose that watch rather than losing the whole bike!! kekekee

For chain lube since you are going to AhBoy to get your raincoat than you can get PZ1 chain lube there or you can just use your engine oil for lubing the chain.

When or how often to lube? .... every twice a month or every 700 - 1000km is a good habit!...

Do remember for chain is always lube more than wash!! ... eg. do lube > wash&lube > lube > lube > wash&lube > lube > lube.. etc ..

During lubing do make a time to clean the sprocs also and turn the tyre manually rather than when engine on .. this is for safety and to have the lube penetrates and soaked better on the chain system. ..... fyi .. i do have a friend who lost his finger during lubing the chain !! ... freak accidents can happen anytime anywhere but with extra careful we can avoid it.

Tightened the chain slack it it too loose .... the chain slack should be at least 1 inch up and down !!

http://0.tqn.com/d/motorcycles/1/0/o/9/-/-/Measure2.jpg

http://0.tqn.com/d/motorcycles/1/0/p/9/-/-/RearSprocketWipe.jpg

http://0.tqn.com/d/motorcycles/1/0/l/9/-/-/LubeSprayinside.jpg

Cheers!!

you ask him to take it slowly then bomb him with so much info...

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

Bajaj Service & Spare Parts List #51601,Pg 1033

SBT Members List #49950,Pg 999

Pulsar Enhancement Info #39332,Pg787

U'll soon get used to it. Grips can be changes anytime u want.. Alternatively use gloves.

Time wise u can just wear a watch on ur hand.

Make sure u run in it engine first. Don't go above 60 if im not wrong.. Stock tyres are quite risky and slippery. If can change them.

On the road, listed in priority, avoid:

1) taxis

2) female driven vehicle

3) heavy vehicles

Ride safe. Learn from every close shave u encounter.

Suggested view:

- Gloves are not an alternative but a must (@Lanzer: bull's eye !)

- 65km/h is the max running in speed

- female or male, drivers are not more stupid or dangerous because of their sex, but because of their lack of attention, experience and mood of the moment - treat EVERYONE as if they are out there to kill you and you'll be fine.

- too many close shaves = it's time to sit back, relax, and ponder on your riding style: what can I do to improve, why is it happening to me, how can I actively gain more experience ?

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

reporting from pc show 2011 level 4....

waiting to collect my new laptop....

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

Bajaj Service & Spare Parts List #51601,Pg 1033

SBT Members List #49950,Pg 999

Pulsar Enhancement Info #39332,Pg787

Anyway. Dun think im going for 2a bike. I'm gonna get back to school and won't be having a proper income. :(

The manual says 65km/h for the running in but sometime i go until 70 km/h leh.

Maximum i went to was 73km/h.

Noooo help! :(

I will buy gloves when i go the ahboy to get my raincoat!

5km/h isn't much so don;t worry, but REALLY REALLY try to stick to 65km/h. Be patient, you'll clock 800km soon enough.

This phase is CRUCIAL for your bike's long term life, take care of it and in 3 years it will still be brand new.

Don't and, well, it will make a good enough second hand that you'll want to get rid of and the next user will probably have to overhaul :cheeky:

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

For the chain lube, I beg to differ : lubing should be done every 300km as a good habit.

Of course, the Pulsar can take rough and tough conditions, but given that it rains often here in SG and that it's very hot and the heat dry up the most greasy stuff quicker than under other weather, do take care of our chain.

The chain is probably the easier yet more important part of your bike. If the chain has an issue, the gears will have one, and by consequence it can affect other parts of your engine.

As far as I'm concerned I:

- lube the chain after each heavy rain riding, or riding through lots of pool of water even if not raining, the splashes can be pretty heavy from other vehicles on the road

- after every bike wash

- if none of the above happened, if I rode more than 300km, I lube it as well. I keep track of my chain lube mileage using the trip meter 2, I reset it after each chain lube application. (trip meter 1 is used to keep track of petrol mileage, reset it every full tank).

Now, the above can seem a bit too much but it helps me to:

- notice any problem on my bike, because I look at it often (un-tightened screw, scratch, tire deflated, rust etc..). So i can repair / anticipate and act on the issue early and not be surprised by it while riding.

- get better at lubing the chain : at first you'll put too much, you won't know how to apply it, but you'll get better at it and you'll be happy about it :cool:

- sets a good habit of taking care of your bike ensuring a smooth and troubles free ride !

As for the chain lube, I haven't tried PZ1 that MJ recommends yet, tried Maxima chain lube and Holtz Motorcycle chain lube, and I like both. Holtz is a gel and Maxima is a foam that turns into liquid oil. Both from Mustapha.

Another good habit to have, especially if you ride long distances and/or use gel chain lube, is to open your front sprocket cover from time to time (every 2-3 months maybe?) to check if there isn't an excess of grease+dirt blocked under there. The chain carries dirts and the excess of lube and often it stays there - nothing dangerous, but t's good to clean it from time to time.

Lube by putting the product on the top of the lower chain :

http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSozq19HJ5pWunTwAKXh5j0lxXlhst43YUx1z8o_BkHmQ6CQKtEVw&t=1

aim at the disk/ring on the side of the chain if you can.

@ O'Ren ......

hmmmmmm ..... cheers!!!

reasons why there's always guyz pointed fingers at lady driver / rider for some reasons there !! ... hehehehhee

21335_10151769662906654_1436797672_n.jpg

PULSARIANS SINGAPORE

" Hmmm .. Old does not mean ... old ideology, old fashion and old mindset ... hehehe "

" No Sacrifies No Victory " [/size]

mjbs64 : 97821440 P200 SplitFire2010aza Not for Sale!

I cleared yenyu just now at my counter in Tuas chk pnt on arrival... Lol he don't recognize me... Hehe

haha lol that's quite funny :D

would u be on duty @ woodlands as well?

I cleared yenyu just now at my counter in Tuas chk pnt on arrival... Lol he don't recognize me... Hehe

lol ! Excellent :lol:

Or u cn fix a cheapo watch on e handlebar like sum ppl do..n also avoid bicycles!!! Dis prc n bangla cyclists are a menace to road safety

i think its fair to lookout for all types of cyclists, in the eyes of law, when u bang, you've banged a 'cyclist' n not a person from a particular race, hence it doesn't matter whether they're 'bangla' or 'ppl that of Chinese national', the blame will be of yours most of the time as the law finds them to be innocent on the road..

my rule of thumb on the road to be safe is.. don't do it if your are not sure and as lanzer mentioned, forget about right of way.. cuz its ur life at stake n just let the other road user get away..

Riding teaches alot of patience :p

Alright people! :) ride safely i will! Could i ask u guys ah. What are some of the DIY maintenance that u all do to your bikes? The only one i know is chain lubricating. Can i ask what brand lube u all use? How often u all lube? What are the other maintenances i should do to keep my bike in tip top condition?

Chain maintenance includes maintain proper chain tension, keeping it clean and lubricated.

Spark plug change. Its really easy, no reason not to.

Engine oil change. Also very easy.

Otherr maintenance that is good to know includes replacing brake pads and drums, cleaning carburators, and maintaining the servicable batteries by filling it up with water when necessary.

Bajaj Pulsar 180 - UG3 (2007 - )

Suzuki GSXR-400 (2008 - 2009)

Piaggio Vespa GT 200L (2009 - 2011)

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Yamaha FZ S1 '05 (2011 - )

Reporting live from Phnom Penh, Cambodia! 3 more hours before I'll be heading off to Bangkok on a night bus. Hope everyone is well and riding safe! I see lots of new faces here and I'm glad for SBT! HOO YA! You all take care and I'll be back soon before you all know it! I missed my beloved Firefly and meeting up with everyone! See you guys soon! :cheer:

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10752;417/st/20140315/e/Ride+Up+To+Meleka%21/dt/12/k/4d9a/event.png

Bajaj "Firefly" Pulsar 180 > Dec 2008 - present :cool:

my nostalgia 1983 - 1985 tour of duty full time

PNSF Academy squad 20/83

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/253646_2017979682792_1042874342_32436220_7702178_n.jpg

PNSF Scooter Patrol 1984

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/249816_2017982962874_1042874342_32436228_1327085_n.jpg

SCDF NS Med Coy 3rd battalion at SMM Pasir Laba Camp 1985

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/247578_2017986242956_1042874342_32436233_1481388_n.jpg

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/254274_2017984402910_1042874342_32436230_2879123_n.jpg

SCDF Medical Coy 3rd Battalion ... a bunch of selected boyz joint forces from saf & pnsf before ROD/ORD 1985

just spamming here!! .. kekekekekee

Edited by mjbs64

21335_10151769662906654_1436797672_n.jpg

PULSARIANS SINGAPORE

" Hmmm .. Old does not mean ... old ideology, old fashion and old mindset ... hehehe "

" No Sacrifies No Victory " [/size]

mjbs64 : 97821440 P200 SplitFire2010aza Not for Sale!

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/249816_2017982962874_1042874342_32436228_1327085_n.jpg

1984, d day i was brought into this world. zaman2 bapaku masih rambot side parting.

http://sphotos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/603859_3802371097427_2134347937_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/s720x720/534363_3998392523188_157059301_n.jpg

Morning Pulsarians :cheer:

Going to UM tomorrow morning for my 10k servicing before leaving for my trip.

Might leave on Thursday if everything goes according to plan.

Morning Pulsarians :cheer:

Going to UM tomorrow morning for my 10k servicing before leaving for my trip.

Might leave on Thursday if everything goes according to plan.

Good luck, enjoy and wish you safe return.

Save Fuel, Save Earth !

Just went to LAB to get my gloves, raincoat and chain lube! =)

i somehow think its dangerous to travel at 65km/h on the expressway leh. all those cars cutting into my lane at the last minute to make the exit. ppl tailgating me from behind although i am at the most left lane. ARGH. cannot tahan.

and hey ppl. Other people might have a poor sense of direction. but for me, i think i dont EVEN HAVE a sense of direction. every road is like a stranger to me, anyone could help give me tips to remember the roads better?

i somehow think its dangerous to travel at 65km/h on the expressway leh. all those cars cutting into my lane at the last minute to make the exit. ppl tailgating me from behind although i am at the most left lane. ARGH. cannot tahan.

and hey ppl. Other people might have a poor sense of direction. but for me, i think i dont EVEN HAVE a sense of direction. every road is like a stranger to me, anyone could help give me tips to remember the roads better?

My advice would be dont take your bike out on the expressway until you are really comfortable with riding. A mistake on a normal road may be a fall and some injuries, but on an expressway it might be fatal.

Everyone makes mistakes when they are new to riding. The important thing is to get away with those mistakes with minimum damage.

May '10 - Jun '11 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG2

Jul '11 - Jan '12 : Honda Phantom TA200

Feb '12 - Jul '12 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG3

Aug '12 - Current : Bajaj Pulsar 200 DTSi

Easy bro..go by landmarks

http://images.theage.com.au/2011/05/16/2366334/art_stoner-200x0.jpg