What do you think?  

48 members have voted

1. 1. What do you think?

• Its Queen's English actually.
    • Its Rubbish!

what do you think of the standard of english here?

not for anyone in particular...but the general level of english.

i find it atrocious.

• Replies 80

Originally posted by archenemy@Jun 16 2006, 02:05 PM

i find it atrocious.

Whats actrocious? :confused: :giddy:

:smile: Regards about the topic ~ To determine the level of english being used in this forum? Personally, I feel that this is Singapore Bikes forum in the lst place, in terms of the main purpose is generally for the bikers' interaction and exchange of bikes information. As for the language used, I dont think its should be considered as a factor in this discussion. As long as, the general bikers in this forum understand what they are communicating and everyone is happy with it.

Originally posted by MiCmAsTa@Jun 16 2006, 02:18 PM

Whats actrocious? :confused: :giddy:

hahaa...

dont act blur leh...

Originally posted by archenemy@Jun 16 2006, 02:05 PM

i find it atrocious.

I strongly agree. The level of English is so bad, that I have made a vow.

I will not speak Singlish, ever!

Originally posted by summerlove^_^@Jun 16 2006, 02:38 PM

:smile: Regards about the topic ~ To determine the level of english being used in this forum? Personally, I feel that this is Singapore Bikes forum in the lst place, in terms of the main purpose is generally for the bikers' interaction and exchange of bikes information. As for the language used, I dont think its should be considered as a factor in this discussion. As long as, the general bikers in this forum understand what they are communicating and everyone is happy with it.

:clap: :clap :clap:

~.*.~*.~.*.~*.~.*.~*.~.*.~*.~.*.~*.~.*.~*.~.*.~.*.~*.~.*

心因為寬容, æ‰çœ‹è¦‹å¹¸ç¦

人会å˜å¾—温柔, æ˜¯é€æ¾ˆçš„æ‡‚了

懂了, å¿«ä¹æ˜¯é€‰æ‹©

http://i61.photobucket.com/albums/h57/devoted_01/2221.gif

Interaction via at least nominally average English would be fine. But some massacre the language, not just are ignorant of how to use it. See how you use shortforms all the time? Sooner or later people are going to forget what they mean.

It is atrocious indeed. Not that I really mind when it comes to talking with SG'ers, but I tend to keep my posts in order just so everyone can be clear on what I am talking about, and if they do not, they can always ask me and I will post in nominal English.

The Blue Hellrider

The BP HPG

<span style=\'color:navy\'>卍解 - 瞬神 四楓院 夜一

これは私の卍解。

it is not the short form...

im fine with things like S'pore, or SG...very understandable & accepted short forms..

however..it is the GRAMMAR and SPELLING!

if some dont know how to use the word correctly...use something simpler!

for example, "which one do you patron most often".

its supposed to be "patronise most often".

or you can simply use a simpler word which doesnt need any adjustments like "go most often".

Originally posted by Panther@Jun 16 2006, 04:33 PM

It is atrocious indeed. Not that I really mind when it comes to talking with SG'ers, but I tend to keep my posts in order just so everyone can be clear on what I am talking about, and if they do not, they can always ask me and I will post in nominal English.

precisely..

some posts are really :giddy:

the very basics of language is to communicate your ideas and for people to understand what you are trying to say...

:lol: :lol: :lol: Mdm Palmer's england so funny~ lolz~ :lol:

btw, :offtopic: a little bit, dear arch are you a english teacher? :confused: :cheeky:

心因為寬容, æ‰çœ‹è¦‹å¹¸ç¦

懂了, å¿«ä¹æ˜¯é€‰æ‹©

Originally posted by w1n6@Jun 16 2006, 05:42 PM

in general, we are not even ENGLISH... but compare to the rest of the world, sillypore is one of the highest when comes to oral and understanding england LAH... :smile: checkout the bar chor mee seller if he speak good NATIVE engrish. :sweat:

smile_and_speak_good_english.mp3

kekekeke~ :lol: so funny~ :lol: i reli laugh till :faint: :D

心因為寬容, æ‰çœ‹è¦‹å¹¸ç¦

懂了, å¿«ä¹æ˜¯é€‰æ‹©

check out this thread on the forums

super duper english by the threadstarter...especially the 1st post & the last few...

Originally posted by ^devoted^@Jun 16 2006, 05:43 PM

btw, :offtopic: a little bit, dear arch are you a english teacher? :confused: :cheeky:

no im not an english teacher...

Not everyone is fluent in English or comes from an English-speaking family.

Btw:

"Signalling doesn't give you the right of way. I don't have to give way to you! You still have to wait until it's safe before you can change lanes."

http://pinkash.com/dillon3.jpg

Dillon Daimein - BMW R1200GS

Dirty Harry - KTM 200

Goodbye Vince Black

hmm

if u are replying to a c*** and bull thread

why bother to use standard english, when u know that all the ppl will reply back in similar manner...

i mean , imagine if u go to a hawker center, tokin tot the leong tau fu stall seller

will u say this --- pls give me rice vemicelli, in soup..

or will u say -- bee hoon tng.............

jus my 2bhat worth of opinion

As you all should know, language is dynamic. It is not static. Even though Singlish is a massacred form of English, you can tell the native speakers identity from the way they speak. For example, let's say you are on tour to the most remote place of the world. The moment you hear someone say, "Eh, you don't act so blur like sotong, OK?" Immediately, you will know that the person is a countryman. A Singaporean like yourself. The main purpose of language is to communicate and understand one another. As long as you are not using Singlish in an academic piece or an academic presentation like a lecture in the university, I personally feel that it is alright when you are just talking among friends. However, do know when to code switch your level of English according to the situations you are in... :goodluck:

Originally posted by Aie@Jun 16 2006, 07:46 PM

However, do know when to code switch your level of English according to the situations you are in... :goodluck:

So very true.

On a related note it seems that people who have nothing better to add to threads and their content also "spam" a lot by just saying "yes" or "no" in like a few emoticons or sentences, without adding any real material to the argument/discussion/information at hand. No forum etiquette? They also are adding to the dropping level of standards of basic communication, in a sense.

And Arch, I meant stuff like AFK, WTF, BRB, etc. Sooner or later these shortforms will overtake the world.

O RLY? YA RLY. Stuff like that.

The Blue Hellrider

The BP HPG

<span style=\'color:navy\'>卍解 - 瞬神 四楓院 夜一

これは私の卍解。

who cares ??

This is NOT England. This place has no Queen.

This is Singapore. So we speak Singlish.

Level of Singlish ?.. EXCELLENT !!!!

Frankly, after the Prince and the beast episode.

Please ask the monarchy to go fly kite.

Such a disgrace.

Teh anyone ?????

true we have no queen here

we only need to use singLEEsh

oopz

Originally posted by cs_kup_oh@Jun 17 2006, 09:53 AM

true we have no queen here

we only need to use singLEEsh

oopz

Woah, bro. You want the ISD coming after you is it??? :sweat:

kaoz

dun anyhow quote me

i mean single -eesh

You can argue till cows come home, the standard will be here to stay. :sweat:

Life is not measured by the breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.

http://w1.bikepics.com/pics/2004/07/22/bikepics-184190-200.jpghttp://w1.bikepics.com/pics/2004/07/22/bikepics-184190-200.jpg

Guest Delusi0n

wah lau.. where can say till like tat.. we speak is like tat one mah.. not all uni student leh.. no all go overboard to study.. so now is simi.. riders divided by how they speak english?

tat is rubbish...

anyway i feel tat its more being an option to post with style or just using 'wah lau eh' and such... if those who are deem as highclass, y not creat a forum for Uni/overseas english speaking bikers...