Hey uncle Ling, wanna swap with mine?

I think it looks cool! :D

You've seen mine before.

• Replies 14.9k

Neo, I received 2 covers. The first one is Pro Protect which is wrong and Speedymoto sent the 2nd one, Flow which is the item I ordered. I supposed to send the wrong item (Pro Protect) back but if anyone want to buy it, I can send back Speedymoto money instead of the cover.

This Flow cover in Ti-Gray colour is the same as yours. Looks great.

Originally posted by [-tRuSt-]@Mar 21 2006, 08:11 PM

i dun think so... is somewhere near the clutch slave there... somewhere there is leaking... n oso the bottle containing the fluid is kind of out of shape due to the pressing of the clutch even after my "pipe" is leaking... went to minevra but the guy told mi tt the clutch slave thing is not part of ducati parts so he didn wan to do for mi... went back to MAH in the end... :smile:

Strange for a STM aftermarket slave.

So had it fixed already?

Minerva so power ah.... No comments....:confused:

Times-They-Are-A-Changing

Originally posted by nE0@Mar 20 2006, 10:32 PM

My rear sprocket looks like a 2B bike one man. In fact, its about the same size too, 36teeth!

But fuel economy is fantastic, I'm getting like 19 to 21km/litre doing 110 on 6th... :thumb:

Try a bigger rear, I suspect your mileage will still be the same.....:confused:

Mine is after I dropped from a 15 to a 14. (they didn't have a 45 rear)

Darn...

I actually quite like the Pro Protect cover...

NExt time we meet up, and if you havn't sent it back yet, bring it and show me k :D

Or does anyone want a FLow cover? Buy from me, so I can buy the other one!

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10129/normal_DSCN8493.JPG

Hi everyone,

i just got myself my 2a license and now i'm thinking of getting a used monster 400, though a friend has ever told me NEVER to think of getting the bike. something about it being seriously underpowered for the engine capacity that it has. reading this page, it says that the power is 32 kW, or about 43HP, which is about 15(?) less than an S4.

I know that the ultimate power is one thing, and the accessibility of that power, and the torque is yet another. So the question is this: for people who have owned a M400, how does its real world road performance like, especially compared to other 2a bikes?

ultimately, it's been a dream to own one of these bikes, so perhaps another question is that of practicality and how representative the M400 is of the ducati experience - Duc old-timers, is the M400 especially fragile even for a ducati, and are used M400s good to get?

Lastly, anybody know of anyone letting go of a good condition M400 now? i just called Mary at Minerva, and she does not have any used M400s around. sigh.

Hi Mike. What are you riding now?

Firstly, V-twins will never have the same peak power as compared to inline4s of similar capacity.

Secondly, air cooled engines will always output less power than liquid cooled engines of similar capacity.

So there, the Monster M400 has double the handicap compared to the masses of liquid cooled inline4 streetbikes. But if this bothers you, then you better look elsewhere.

Reliability wise, unless you get a new bike, you're at the mercy of the previous owner(s), how they take care of their machines etc. But generally, its a pretty tough machine, I've brought it hundreds of KM day in some of the worst conditions without problems.

tuono125 for now...

yea, i hear you about the V2 vs IL4, and air vs liquid cooled engine issues. Not too worried about top speed/pickup etc, cos like i said, i was thinking of this as the gateway drug to ducati addiction (which i've been looking forward to for quite some time).

Any particular part of the bike that i need to look out for, when finding a used one?

what breaks down most often? what are some signs of electrical trouble?

the engine is not EFI, right?

Well, its a good introduction to Ducati bikes, but the engine does the bike no justice, having tried the more powerful Monsters :D

But still, I enjoyed my Monster very much.

What breaks down most often? Well, there are many minor issues usually related to wear and tear. Just come along to our next Ducati meetup, we can talk about it! :thumb:

And no, unless you get the latest brand new Monsters which are fuel injected. Don't know if Minerva brought them in yet actually.

Originally posted by nE0@Mar 22 2006, 08:22 PM

Well, its a good introduction to Ducati bikes, but the engine does the bike no justice, having tried the more powerful Monsters :D

What breaks down most often? Well, there are many minor issues usually related to wear and tear. Just come along to our next Ducati meetup, we can talk about it! :thumb:

And no, unless you get the latest brand new Monsters which are fuel injected. Don't know if Minerva brought them in yet actually.

whens our nx outing? haha... organise leh... nx kopi session... didn get to meet u at the last outing at simpang... haha... :thumb:

Originally posted by nE0@Mar 22 2006, 08:22 PM

or is it safe to say that one gets the handling (suspension/geometry/brakes), without the power/torque? not to mention the looks and sound?

what about the monster did you enjoy?

looking forward to meeting some duc enthusiasts :thumb:

Originally posted by [-tRuSt-]@Mar 22 2006, 09:14 PM

whens our nx outing? haha... organise leh... nx kopi session... didn get to meet u at the last outing at simpang... haha... :thumb:

Think must have a rotating list of organisers with 6 Hi-keys and 4 low-keys.

After completing 6/4, then can put on MR.

Hi-key is 11 and more attendees

Low-key is 1- 10 attendees

1) ktkt - 1 Hi

2) Trust - 1 Hi

3) Neo

4) Red_Rocket

5) NoLogic

6) Motocafe

7) please add on.... :sweat:

Originally posted by mike1024@Mar 23 2006, 01:46 AM

or is it safe to say that one gets the handling (suspension/geometry/brakes), without the power/torque? not to mention the looks and sound?

join us in the nx outing bro! hehe... :thumb:

Originally posted by ktkt@Mar 23 2006, 11:01 AM

Think must have a rotating list of organisers with 6 Hi-keys and 4 low-keys.

After completing 6/4, then can put on MR.

Hi-key is 11 and more attendees

Low-key is 1- 10 attendees

1) ktkt - 1 Hi

2) Trust - 1 Hi

3) Neo

4) Red_Rocket

5) NoLogic

6) Motocafe

7) please add on.... :sweat:

wahaha... :cheeky: :cheer:

Originally posted by mike1024@Mar 23 2006, 01:46 AM

There's a M400 EFI model in Minerva if I am not wrong.

Can't recall if it's a 04/05/06 model.

Anyway, if you're looking at a high powered horsepower machine, Ducati's are definitely out. :sweat:

what does EFI do for the bike? smoother carburettion?

sigh, just did my sums, don't think i can afford a new M400, cos i eventually want to get a bigger bike. so, i guess i can only buy a M400 if anyone is selling.

anybody selling a decent M400? for less than SGD10k?

Originally posted by mike1024@Mar 23 2006, 01:52 PM

what does EFI do for the bike? smoother carburettion?

sigh, just did my sums, don't think i can afford a new M400, cos i eventually want to get a bigger bike. so, i guess i can only buy a M400 if anyone is selling.

anybody selling a decent M400? for less than SGD10k?

The carburated Monster 400s come with 38mm carbs, which are meant for bigger Monsters ie. M600. Even the airbox and air filter is identical to the 900cc Monster.

Well, this might be whats causing some fueling problems. Ducatis are known to have very good fuel injection tuning right out of the factory (They're the first to use fuel injection I think). So I'd guess the new EFI Monsters are both more fuel economical and runs better than the older carbed ones.

The old Monster came with a single brake disc, but it works very well. The new ones come with double Bembo brakes~!

Its selling for 15k, slightly more expensive than a brand new 400cc Japanese bike. :thumb:

not really true, mary mentioned that a new bike was 15.5 (or so) and adding everything up makes an OTR price of less than 17. seeing as how i will not be owning it for more than a year or two, the depreciation is going to be quite hurtful.

sigh. to have enough disposable income.

Well, the amount I spent on restoring my Monster is quite the same as the depreciation of a brand new one... And I havn't ironed out every single problem yet when I sold it!

Tyres, brakes, chain, sprocket, piston rings, con-rods, alternator ($700), head gaskets (3 times), overhauled carbs, grips, bar ends, tail-light, wheel bearings, brake pads, air filter.....

Not to say a Ducati is a problematic bike, but all the above are wear and tear items, and are supposed to be replaced periodically. Who actually replaces every single oil seal and gasket every 5 years as recommended?

hmm true. which means your bike's previous owner passed on the maintenance cost to you.

just got news about how bad the economy could get for me (specifically), and so, i'm sure i will not get a new ducati. but used ones? hmm. only if they were being sold for less than 10k, and are in pretty good shape.

guess i am trying to have my cake and eat it, just went casually looking around, and am surprised how cheap used UJMs can be. unless someone has a desperate sale for a M400, i think i will have to defer my addiction for some time :(

Originally posted by mike1024@Mar 23 2006, 08:07 PM

hmm true. which means your bike's previous owner passed on the maintenance cost to you.

just got news about how bad the economy could get for me (specifically), and so, i'm sure i will not get a new ducati. but used ones? hmm. only if they were being sold for less than 10k, and are in pretty good shape.

guess i am trying to have my cake and eat it, just went casually looking around, and am surprised how cheap used UJMs can be. unless someone has a desperate sale for a M400, i think i will have to defer my addiction for some time :(

If u can wait, get a Class 2 Ducati.

No point getting a 2A Ducati.

If you are, I can put u up with Chris who owns a M400.

He's going back to Poland soon but dunno when.

Maybe can jio him down for kopi one of these nights.

Neo.... Your turn to organise kopi?

this is getting interesting.

i'd be interested to find out more about chris' M400, if it is going for a decent price (less than $10k- somehow that's a psychological barrier for me), or if there's evidence that there is good value there.

would you know how old the bike is?

PM'ing you my number... :) thanks!

Cant' wait for the next outing session...hehe....:cheer:

99-01 > Mito 125, NSR 150

01-03 > Honda VFR 400 NC30, Aprillia RS250

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

05-07 > '05 Suzuki 600 K5, Wave 125, Nuovo 110

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

08-10 > '07 T-MAX [5VU], '08 T-Max [4B5], 08 R6

05-10 > DUCATI 749 Dark Mono

10-11 > CBR 1100XX, 2010 Busa