What's the part that's broken ?

I believe its the piston. Looks like in 10k kms the owner never changed the EO :slapforehead:

The original EO must have been mineral and after about 5k kms the EO starts losing viscosity and becomes like water. Next stage is that since its is so thin under high temperatures it cannot remain liquid anymore and starts boiling and evaporating untill no more EO left.

Edited by revhappy

May '10 - Jun '11 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG2

Jul '11 - Jan '12 : Honda Phantom TA200

Feb '12 - Jul '12 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG3

Aug '12 - Current : Bajaj Pulsar 200 DTSi

I was at AMK as usual but slightly late around 10.30pm .... taking my teh tarik alone.... hehehee

Saw 1 black pulsar with blue pole lights not sure who wif pillion gf slowed down while looking at the the coffee shop and passed by and make a u turn befor vroom off ... anyone of you out there? ....

Later at 10.50pm Santamalia and his friend Sam arrived to collect his Sinnob and at a later time Spaidhuz arrived with his Fazer ... we chat for a while till 11.30pm before I make a leave for home.

Now very tired ... but think I have a story to share from my earliear visits around 11.30am at UM for my carburattor washed.

Story to share at UM ..... saw 1 Black FBC P200 mileage just almost 10km yesssss P200 FBC plate mileage just near 10km !! .... the condition let the pics tells the story!! ...

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=208572&d=1308762779

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=208574&d=1308762825

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=208573&d=1308762785

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=208571&d=1308762771

I was shocked to see the bike condition right after Ah Kit opened the engine block!!! .... Who to blame???? .... hmmmmmmmmm

i shared before i once saw a FBE plate XCD at UM for overhual...

the bike was only 3 months old...

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

Bajaj Service & Spare Parts List #51601,Pg 1033

SBT Members List #49950,Pg 999

Pulsar Enhancement Info #39332,Pg787

Kota tinggi bike week

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/261732_1957382067532_1632161057_1853419_2857546_n.jpg

~ Care to do a translation? and what's the loading logo doing there? :D

not clear wat it says. 8-10 july is the event. 1000 big cc bikes involve.

http://sphotos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/603859_3802371097427_2134347937_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/s720x720/534363_3998392523188_157059301_n.jpg

I believe its the piston. Looks like in 10k kms the owner never changed the EO :slapforehead:

The original EO must have been mineral and after about 5k kms the EO starts losing viscosity and becomes like water. Next stage is that since its is so thin under high temperatures it cannot remain liquid anymore and starts boiling and evaporating untill no more EO left.

:slapforehead::slapforehead::slapforehead: ... not like that lah!! .. kakakkaa

21335_10151769662906654_1436797672_n.jpg

PULSARIANS SINGAPORE

" Hmmm .. Old does not mean ... old ideology, old fashion and old mindset ... hehehe "

" No Sacrifies No Victory " [/size]

mjbs64 : 97821440 P200 SplitFire2010aza Not for Sale!

alamak. Dun scare me please. I scared my new bike engine take out also like that. :( just now i was at msia carpark finding parking. So i took off helmet cos damn hot. ( oren no worries i was travelling at 15km/h. Walk also faster. ) that's when i hear some insignificant clicking sounds coming from my engine. Put on my helmet n there's no sound again. Not sure whether it's there all the time or just came up recently.

U worry too much.

Yeah I agree with Fircyber - But it happened to me too, to freak out at every sound.

After a few weeks (months) of riding you bike, you'll know it better and you'll have NO DOUBT when it makes a weird sound, you'll know right away and the sound won't go away with the helmet :cheeky:

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

Haha. Okay then. :) anything i will tell u guys again. Hahahhahaa.

How much does it cost to overhaul the engine ah? Just to be mentally prepared. Lol.

After overhaul will it ever be the same?

How much does it cost to overhaul the engine ah? Just to be mentally prepared. Lol.

overhual will be the last thing on your mind

take care of your bike and no need to worry about that

full overhaul will take min $800+ to $1k+

depending on what are the items you need to change

for top overhual min is around $400+

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

My parking fine appeal is successful :cheers:

This the email that I received:

We refer to your request of 17 Jun 2011 to waive the parking offence fine.

2 Motorists are required to display valid Season Parking Ticket (SPT) or parking coupon(s) on their vehicle when using HDB car parks. If this is not done, they will be served with Parking Offence Notices.

3 There are signboards installed at the entrances of HDB car parks to advise motorists of the parking schemes available. Motorists must strictly comply with the details on the signboards when using HDB car parks.

4 We have looked into your request. As you have renewed your SPT for the month of Jun 2011, we will waive the Parking Offence fine. However we will not be able to accede to your future request to waive subsequent parking offence fine(s).

But sad part is I have lost my chance of appealing in the future. Next time if I park anywhere without a coupon, no need to appeal also, straight away pay the fine :(

its just the tappet valve opening and closing...and other things rotating. no prob. think u dn realli have to worry bout overhaulin for a nong time unless of cos u do crazy stuff or are overzealous

in search of the magical fuel penguins

Honda CB400F

SERVICE & SPARE PARTS AT UM

Servicing

1) Standard Package Servicing ......................................$6.00

Engine & Spark Plug

02) Rectified oil leaking on top of engine :

- 1pc cap camshaft + 2 pcs 'O' ring: .................... $35.00

- ball bearing (6301) @ $7.50 x 2 pcs ... $15

- ball bearing rear hub x 1 pc .... $8.50

- ball bearing (6302)........ $8.50

- ball bearing (6202) .... $8.00

03) 1pc diaphragm: .................................................. ....$25+5 for workmanship fees

04) 1pc Magneto gasket (for starter motor) : ....................$6.00

05) Wash + clean carburettor : .......................................$18.00

06) Engine holding bolt (long) ........................................... $8

07) Change Engine oil 1L ........................................$10.00

08) Change FS Mobil 1 Engine oil 1.2L(P200) ........................................$26.40

09) Change FS Mobil 1 Engine oil 1L(P180) .........................................$22.00

10) Denso spark plug (copper) .................................................. ....$6.50

11) NGK spark plug (copper) ..............................................$5.5 0

12) Respray engine block ..............................................$15

13) mj 115 ........................ $7.50

Brake, Clutch, Choke & Throttle

01) 1pc Rear Brake Shoe: .............................................. $18

02) 5pcs clutch spring (for starter motor): ........................$2.50

03) 5pcs bush for clutch (for starter motor): .....................$2.50

04) Clutch cable .................................................. ..........$16.50

05) Brake pedal .................................................. .............. $25

06) Brake Fluid + labour .................................... $12

07) Throttle cable ..............................$17

08) New set of choke……………………………………… ……….. $18

09) Clutch gasket .................. .................. 1pc $4 (need 2 pcs)

10) Centrifugal gasket ................................ $1 a pc

11) Cultch plate Kit set .................... $78 ( if I'm not wrong)

12) clutch lever...................$12

13) Clutch plate ....................... $19.50

14) Front brake pad ................. $23 a pair

15) master cylinder diaphrgm .............. $6

16) Pump kit master cylinder + top brake fluid + labor .... $45

Wheels, Tyres, Chain and Sprockets

01) Rubber cap for chain case: .......................................$1.00

02) Front & Rear sprocket + Chain : ................................. $75

03) Front sprocket only (without labor) .............................$12.50

04) Rear sprocket only (without labor) ..............................$25

05) Sprockets & Chain P200 (1 set) ........................ $136

06) IRC rear tyre (P200) .................................................$ 75

07) Battlax rear & front tyre P200 .............................$210

08) Seal puntured tyre ..................... $5

[09) Rubber Coupling Damper ............ $10.50

10) Duro Tyre Rear (P180) ...........................$65

11) Spray both rims (paint excluded) .................... $80 [1 spray can = $5, need 1 can per rim]

Electricals, Signals, Sensors and Horn

01) Signal light lens .................................................. .....$4.00

02) Whole signal light assembly (1 piece)............................$20.00

03) Bulb for fuel gauge/speedometer/tachometer (for ver 2) ..$2.00

04) Service starter motor assembly: ................................$15.00

05) Horn per pc .................................................. ................. $25

06) Head Light bulb ............................$8.50 [lookalike white light/P200] $7 [lookalike yellow]

07) Number Plate bulb ........................................ $2

08) Battery Dry Cell ...................$40.50

09) Temperature sensor .............. $12

10) starter motor........$60(second hand)$145(brand new)+labour fee $25

11) pigtail switch ..... $5

12) CDI assembly ..... $98

13) rotor assembly ... $125

14) stator assbly comp ... $90

15) control switch RH ..... $65

16) switch electrical control unit .... $124

17) coil with labor and gasket ... $129

18) speedo meter cable ............$ 19.50

Accessories

01) Crash bar .................................................. .............$30.00

02) Kit Grommet sidecover......................................... .......$2.50

03) Latest Givi Monorack for top box ..................................$70 (+$10 labor)

04) RH footrest.......................................... ......................$36

05) LH footrest .................................................. ..............$32

06) Mirror per pcs .................................................. ..........$20

07) Handle bar .................................................. ...............$36

08) Pillon footrest per set .................................................. $13

09) Shield muffler .................................................. ...........$28

10) Weld metal pc on side stand ............................................... $15

11) Spray foot step panel and pillion grab holders (paint excluded)..$20

12) Install aftermarket front & rear fenders ................................. $60

13) Blank key(without key cutting) ...................................$3.00

14) Footrest bracket................................$3

Fork, Main Stand, Side Stand and Exhaust

01) SVC the fork.............................................. ... $40

02) Weld exhaust Pipe P180: ................................ $15.00 [Depends on how bad it is]

03) Weld exhaust pipe P200 ...................................$22 [Depends on how bad it is]

04) Exhaust gasket ........................... $3.50

05) Top up fork oil ...................$4

06) Weld main stand wif extension + barckets ............. $30

07) Steering cone set($33) + Ball bearing 1 set of 39pcs (Top 19pcs below 20pcs)($4) + Labour($25)............................$62

08) Respray Exhaust ........................................$30

MISC Items

01) Tap Fuel........................................$35 ('ON-Reserve-OFF' switch)

Hahaha. Hope my bike lasts me ten years! :) o'ren did u get a new bike too?

it won't only last for juz a decade, it will be a workable museum antique if u took care of it.

Yeah Yhang, got it new too. The number one thing I love about this bike is its fuel consumption

Ah if they could make bigger bikes with such low petrol consumption...

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

Be prepared for Every 30,000 km stated in the Manual Book to have your Cylinder head De carbonising and valve tapping !! ...

Top overhaul labour is $60 and the parts can cost you in total $120 or more depends on how much the damaged.

It is wise to do it according to manual book as it will lighten the damage if any!! ...

Items need to change for Top overhaul

1: Cap camshaft 1 pc

2: O ring tapper 2pcs

3: timing chain

4: clutch gasket

5: EO

6: labour

Please do not worry with the word OVERHAUL!! ..

Definition of OVERHAUL (dictionary)

Process of restoring and maintaining an equipment, machine, or system in a serviceable condition.

Overhaul involves

(1) partial or complete disassembly of the item,

(2) inspection to detect damaged, defective, or worn parts,

(3) repair or replacement of such parts, and

(4) reassembly, testing, and trial-run prior to returning the item to its full operating level.

CHEERS!! ..

PULSARIANS SINGAPORE

" Hmmm .. Old does not mean ... old ideology, old fashion and old mindset ... hehehe "

Be prepared for Every 30,000 km stated in the Manual Book to have your Cylinder head De carbonising and valve tapping !! ...

Top overhaul labour is $60 and the parts can cost you in total $120 or more depends on how much the damaged.

It is wise to do it according to manual book as it will lighten the damage if any!! ...

Items need to change for Top overhaul

1: Cap camshaft 1 pc

2: O ring tapper 2pcs

3: timing chain

4: clutch gasket

5: EO

6: labour

Please do not worry with the word OVERHAUL!! ..

Definition of OVERHAUL (dictionary)

Process of restoring and maintaining an equipment, machine, or system in a serviceable condition.

Overhaul involves

(1) partial or complete disassembly of the item,

(2) inspection to detect damaged, defective, or worn parts,

(3) repair or replacement of such parts, and

(4) reassembly, testing, and trial-run prior to returning the item to its full operating level.

CHEERS!! ..

from the manual then it should not be listed as overhual...

more of top servicing...

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

Yeah Yhang, got it new too. The number one thing I love about this bike is its fuel consumption

Ah if they could make bigger bikes with such low petrol consumption...

I think Pulsar's FC is over hyped. Its always a tradeoff between power and FC. I am sure light bikes with low compression ratio like YBR 125, CBF 150, FZ16 and Tiger 200 have similar FC as Pulsar but somehow pulsar enjoys the reputation of being the most fuel efficient bike in its class ;)

Servicing

1) Standard Package Servicing ......................................$6.00

Engine & Spark Plug

02) Rectified oil leaking on top of engine :

- 1pc cap camshaft + 2 pcs 'O' ring: .................... $35.00

- ball bearing (6301) @ $7.50 x 2 pcs ... $15

- ball bearing rear hub x 1 pc .... $8.50

- ball bearing (6302)........ $8.50

- ball bearing (6202) .... $8.00

03) 1pc diaphragm: .................................................. ....$25+5 for workmanship fees

04) 1pc Magneto gasket (for starter motor) : ....................$6.00

05) Wash + clean carburettor : .......................................$18.00

06) Engine holding bolt (long) ........................................... $8

07) Change Engine oil 1L ........................................$10.00

08) Change FS Mobil 1 Engine oil 1.2L(P200) ........................................$26.40

09) Change FS Mobil 1 Engine oil 1L(P180) .........................................$22.00

10) Denso spark plug (copper) .................................................. ....$6.50

11) NGK spark plug (copper) ..............................................$5.5 0

12) Respray engine block ..............................................$15

13) mj 115 ........................ $7.50

Brake, Clutch, Choke & Throttle

01) 1pc Rear Brake Shoe: .............................................. $18

02) 5pcs clutch spring (for starter motor): ........................$2.50

03) 5pcs bush for clutch (for starter motor): .....................$2.50

04) Clutch cable .................................................. ..........$16.50

05) Brake pedal .................................................. .............. $25

06) Brake Fluid + labour .................................... $12

07) Throttle cable ..............................$17

08) New set of choke……………………………………… ……….. $18

09) Clutch gasket .................. .................. 1pc $4 (need 2 pcs)

10) Centrifugal gasket ................................ $1 a pc

11) Cultch plate Kit set .................... $78 ( if I'm not wrong)

12) clutch lever...................$12

13) Clutch plate ....................... $19.50

14) Front brake pad ................. $23 a pair

15) master cylinder diaphrgm .............. $6

16) Pump kit master cylinder + top brake fluid + labor .... $45

Wheels, Tyres, Chain and Sprockets

01) Rubber cap for chain case: .......................................$1.00

02) Front & Rear sprocket + Chain : ................................. $75

03) Front sprocket only (without labor) .............................$12.50

04) Rear sprocket only (without labor) ..............................$25

05) Sprockets & Chain P200 (1 set) ........................ $136

06) IRC rear tyre (P200) .................................................$ 75

07) Battlax rear & front tyre P200 .............................$210

08) Seal puntured tyre ..................... $5

[09) Rubber Coupling Damper ............ $10.50

10) Duro Tyre Rear (P180) ...........................$65

11) Spray both rims (paint excluded) .................... $80 [1 spray can = $5, need 1 can per rim]

Electricals, Signals, Sensors and Horn

01) Signal light lens .................................................. .....$4.00

02) Whole signal light assembly (1 piece)............................$20.00

03) Bulb for fuel gauge/speedometer/tachometer (for ver 2) ..$2.00

04) Service starter motor assembly: ................................$15.00

05) Horn per pc .................................................. ................. $25

06) Head Light bulb ............................$8.50 [lookalike white light/P200] $7 [lookalike yellow]

07) Number Plate bulb ........................................ $2

08) Battery Dry Cell ...................$40.50

09) Temperature sensor .............. $12

10) starter motor........$60(second hand)$145(brand new)+labour fee $25

11) pigtail switch ..... $5

12) CDI assembly ..... $98

13) rotor assembly ... $125

14) stator assbly comp ... $90

15) control switch RH ..... $65

16) switch electrical control unit .... $124

17) coil with labor and gasket ... $129

18) speedo meter cable ............$ 19.50

19) P200 head light assembly $110 not inc labour, but includes pole lights n stock bulb

Accessories

01) Crash bar .................................................. .............$30.00

02) Kit Grommet sidecover......................................... .......$2.50

03) Latest Givi Monorack for top box ..................................$70 (+$10 labor)

04) RH footrest.......................................... ......................$36

05) LH footrest .................................................. ..............$32

06) Mirror per pcs .................................................. ..........$20

07) Handle bar .................................................. ...............$36

08) Pillon footrest per set .................................................. $13

09) Shield muffler .................................................. ...........$28

10) Weld metal pc on side stand ............................................... $15

11) Spray foot step panel and pillion grab holders (paint excluded)..$20

12) Install aftermarket front & rear fenders ................................. $60

13) Blank key(without key cutting) ...................................$3.00

14) Footrest bracket................................$3

Fork, Main Stand, Side Stand and Exhaust

01) SVC the fork.............................................. ... $40

02) Weld exhaust Pipe P180: ................................ $15.00 [Depends on how bad it is]

03) Weld exhaust pipe P200 ...................................$22 [Depends on how bad it is]

04) Exhaust gasket ........................... $3.50

05) Top up fork oil ...................$4

06) Weld main stand wif extension + barckets ............. $30

07) Steering cone set($33) + Ball bearing 1 set of 39pcs (Top 19pcs below 20pcs)($4) + Labour($25)............................$62

08) Respray Exhaust ........................................$30

MISC Items

01) Tap Fuel........................................$35 ('ON-Reserve-OFF' switch)

I think Pulsar's FC is over hyped. Its always a tradeoff between power and FC. I am sure light bikes with low compression ratio like YBR 125, CBF 150, FZ16 and Tiger 200 have similar FC as Pulsar but somehow pulsar enjoys the reputation of being the most fuel efficient bike in its class ;)

and also, the pulsar has the biggest capacity tank on the market.. that's one of the main reasons why i went for it. it brings down the effective price per litre when pumping ron 95..

from the manual then it should not be listed as overhual...

more of top servicing...

Hmmm in the first place there is no term known as top servicing .. pls see no (1) and (2) as stated in the dictionary .. overhaul is either to inspect to detect partly or complete disassembly of the item!!!

Since we as a habit using the word in a negative approach, reason why ppl have the fear for the word overhaul. Like mentioned Overhaul is basiclly to open and check to detect partially or wholely if anything need to change to prevent from total damage.

As basically since some workshop chop carrot to earn more when comes to overhaulling that does not mean at UM they will do the same thing. I believed Chris and the mechs there will inform you what went wrong and whether it need to change or not.

Honestly speaking when I approached Chris and Ah Tek about my intention to open the top engine, both of them asked me first why the need to if the sound of my engine is still ok.

But truely, we cannot take things for granted by just listening to the sound only. And it is not practical also to wait for any sound then open .. this will end up to have more damage if we wait for the sound or something like that.

Yes here some may say to open is costly but yet again if we do not open early and wait for the engine to fail first then it will eventually become more costly.

I experienced that long ago which I've shared here last time on my master cylinder reseervoir.

Similar with our health lah, we have to go for regular check up rather than to wait for something goes wrong .. to detect early is better than too late.

Regular check up and screening is cheaper than being hospitalised and to know your sickness early is better than to know after it became worst! ..

CHeers!!!

PULSARIANS SINGAPORE

testes NB+ on the road, noticeable increase in luminosity and vehicles notice ur presence on the road... however there's a momentary lag when switching from low to high beam and the head cowling gets a teeny weeny bit warm/hot

as for the vibration problem i reported here couple of pages back..

ah teck told me it could be that the clutch palates are worn out and also mentioned that my clutch is quite stiff and loosened it a lil.. he asked me to observe a until next eo changge.. anyways feels much easier to clutch now + the new engine oil is giving me much smoother ride..

since i've replaced my speedo cable... i was able to notice that i can achieve

80km/h while @ 6K RPM,

90km/h around 7.5K - 7.8K RPM

didn't wana go higher cuz the engine is kinda screaming... until 80 everything is smooth.. its smoother with a pillion on board...

Hmmm. Just some of my opinion. Most of the times our parents normally duwan us ride bike,

BUT. Everything about bike is much much cheaper than cars!

Parking cheaper, coupon cheaper, FC much better, ERP cheaper, service n repair cheaper, fine also cheaper. LOL

owning a car in sg is kind of pointless to me. Seriously jam most of the time. When u are free to go out. Millions of ppl also free to go out too. Expressway becomes snailway. Again no such thing for bikes. :) i do pray for myself and every rider out there. Whenever we are lanesplitting, cars, please signal if u wanna do lane changing or any other funny things. :)

i really think we should start a facebook page asap. :) or do we alrdy have one?

Ride On Pulsarians. :)