Mr, what is going to be your next ride?

hello sir, i withdraw the sale le, decided to keep the bike, took it to Hatyai last week, changed my injectors and couldnt bear to let it go now lol so will keep on riding until ... dunno lol:cheeky:

"Time is not wasted when you are wasted all the time"

• Replies 9.9k

Hi guys

Just wanted to get your input on this. I've been wondering which particular style of riding is more appropriate for the Wee Strom - Motorcross or Sports style? Since it's a dual sports bike with the riding posture and height of a motorcross bike, should we be cornering with our leg sticking out or leaning in with the leg tucked in? Is it really dependent on the individual rider? I have no experience with motorcross or scramblers so I've always been leaning in. So ultimately what I really want to know is this:

1) Which style of cornering is better (can achieve a better lean angle)?

2) Exactly how far can the Wee safely lean when cornering? I'm using stock tyres now so let's use that for comparison as opposed to high wall or performance tyres.

Your views?

2) Exactly how far can the Wee safely lean when cornering? I'm using stock tyres now so let's use that for comparison as opposed to high wall or performance tyres.

Your views?

Err? Stock Tyre.... Dont' corner hard....... Trail wing is not as good as other tyres in the market.....

How low you want to go during cornering depends on how confidence you are. But I advise try not to do it on stock tyres.

My Wee.... My Journey.... My Adventure....

http://i870.photobucket.com/albums/ab262/mafitra/shukor_fhdrMedium.jpg

VSTROM SINGAPORE

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=125329690831574&v=photos#!/group.php?gid=125329690831574&ref=ts

The Strom can really lean if you are confident enough and also have a good tires. Ultimately it is the rider that set the limit.

Come original, u gotta come original...

hello sir, i withdraw the sale le, decided to keep the bike, took it to Hatyai last week, changed my injectors and couldnt bear to let it go now lol so will keep on riding until ... dunno lol:cheeky:
That's good for you.

Hi guys

Just wanted to get your input on this. I've been wondering which particular style of riding is more appropriate for the Wee Strom - Motorcross or Sports style? Since it's a dual sports bike with the riding posture and height of a motorcross bike, should we be cornering with our leg sticking out or leaning in with the leg tucked in? Is it really dependent on the individual rider? I have no experience with motorcross or scramblers so I've always been leaning in. So ultimately what I really want to know is this:

Your views?

1) Corner "lipat"

2) 90 degs oso can. But cannot move la after that.

Hi guys

Your views?

I'd say do everything within your comfort zone. We all have our limits and each of us, different. We are meant to enjoy the ride it provides us, not push beyond limits. Still, to each his own. Enjoy the bike.

Dobby said! "Harry Potter must not go back to School this year. There is a plot; plot to create very terrible things"

Actuali cornering works either way dependent on your preference and confidence at either...i am running on the stock metzeler on my wee and managed to accidentally scrapped my boots during a corner so i guess u can use tat as a gauge as to how low it can go although i advise not to...losing control will cost alot of money hahahahah...

Hi guys

Your views?

Hi bros

Thanks for the input. Watched Khaitronic's vid. Seems like the Wee and Vee can actually lean quite a bit into a corner. Good to know!

Latest update:

1) Getting my Junior 45L topcase from m-technik this week.

2) Going to get my handlebars changed to include a riser and add a fork brace. Probably from Regine.

3) Adding Barkbusters from m-technik

Should get rid of the vibration in the handlebars. Once I complete running in my bike then it's time for short rides into Malaysia!

Sigh ... So much to change, so little money ...

i am running on the stock metzeler on my wee and managed to accidentally scrapped my boots during a corner so i guess u can use tat as a gauge as to how low it can go although i advise not to...

Stock Metzelar?

I thought the stock tyre is Bridgestone Trailwing?

My Wee.... My Journey.... My Adventure....

http://i870.photobucket.com/albums/ab262/mafitra/shukor_fhdrMedium.jpg

VSTROM SINGAPORE

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=125329690831574&v=photos#!/group.php?gid=125329690831574&ref=ts

luv those vids of jumps and low corners.but i think this one is just as awesome

http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/201108/tarka.gif

Riding within one's limits and practice makes perfect. Always go back to the basic principles. ie BBDC: grip the tank firmly, line of sight etc. How you 'attack' the corner affects as well. All these is best done on the track away from traffic. Tips from experienced riders helps. Do keep your bike well maintained if you want to push it to the limits. Personally I prefer Metzeler tyres. Use them on all my bikes.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

that's one stupid rider in group ride.. almost crash into front bike at 0:54.

i hate this kind of group riding when everyone try to makan each other.

Hola... I prefer tucking in my leg... Check out videos at youtube on how far and low the vstrom... but individually lean at ur comfortable limits :)...

Eg of one Vids..

Hi guys

Your views?

if u need cornering lesson, u need to ride along coastal route up to mersing-kuantan-kuala trengganu together with a Red Vee in the forum....try keeping up with him....

Give yourself a free trips up north and discover your best cornering techniques and your limits....short practice can always try 2nd link exit 312C (Nusajaya Corner) for lefties...

Good practice but make sure the roads are free from pebbles...

Anyway back from popular demand...Will be doing a 1N/2D ride over the weekend to Kuala Trengganu - Gerik Highway soon....stay tune for the updates... :thumb:

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg

that's why need to ride with those riders you are more familiar with....

i've always insist that faster riders to ride first so will not put other riders' safety at risk...

1-2 rides with the same people is not enough to understand each other riding habits and capabilities...

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg

Don't call others stupid.. its not nice...

if u need cornering lesson, u need to ride along coastal route up to mersing-kuantan-kuala trengganu together with a Red Vee in the forum....try keeping up with him...
This is tantamount to asking for the impossible. But can always try. But dont despair if fail.

Who needs the rubber cushions on ur rider's footpeg?...

i'm going to order them in, mine giving way liao...

orders will be place in on 19th Mar

http://www.bikebandit.com/2006-suzuki-motorcycle-dl650-vstrom/o/m9743#sch507566

item 7: RUBBER,FOOTREST 1079987(1480538-001)

Price: USD$10.68/ piece (SGD$13.58/ piece) without shipping.

to be safe i will say, with shipping it may cause SGD$20 with spare change. Once i have the exactly price i will refund the remaining money to u guys.

Hi guys

Thanks for all the comments. I'm keen to practice cornering - safely, of course - and will just ride and see how things go. I'm not one of those that will go into a corner aggressively when using a filter lane. Sometimes I see how some guys ride the cubs and it scares me how low and fast they go. Maybe they believe in reincarnation ...

Reddy - I got a Junior Topcase 45L with backrest and luggage rack from M-Technik at $640. Can't remember how much they cost individually though.

Hey another question for you guys. I'm looking to get rid of the vibration in my handlebars. Was asking around and here are some options. Could use your feedback as well.

1) Get risers alone. Cheapest option and will allow for a more relaxed position since the handlebars are pulled back and should get rid of most of the vibration. However, downside is that the stock bar on the Wee isn't very strong and in case of a crash/fall (touchwood!), can get bent very easily.

2) Change the handlebar to a reinforced bar like the Africa Twin bar or Renthal bar. Should also get rid of the vibration but the wider bar would mean I have to lean forward and reach more, thus causing more strain to the shoulders over time.

3) Get the risers AND the handlebar. Costliest option and there's a chance that even though the bar is pulled back, the wider bar would lead back to the same issue of reach.

What say you guys? Anyone got any problem with reach before? Again, I'm about 1.7m and wondering what's the best fit. I'm prepared to shell out cash for Rox risers and an African Twin handlebar combo but I just want to make sure it's comfortable and worth the cash. Right now if I go at 100km/h for about 20mins, my hands start to go numb from the vibration and that's no fun.

Your thoughts?

Hi guys

Thanks for all the comments. I'm keen to practice cornering - safely, of course - and will just ride and see how things go. I'm not one of those that will go into a corner aggressively when using a filter lane. Sometimes I see how some guys ride the cubs and it scares me how low and fast they go. Maybe they believe in reincarnation ...

Reddy - I got a Junior Topcase 45L with backrest and luggage rack from M-Technik at $640. Can't remember how much they cost individually though.

Hey another question for you guys. I'm looking to get rid of the vibration in my handlebars. Was asking around and here are some options. Could use your feedback as well.

1) Get risers alone. Cheapest option and will allow for a more relaxed position since the handlebars are pulled back and should get rid of most of the vibration. However, downside is that the stock bar on the Wee isn't very strong and in case of a crash/fall (touchwood!), can get bent very easily.

2) Change the handlebar to a reinforced bar like the Africa Twin bar or Renthal bar. Should also get rid of the vibration but the wider bar would mean I have to lean forward and reach more, thus causing more strain to the shoulders over time.

3) Get the risers AND the handlebar. Costliest option and there's a chance that even though the bar is pulled back, the wider bar would lead back to the same issue of reach.

What say you guys? Anyone got any problem with reach before? Again, I'm about 1.7m and wondering what's the best fit. I'm prepared to shell out cash for Rox risers and an African Twin handlebar combo but I just want to make sure it's comfortable and worth the cash. Right now if I go at 100km/h for about 20mins, my hands start to go numb from the vibration and that's no fun.

Your thoughts?

aluminum bar helps reduce vibrations to a certain extend. african twin bar are of steel.

my set up- pro taper se atv mid rise (aluminium) with BMW grips, ride with gloves-vibrations are minimum, sometimes i forget that they exists. and you dont need to change your brake lines.

rox risers only improve ergonomics by having the flexibility for adjustments.

pos·er (pozr) n.

A Sportbike rider who habitually pretends to be something he is not and only care about how they appear to the public as their bikes are nothing more than props to get them noticed by girls or even teenage boys which they want to impress with fictional tales of all the hardcore riding they do.

hi...Can you hold your orders till monday...I might be getting

http://www.bikehk.com/photo/2005/p004233/001.jpg

My past n present ride...

1995 - Honda C70

1996 - TZR125 (FJ3462G)

1997 - TZRR125 (FM8630P)

1998 - CBR400RRR (FP6854H) / Skipper125 (FL8169K)

1999 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / RVF400 (FQ7918X) / LC125 (FB9950)

2000 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / Kawasaki ZXR750 P1 (FN5572M) / Toyota Starlet EP70 (SBH908R)

2001 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / TZM 150 (FS4806U) / Daihatsu Hijet (GM3346G)

2002 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / Toyota Starlet EP80 (SBR6249S)

2003 - Skipper125 (FL8196K) / XR200R (FS7249H)/ CBR900 (FJ76H)

2004 - XR200R (FS7249H) / Africa Twin 750 (FR1403Z) / Hyundai Accent 1.5L (SFF738C)

2005 - XR200R (FS7249H) / Honda Foresight 250 (FP9848G) / Atlantic200 (FZ5766H) / Mini (SFM9943E) / Hyundai Accent 1.5L (SFF738C)

2006 - Atlantic200 (FZ5576H) / Mini (SFM9943E) / Hyundai Tucson (SGC1185U)

2007 - DRZ400SM (FBBXXXX) / SWIFT SPORT (SGNXXXX)

Next - ....350Z???