hey guys i wanna ask...when u guys do your own jetting... need to perform plug chop right? but is plug chop harmfull to the engine? ride it till 4th-5th gear then hit the kill switch release throttle and clutch in fully till come to a complete stop... after the plug chop if the settings not right... can the same spark plug be used for another chop again? and wad spark plugs are the best to perform plug chop? iridium ones can?

Yes but normally at 6th gear will be the most accurate since it is at full load. but it only tells if your main jet is correct anot. Normally thats the only step for a stockish bike with stock carb. any plug will do but it must be the correct heat range. cooler range will have better top end. hotter ones are more for acceleration.

Edited by spiderman

RIDE TO THE LIMIT OF YR BIKE!

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/2263/pgturn1ho8.jpg

Reviews of my fast throttle. Have a look!

Reviews by so many dun lie ppl! come have a look!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=217369

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

oh ok thanks... so plug chop not needed... hmmm abt reading the temp at the dash... the new 06-09 version digital dashboard... dun have the temp reading lei...

so jetting is all by feel ah?? cuz im afraid that if i do the jetting changes myself... then the setting too lean i dono abt it... then dangerous kena piston jam... or too rich foul spark plug... how to safely do this? and where can i buy jetting set/kit?

wow thanks for the tip! ok i will remind myself to clutch in if this happens... sigh

those details u put up... seems like i got quite a few failed haha!

my smoke during warm up is hell alot! on the move not much after warmed up.

bike revs feels sluggish and the pinging sound feels heavy..

exhuast tip got small 2-3cm area of black deposits like left over 2t..

well i think im getting too little air... fc only got 20km/l max -.-!

but jus curious.. why so many aprilians change std 28mm carb to 34mm carb? and most only del orto? cant the jetting be done by using the 28mm carb changing the jet sizes?

20km/L is average for RS125, and I'd say sounds pretty good considering your mixture may be rich. Lean it out and there will be better fuel economy to be had.

hey guys i wanna ask...when u guys do your own jetting... need to perform plug chop right? but is plug chop harmfull to the engine? ride it till 4th-5th gear then hit the kill switch release throttle and clutch in fully till come to a complete stop... after the plug chop if the settings not right... can the same spark plug be used for another chop again? and wad spark plugs are the best to perform plug chop? iridium ones can?

Plug chop is sawing open the plug at the bottom of the resistor to look at the color. I carried a hacksaw with me to do my plug chops. A lot of hassle and because you are destroying a plug when you hack it up, you cannot reuse it, hence its also a huge wastage.

Dont need do plug chop... totally unrealistic..

find an empty express way, ride at ur own pace, accelerate, constant speed at various speed and gear/rpm... feel.. look at ur temp on the meter...

u will have idle, progression, main circuit which again split into acceleration, decceleration, constant speed, roll on torque etc...

Plug chop can only tell u abt a particular zone(throttle opening/rpm/speed) ..

even tat particular zone is nice, ur other zone jetting will most probably not be matching causing extesive choking/jerking etc ...

plug chop usually done as the last step to verify the jetting .. its not used as a jetting method cos it can only tell u a zone (load/rpm/speed) at a time...

set urself a base level jets , then increase/decrease from tat base level accordingly.... Everyone jets sizes are different due to difference in setup/ compression level, compression ratio etc..

TSK What unrealistic! Ok, well plug chops do tell only one side of the story - the carburetion on a certain throttle opening, but still its accurate to use plug chops to determine if a certain range is running too rich or lean.

Granted, we cannot expect a perfect brown throughout the entire rev range and if we based our tuning on that, we'd have an unrideable bike. But Chris and I spent a lot of time tuning our bikes that way, and look at what it has given our bikes - unbeatable mileage, good power delivery, once-a-year spark plug change, clean valves, and NO SEIZURES. hahaha...

Of course we also had additional help - a Colortune glass spark plug to see the actual color of the flame of our combustion. Probably another unrealistic method, but I stand by what works for me. :D

cooler range will have better top end. hotter ones are more for acceleration.

Yeah, if we use cooler plugs for traffic jams, it will constantly foul. Mike once used hotter plugs for a ride up to KL, I saw the plug burn out with a display of sparks and flames from his Tuono exhaust.

Edited by lacrimosae

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

so the verdict is cooler plugs suits more for long distance riding... and hotter plugs suits more for city riding... hmmm so wad plugs u guys using? im using the denso iridium plug... ik27 i think... is it hot or cold?

and also... lacri u said about the colour tune glass plug?! what's that? i'll go search for it online :) seems cool man... wonder if it is a glass spark plug.. so i can see through it inside lolz...

wah didnt noe plug chop is to really chop the plug head off!!!! i read and seen the pics only tells us to see the plug colour of the tip lei... nv say chop it off... -.-? blur liaoz...

hmmm... okies colourtune is so ex! lolz... a hole at the plug so can see the inside flame? hmmm i wonder how to use that...

anyway lacri wad u mean by leaning out the mixture? down the size of the main jet? so that less petrol goes in?

where can i buy a 28mm std carb jetting kit???

hmmm... okies colourtune is so ex! lolz... a hole at the plug so can see the inside flame? hmmm i wonder how to use that...

anyway lacri wad u mean by leaning out the mixture? down the size of the main jet? so that less petrol goes in?

Jetting kit can try WEDA, if not first motor should have them but I don't know they sell them individually or not...

Yeah, if we use cooler plugs for traffic jams, it will constantly foul. Mike once used hotter plugs for a ride up to KL, I saw the plug burn out with a display of sparks and flames from his Tuono exhaust.

Well actually its not true that it will foul in traffic jams if use cooler plug that is in range. For example my rs250 can use plugs from 9 to 10.5, if u use 11 then the fuel wun burn properly even if u lean out the mixture. And of cos a set of 9 plugs vs 10.5 plugs there will be a need to change the jetting to suit. Maybe u can try it. My friend uses range 10 plugs for his rs125 without fouling his plugs on low revs.

And i believe the display of flames is becos he was wacking the bike not becos of the plug. it will occur even if u use the range 10 plugs when u are WOT on the bike.

Dont need do plug chop... totally unrealistic..

find an empty express way, ride at ur own pace, accelerate, constant speed at various speed and gear/rpm... feel.. look at ur temp on the meter...

u will have idle, progression, main circuit which again split into acceleration, decceleration, constant speed, roll on torque etc...

Plug chop can only tell u abt a particular zone(throttle opening/rpm/speed) ..

even tat particular zone is nice, ur other zone jetting will most probably not be matching causing extesive choking/jerking etc ...

plug chop usually done as the last step to verify the jetting .. its not used as a jetting method cos it can only tell u a zone (load/rpm/speed) at a time...

set urself a base level jets , then increase/decrease from tat base level accordingly.... Everyone jets sizes are different due to difference in setup/ compression level, compression ratio etc..

If u are going to track or trying top speed on a extensively modded bike, i believe plug chop is as realistic as it gets.

track =>high rev mostly and WTO, plug chop for high zone reasonable and realistic since its a single zone/range(main circuit)

road setting => seldom maintain high rev, at most touch and go , mostly start and stop motion, using all circuits,eg idle, progression ,main .. switching between circuits all the time, smoothness more important during each transition, making plug chop unreasonable as each plug chop can only tell u only a single zone

Heat rating on plug

hot plug=> better heat retention at tip,hotter tip, burn off 2t/unburnt petrol at tip preventing deposite and fouling, useful even running slightly rich but will cause pre-det if too lean

cold plug=> leaner setup, colder at tip ,preventing pre-det but foul easily if running rich..

Sparks from mike bike is unburnt 2t inside the belly tat coming out due to the high heat and pressure .

Edited by xxes123

TSK What unrealistic! Ok, well plug chops do tell only one side of the story - the carburetion on a certain throttle opening, but still its accurate to use plug chops to determine if a certain range is running too rich or lean.

Granted, we cannot expect a perfect brown throughout the entire rev range and if we based our tuning on that, we'd have an unrideable bike. But Chris and I spent a lot of time tuning our bikes that way, and look at what it has given our bikes - unbeatable mileage, good power delivery, once-a-year spark plug change, clean valves, and NO SEIZURES. hahaha...

Road going bike is on all range , not certain range, alway changing inbetween all 3 circuits...

plug chop totally useless in ensuring smoothness during transition.

dellorto carb are fun to play with as compared to PWK/mukuni... :angel:

There are unlimited options to play with, u are only limted by knowledge and parts in stock..

Every carb setup will have its limitation , know wat u wan and set accordingly and not exceeding the safety zone of tat particular setting and u will be safe.. There isnt any all range tuning, you win some you will also lose some..

Race/high rev zone setup makes it harder to ride on road , too blogging at low speed/moving off , high fuel comsumption etc

Road setup when used for top speed or during sudden throttle closing after WTO risk piston jam..

Eg on my ex 03 RS125, i set it lean , save petrol but limitation is cannot high rev or else risk jamming ,i never exceed 120km/hr /10k rpm on that bike cos of the lean tuning ard 28-30km/hr a super economical bike.. ppl disturb also LL cannot play..must have self-control when riding lean

On my 96 RS125 , i like to high rev it , i set it richer , fuel comsumption higher ard 21-23km/L

Edited by xxes123

I will be buying "some" dellorto jets from oversea ard late jan for my RS125 tuning.. if anyone needs jets , feel free to piggy back on the order....

Personal reccommendation is find ppl with similar setup(carb/exhuast/air box mod/etc) to share a certain range of jets (idle/main/atomiser) for tuning process as its a more or less trial and error experiment. Definety some jets will be unused and wasted

Race/high rev zone setup makes it harder to ride on road , too blogging at low speed/moving off , high fuel comsumption etc

Road setup when used for top speed or during sudden throttle closing after WTO risk piston jam..

Eg on my ex 03 RS125, i set it lean , save petrol but limitation is cannot high rev or else risk jamming ,i never exceed 120km/hr /10k rpm on that bike cos of the lean tuning ard 28-30km/hr a super economical bike.. ppl disturb also LL cannot play..must have self-control when riding lean

On my 96 RS125 , i like to high rev it , i set it richer , fuel comsumption higher ard 21-23km/L

Can you tell me 'specifically' what you mean by high revs and lower revs? for example, does high rev = around 12rpm +/-2 prm? because i'm still trying to figure out my bike ...

Lessons:

1) Dont panic. Panic make you cannot use brain

2) Dont dream on the road :faint: ...

3) Look at where you're going and your own bike ... dont peep at others one :dot:

so the verdict is cooler plugs suits more for long distance riding... and hotter plugs suits more for city riding... hmmm so wad plugs u guys using? im using the denso iridium plug... ik27 i think... is it hot or cold?

and also... lacri u said about the colour tune glass plug?! what's that? i'll go search for it online :) seems cool man... wonder if it is a glass spark plug.. so i can see through it inside lolz...

wah didnt noe plug chop is to really chop the plug head off!!!! i read and seen the pics only tells us to see the plug colour of the tip lei... nv say chop it off... -.-? blur liaoz...

I use BR9EIX in SG. When going up North, I will use B10EGV.

Yes, the spark plug has a glass window to observe the actual color of the combustion. Yellow to orange means too rich, white is too lean, blue is perfect.

Plug chop no need to cut off the whole head of the plug, just a section of the side so that you can see the bottom of the valley inside the plug.

Our Dellorto carbs have up to 8 common variables we can play around with. The main jet is only ONE of them. (There are more variables - for more info, please ask xxes123)

Idle adjuster, air mixture screw, idle jet, idle emulsion tube, atomiser, needle, throttle slide, and main jet.

Have fun!

Edited by lacrimosae

plug chop totally useless in ensuring smoothness during transition.

dellorto carb are fun to play with as compared to PWK/mukuni... :angel:

There are unlimited options to play with, u are only limted by knowledge and parts in stock..

I see what you are getting at and agree that plug chops are not a way to tune a carb at the initial stage.

When I did my plug chops, I did it to ensure my mixture is what I theorised it to be based on performance, and the plug chops were to confirm it.

On transition, the different jets will compensate for one another, making the plug chops inaccurate.

I ran my bike at a set rpm at a predetermined throttle position for 20-30 seconds before I hit the kill switch to see the color of the plug during the last seconds of the burn. The colors were always largely varying, which made the plug chops inexplicably interesting too.

I will be buying "some" dellorto jets from oversea ard late jan for my RS125 tuning.. if anyone needs jets , feel free to piggy back on the order....

Personal reccommendation is find ppl with similar setup(carb/exhuast/air box mod/etc) to share a certain range of jets (idle/main/atomiser) for tuning process as its a more or less trial and error experiment. Definety some jets will be unused and wasted

Wish I could share with you but the disparity between your settings and mine are too huge.

mmmm......all nice and fruitful information coming out from all masters.....:angel::angel::thumb:

We are all waiting on you to contribute too, Master.

im selling my 34mm del lorto carb in exhange with his stock carb and looking at a top up charge of $150 , is it too much to ask from a fellow aprilian? advice?

Depends on the condition of both carbs.

wow!!! eye opener!! cool manz... thanks for all the juicy info manz.. really learn alot...

abt the 8 variables to play with our delorto carb... i will go search and read more abt it...

but normally just need to play with the main jet, idle jet and air mixture screw right?

abt piggybag the items... im interested... but i do not know wad should i order for a start... any suggestions? and rough price?

wow this is a big topic manz... seems like diff masters have their diff style but also seems like all runing well with each of its own style haha...

daviddw??? i tot u just bought ur bike? so fast sell????? wad happened?

Paging for priller =D

Eh I manage to curse one of our friends bike SEIZED LOL..... his at FM with your babe also... wahahaha next time when your bike is done up we "try" again :angel:

Paging for priller =D

Eh I manage to curse one of our friends bike SEIZED LOL..... his at FM with your babe also... wahahaha next time when your bike is done up we "try" again :angel:

NbCb. U haa.. He just going to track for the first time and u cursed him? That's it. Ur mouth need to kena clorox sia. :gun: :gun: :gun:

U seriously wanna try with my baby? U sure..? She can't even chase after a '98 model sia. Later waste ur time. :dot:

Edited by priller07
mmmm......all nice and fruitful information coming out from all masters.....:angel::angel::thumb:

Lacrimosae vs Spiderman vs Xxes123 =

"Clash of the Titans!!" :angel:

"...enjin motor ni takkan mati selagi aku tak mati sekali." - Remp-It

Translation - "...this bike engine will not die unless i die along with it."

http://img14.imageshack.us/img14/8594/aprilialife.jpg

NbCb. U haa.. He just going to track for the first time and u cursed him? That's it. Ur mouth need to kena clorox sia. :gun: :gun: :gun:

U seriously wanna try with my baby? U sure..? She can't even chase after a '98 model sia. Later waste ur time. :dot:

"try" as in try saying the S**ze word and see it works anot =D ... Not "try as in race = =" I very friendly one lol I don't surpport racing.....

He damn damn damn damn damn suay la.... he ytd last min say want to go track then ask me go get suit everything but my dad did'nt allow me go... this morning at work he call me, I thought he gonna tell me how shiok it was but NO, david... I S**zed.... at CTE.... I was like whoa how did that happen !!!

"try" as in try saying the S**ze word and see it works anot =D ... Not "try as in race = =" I very friendly one lol I don't surpport racing.....

He damn damn damn damn damn suay la.... he ytd last min say want to go track then ask me go get suit everything but my dad did'nt allow me go... this morning at work he call me, I thought he gonna tell me how shiok it was but NO, david... I S**zed.... at CTE.... I was like whoa how did that happen !!!

I see. Well what goes around comes around man. Then u'll feel how wonderful it is to us low-waged people to get piston seizures every now and then and trying to find ways and means to get 400 friggin' bucks for the repair bill.

It's better it happened here in sG rather than in jB. Plus u never know something worse might've happened so i guess just tHis is ok. Bike can repair, body cannot repair. I'm still struggling with my back pains every now and then.

I see. Well what goes around comes around man. Then u'll feel how wonderful it is to us low-waged people to get piston seizures every now and then and trying to find ways and means to get 400 friggin' bucks for the repair bill.

It's better it happened here in sG rather than in jB. Plus u never know something worse might've happened so i guess just tHis is ok. Bike can repair, body cannot repair. I'm still struggling with my back pains every now and then.

lol.... I got a feeling its coming.... however if that happens I think my bike will not see light for sometime lol

Paging for priller =D

saw his bike @ FM today.3 times SEIZED in less than a year i think?.poor dude.Chung,sell me your accesories n get another bike :cheeky:

Oct 2002 - PPL

19 Sept 2005 - 2B

18 Sept 2007 - 2A

20 July 2010 - 2

Oct 2005 - present: Aprilia RS 125

Oct 16 2010 - Feb 2011: Honda CBR 600 RR

Apr 08 2011: Ducati Monster 620

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs099.snc3/16635_162719989997_751319997_2733440_6167145_n.jpg