Originally posted by ktkt@Mar 17 2006, 11:12 PM

Just to test water....

This is the year that I think Ducati has serious firepower to consistently finish in podium. We'll find out very soon in Jerez, Spain.

Anyway, was wondering how many of us here would be willing to take time off when MotoGP visits Sepang, Malaysia for a weekend getaway.

Perhaps bring your family away to watch the MotoGP/holiday in KL etc etc.

Leave for KL on a Friday night on a coach, rest in a hotel till Sat morning.

Then leave for Sepang track on Sat for qualifying session and perhaps Minerva can help to secure a pit visit and close up with the Ducati riders and machine.

Back to town for R&R,shopping and dinner/chill-out.

Then Sunday an all-out support for Team Ducati (hopefully by that time of the season, they are consistently on podium finishes. :smile: )

Cos last year, Minerva tried to organise one but was a flop.....

Anyone? Comments? :sweat:

not a bad ideal... been doing this for past 2 yrs... leave SG on fri... come back on tuesday... haha... :thumb:

• Replies 14.9k

Originally posted by nE0@Mar 18 2006, 01:39 AM

I wanna get Loris Capirossi to autograph my bike! :D

I don't mind paying more if we can get to

1) park inside the complex itself

2) Get to meet the Ducati team, not just riders

3) Maybe get the VIP room? :thumb:

So is that an ON!? Frankly, what sort of budget are u guys looking at?:cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

Fellow Ducatistis,

Am selling my beloved Ducati ST4. Plse click on the link on my signature for further details and pics.

Appreciate if you could help to spread the word. Thanks! :thumb:

Nope. Not planning to leave the Duke fraternity but considerig heading down the sportbike route. o_O

Live to Ride!

Just installed the STM clutch slave cylinder, 30mm one.

Initial findings :

1) Around 40% reduction in lever effort (Good)

2) Around 50% increase in lever travel, harder to fully disengage clutch (bad)

3) Looks fantastic! :D (Very good)

Overall, I don't think its worth the $300 just for the lighter lever action, but my stock one was leaking anyway, so might as well just change it.

Spuah > Get the quotation first? Then can work out a budget ma.

Originally posted by spuah74@Mar 18 2006, 02:35 PM

So is that an ON!? Frankly, what sort of budget are u guys looking at?:cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

Why dun you send out an invitation and see how many is interested?

(Don't wait for people to confirm participation and then do the cost thingey.)

Say maybe decide on a group of xxx no. of people then work out the cost lor.

And see whether we can get enuff ppl interested towards tat by sending out

invitations.

It'll be nice to be able to meet Capirossi and Gibernau in person, take pictures, take the Ducati Desmosedici GP6 out for a spin.... and then stray off to the Yamaha pit to take pictures with Valentino Rossi. :sweat:

Is the above arrangement possible?

Anyway, the previous previous year Sepang trip, we stayed at KLIA hotel lobby.... where the MotoGP riders stayed. Me and my friends couldn't get rooms.... Anyway, saw Gibernau and Max Biaggi and some unfamaliar faces. There were alot of sexy babes going in and out of the hotels room.... :lovestruck:

Are we gonna stay in tat hotel??? That hotel is hot.... (I mean erm... bookings)

I dunno abt the rest but I rather not ride up on bike for the Sepang race.

Others would ride up, some prefer to drive up themselves etc etc....

Hard to please everyone....

Good Luck Tiffany! :goodluck:

Times-They-Are-A-Changing

Originally posted by [-tRuSt-]@Mar 19 2006, 12:52 AM

how much does the clutch plates for 996 cost? thanx. :thumb:

I bought the Ducati Performance aluminium plates for abt S350 from Minerva.

U can order a Barnett clutch set for abt US150. (aluminium)

Or u can try Ebay. Usually much cheaper and you can jolly well enjoy the savings. :sweat:

What you can do to lengthen the life of the clutch plates is to reserve the direction of the friction plates so that both sides of the plates is utilised.

And also to use a shorter gearing so that you don't have to frequently half clutch when moving off from a stop. Think the stock bikes are pretty tall gearing.

Originally posted by nE0@Mar 19 2006, 01:53 AM

Just installed the STM clutch slave cylinder, 30mm one.

Initial findings :

1) Around 40% reduction in lever effort (Good)

2) Around 50% increase in lever travel, harder to fully disengage clutch (bad)

3) Looks fantastic! :D (Very good)

Overall, I don't think its worth the $300 just for the lighter lever action, but my stock one was leaking anyway, so might as well just change it.

Spuah > Get the quotation first? Then can work out a budget ma.

I think with the bigger piston, u get a lighter feel but at the expense of clutching the lever in more to make the rod extend out the same as compared to a smaller piston? Just make sure it's not causing your clutch plates to burn out due to them not disengaging fully?

For those who have leaking clutch slaves, Evolunzione sells a triple sealed piston for the stock clutch slave. Might wanna check it out?

Why the stock leak? Single seal piston and design flaw. Gunk from the front sprocket will chew away at the weak rubber hose concealing the clutch rod and make it dirty which in turn find their way into the clutch system and causing it

to leak eventually.

Think the newer slave design emulated the aftermarket units having a shorter length of the clutch rod exposed and a stronger hose/seal covering that length but I think still a single o-ring seal piston design?

Originally posted by seal@Mar 18 2006, 10:08 PM

Fellow Ducatistis,

Am selling my beloved Ducati ST4. Plse click on the link on my signature for further details and pics.

Appreciate if you could help to spread the word. Thanks! :thumb:

Nope. Not planning to leave the Duke fraternity but considerig heading down the sportbike route. o_O

What bike will u be getting after this?:sweat:

I was comparing the stock clutch slave cylinder with the STM one, and the design is miles apart.

Anyway, I'm quite happy with the mod. :D

Originally posted by nE0@Mar 19 2006, 01:04 PM

I was comparing the stock clutch slave cylinder with the STM one, and the design is miles apart.

Anyway, I'm quite happy with the mod. :D

And then you say it's not worth the $300??? :mad:

Ha ha, actually, the original cost $180 for my bike, and last at most couple of yrs. STM should last 5 yrs, and $300 is worth it!!!

Ktkt's one has a 10yr leak warranty, and a bit cheaper, so definately very very worth it, kekeke.....

Anyways Neo, I do observed that shifting to neutral is more difficult after the STM change. You get that too??? My lever travel seems acceptable, for my case.

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@Mar 20 2006, 06:05 PM

And then you say it's not worth the $300??? :mad:

Ha ha, actually, the original cost $180 for my bike, and last at most couple of yrs. STM should last 5 yrs, and $300 is worth it!!!

Ktkt's one has a 10yr leak warranty, and a bit cheaper, so definately very very worth it, kekeke.....

Anyways Neo, I do observed that shifting to neutral is more difficult after the STM change. You get that too??? My lever travel seems acceptable, for my case.

There are some units which are meant for 99 and below models and some units that are meant for newer models.

Cos the clutch rod is shorter on the older models and longer on the newer models.

(Hence not disengaging fully)

Then again, could be bubbles inside the hydraulic line if the model is correct?

BTW, can help me get a nice cheong white Ducati T-shirt in Thailand?

Medium or Large size will do. :sweat:

Originally posted by ktkt@Mar 20 2006, 06:14 PM

There are some units which are meant for 99 and below models and some units that are meant for newer models.

Cos the clutch rod is shorter on the older models and longer on the newer models.

(Hence not disengaging fully)

Then again, could be bubbles inside the hydraulic line if the model is correct?

BTW, can help me get a nice cheong white Ducati T-shirt in Thailand?

Medium or Large size will do. :sweat:

Oh, mine is installed with the spacer, for sure....and I installed a speed bleeder, and bled a few times already....oh well.

I'm back already bro....did not managed to make it to Bangkok because of safety issues with the rallies there (SAF trip, like that one...)

Dun worry, May I go, I sure buy for you. Think I all buy size M only.

I don't know, the 999's gearbox is so good I rarely miss a shift or neutral :D

But I do notice that the clutch doesn't disengage as fully as before. it used to disengage giving off a bright ringing sound, now its sorta a slightly mellower ringing sound.... So its not as "disengaged" as before.

Hmm.....ok. Maybe after I install Will's STM clutch set, I see got improvement or not. But not so soon....

Will try to hit the track on my new drive ratio.....up the rear by 4T :cheeky: A bit crazy, but the rear wheel locks up a wee bit when I just tried it, wow!!! Got my AFAM sprocket carrier after I came back from Thai.....now the rear sprocket look hella big....Almost like a Jap bike :D

After that, then the STM clutch set....bit by bit, experience them on the tracks.

My rear sprocket looks like a 2B bike one man. In fact, its about the same size too, 36teeth!

But fuel economy is fantastic, I'm getting like 19 to 21km/litre doing 110 on 6th... :thumb:

Originally posted by ktkt@Mar 19 2006, 03:14 AM

I bought the Ducati Performance aluminium plates for abt S350 from Minerva.

U can order a Barnett clutch set for abt US150. (aluminium)

Or u can try Ebay. Usually much cheaper and you can jolly well enjoy the savings. :sweat:

What you can do to lengthen the life of the clutch plates is to reserve the direction of the friction plates so that both sides of the plates is utilised.

And also to use a shorter gearing so that you don't have to frequently half clutch when moving off from a stop. Think the stock bikes are pretty tall gearing.

thanx bro! i know whats the problem wif my bike already... the clutch level "pipe" is leaking causing the clutch not to engage properly...

Originally posted by [-tRuSt-]@Mar 21 2006, 02:32 PM

thanx bro! i know whats the problem wif my bike already... the clutch level "pipe" is leaking causing the clutch not to engage properly...

the master cylinder seal which the clutch lever screw contacts izzit?

i dun think so... is somewhere near the clutch slave there... somewhere there is leaking... n oso the bottle containing the fluid is kind of out of shape due to the pressing of the clutch even after my "pipe" is leaking... went to minevra but the guy told mi tt the clutch slave thing is not part of ducati parts so he didn wan to do for mi... went back to MAH in the end... :smile:

Did you check your clutch pressure plate bearings?

If that bearing seizes, it will force the clutch actuator rod to rotate, effective drilling out your clutch slave cylinder, destroying the seals etc etc.

Its a relatively cheap, easy to find bearing available at most good bearing shops (Whatever its called).

Anyone interested in a Pro Protect Clutch Cover - Gray from Speedymoto for Ducati. This item is new in sealed plastic, if nobody wants it I will send back to Speedymoto as this is a wrong item they sent me.

You can view it at speedymoto.com.